Nokia Unannounced Nokia 5730 XM, with sliding QWERTY

TSrayzrblade
post Jan 20 2009, 03:32 PM, updated 17y ago

You are nobody in cyberworld
5,040 posts

An unannounced smartphone from Nokia, the 5730 XpressMusic, has shown up on the internet.
The only reason why they have thrown the Nokia 5730 into their music-minded line-up is that Nokia are trying to sell the same phone and form-factor in to two different flavors so as to win as big a share as possible.

In fact, it wouldn’t be a mistake to say that they are forging a new segment of side-sliders with thumbboards, instead of assessing every Nokia-branded phone of this kind separately.

While the Nokia 5730 won’t face any sort of direct competition, this fact alone doesn’t guarantee it will be sell in droves. In fact, its predecessor, the Nokia 5320 didn’t have any rivals either, but it never became a particularly popular offering.

On top of that, the Nokia 5800 XpressMusic will be hard to compete with, given that they will be only 60 Euro away from each other price-wise. That’s why the 5730 XpressMusic’s main goal is to pad Nokia’s portfolio and maybe generate some sales, but that’s about it.

The 5730 XpressMusic’s image quality is little to no different from that of the Nokia N78

Its sales will kick off in April at the price-point of around 220 Euro, which makes it a viable option for those who are in the market for a cheap QWERTY-enabled smartphone. But, again, it’s still a niche product, so don’t expect any breakthroughs from it.

P.S. Later this week you’ll see the official announcement of this phone – probably on Wednesday. Don’t forget to check back for our world’s first review of the Nokia 5730 XpressMusic!

Display : 2" 320x240 16mil colors.

Its like 1% rumor, 99% real. biggrin.gif

FULL FIRST LOOK of 5730 XM @ Mobile-review.com

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jan 21 2009, 01:24 AM
davidmak
post Jan 20 2009, 03:36 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

The display looks like a high resolution type to me. Something like the Nokia 5800. Could be good... rclxms.gif
Neo8663
post Jan 20 2009, 03:38 PM

1,244 posts

but the spec quite common to me
HeReLiSm
post Jan 20 2009, 03:39 PM

488 posts

tk lawa lgsung...dry.gif

lgk cun 5800...

hehhehe... biggrin.gif
TSrayzrblade
post Jan 20 2009, 03:53 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(Neo8663 @ Jan 20 2009, 03:33 PM)
1st tongue.gif
dude, this is not kopitiam..give some opinions instead ..thanks.

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jan 20 2009, 03:36 PM)
The display looks like a high resolution type to me. Something like the Nokia 5800. Could be good... rclxms.gif
its 2 " 320x240 16mil only..
hanieyf
post Jan 20 2009, 03:55 PM

X-alienware m17x soldiers
1,698 posts

tapi tak lawa laa
Neo8663
post Jan 20 2009, 03:58 PM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jan 20 2009, 03:53 PM)
why so serious?
i already give. cant you see??
feimeng
post Jan 20 2009, 04:06 PM

637 posts

i dun think there is wifi on it since they did not mention in the article

This post has been edited by feimeng: Jan 20 2009, 04:41 PM
sc2
post Jan 20 2009, 04:40 PM

402 posts

en...not bad...something fresh...at least....for a music xpress....
feimeng
post Jan 20 2009, 04:41 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(sc2 @ Jan 20 2009, 04:40 PM)
en...not bad...something fresh...at least....for a music xpress....
it's xpressmusic, my fren
sc2
post Jan 20 2009, 04:49 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(feimeng @ Jan 20 2009, 04:41 PM)
it's xpressmusic, my fren
opss...terbalik.. sweat.gif
TSrayzrblade
post Jan 20 2009, 05:13 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(Neo8663 @ Jan 20 2009, 03:58 PM)
why so serious?
i already give. cant you see??
i didnt set the Rules here..

dattebayo
post Jan 20 2009, 05:29 PM

5,366 posts

but a mere 2" and u want to type in using QWERTY ?
zariqcools
post Jan 20 2009, 05:52 PM

Kerr
711 posts

cool one dude!
Liuteva
post Jan 20 2009, 05:55 PM

Empty.
2,991 posts

The front keypad feel like easy drop paint..
akkihiko
post Jan 20 2009, 11:51 PM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

damn ugly keypad there
they should remove the ugly keypad and keep the qwerty keypad
Blood_Seeker28
post Jan 21 2009, 01:41 AM

132 posts

quite ok...but the outlook a bit ugly...
5800 more better outlook than this phone.. nod.gif
only the slide-out qwerty keyboard make it look special...

This post has been edited by Blood_Seeker28: Jan 21 2009, 01:42 AM
akkihiko
post Jan 21 2009, 01:49 AM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

agree2
if replace the keypad with larger screen
it will look like 5800 with qwerty
brows.gif
mykpin88
post Jan 21 2009, 11:15 AM

196 posts

since there's a QWERTY keypad why still put the front button?
that's my opinion
teikwing
post Jan 21 2009, 11:43 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

no offense but i think the slide-out keyboard's design is abit ugly. but still not bad for a QWERTY keyboard on a music phone, great start for Nokia. smile.gif
Why^Me
post Jan 23 2009, 01:24 AM

551 posts

if the price is lower than 5610, i will consider to buy it.
beatlesalbum
post Jan 24 2009, 03:54 PM

1,711 posts

the color scheme of the phone is not that great. Blue? naahh
vo0de3_x | oum@n
post Jan 24 2009, 05:22 PM

SEE ALL MY BINTANG
1,453 posts

the qwerty keyboard and front keyboard is so dissapointing and the design is like shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
akkihiko
post Jan 24 2009, 10:09 PM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

tis phone easy to left finger print
need to wipe always
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
alpha_company
post Jan 24 2009, 10:12 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

if the camera is the same as 5800...then it's bad.

5610xm, 6500c and n73's 3MP cameras are much better in terms of video and picture quality.

Added on January 24, 2009, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(Why^Me @ Jan 23 2009, 01:24 AM)
if the price is lower than 5610, i will consider to buy it.
in your dreams..

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Jan 24 2009, 10:12 PM
ulwan25
post Jan 29 2009, 02:48 PM

2,054 posts

ugly and sluggish design.
2 inch? dat don't look so small. i think it's 2.4 inch.

and if this stuff sell around RM600, i'll kick out 5320 and buy this stuff.
akkihiko
post Jan 30 2009, 01:22 AM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

i dun think it will be under 1k
take a look at the spec and the qwerty keyboard
toughnut
post Jan 30 2009, 01:33 AM

3,239 posts

Really fugly. The design, color, finishing, everything...

5800 with QWERTY will be killer
ulwan25
post Jan 30 2009, 07:19 AM

2,054 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jan 30 2009, 02:33 AM)

i thought that stuff had qwerty keyboard. only in touchscreen right?
hope nokia will redesigned back. those spec just as good as nowadays.
akkihiko
post Jan 31 2009, 11:54 PM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jan 30 2009, 01:33 AM)

5800 + qwerty = N97 rite??
so it'll be nice
but need to remove the alphanumeric keypad
ckming21
post Feb 1 2009, 03:30 PM

Life Is Boring
805 posts

As i think this phone maybe will higher price than 5800 but i prefer 5800 because full touch screen than this phone too bluckyy
ladyvelvet101
post Mar 17 2009, 01:29 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jan 20 2009, 03:53 PM)
no its 2.4' la
open up the nokia malaysia web first la

kae7
post Mar 17 2009, 01:37 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(ckming21 @ Feb 1 2009, 03:30 PM)
As i think this phone maybe will higher price than 5800 but i prefer 5800 because full touch screen than this phone too bluckyy
what is mean by bluckyy??[i search in dctionary..not found it]
anyway..this phone will be released at end of Q1[april09]

This post has been edited by kae7: Mar 17 2009, 01:56 PM
Dlim88
post Mar 17 2009, 01:41 PM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

Just saw it 2day @ star paper...
doomx
post Mar 17 2009, 01:45 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

he means BULKY. Lol.

p/s : edited confuse with the E75.

This post has been edited by doomx: Mar 17 2009, 01:45 PM
kae7
post Mar 17 2009, 01:55 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Mar 17 2009, 01:45 PM)
he means BULKY. Lol.

p/s : edited confuse with the E75.
the physical of E75 and 5730 XM is nearly same and similar..

Princess90
post Mar 17 2009, 11:13 PM

289 posts

Saw it in Star today...
All I can say is, ugly keypad!
Dlim88
post Mar 17 2009, 11:42 PM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(Princess90 @ Mar 17 2009, 11:13 PM)
Saw it in Star today...
All I can say is, ugly keypad!
& crab design sweat.gif
aius026
post Mar 18 2009, 12:19 AM

211 posts

well..a crab doesnt look like dat at all..given it's alive or dead in food dishes tongue.gif
quite puzzled with nokia strategy nowadays.give wifi to music phone but screen just 2.2in..then give 2.4 in screen and qwerty keyboard but no wifi.. o_0 anyway, it just doesnt feel right having qwerty for a music phone..my pov la..
tunertoobe
post Mar 18 2009, 12:25 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(aius026 @ Mar 18 2009, 12:19 AM)
well..a crab doesnt look like dat at all..given it's alive or dead in food dishes tongue.gif
quite puzzled with nokia strategy nowadays.give wifi to music phone but screen just 2.2in..then give 2.4 in screen and qwerty keyboard but no wifi.. o_0 anyway, it just doesnt feel right having qwerty for a music phone..my pov la..
Yeah. but I think it's for an emerging market. There's an XpressRadio coming out I heard as well which seems like a silly idea at first. However some of my friends said they only have MP3s in their phones for other friends to listen to, they themselves only use the radio. I'm seeing more an more people like that over the years.

Yeah still I see no point having a QWERTY without WiFi. Should've save the extra cost on other "youthly" features. Now more young people have laptops and use WiFi a lot it seems. This phone is baffling......
Dlim88
post Mar 18 2009, 12:26 AM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

Yeah...Dunno why la Xpress Music phone got qwerty keyboard sweat.gif
Dunno what is Nokia thinking ??? doh.gif
tunertoobe
post Mar 18 2009, 12:37 AM

9,309 posts

Woots, wait a minute, it has WiFi. doh.gif

Okay so it seems they're trying to catch the internet savvy youths of today, smart move. The keyboard will be useful for chatting over the net but how many are doing that now these days when we have sms?

But the sales package is quite good, and I don't mind the looks though. Price it below 1200 and it'll do quite alright i guess.
Dlim88
post Mar 18 2009, 12:40 AM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Mar 18 2009, 12:37 AM)
Woots, wait a minute, it has WiFi.  doh.gif

Okay so it seems they're trying to catch the internet savvy youths of today, smart move. The keyboard will be useful for chatting over the net but how many are doing that now these days when we have sms?

But the sales package is quite good, and I don't mind the looks though. Price it below 1200 and it'll do quite alright i guess.
Below 1200 ?
Just add a few hundred can get the 5800 alredi wub.gif
tunertoobe
post Mar 18 2009, 12:41 AM

9,309 posts

Ok la, Below 1050. laugh.gif
Dlim88
post Mar 18 2009, 12:42 AM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Mar 18 2009, 12:41 AM)
Ok la, Below 1050.  laugh.gif
Okk icon_rolleyes.gif
Is this a symbian phone 1st ?? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Dlim88: Mar 18 2009, 12:43 AM
tunertoobe
post Mar 18 2009, 12:45 AM

9,309 posts

Symbian s60 3rd I think.

Just browsed through Nokia's website, it seems the 5330 have bluetooth 2.1. Seems quite special that one. just bring the device close to another bluetooth device and it's automatically paired. Plus less battery drain. The phone follows the new XM styling trend, ugly. OT a bit. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Mar 18 2009, 12:51 AM
GaminPro
post Mar 18 2009, 08:02 AM

310 posts

The phone look ugly
Vervain
post Mar 18 2009, 08:06 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Think this is more of a facebook type of phone?
Dlim88
post Mar 18 2009, 10:58 AM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(GaminPro @ Mar 18 2009, 08:02 AM)
The phone look ugly
The keypad ? unsure.gif
refugeez86
post Mar 19 2009, 11:35 AM

rules are made to be broken
1,591 posts

i think its quite ok la..
u can get cheap phone but looks like expensive..
i mean sliding keyboard hehe..
Faith+1
post Mar 19 2009, 12:06 PM

1,420 posts

The qwerty pad looks ugly but it made us easier to sms and write mail.

Mr.Ken
post Mar 19 2009, 01:14 PM

144 posts

this phone spec is identical to 5800XM
except that this phone has smaller screen size and no tv out.
but 5730 have QWERTY keyboard drool.gif
alpha_company
post Mar 19 2009, 01:31 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Mar 18 2009, 12:45 AM)
Symbian s60 3rd I think.

Just browsed through Nokia's website, it seems the 5330 have bluetooth 2.1. Seems quite special that one. just bring the device close to another bluetooth device and it's automatically paired. Plus less battery drain. The phone follows the new XM styling trend, ugly. OT a bit.  tongue.gif
BT 2.1 wow...it can do that.. but the qwerty is not needed for music eccentric people..maybe if they put 4 speakers..haha.. that'll be something else
Mr.Ken
post Mar 19 2009, 02:00 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Mar 19 2009, 01:31 PM)
BT 2.1 wow...it can do that.. but the qwerty is not needed for music eccentric people..maybe if they put 4 speakers..haha.. that'll be something else
qwerty keyboard is needed in this phone coz it got wifi IMO.
Dlim88
post Mar 25 2009, 06:24 PM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Ken @ Mar 19 2009, 01:14 PM)
this phone spec is identical to 5800XM
except that this phone has smaller screen size and no tv out.
but 5730 have QWERTY keyboard  drool.gif
Got Qwerty keyboard but no touch screen sweat.gif
ulwan25
post Mar 25 2009, 09:14 PM

2,054 posts

lol, qwerty xpressmusic.
but i like it! price below RM700 and i'll be damn stole this fon!
Dlim88
post Mar 25 2009, 09:18 PM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Mar 25 2009, 09:14 PM)
lol, qwerty xpressmusic.
Is that possible @ 700 ? unsure.gif
alpha_company
post Mar 25 2009, 09:21 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Mar 25 2009, 09:14 PM)
lol, qwerty xpressmusic.
it will surely be somewhere near the price of 5800xm. if the first touchscreen phone for XM is about rm13xx, it would be a safe bet to say that a qwerty XM would also be priced similarly as it is also a first for the series like 5800xm.
Dlim88
post Mar 25 2009, 10:11 PM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Mar 25 2009, 09:21 PM)
it will surely be somewhere near the price of 5800xm. if the first touchscreen phone for XM is about rm13xx, it would be a safe bet to say that a qwerty XM would also be priced similarly as it is also a first for the series like 5800xm.
Then I sure will go for 5800 lo...Since this phone has no touch screen wub.gif
123joe
post Mar 25 2009, 10:28 PM

PHONE AND TABLET ACCESSORIES
2,894 posts

im stl waiting 4 the 'finger-sensitive' touch screen frm nokia.
Dlim88
post Mar 26 2009, 12:22 AM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(123joe @ Mar 25 2009, 10:28 PM)
Need 2 wait 4 how long oh ? unsure.gif
ulwan25
post Mar 26 2009, 08:47 AM

2,054 posts

QUOTE(Dlim88 @ Mar 25 2009, 10:18 PM)
Is that possible @ 700 ?  unsure.gif
bila rege dah turun dlm berbulan bulan la ohmy.gif
maybe price around n78 la. RM890 like dat.
alpha_company
post Mar 26 2009, 09:20 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Dlim88 @ Mar 25 2009, 10:11 PM)
Then I sure will go for 5800 lo...Since this phone has no touch screen  wub.gif
it doesnt mean that touch screen is better than normal physical buttons. unless you're talking about iphone, now that is worth mentioning as a touch screen phone.

Added on March 26, 2009, 9:22 pm
QUOTE(123joe @ Mar 25 2009, 10:28 PM)
u mean like iphone right?

yeah, it would be a real treat for nokia fans to have a touchscreen phone like that. a touchscreen phone with a screen that is damn hard to scratch like the iphone.

but that would increase production costs and it could be more expensive than an iphone.

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Mar 26 2009, 09:22 PM
SUSxiang88
post Mar 30 2009, 12:50 AM

216 posts

i like the niceee keyboard. sweet! biggrin.gif
alpha_company
post Mar 30 2009, 12:31 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

The keyboard looks a bit fragile from the picture. have to feel it myself to determine whether it is durable or not.
tunertoobe
post Mar 30 2009, 03:02 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Mar 26 2009, 09:20 PM)
it doesnt mean that touch screen is better than normal physical buttons. unless you're talking about iphone, now that is worth mentioning as a touch screen phone.

Added on March 26, 2009, 9:22 pm

u mean like iphone right?

yeah, it would be a real treat for nokia fans to have a touchscreen phone like that. a touchscreen phone with a screen that is damn hard to scratch like the iphone.

but that would increase production costs and it could be more expensive than an iphone.
Also you can't use gloves or anything that covers the skin of your fingers to operate the phone.
alpha_company
post Mar 30 2009, 03:35 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

u mean to operate the iphone right?

if for 5800's touchscreen? can use gloves or not?
tunertoobe
post Mar 30 2009, 03:43 PM

9,309 posts

Yes with the 5800 you can use anything.

The Iphone's touchscreen uses a technology called capacitive touchscreen. The screen will have a metallic layer that acts as a capacitor(hence the name). When your finger touches it, it draws a bit of current off it. The computer then calculates the coordinates where the change in capacitance is.

So you see, only the skin or in theory anything conductive(since I haven't tried it with anything other than my finger) can register an input.

The 5800 uses resistive touchscreen, where two layers(which has different voltages between them with an insulating space in between the two) when pressed together, they touch and registers as an input and the computer calculates where the presure is applied.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Mar 30 2009, 03:46 PM
kae7
post Mar 30 2009, 03:46 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Mar 30 2009, 03:43 PM)

The Iphone's touchscreen uses a technology called capacitive touchscreen. The screen will have a metallic layer that acts as a capacitor(hence the name). When your finger touches it, it draws a bit of current off it. The computer then calculates the coordinates where the change in capacitance is.

So you see, only the skin or in theory anything conductive(since I haven't tried it with anything other than my finger) materials can register an input.
5800 XM is a bit responsive touch screen..haha good nod.gif
tunertoobe
post Mar 30 2009, 03:50 PM

9,309 posts

As a result of the technology, Iphone's touchscreen is more resilient, has a faster response and accuracy and clearer screen. However it is more expensive and has a limited touch input.

Nokia, trying to be user friendly for everyone, probably stayed away from this tech and went for resistive to satisfy pretty much the majority of consumers. Low cost and many input methods to suit everyone.

It's only a matter of time before the resistive will be as accurate and resposive as the capacitive, even sporting multitouch with better materials and software, who knows.....

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Mar 30 2009, 03:52 PM
alpha_company
post Mar 30 2009, 03:59 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Mar 30 2009, 03:46 PM)
5800 XM is a bit responsive touch screen..haha good nod.gif
Wrong wrong man.. Didn't you read tunertoobe explaination spammer? goodness man read 1st then type doh.gif

Iphone has a better touchscreen in terms of responsiveness and accuracy.

Added on March 30, 2009, 4:03 pm
QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Mar 30 2009, 03:43 PM)

So you see, only the skin or in theory anything conductive(since I haven't tried it with anything other than my finger) can register an input.

The 5800 uses resistive touchscreen, where two layers(which has different voltages between them with an insulating space in between the two) when pressed together, they touch and registers as an input and the computer calculates where the presure is applied.
Very good and very understandable explaination. thumbup.gif

What makes the iphone's screen tough? is it a glass in front of the touch screen or what? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iLgVfcj41uM

if somebody does that to a 5800, bye2 screen.. if only newer nokia models could implement this feature

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Mar 30 2009, 04:03 PM
cutiesbaby312
post Mar 30 2009, 04:48 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

why so funny?? need so many type of keypad for what? just for the propose of surfing the net faster?? hmmm.. izzit touch screen??
Dlim88
post Mar 30 2009, 09:34 PM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Mar 30 2009, 04:48 PM)
why so funny?? need so many type of keypad for what? just for the propose of surfing the net faster?? hmmm.. izzit touch screen??
U mean Nokia 5730 ?
alpha_company
post Apr 7 2009, 10:12 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

n series got n97 for qwerty... so i think nokia wants XpressMusic to have a qwerty model too..
MaggieMee
post Apr 7 2009, 11:37 AM

385 posts

this should solve the problems http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bv3X5y-ajtc&feature=related
alpha_company
post Apr 7 2009, 11:46 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

yup..that solved it allright
x_far_x
post Apr 20 2009, 03:30 PM

370 posts

Review for this phone is out already at Mobile Review.

Mobile Review 5730

-FaR
christcwl9
post Apr 26 2009, 01:37 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

Hey, how much do u guys predict this phone will be when it first release in Malaysia?? Rm1000?? or juz below RM2000 but over Rm1500??
PrinceCaspien
post Apr 30 2009, 08:03 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

hope it's cheaper than the overprice E75...smile.gif
christcwl9
post May 3 2009, 10:54 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

i guess this phone will be around RM 1500
fender
post May 6 2009, 10:58 PM

255 posts

cool. i see less dust between the keyboard. but i have doubt in the phone's built quality.
should have touch-sensitive screen only then they will reach many consumer.
but then again they tend to keep it affordable.
u ask more, u gotta pay more!
christcwl9
post May 8 2009, 11:07 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

Hey, may i know how can i get rid of the dust that stuck in between the key??
ulwan25
post May 9 2009, 11:02 AM

2,054 posts

XM music always have super-short battery life. why ah??
used my frenz 5130, 5320 and 5300. all of it are battery-eater.
christcwl9
post May 9 2009, 12:18 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ May 9 2009, 11:02 AM)
What do u mean by short?? N-series de battery life also short lor...
qwe65
post May 9 2009, 06:44 PM

my assistant
815 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ May 9 2009, 11:02 AM)
u mean battery life time?cepat kong ka?
ulwan25
post May 10 2009, 07:13 AM

2,054 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 9 2009, 01:18 PM)
What do u mean by short?? N-series de battery life also short lor...
short means short lah. N series oso short aa? but mines n78 vs 5320 was waay better battery time.
that is my experience with XM. but luckily Tube ain't the same as the other XM phone laugh.gif
christcwl9
post May 10 2009, 11:51 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ May 10 2009, 07:13 AM)
short means short lah. N series oso short aa? but mines n78 vs 5320 was waay better battery time.
that is my experience with XM. but luckily Tube ain't the same as the other XM phone laugh.gif
Yea, older XM model use 700 - 800 mah battery only...the new 5800XM use 1200 mah which is same with N78....
tunertoobe
post May 10 2009, 12:17 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 10 2009, 11:51 AM)
Yea, older XM model use 700 - 800 mah battery only...the new 5800XM use 1200 mah which is same with N78....
1320 mah for Tube.
christcwl9
post May 13 2009, 12:18 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ May 10 2009, 12:17 PM)
1320 mah for Tube.
1200 mah la...not 1320
tunertoobe
post May 14 2009, 08:40 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 13 2009, 12:18 PM)
1200 mah la...not 1320
I have a Tube, it's 1320, trust me.
christcwl9
post May 14 2009, 09:30 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

Oic...kk sry sry
little_pixie
post May 17 2009, 06:23 PM

487 posts

I don't know whether this phone has come out or not, because last night, I watched Akademi Fantasia Final and 4 of the finalists will get this phone as one of the prizes. Shock!
tunertoobe
post May 18 2009, 02:15 AM

9,309 posts

Probably after it's launched.
christcwl9
post May 21 2009, 10:05 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

i think this phone will come out around RM1500...like the tube which come out at RM1499
shaun3230
post May 31 2009, 01:46 AM

2,369 posts

Should be like 1.1k max or else ppl will buy the 5800
christcwl9
post May 31 2009, 11:42 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

Well, i find that this phone is really a very nice phone...from my opinion...the sliding keyboard is somehow too silly as this phone main function is about Music...what for does it need the keyboard??
shaun3230
post Jun 4 2009, 11:36 PM

2,369 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 31 2009, 11:42 AM)
Well, i find that this phone is really a very nice phone...from my opinion...the sliding keyboard is somehow too silly as this phone main function is about Music...what for does it need the keyboard??
Mod it to be used like the E75, but with better audi oquality
vincentl
post Jun 7 2009, 02:22 AM

LIM
1,240 posts

QUOTE(shaun3230 @ Jun 4 2009, 11:36 PM)
Mod it to be used like the E75, but with better audi oquality
better photo quality too
beatlesalbum
post Jun 7 2009, 05:06 PM

1,711 posts

the front panel is a fingerprint nightmare!!! look at all the smudges. it also looks cheap and plasticky.
they also need to use non-glossy for the front panel which i hope they rectify before the release.
tunertoobe
post Jun 14 2009, 10:10 AM

9,309 posts

That's because the phone was shot "cheaply".
The 5800 also suffers that same problem and looks a bit the same after some use, and yet, from the promotional pics that we get, it is gorgeous!
knuckleballer
post Jun 24 2009, 08:52 PM

♥ Ferrari ♥
2,156 posts

why is it unannounced?
e_trade_pj
post Jun 25 2009, 08:46 PM

Buy the best and you only cry once.. :)
662 posts

QUOTE(knuckleballer @ Jun 24 2009, 08:52 PM)
why is it unannounced?
tomorrow release..26-06-2009..
cyew86
post Jun 25 2009, 09:05 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(allrightall @ Jun 23 2009, 05:04 PM)
i searched this phone on youtube, looks good, the screen re orientates itself quite fast after sliding the Qwerty keyboard. if same price or lesser than 5800, is even better.  rclxms.gif
seems like its more expensive than 5800 sad.gif
TSrayzrblade
post Jun 26 2009, 07:52 PM

5,040 posts

played with the actual unit..

a bit too plasticky..

slider a lil bit shakey...

qwerty is like the e75

tunertoobe
post Jun 27 2009, 11:06 AM

9,309 posts

So a budget slider it is. biggrin.gif
walkmanlover
post Jun 29 2009, 12:58 AM

620 posts

i;ll buy this phone tomorrow... tongue.gif
alister88
post Jun 29 2009, 04:04 PM

1,367 posts

this phone looks kinda nice..
keyboard is better than n97, bigger keys than n97's keyboard.
but the sound wasn't that good.
soft volume though turned to max and also cracking sound...

compare sound with 5800, this phone lost.
walkmanlover
post Jun 30 2009, 12:35 AM

620 posts

i bought this phone today..hehe
ilovelyn
post Jul 2 2009, 12:42 AM

2,287 posts

saw this phone on newspaper today..
the design not so nice..
what is the price??
cheaper than 5800??
elvman
post Jul 2 2009, 01:54 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(ilovelyn @ Jul 2 2009, 12:42 AM)
saw this phone on newspaper today..
the design not so nice..
what is the price??
cheaper than 5800??
i saw it at star newspaper today.. its RRP is RM1350 while tube is RM1499....
but i think you could get it at a lower price at the shop... coz i got my tube at 1050...

anyway... i dislike moving parts in handphone... always get broken easily from my bad experience with this kind of hp...

if you a music lover onli then this phone is ok but not for internet/browsing...

but u a heavy internet ppl and play games a lot...then better ops for the tube...
i just can't imagine why the useless keyboard for...
image that you need to press tap many time to get around data entry fields or while browsing webpages...
there is no touch screen on 5730...

anyway with that price... better opt for tube...

This post has been edited by elvman: Jul 2 2009, 01:57 PM
walkmanlover
post Jul 3 2009, 12:43 AM

620 posts

i bought this fon for 1265..is it expensive? ori set from avaxx
rainpocky
post Jul 3 2009, 03:11 AM

387 posts

I like this phone, i just bought one for my wife and its a much better feel than the 5800, though we traded our 5800 in for this phone. Its just that touch just didnt respond as fast as pressing a key. But she's pretty happy with it in all.

I like to the keys as they are easy to press, but i worry though with women with fingernails or something they'll break the front keys easily or something, it seems a bit flimsy for keys. The phone itself is a bit heavy as well, but thats probably due to the keyboard. Wish the screen was slightly larger though. Overall its an okay phone, price wise a bit much... but what to expect from nokia right... always high in the beginning and then low later.
Dr@gon
post Jul 3 2009, 02:41 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(rainpocky @ Jul 3 2009, 03:11 AM)
I like this phone, i just bought one for my wife and its a much better feel than the 5800, though we traded our 5800 in for this phone. Its just that touch just didnt respond as fast as pressing a key. But she's pretty happy with it in all.

I like to the keys as they are easy to press, but i worry though with women with fingernails or something they'll break the front keys easily or something, it seems a bit flimsy for keys. The phone itself is a bit heavy as well, but thats probably due to the keyboard. Wish the screen was slightly larger though. Overall its an okay phone, price wise a bit much... but what to expect from nokia right... always high in the beginning and then low later.
Hi, can u share some opinions on this phone compared to 5800 XM in terms of typing? Which one is better for a frequent SMS user or there isn't really a big difference? Thanks. smile.gif
johnm
post Jul 3 2009, 03:47 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Dr@gon @ Jul 3 2009, 02:41 PM)
Hi, can u share some opinions on this phone compared to 5800 XM in terms of typing? Which one is better for a frequent SMS user or there isn't really a big difference? Thanks.  smile.gif
hello. i am interested to know your personal reviews of this phone esp batt life. want to get it for my wife. like to know anyone's opinion. thanks
Dr@gon
post Jul 3 2009, 03:50 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(johnm @ Jul 3 2009, 03:47 PM)
hello. i am interested to know your personal reviews of this phone esp batt life. want to get it for  my wife. like to know anyone's opinion. thanks
I think u quoted the wrong person, I don't have this phone. laugh.gif
johnm
post Jul 3 2009, 04:09 PM

386 posts

sorry dr@gon..actually just want a review/ opinion of the phone by whoever's got it
lj0000
post Jul 5 2009, 07:49 PM

2,197 posts

rrp is 1350?? i see most shops still selling at 1450 or 1500 for avaxx units. strange huh.

how much is it in nokia store?

Added on July 5, 2009, 7:52 pmjust called nokia sunway - rrp IS 1350. nearly kena cheated by normal shops.

This post has been edited by lj0000: Jul 5 2009, 07:52 PM
walkmanlover
post Jul 8 2009, 01:40 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jul 5 2009, 08:49 PM)
rrp is 1350?? i see most shops still selling at 1450 or 1500 for avaxx units. strange huh.

how much is it in nokia store?

Added on July 5, 2009, 7:52 pmjust called nokia sunway - rrp IS 1350. nearly kena cheated by normal shops.
it is only 1265...for avaxx
johnm
post Jul 8 2009, 06:59 PM

386 posts

anyone with this phone can let me know how it is..esp batt life. thanks
walkmanlover
post Jul 8 2009, 10:39 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(johnm @ Jul 8 2009, 07:59 PM)
anyone with this phone can let me know how it is..esp batt life. thanks
batt life sucks..it drains out like drinking water..used it for texting only ..did not lasts for even 15 hrs..
hazril
post Jul 9 2009, 01:47 AM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

RRP around 1350...??serious...???digitalmall qouted me 1699...aiyo....
hanieyf
post Jul 9 2009, 12:18 PM

1,698 posts

now around rm1250 only
pwf
post Jul 9 2009, 05:18 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(walkmanlover @ Jul 8 2009, 10:39 PM)
batt life sucks..it drains out like drinking water..used it for texting only ..did not lasts for even 15 hrs..
You sure you tested the phone? I have just purchase this phone, this is my second day usage and the battery haven't drop a single bar. It seem that the battery is good. Watch some movie using the phone yesterday night and now still full bar.

It a good phone. Some part is made of metal if you look closely.

No regret getting this phone at all.

walkmanlover
post Jul 9 2009, 09:05 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(pwf @ Jul 9 2009, 06:18 PM)
You sure you tested the phone? I have just purchase this phone, this is my second day usage and the battery haven't drop a single bar. It seem that the battery is good. Watch some movie using the phone yesterday night and now still full bar.

o coz i tested it..i own this phone..maybe im not charging the batt for 8 hours for the first time charge..but overall, i love this phone..erm..one more thing, when the battery drop it first bar, the next bar will drop faster than the 1st one...really fast..
Lynixx
post Jul 13 2009, 10:13 AM

Gooner
1,916 posts

got this phone few days ago....
it seems alot problem with this phone...especially the music button which located beside of the screen...
when i press play button there is no music playback.
pwf
post Jul 13 2009, 06:32 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Jul 13 2009, 10:13 AM)
got this phone few days ago....
it seems alot problem with this phone...especially the music button which located beside of the screen...
when i press play button there is no music playback.
Hmm...so far I have no problem with this phone. It have been working fine...nothing wrong at all. Maybe you might want to reset your phone.

hazril
post Jul 13 2009, 11:39 PM

3,070 posts

pwf : could u do a mini review on this phone...???can u include also how loud the ringtone is...kinda like this phone rite now...
beatlesalbum
post Jul 14 2009, 04:15 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(pwf @ Jul 9 2009, 05:18 PM)

THis phone has the same specs as E75 hardware wise. It even uses the same ARM 369Mhz Processor onboard.
Basically one major difference is that it doenst come with the office editing software which made e75 a bit more expensive.
but the e75 definetely looks better.
joshuawong
post Jul 14 2009, 12:05 PM

310 posts

It's a great phone tho, has the E, N and XpressMusic features in one phone.

I did write some short review bout this phone on my blog. If you interested, you can click on my signature below. smile.gif
hanieyf
post Jul 15 2009, 12:13 AM

1,698 posts

im going to buy this

ws_lim83
post Jul 17 2009, 02:56 PM

267 posts

is there any place can download n-gage game online ?
lj0000
post Jul 17 2009, 09:08 PM

2,197 posts

micro-review:

pros:
almost same stuff as e75, but at much cheaper price
dedicated music key, dedicated ngage key
nice keyboard.
feels lighter than e75
comes wit 8gb card
comes with very good earpiece
25 hours music playing
very good connectivity - hsdpa, bt, wifi etc. can use as modem over bt at nearly 1mbps!
comparatively looong battery life compared to my pda.

cons:
plasticky
light leaks all over the place
poorly fitted dedicated music key - loose one, cause light leak again.
relatively poor camera when compared to samsung/sony ericsson.
relatively shorter batt life compared to e71.

overall... i can live with all the cons. and after 2 years of using touch screen, i am switching well to this phone. now i can drive and make phone call! (still dangerous though, but even more dangerous when using touch screen)
wahzhai
post Jul 17 2009, 10:46 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jul 17 2009, 09:08 PM)
micro-review:

pros:
almost same stuff as e75, but at much cheaper price
dedicated music key, dedicated ngage key
nice keyboard.
feels lighter than e75
comes wit 8gb card
comes with very good earpiece
25 hours music playing
very good connectivity - hsdpa, bt, wifi etc. can use as modem over bt at nearly 1mbps!
comparatively looong battery life compared to my pda.

cons:
plasticky
light leaks all over the place
poorly fitted dedicated music key - loose one, cause light leak again.
relatively poor camera when compared to samsung/sony ericsson.
relatively shorter batt life compared to e71.

overall... i can live with all the cons. and after 2 years of using touch screen, i am switching well to this phone. now i can drive and make phone call! (still dangerous though, but even more dangerous when using touch screen)
sry.. kinda noob here.. wat u mean by plasticky and light leak?? can u explain ??
sad.gif
lj0000
post Jul 17 2009, 11:06 PM

2,197 posts

plasticky - have those very small misalignments so it will squeak and flex a bit here and there. feels plastic compared to the very very solid e75.

light leak - having light where it is not suppose to be. i.e. around the screen, around the music keys.
wahzhai
post Jul 17 2009, 11:25 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jul 17 2009, 11:06 PM)
plasticky - have those very small misalignments so it will squeak and flex a bit here and there. feels plastic compared to the very very solid e75.

light leak - having light where it is not suppose to be. i.e. around the screen, around the music keys.
so overall do u think it is a good phone ?? can last for 3-5years?
this phone still cant get in the top 10 ranking compare to 5800..
how come?? is it juz came out not long ago ?

wLsY
post Jul 18 2009, 12:22 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(walkmanlover @ Jul 8 2009, 10:39 PM)
This is my 3rd day usage and the battery still got half bar. I think something wrong with ur battery.
Nice phone.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
beatlesalbum
post Jul 18 2009, 02:00 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(wahzhai @ Jul 17 2009, 11:25 PM)
so overall do u think it is a good phone ?? can last for 3-5years?
this phone still cant get in the top 10 ranking compare to 5800..
how come?? is it juz came out not long ago ?
its a good budget phone, but if you compare it to its twin brother E75, it loses out.

why do you think the E75 which has the same internal h/ware and s/ware and battery is a few hundred cheaper?

the quality of the built and materials of the casing (and the office editing software) differentiates both. 3-5 years? E75 is a better bet.
But if you're on budget, this phone serves its purpose.
I just wish they came out with the pink and blue casing variety.
lj0000
post Jul 18 2009, 02:27 PM

2,197 posts

yes, after think here think there.. i still go for this phone as i think its more sexy compared to the crome look of e75. I bought the grey 5730 and never regreted! enjoyed it as music player, surf net, update facebook, gps, well.. all the modern stuff very well. this phone will last me for some time.
esp if u liked ngage games, there are 2 buttons on the earpiece for A and B
easy to press compared to E75 where u have to open the keyboard and press QW for button.

the only drawback that keep me away from this phone is the camera. well... none of the nokia phone have great camera anyway. I am about to choose samsung inno8 for its really good camera. but friends who dealt with samsung quality kept me away.

Added on July 18, 2009, 2:39 pmcurrent color is grey, red and blue. pink will come later

5800 is a great phone. the first nokia touch screen phone and it deserved to be the top. even nokia themself also suprised as their guinea pig turned so big.

5800 and 5730 serves 2 different market. those who want touch screen and those who don't. Do go nokia shop to play with these phone for hours before u put ur hard earned cash into it.

software... the quick office software upgrade to full version cost rm89.12.
other must haves:
Fring (msn+skype+icq+ etc etc) voip calls
joiku (turn phone into wifi spot)

battery... as with all li-ion battery, try not to drain it. keep topping it up whereever possible. on my phone, i can do 3.5g running msn messenger, fring communicator for around 7 hours. if minimal usage phone calls, can last 2-3 days. compared to my old pda. need to charge every night even no use at all!

This post has been edited by lj0000: Jul 18 2009, 02:39 PM
wahzhai
post Jul 18 2009, 03:45 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jul 18 2009, 02:27 PM)
yes, after think here think there.. i still go for this phone as i think its more sexy compared to the crome look of e75. I bought the grey 5730 and never regreted! enjoyed it as music player, surf net, update facebook, gps, well.. all the modern stuff very well. this phone will last me for some time.
esp if u liked ngage games, there are 2 buttons on the earpiece for A and B
easy to press compared to E75 where u have to open the keyboard and press QW for button.

the only drawback that keep me away from this phone is the camera. well... none of the nokia phone have great camera anyway. I am about to choose samsung inno8 for its really good camera. but friends who dealt with samsung quality kept me away.

Added on July 18, 2009, 2:39 pmcurrent color is grey, red and blue. pink will come later

5800 is a great phone. the first nokia touch screen phone and it deserved to be the top. even nokia themself also suprised as their guinea pig turned so big.

5800 and 5730 serves 2 different market. those who want touch screen and those who don't. Do go nokia shop to play with these phone for hours before u put ur hard earned cash into it.

software... the quick office software upgrade to full version cost rm89.12.
other must haves:
Fring (msn+skype+icq+ etc etc) voip calls
joiku (turn phone into wifi spot)
battery... as with all li-ion battery, try not to drain it. keep topping it up whereever possible. on my phone, i can do 3.5g running msn messenger, fring communicator for around 7 hours. if minimal usage phone calls, can last 2-3 days. compared to my old pda. need to charge every night even no use at all!
thank you for yr information
same goes to beatlesalbum ^^
knuckleballer
post Jul 18 2009, 10:22 PM

♥ Ferrari ♥
2,156 posts

why is this phone labelled unannounced? :S
just curious

lj0000
post Jul 18 2009, 11:03 PM

2,197 posts

it was secretly launched into the market, then baru got the ad on tv.

Added on July 18, 2009, 11:25 pmanyone tried to plug in the tv out cable on this phone?
the spec sheet says its AV out. so i suppose its the same as the 5800?

This post has been edited by lj0000: Jul 18 2009, 11:25 PM
wahzhai
post Jul 19 2009, 02:55 PM

88 posts

whats the different between 2G network and 3G network ?
can explain to me in detail? newbie in phones here >.<
lj0000
post Jul 19 2009, 03:40 PM

2,197 posts

2g = gsm = the original standard
3g = cdma = newer standard, support for video call, top speed 384kbps
3.5g = hsdpa = one of the latest standard, good for internet use, top speed around 1.5mbps

for normal voice call, stick to 2g, will make battery last longer.
switch to cdma only when needed.

Added on July 19, 2009, 3:41 pm2g = gsm = the original standard
3.5g = hsdpa = one of the latest standard, good for internet use, top speed around 1.5mbps

This post has been edited by lj0000: Jul 19 2009, 03:41 PM
wahzhai
post Jul 19 2009, 03:53 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jul 19 2009, 03:40 PM)
2g = gsm = the original standard

Added on July 19, 2009, 3:41 pm2g = gsm = the original standard

the normal package of 5730 is 2g or 3g ??
lj0000
post Jul 19 2009, 04:06 PM

2,197 posts

5730 is a 2, 2.5, 2.75, 3, 3.5G capable machine
sommore got wifi, bt, gps
total of 10+ antennas located on top and bottom of the phone.

the only thing it left out is hsupa (for 7mbps internet)
hanieyf
post Jul 19 2009, 04:32 PM

1,698 posts

i already use 5800 express, and its speaker really demm good, how bout 5730 speaker ? good or better?
lj0000
post Jul 19 2009, 04:33 PM

2,197 posts

not as good as 5800. only single speaker.
speaker is hidden behind the plastic panel.
but loud enough though.
hanieyf
post Jul 19 2009, 04:40 PM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jul 19 2009, 04:33 PM)
not as good as 5800. only single speaker.
speaker is hidden behind the plastic panel.
but loud enough though.
not surround like 5800 lah then ?
lj0000
post Jul 19 2009, 04:51 PM

2,197 posts

nope. as there is only 1 speaker
ringtone side got the 3d option, but not sure how it work and i cant tell the difference.
wahzhai
post Jul 19 2009, 08:20 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jul 19 2009, 04:06 PM)
5730 is a 2, 2.5, 2.75, 3, 3.5G capable machine
sommore got wifi, bt, gps
total of 10+ antennas located on top and bottom of the phone.

the only thing it left out is hsupa (for 7mbps internet)
using 5730 to surf net.. the browser is same as normal we surf net using computer?
or diff type ?
lj0000
post Jul 19 2009, 10:32 PM

2,197 posts

the browser we use are:
nokia browser - quite ok
opera mini - good
skyfire - best

youtube, facebook etc are quite ok.

gmail, hotmail, yahoo mail etc all ok.
uhlaw
post Jul 20 2009, 03:29 AM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

It feels quite weird, right?

All previous XM models have stereo/dual speakers.

But why this 5730 Xm only has single speaker doh.gif
twinkles
post Jul 20 2009, 04:18 AM

GOD behind You !
656 posts

No offense !
but for my personal taste , i think the slide-out keyboard's design is abit ugly!

Maybe 5800 is more better smile.gif
walkmanlover
post Jul 20 2009, 07:44 PM

620 posts

oh nooo..i think my btry really got problem...sad.gif(

Added on July 20, 2009, 7:52 pm

QUOTE(wahzhai @ Jul 19 2009, 09:20 PM)
using 5730 to surf net.. the browser is same as normal we surf net using computer?
or diff type ?
same as using pc..but only certain web will redirect to their wap page..

This post has been edited by walkmanlover: Jul 20 2009, 07:52 PM
wahzhai
post Jul 20 2009, 08:53 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(walkmanlover @ Jul 20 2009, 07:44 PM)
oh nooo..i think my btry really got problem...sad.gif(

Added on July 20, 2009, 7:52 pm
same as using pc..but only certain web will redirect to their wap page..
u have this phone rite??
can u tell me pros and cons abt this phone ?
thx
halimunan
post Jul 20 2009, 11:30 PM

44 posts

hi guys, proud owner here.
1 question..

the nokia maps software.. can only tell me the location and maps.
if i want to get direction, from a to b, i need to pay for it. (im using prepaid)

do u guys know what software can be used to achieve this?( free navigation gps software ?) like google maps.

google maps mobile also charge.. they connect thru wap, gprs or 3g..

thanks.
walkmanlover
post Jul 20 2009, 11:35 PM

620 posts

pros
-qwerty keyboard (fast texting)
-hsdpa (fast net surfing)
- light sensor ( battery saving)
- 3.2 mp carl zeis optic
- powerful soung through headset
- dedicated music keys (prev,play/pause,next)
- 3.5 mm jack
- gps navigation
- nice standby theme -Contact, horivontal, vertical, talking theme
- n-gage compatible included 1 free game if u buy ori set)
- shining metal frame
- blinking breathing light for sms/missed call notification
- 8gb included
- youtube compatible ( can view video on browser)
- and many more

cons
- lagg after send sms (rare)
- music keys not so reponsive..sumtime not working. work only when keypad free (not locked)
- fingerprint magnet
- back side easily scratch
- mono speaker and not so loud + sound come out from the slit of back cover

-kytz-
post Jul 20 2009, 11:38 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(halimunan @ Jul 20 2009, 11:30 PM)
1 question..

if i want to get direction, from a to b, i need to pay for it. (im using prepaid)

do u guys know what software can be used to achieve this?( free navigation gps software ?) like google maps.

thanks.
Bro, GPS navigation software is never free remember that unless u wan get the *ahem*.
walkmanlover
post Jul 20 2009, 11:42 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(halimunan @ Jul 21 2009, 12:30 AM)
1 question..

thanks.
try refer n85 thread..there is gps installation instruction (Garmin mobileXT)
wahzhai
post Jul 21 2009, 02:38 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(walkmanlover @ Jul 20 2009, 11:35 PM)
pros
-qwerty keyboard (fast texting)
-hsdpa (fast net surfing)
- light sensor ( battery saving)
- 3.2 mp carl zeis optic
- powerful soung through headset
- dedicated music keys (prev,play/pause,next)
- 3.5 mm jack
- gps navigation
- nice standby theme -Contact, horivontal, vertical, talking theme
- n-gage compatible included 1 free game if u buy ori set)
- shining metal frame
- blinking breathing light for sms/missed call notification
- 8gb included
- youtube compatible ( can view video on browser)
- and many more

cons
- lagg after send sms (rare)
- music keys not so reponsive..sumtime not working. work only when keypad free (not locked)
- fingerprint magnet
- back side easily scratch
- mono speaker and not so loud + sound come out from the slit of back cover
what do u mean by fingerprint magnet ??
sry noobie here..
walkmanlover
post Jul 21 2009, 10:02 AM

620 posts

our fingerprint visible easily..
wahzhai
post Jul 24 2009, 01:12 AM

88 posts

is this phone demand good? when will its price drop ?
e_trade_pj
post Jul 24 2009, 12:09 PM

Buy the best and you only cry once.. :)
662 posts

QUOTE(wahzhai @ Jul 24 2009, 01:12 AM)
is this phone demand good? when will its price drop ?
this phone respond just "so so" only, cause many choices in between these price range, depend what you need..

when will its price drop ? = depend on when you want to buy, phone price always will adjust from time to time..then another new model will release..
Adrian_Borland
post Jul 24 2009, 01:16 PM

45 posts

how much for new price now ? is it 5730 speaker is louder than e75?
hazril
post Jul 26 2009, 12:28 AM

3,070 posts

QUOTE(Adrian_Borland @ Jul 24 2009, 01:16 PM)
how much for new price now ? is it 5730 speaker is louder than e75?
would like to know also how loud is the speaker compare tu E75....
corallinkz
post Jul 26 2009, 04:09 AM

1,387 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Jul 26 2009, 12:28 AM)
would like to know also how loud is the speaker compare tu E75....
i think, should better compare the loudness with n95 8gb or 5800xm
Arasan
post Jul 26 2009, 02:53 PM

25 posts

i have bought this phone yesterday and so far it performs up to my expectation.the only problems is that today i noticed that my back cover has scratches..i cant seem to remove them by just wiping with a clothe...any idea how to remove em?
waktonk
post Jul 26 2009, 03:22 PM

69 posts

to be honest, this phone looks hideous..
too many keys..

*proud owner of nk5800xm
adie82
post Jul 27 2009, 09:22 PM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

http://www.mudah.my/Nokia-5730-avaxx-xpres...sic-3526040.htm

is he rich as bill gate?

This post has been edited by adie82: Jul 27 2009, 09:22 PM
walkmanlover
post Jul 28 2009, 06:46 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(adie82 @ Jul 27 2009, 10:22 PM)
removed
hanieyf
post Jul 28 2009, 06:52 PM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(Arasan @ Jul 26 2009, 02:53 PM)
i have bought this phone yesterday and so far it performs up to my expectation.the only problems is that today i noticed that my back cover has scratches..i cant seem to remove them by just wiping with a clothe...any idea how to remove em?
how the performance ?
terryfoo
post Jul 30 2009, 03:11 AM

574 posts

what is the ap price for this phone now ? ap include the headset like the sony ericson 1 ? headset controller ? how much the cheapest you all get ?
iostream
post Jul 30 2009, 05:26 PM

286 posts

anyone can share some pictures taken by 5730 camera?
lj0000
post Jul 30 2009, 11:46 PM

2,197 posts

Added on July 30, 2009, 11:56 pmuser posted image

Added on July 30, 2009, 11:57 pmuser posted image

Added on July 31, 2009, 12:17 amthe market price is 1250 with all ori set
yes. the included earbud is quite good. with wired remote.

This post has been edited by lj0000: Jul 31 2009, 12:17 AM
walkmanlover
post Jul 31 2009, 11:02 AM

620 posts

lj0000
post Jul 31 2009, 10:28 PM

2,197 posts

today went to pc fair to test the most expensive htc touchpro2.
very very bad camera. hoho. but the autofocus touch system is very nice.

Added on July 31, 2009, 10:33 pmanyone found accessories for this phone? particularly leather pouches? those that can cater for our keypad

This post has been edited by lj0000: Jul 31 2009, 10:33 PM
terryfoo
post Aug 1 2009, 12:39 AM

574 posts

Hi guys....I just bought a nokia 5730 XM, GREAT PHONE...I Love It !!!
lj0000
post Aug 1 2009, 10:40 AM

2,197 posts

welcome to the club
terryfoo
post Aug 1 2009, 11:35 AM

574 posts

why this thread no 5730 PIC as a thread photo ??

Added on August 2, 2009, 3:22 pmHi, I got a question here, can I just use wifi to connect everytime everything when need to connect to internet ? how to do that ? to connet to wifi with FIX ?

This post has been edited by terryfoo: Aug 2 2009, 03:22 PM
wahzhai
post Aug 2 2009, 10:10 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(terryfoo @ Aug 1 2009, 12:39 AM)
Hi guys....I just bought a nokia 5730 XM, GREAT PHONE...I Love It !!!
wats the price for the phone u bought??

terryfoo
post Aug 3 2009, 12:36 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(wahzhai @ Aug 2 2009, 10:10 PM)
wats the price for the phone u bought??
rm 1200
lj0000
post Aug 3 2009, 12:40 AM

2,197 posts

Hi, I got a question here, can I just use wifi to connect everytime everything when need to connect to internet ? how to do that ? to connet to wifi with FIX ?

menu-settings-settings-connection-destinations-internet-
set the wifi as priority 1, and delete the non-essential ones.

Added on August 3, 2009, 1:07 ami think it is right.. i am new to s60 os also.

Added on August 3, 2009, 1:08 amuser posted image

This post has been edited by lj0000: Aug 3 2009, 01:08 AM
terryfoo
post Aug 3 2009, 02:35 PM

574 posts

anyone using the FExplorer manager ? I want a full version of this app...
wahzhai
post Aug 3 2009, 09:29 PM

88 posts

i got a question here.. my fren told me if u buy a phone then charge it up to 8hours before trying it... like this u can have better battery life.. if not yr battery life will be dam suck up..
terryfoo
post Aug 3 2009, 10:33 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(wahzhai @ Aug 3 2009, 09:29 PM)
i got a question here.. my fren told me if u buy a phone then charge it up to 8hours before trying it... like this u can have better battery life.. if not yr battery life will be dam suck up..
nowadays charger wont let you do like that. now's charger will auto stop charge once your battery full. even you charge for 8 or 20 hours = useless...

Added on August 5, 2009, 2:47 amhow to make the speaker louder ? doh.gif

This post has been edited by terryfoo: Aug 5 2009, 02:47 AM
hanieyf
post Aug 6 2009, 09:53 PM

1,698 posts

anyone using garmin with this phone yet? how the performance?
jian616
post Aug 6 2009, 10:35 PM

109 posts

hey. can anyone tell me where to dl msn messenger for this phone?
wahzhai
post Aug 7 2009, 12:43 AM

88 posts

my phone cant read and type chinese word .. how ?! any ways to install it ?
terryfoo
post Aug 7 2009, 01:28 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(hanieyf @ Aug 6 2009, 09:53 PM)
performance is great

QUOTE(jian616 @ Aug 6 2009, 10:35 PM)
hey. can anyone tell me where to dl msn messenger for this phone?
inside the internet got already, not need to download

QUOTE(wahzhai @ Aug 7 2009, 12:43 AM)
my phone cant read and type chinese word .. how ?! any ways to install it ?
original don't have ?
qistina
post Aug 7 2009, 07:06 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(terryfoo @ Aug 7 2009, 01:28 AM)
performance is great

inside the internet got already, not need to download
original don't have ?
how long d device take to lock d gps signal bro??

This post has been edited by qistina: Aug 7 2009, 07:07 AM
walkmanlover
post Aug 7 2009, 10:01 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(hanieyf @ Aug 6 2009, 10:53 PM)
Hey..im using garmin mobile xt on this phone.the perfromance was really great! Better than previous model of nokia i think. I also using sygic mobile and it also nice.

Ps: i replying using this phone ryte now tongue.gif
pwf
post Aug 7 2009, 02:07 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(walkmanlover @ Aug 7 2009, 10:01 AM)
Hey..im using garmin mobile xt on this phone.the perfromance was really great! Better than previous model of nokia i think. I also using sygic mobile and it also nice.

Ps: i replying using this phone ryte now tongue.gif
I am also using garmin and the performance is great. Better than my 5800XM. rclxms.gif
qistina
post Aug 7 2009, 03:17 PM

149 posts

someone ask in garage sales,brand new AP for dz model $1050??
terryfoo
post Aug 7 2009, 08:04 PM

574 posts

anyone using FExplorer ?
lj0000
post Aug 9 2009, 11:41 PM

2,197 posts

use x-plore also not bad. have to wait 5 second though.

chinese is under settings, for example:

text message: option->writing language->zhongwen.

the gps lock signal will be faster if u use A-gps. also, it will be slow for the first time. subsequent one is almost instant.
walkmanlover
post Aug 10 2009, 09:25 AM

620 posts

yesterday, i went out to penang, went to many mcds but never succeed to connect to any mcd's network..i felt so down..is there any problem with my phone? Or mybe whoever try to connect to mcd's network failed just like me? Im so worry bcoz i even cant connect to wifi at my cmpus. sad.gif
lj0000
post Aug 10 2009, 11:50 AM

2,197 posts

settings->connect->wlan wiz
select
option->start web browsing!

found a easy way to kill the camera sound:
download:http://www.mediafire.com/?o2ynjwwme5v
sign and install, then reboot
then switch off warning tone in profiles.
settle.
wahzhai
post Aug 10 2009, 11:36 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(terryfoo @ Aug 7 2009, 01:28 AM)

original don't have ?
ya dont have.. there is only english automatic and filipino..
is my phone fake 1 or real 1 ? no zitron or avaxx sticker behind it summore..
but the imei code is the same..
terryfoo
post Aug 11 2009, 12:19 AM

574 posts

how to make all the song got the album photo in phone ?
lj0000
post Aug 12 2009, 12:15 AM

2,197 posts

philipino?? looks like u got water set/codepage.
there are ways to change the language, but it involved hacking so its not allowed in this forum. do google around.

not tried yet, but what about using the nokia music manager?
terryfoo
post Aug 12 2009, 04:17 PM

574 posts

hi, may I know where can i download the msn ? after format phone, the msn gone....ngage too...where can i download ?
wahzhai
post Aug 12 2009, 11:55 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Aug 12 2009, 12:15 AM)
there are ways to change the language, but it involved hacking so its not allowed in this forum. do google around.

wat is codepage?
nghj
post Aug 13 2009, 10:31 AM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Aug 12 2009, 12:15 AM)

cant bring back to shop have them change the language by formatting?
lj0000
post Aug 13 2009, 09:10 PM

2,197 posts

msn can be downloaded... by replacing it with fring www.fring.com

ngage... at http://www.n-gage.com/ngi/ngage/web/g0/en/...nload_5730.html

language pack: google for 'nokia change language pack'

codepage/language pack is the defined for the phone that is meant for the market. u can flash to malaysia/singapore/indonesia market.
terryfoo
post Aug 13 2009, 11:33 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Aug 13 2009, 09:10 PM)
msn can be downloaded... by replacing it with fring www.fring.com

ngage... at http://www.n-gage.com/ngi/ngage/web/g0/en/...nload_5730.html

language pack: google for 'nokia change language pack'

codepage/language pack is the defined for the phone that is meant for the market. u can flash to malaysia/singapore/indonesia market.
just install msn, copied from my fren phone n78, i wonder is it old version....coz can't send nudge...yours original can send nudge ?
Lynixx
post Aug 14 2009, 11:33 AM

Gooner
1,916 posts

i wonder why sometime my phone keypad will light up and sometime wouldn't hmm.gif
Ghostblind
post Aug 14 2009, 11:35 AM

4°₭ ⍧∟⌊⌋ß
546 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Jan 20 2009, 03:39 PM)
tk lawa lgsung...dry.gif

lgk cun 5800...

hehhehe... biggrin.gif
N97 lagi lawa..
terryfoo
post Aug 14 2009, 12:09 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Aug 14 2009, 11:33 AM)
i wonder why sometime my phone keypad will light up and sometime wouldn't hmm.gif
when the light sensor sencs got light, then the keypad will auto turn off the light, for save battery.
WhitE LighteR
post Aug 14 2009, 02:10 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

i hav no idea why ppl buy this phone... sweat.gif
lj0000
post Aug 14 2009, 09:44 PM

2,197 posts

keypad light up depends on the light condition of the surrounding. there is a light sensor next to the earpiece.

people buy this phone because its a great phone smile.gif
I used to use touch screen phone and its a big relieve to switch back to keypads.

this is also one of the nokias that is with the most amount of keys!
walkmanlover
post Aug 14 2009, 09:57 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Aug 14 2009, 03:10 PM)
faster typing and better than other n series that lagg a lot.. sweat.gif rclxms.gif

my slide mechanism broke already sad.gif when i open the slide it didnt rotate sad.gif but i already sent for repaire and done..it got the uummph back..
this happened when i was in my class, i open it but stuck, after closed and reopened the slide, i figure out one tiny cube with the dimension of 5mm x 5mm x 1mm come out from the slit of the two part of the phone (betwwen upper part and lower part where the. at the back of it got a kind of glue and i stick it on my back cover..after send it to Nokia Care, they told me that it is the problem why it didnt rotate (the cube). i think it one of the slide mechanism..to all 5730xm user, dont ever try to put on leather puch the new type i dunno wut its name lol bcoz i think thats the reason why that cube come off.
lj0000
post Aug 14 2009, 09:59 PM

2,197 posts

my original msn cannot nudge people

you may download the original msn at
menu->download!->social networks->msn

Added on August 15, 2009, 9:55 amcube? got cube meh?
i hope u manage to repair it under warranty

This post has been edited by lj0000: Aug 15 2009, 09:55 AM
terryfoo
post Aug 15 2009, 11:52 AM

574 posts

what equalizer u guys using ?
qistina
post Aug 15 2009, 03:34 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Aug 14 2009, 02:10 PM)
Main disadvantages for 5730:

* Fingerprint-prone cheap-looking plastic build
* No DivX/XviD support out of the box (can be installed, possibly requiring a purchase)
* Average camera performance
* Poor battery life
* Doesn't charge off microUSB connection
* No TV-out functionality
hanieyf
post Aug 15 2009, 04:50 PM

1,698 posts

thats why this model not hot selling enough
walkmanlover
post Aug 15 2009, 09:41 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(qistina @ Aug 15 2009, 04:34 PM)

* No DivX/XviD support out of the box (can be installed, possibly requiring a purchase)
    * Poor battery life
Wash your hand b4 touch the phone
install coreplayer / smartmovie and its free
no need very9 high quality. its just an extra function for run and not for professional use. use DSLR instead
no problem at all unless u travel a lot.
doesnt charge off? wut do u mean?
why need tv out? u have many other media player. more over we do not need cable to connect to home media. just use wifi..

This post has been edited by walkmanlover: Aug 15 2009, 09:43 PM
Lynixx
post Aug 16 2009, 09:09 AM

Gooner
1,916 posts

QUOTE(qistina @ Aug 15 2009, 03:34 PM)

* Poor battery life
it does charge the phone battery once u connect your phone to pc by micro-usb cable.
terryfoo
post Aug 16 2009, 03:33 PM

574 posts

Nokia 5730 ROCKS !!!!!! flex.gif thumbup.gif brows.gif rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
knightdemon
post Aug 17 2009, 01:00 PM

267 posts

jz wanna ask... is tis phone better than the nk5800??? i considering the both of tis phone cos its the same price... jz sent in my n78 for repairs and was looking around at the new phones in nokia store...

well my basic requirement is

-gps
-wifi
-good camera quality from a phone..
- and ease of use while driving...

so both the nk5730 n nk5800 has it..but i need more feedbacks from users of both tis phone to go the nex step..buying it..haha... thnks guys
cyew86
post Aug 17 2009, 01:02 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(knightdemon @ Aug 17 2009, 01:00 PM)
jz wanna ask... is tis phone better than the nk5800??? i considering the both of tis phone cos its the same price... jz sent in my n78 for repairs and was looking around at the new phones in nokia store...

-gps
-wifi

so both the nk5730 n nk5800 has it..but i need more feedbacks from users of both tis phone to go the nex step..buying it..haha... thnks guys
good camera quality: nokia 5800 does not have it
nokia n82 seems to fit your requirements better
knightdemon
post Aug 17 2009, 01:20 PM

267 posts

it looks kinda bigger than n78..btw how much is n82?? and the max memory card it can take in is??
terryfoo
post Aug 17 2009, 01:27 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(knightdemon @ Aug 17 2009, 01:00 PM)

-gps
-wifi

5730 got qwerty keyboard, can put up to 16gb, come with 8gb. so far no lag for this phone, everything great.
if compare with 5800, 5800 hard to type sms or make a call when driving. you should go try the 5800 and 5730 first, the only you know which 1 you like.
cyew86
post Aug 17 2009, 02:10 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(knightdemon @ Aug 17 2009, 01:20 PM)
it looks kinda bigger than n78..btw how much is n82?? and the max memory card it can take in is??
my friend bought an AP set for RM860, but the cheapest i saw on LYN is RM9xx and RM10xx
wahzhai
post Aug 17 2009, 04:55 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(walkmanlover @ Aug 15 2009, 09:41 PM)
Wash your hand b4 touch the phone
install coreplayer / smartmovie and its free
no need very9 high quality. its just an extra function for run and not for professional use. use DSLR instead
no problem at all unless u travel a lot.
doesnt charge off? wut do u mean?
why need tv out? u have many other media player. more over we do not need cable to connect to home media. just use wifi..
where to DL coreplayer / smartmovie

5730xm ROCKSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

This post has been edited by wahzhai: Aug 17 2009, 04:56 PM
Everdying
post Aug 17 2009, 07:04 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,730 posts

can users here check their phoneinfo to see that the cpu speed is actually 369mhz and not 192mhz as some others have reported?
wahzhai
post Aug 17 2009, 10:10 PM

88 posts

why my 5730 cant open mp4's video? when i open it only sound come out nia.

fcukers
post Aug 17 2009, 10:16 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(wahzhai @ Aug 17 2009, 10:10 PM)
why my 5730 cant open mp4's video? when i open it only sound come out nia.
check volume button.

if not, i guess smth is wrong with the video format. blush.gif
lj0000
post Aug 19 2009, 12:57 PM

2,197 posts

i think u r refering to the latest m4v video from 15malaysia, right?
ya. the real player cannot play the m4v videos. only sound come out.

sourcing for core player also so it can play.

meanwhile, you may convert it into a compatible format using pcsuite.
just drag the file to the big phone and then it should convert for u.

walkmanlover
post Aug 20 2009, 05:15 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(wahzhai @ Aug 17 2009, 05:55 PM)
where to DL coreplayer / smartmovie

5730xm ROCKSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
erm..google is your best fren..i dun remember where i get it.
terryfoo
post Aug 22 2009, 01:20 AM

574 posts

guys do you know how to play n-gage with friends ? like worms....how to play multiplayer ?

Added on August 22, 2009, 5:56 pmanyone know where can download core player serial number ? please pm me if know. thank you. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by terryfoo: Aug 22 2009, 05:56 PM
Azureknight94
post Aug 23 2009, 07:38 PM

1,667 posts

Im experiencing problems when watching videos... sometimes watch then sud halfway reboot by itself..any1 got this type of problem also?
Lynixx
post Aug 23 2009, 08:32 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Aug 23 2009, 07:38 PM)
Im experiencing problems when watching videos... sometimes watch then sud halfway reboot by itself..any1 got this type of problem also?
i having this problem too but is not happen while watching video.
when the "NOKIA" logo appear then it automatically restart...anyone know y?
Azureknight94
post Aug 23 2009, 08:39 PM

1,667 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Aug 23 2009, 08:32 PM)
i having this problem too but is not happen while watching video.
when the "NOKIA" logo appear then it automatically restart...anyone know y?
Ya same also but mine is while watching video sometimes not watching also will restart by itself =_= annoying
lj0000
post Aug 23 2009, 09:35 PM

2,197 posts

what kind of video, which player??
terryfoo
post Aug 24 2009, 12:28 AM

574 posts

so far i using core player no problem.
Azureknight94
post Aug 24 2009, 02:31 AM

1,667 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Aug 23 2009, 09:35 PM)
what kind of video, which player??
3gp format using the real player that came with the phone lor
Lynixx
post Aug 25 2009, 06:46 AM

Gooner
1,916 posts

guys,does anyone know how to set user picture as full screen wallpaper?
cuz when i set i noticed the top and bottom wasn't in covered by my picture.
lord
post Aug 25 2009, 10:10 PM

392 posts

currently owning a N82..feel like changing to this phone but then I'm not sure whether it's worth it since N82 is a great phone...is this phone compatible to N82?? except the camera which N82 got 5mp tongue.gif
faiz5688
post Aug 25 2009, 10:13 PM

61 posts

sound soo slow,i want to sell it...camera button so hard to press...
lj0000
post Aug 26 2009, 11:38 AM

2,197 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Aug 25 2009, 06:46 AM)
guys,does anyone know how to set user picture as full screen wallpaper?
cuz when i set i noticed the top and bottom wasn't in covered by my picture.
make sure the picture u use is in the correct size and aspect ratio. Do use a small size picture. otherwise it will slow down ur phone.

Added on August 26, 2009, 11:40 am
QUOTE(lord @ Aug 25 2009, 10:10 PM)
currently owning a N82..feel like changing to this phone but then I'm not sure whether it's worth it since N82 is a great phone...is this phone compatible to N82?? except the camera which N82 got 5mp tongue.gif
you will miss the camera dearly. the camera in this phone is not its strength. picture come out not exactly great, but usable.
in return, you get to supercharge ur sms, emails etc because of the good keyboard.

Added on August 26, 2009, 11:42 am
QUOTE(faiz5688 @ Aug 25 2009, 10:13 PM)
sound soo slow,i want to sell it...camera button so hard to press...
just add a shortcut button in the home screen to activate the camera. the camera will initialise a bit slow (3 second) but still better than using the dedicated button to start it.

picture capturing still use the dedicated button, not a problem.
another thing to do is to keymap the zoom keys + and - to AB game button. make it much easier to use.

Added on August 26, 2009, 11:45 am
QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Aug 24 2009, 02:31 AM)
3gp format using the real player that came with the phone lor
hmm.. recomend upgrade to core player lo. more complete.
but this phone still not capable of playing hi bitrate movies. lagging.

tips:
you may use video clips as your incoming ringtone. so when u set ur friend's ringtone as video, the video will play when called.

Added on August 26, 2009, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(fcukers @ Aug 17 2009, 10:16 PM)
check volume button.

if not, i guess smth is wrong with the video format. blush.gif
you need codecs http://www.google.com.my/search?q=codec+s60
or go dig out core player.

This post has been edited by lj0000: Aug 26 2009, 12:01 PM
Azureknight94
post Aug 27 2009, 07:44 PM

1,667 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Aug 26 2009, 11:38 AM)

hmm.. recomend upgrade to core player lo. more complete.
but this phone still not capable of playing hi bitrate movies. lagging.

tips:
you may use video clips as your incoming ringtone. so when u set ur friend's ringtone as video, the video will play when called.

Added on August 26, 2009, 12:01 pm
Not really care about the player >_> problem is that when playing video's or sometimes for no reason @ all the nokia logo suddenly come out and restart the whole phone rclxub.gif
Everdying
post Aug 27 2009, 08:58 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Aug 27 2009, 07:44 PM)
Not really care about the player >_> problem is that when playing video's or sometimes for no reason @ all the nokia logo suddenly come out and restart the whole phone  rclxub.gif
maybe cos the bitrate too high?
terryfoo
post Aug 27 2009, 10:34 PM

574 posts

guys got any application can share here ?
zackskate666
post Aug 28 2009, 08:56 AM

468 posts

guys..having problem here wit my phone..yesterday bought a new nokia bh-215 bluetooth headset..when i want to pair booth of the device,my phone didnt request any of the passcode of the headset..so,it stated the pairing as successful..but when i want to connect the phone to the headset,an error msg will come out.."unable to create bluetooth connection"..any of u had encountered this problem??..any solution?
lord
post Aug 28 2009, 02:20 PM

392 posts

just wondering, does the slide feel solid? does it fit perfectly when it's closed and wont feel loose when you slide it up?
Azureknight94
post Aug 28 2009, 06:29 PM

1,667 posts

QUOTE(lord @ Aug 28 2009, 02:20 PM)
just wondering, does the slide feel solid? does it fit perfectly when it's closed and wont feel loose when you slide it up?
Feels solid to me..doesnt feel loose when you slide it up and does fit perfectly icon_rolleyes.gif
lj0000
post Aug 29 2009, 01:01 AM

2,197 posts

QUOTE(zackskate666 @ Aug 28 2009, 08:56 AM)
guys..having problem here wit my phone..yesterday bought a new nokia bh-215 bluetooth headset..when i want to pair booth of the device,my phone didnt request any of the passcode of the headset..so,it stated the pairing as successful..but when i want to connect the phone to the headset,an error msg will come out.."unable to create bluetooth connection"..any of u had encountered this problem??..any solution?
try to unpair (delete the device from the list) and repair again.
now no longer need to key in the passcode since all is 0000 anyway.
how do u connect phone to headset? you just need to turn on ur bluetooth and start making calls.
when its connected, it will display (B) on top right.

having said that, i am using my 5730 with motorola bts and sometimes will experience crackle sound. dunno how to fix also.

Added on August 29, 2009, 1:02 am
QUOTE(terryfoo @ Aug 27 2009, 10:34 PM)
guys got any application can share here ?
what do u need?

Added on August 29, 2009, 1:25 am
QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Aug 28 2009, 06:29 PM)
Feels solid to me..doesnt feel loose when you slide it up and does fit perfectly  icon_rolleyes.gif
so far so good.

This post has been edited by lj0000: Aug 29 2009, 01:25 AM
terryfoo
post Aug 29 2009, 01:29 PM

574 posts

Added on August 29, 2009, 1:02 am

what do u need?

[/quote]

any...
lj0000
post Aug 29 2009, 01:54 PM

2,197 posts

my internet tab:
opera mini (opera.com)
skyfire (skyfire.com)
fring (fring.com)
msn messenger (from nokia download tab)
google (google.com)

locations:
google map (google.com)
garmin

systems:
y-browser (forgot)
mapdrive (forgot)
keymapper (forgot)

media:
nokia photo browser (nokia.com)
coreplayer (coreplayer.com)

others:
nokia step counter (beta nokia.com)
italkdialer (i-talk.com.my)

Added on August 29, 2009, 1:55 pmgood music player
http://www.ttpod.com/

Added on August 29, 2009, 2:08 pmttpod is so nice as it can auto download lyrics from internet!
just like the desktop version ttplayer smile.gif

This post has been edited by lj0000: Aug 29 2009, 02:08 PM
Everdying
post Sep 1 2009, 08:48 PM

30,730 posts

i just got a 5730.
im really beginning to think that the cpu speed is not at 369mhz.
startsup too slow for a brand new phone compared to E66 or even my older N82...i tried 2 different new ones also same slow startup.
those who have installed the phoneinfo software, can u all see if its 369mhz or 192mhz like some ppl have said.

and what a short usb cable, good thing can still use the one in my N82.

also do u all use the generic one? cos i dont see one for 5730.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Sep 1 2009, 09:38 PM
lord
post Sep 1 2009, 09:56 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 1 2009, 08:48 PM)
i just got a 5730.
im really beginning to think that the cpu speed is not at 369mhz.
startsup too slow for a brand new phone compared to E66 or even my older N82...i tried 2 different new ones also same slow startup.
those who have installed the phoneinfo software, can u all see if its 369mhz or 192mhz like some ppl have said.

and what a short usb cable, good thing can still use the one in my N82.

also do u all use the generic one? cos i dont see one for 5730.
i was just thinking to change from N82 to 5730.. sweat.gif
Everdying
post Sep 1 2009, 11:04 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(lord @ Sep 1 2009, 09:56 PM)
N82 is still a good phone.
if you still have it, then dont change.
i lost my N82, so instead of buying N82 again, i looked at either E71, 5800 or 5730 as replacement since about same price.
i didnt like the 5800 cos i know i will miss a regular keypad, while E71 is just too wide.
so went for 5730 since can still operate with one hand easier when sms or calling.
and of cos one of the main reasons to change is if you want the qwerty pad, so be easier for surfing and typing when in landscape mode.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Sep 1 2009, 11:06 PM
terryfoo
post Sep 2 2009, 05:48 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Aug 29 2009, 01:54 PM)
my internet tab:
opera mini (opera.com)
skyfire (skyfire.com)
fring (fring.com)
msn messenger (from nokia download tab)
google (google.com)

locations:
google map (google.com)
garmin

systems:
y-browser (forgot)
mapdrive (forgot)
keymapper (forgot)

media:
nokia photo browser (nokia.com)
coreplayer (coreplayer.com)

others:
nokia step counter (beta nokia.com)
italkdialer (i-talk.com.my)

Added on August 29, 2009, 1:55 pmgood music player
http://www.ttpod.com/

Added on August 29, 2009, 2:08 pmttpod is so nice as it can auto download lyrics from internet!
just like the desktop version ttplayer smile.gif
thank you for sharing with us bro. thumbup.gif
lj0000
post Sep 2 2009, 06:47 PM

2,197 posts

anyone encounter broken sound on bluetooth?
lord
post Sep 2 2009, 08:38 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 1 2009, 11:04 PM)
N82 is still a good phone.
if you still have it, then dont change.
i lost my N82, so instead of buying N82 again, i looked at either E71, 5800 or 5730 as replacement since about same price.
i didnt like the 5800 cos i know i will miss a regular keypad, while E71 is just too wide.
so went for 5730 since can still operate with one hand easier when sms or calling.
and of cos one of the main reasons to change is if you want the qwerty pad, so be easier for surfing and typing when in landscape mode.
yeah...the main function that attracts me is the qwerty pad..and the price is acceptable..n97 is way too expensive for me..but just saw the upcoming n97 mini...now thinking whether to wait for it to launch 1st.. hmm.gif
amir_iskandar
post Sep 2 2009, 10:10 PM

723 posts

received my 5730 after breaking fast. bought it as it the best business+pleasure phone and the price is right

This post has been edited by amir_iskandar: Sep 2 2009, 10:10 PM
lj0000
post Sep 2 2009, 10:30 PM

2,197 posts

the keypad is the real magic. i can now type faster than never before.
basically my finger just swipe on the keyboard and press when necessary. that makes some swoosh sound like kungfu sound smile.gif
LyeNa
post Sep 3 2009, 11:59 PM

116 posts

does 5730 have good sound as 5800?
Everdying
post Sep 4 2009, 02:50 AM

30,730 posts

deleted.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Sep 4 2009, 04:38 AM
ahmadpintu
post Sep 4 2009, 04:26 PM

171 posts

got mine today.

rm1170 zitron set.

very good phone except the camera.. image quality is not good as N73, 5800 or 6500 slide (also 3.2mp carl ziess lens)... i think the worst among the nokia 3.2mp camera phone.
Lynixx
post Sep 4 2009, 04:43 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

QUOTE(ahmadpintu @ Sep 4 2009, 04:26 PM)
got mine today.

rm1170 zitron set.

very good phone except the camera.. image quality is not good as N73, 5800 or 6500 slide (also 3.2mp carl ziess lens)... i think the worst among the nokia 3.2mp camera phone.
wa...that's cheap...
i bought rm1399 about 2 months ago cry.gif
LyeNa
post Sep 4 2009, 07:32 PM

116 posts

Got mine today t00!!!~ the keypad really magic!!~ smooth!!~ the camera also g00d for me!!~ the sound..wah!!!~ really g00d for me!!~ Avaxx set!!~

This post has been edited by LyeNa: Sep 8 2009, 09:14 AM
lj0000
post Sep 6 2009, 10:46 PM

2,197 posts

camera not so bad la. have to have a bit of skill to use it also.
make full use of the timer. delay 2 second then take. quality much nicer.
Everdying
post Sep 7 2009, 05:56 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(lord @ Sep 1 2009, 09:56 PM)
after using 5730 for a week now...
another advantage of the n82, it processes faster due to the dual processor.
with regular applications i dont notice much difference in speed between n82 and 5730...until i open the music or video player...
thats when the 5730 starts to lag abit especially when i try to run something else like browsing etc...
no probs with the n82...or i guess any other phone with dual processor.

QUOTE(lord @ Sep 2 2009, 08:38 PM)
yeah...the main function that attracts me is the qwerty pad..and the price is acceptable..n97 is way too expensive for me..but just saw the upcoming n97 mini...now thinking whether to wait for it to launch 1st.. hmm.gif
i dont like the n97 pad, especially where the spacebar is placed.

ahmadpintu
post Sep 12 2009, 11:55 AM

171 posts

my phone getting weird start from yesterday..
sometime 'remove memory card and press OK' message suddenly appears on screen.. after that i need to restart the phone because its cant read the memory card..
anyone can explain?
i already check the memory card slot, everythings is fine..
mine is original set..
freehome
post Sep 13 2009, 04:30 PM

48 posts

hi, for those who are purchasing using original 5730, may I know what is the software version you have? you can checked by key in:
*#0000#

I jz need to check whether mine version (AP) same as Malaysia version or not...if not, how to update the firmware to Malaysia version?

Thanks for your help. smile.gif
Azureknight94
post Sep 17 2009, 09:13 PM

1,667 posts

QUOTE(freehome @ Sep 13 2009, 04:30 PM)
hi, for those who are purchasing using original 5730, may I know what is the software version you have? you can checked by key in:
*#0000#

I jz need to check whether mine version (AP) same as Malaysia version or not...if not, how to update the firmware to Malaysia version?

Thanks for your help. smile.gif
Mine is 100.48.122 and date 26.05.09 icon_rolleyes.gif
pydrumerboy
post Sep 20 2009, 12:28 AM

Hi Just bought this phone and was wondering how to install garmin...what files do I need.....thanks and I appreciate every help I can get......I know you can go to the shops but Has anyone downloaded it from the malsingmaps forum? Can some sifu help me step by step cause that forum no one is replying to my question...thank you

I followed the steps needed for the n96 nokia but it doesn't seem to work....what am I missing.?

This post has been edited by pydrumerboy: Sep 20 2009, 12:31 AM
walkmanlover
post Sep 20 2009, 01:21 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(pydrumerboy @ Sep 20 2009, 01:28 AM)
Hi Just bought this phone and was wondering how to install garmin...what files do I need.....thanks and I appreciate every help I can get......I know you can go to the shops but Has anyone downloaded it from the malsingmaps forum? Can some sifu help me step by step cause that forum no one is replying to my question...thank you

I followed the steps needed for the n96 nokia but it doesn't seem to work....what am I missing.?
last time i refer to n85 thread..really helpng..
SUSfree666
post Sep 20 2009, 04:12 PM

235 posts

want to ask somthing..

1. so far is there any problem with this phone?
2. heard that the camera button is giving some difficulties. is that true?
Everdying
post Sep 20 2009, 04:59 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(free666 @ Sep 20 2009, 04:12 PM)
want to ask somthing..

1. so far is there any problem with this phone?
2. heard that the camera button is giving some difficulties. is that true?
hardware wise no prob, but Nokia really needs to do some explaining on the CPU Speed.
its not 369mhz as listed, but rather 192mhz.
i checked it using jbtaskman, another person somewhere else used phoneinfo.

camera button is just too small, but the pic quality isnt exactly great.
quite a few functions are not present also compared to whats in other phones like the N82, namely - ISO, user function, focus to infinity.

SUSfree666
post Sep 20 2009, 07:44 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 20 2009, 04:59 PM)
hardware wise no prob, but Nokia really needs to do some explaining on the CPU Speed.
its not 369mhz as listed, but rather 192mhz.
i checked it using jbtaskman, another person somewhere else used phoneinfo.

camera button is just too small, but the pic quality isnt exactly great.
quite a few functions are not present also compared to whats in other phones like the N82, namely - ISO, user function, focus to infinity.
192mhz only er hmm.gif

but for sure the qwerty keypad make web surfing much smoother
ulwan25
post Sep 20 2009, 08:37 PM

2,054 posts

XpressMusic always abandon the camera. no doubt.
but cpu speed? 192mhz only? that's serious!
SUSfree666
post Sep 21 2009, 01:12 AM

235 posts

maybe the next firmware will fix the cpu speed

if im not mistaken, this phone also face the short battery life right?
lj0000
post Sep 21 2009, 01:57 AM

2,197 posts

some function missing also:
flip to reject call/mute

yup. this phone is using the 1000mah battery, which means almost 5 hours of heavy use (3.5g always on for fring, youtube, opera etc), or 2 days on gsm mode light use (running fring on edge)

camera not thaaat bad la. in bright places the cam is quite ok. i find myself using it more often than my main camera smile.gif ISO is auto adjusted (night mode=high iso/normal mode=low iso), user setting (missing, but it remembers the last setting), focus to infinity (just point to something far and lock the focus will do)

CPU speed is not that bad too. so far switching apps, running apps concurrently, heavy web surfing dun crash the phone. only when opening a high bitrate rmvb file/avi file will kill it.
Everdying
post Sep 21 2009, 05:08 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 21 2009, 01:57 AM)
flip to reject call/mute

yup. this phone is using the 1000mah battery, which means almost 5 hours of heavy use (3.5g always on for fring, youtube, opera etc), or 2 days on gsm mode light use (running fring on edge)

camera not thaaat bad la. in bright places the cam is quite ok. i find myself using it more often than my main camera smile.gif  ISO is auto adjusted (night mode=high iso/normal mode=low iso), user setting (missing, but it remembers the last setting), focus to infinity (just point to something far and lock the focus will do)

CPU speed is not that bad too. so far switching apps, running apps concurrently, heavy web surfing dun crash the phone. only when opening a high bitrate rmvb file/avi file will kill it.
mine does not remember the last setting.
i just tried, off flash, exit, turn back on, the flash reverts back to auto.

also i found a way to set ISO.
can only be done in the User Defined mode (yea its there, shows how often i actually use the camera tongue.gif ).
its got options for Light Sensitivity with Auto, Low, Medium, High choices.
of cos doing this way takes forever.

i also just noticed the music player is missing the Loudness setting, and its custom EQ concentrates too much on the mid/high side...like it caters more for the pop market.

anyway, CPU speed issue i have just sent an email to nokia...waiting for a reply now supposedly within 48hrs.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Sep 21 2009, 05:12 AM
SUSfree666
post Sep 21 2009, 02:32 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 21 2009, 01:57 AM)
flip to reject call/mute

camera not thaaat bad la. in bright places the cam is quite ok. i find myself using it more often than my main camera smile.gif  ISO is auto adjusted (night mode=high iso/normal mode=low iso), user setting (missing, but it remembers the last setting), focus to infinity (just point to something far and lock the focus will do)

glad to read your comment.
comfortable with the camera button?
lj0000
post Sep 22 2009, 01:25 AM

2,197 posts

camera button is ok ar. the camera button is a two step button. half press to focus then full press to take. same like normal digital camera.

i think what u meant is, that its hard to start the camera function by pressing the button. that have to press long long to activate.
what i do is just create a shortcut key direct to camera.

other complains:
non-linear battery gauge. it will not drop for sometiem, then suddenly sharp drop. hard to predict the bat life.

physicals - light leak at the music button, creapage at the bottom keypad below '0'

already sent complain, and nokia side say will be fixed in the next update.
for software lah.

iso setting = option->customise toolbar->add shortcut->ISO setting.
opps my bad on the settings memory for camera
lousness setting = option->setting->bass boost

Everdying
post Sep 22 2009, 03:54 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 22 2009, 01:25 AM)
other complains:
non-linear battery gauge. it will not drop for sometiem, then suddenly sharp drop. hard to predict the bat life.

lousness setting = option->setting->bass boost
the battery life indicator has been 'standard' on nokia phones for quite awhile now, even my N82 and older 6630 is similar.

loudness != bass boost.
best way for me to describe it is, loudness is used so when u play music at lower levels, it still sounds fuller with bass / treble.

heres how wiki describes it.
The "loudness" control on a consumer stereo alters the frequency response curve to correspond roughly with the equal loudness characteristic of the ear.[1] The loudness control is intended to make the recorded music sound more natural when played at a lower sound pressure level.

btw, wtf has this thread starter gone to?
started this thread and then just not bother to do anything to it?
thread still says "Unannounced"...

This post has been edited by Everdying: Sep 22 2009, 03:56 AM
SUSfree666
post Sep 22 2009, 02:02 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 22 2009, 01:25 AM)
i think what u meant is, that its hard to start the camera function by pressing the button. that have to press long long to activate.
what i do is just create a shortcut key direct to camera.
oo.. so that is not much a major problem
many still have dileema whether to buy this or 5800
will look forward for the nokia's update lol
btw, ts was disputed in the trade zone, dont know lost to where already
will support for new thread

This post has been edited by free666: Sep 22 2009, 02:06 PM
Everdying
post Sep 22 2009, 03:01 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(free666 @ Sep 22 2009, 02:02 PM)
oo.. so that is not much a major problem
many still have dileema whether to buy this or 5800
will look forward for the nokia's update lol
btw, ts was disputed in the trade zone, dont know lost to where already
will support for new thread
well, see if u will miss the keypad or not (sms / type alot)
thats why i didnt go for 5800 or any touch screen ones, tho was tempted by N97.
5730 is good enough for now, until maybe the n97 mini comes out tongue.gif
SUSfree666
post Sep 22 2009, 03:27 PM

235 posts

not so much a touchscreen user too
n97 has better specs though
saw someone selling for rm1500
thats the RRP?
Everdying
post Sep 22 2009, 08:29 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(free666 @ Sep 22 2009, 03:27 PM)
not so much a touchscreen user too
n97 has better specs though
saw someone selling for rm1500
thats the RRP?
?
i thought n97 market price for ori set is RM2.2k.
deale30
post Sep 22 2009, 10:19 PM

491 posts

yesterday bought this phone 5730XM RM1300 ori zitron at mydin kuala terengganu..

SUSfree666
post Sep 23 2009, 06:37 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 22 2009, 08:29 PM)
?
i thought n97 market price for ori set is RM2.2k.
oops my bad, i mean n97 mini

Everdying
post Sep 23 2009, 07:36 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(free666 @ Sep 23 2009, 06:37 PM)
oops my bad, i mean n97 mini
i dont think the n97 mini is even out yet, maybe u saw a fake china phone?
its only expected to be released sometime oct onwards.
lj0000
post Sep 23 2009, 11:50 PM

2,197 posts

the 97 mini is official liao. everything the same except no directionpad
Lynixx
post Sep 24 2009, 10:55 AM

Gooner
1,916 posts

guys...is there any new update for this phone so far?

Leo the Lion
post Sep 24 2009, 11:04 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 23 2009, 08:36 PM)
i dont think the n97 mini is even out yet, maybe u saw a fake china phone?
its only expected to be released sometime oct onwards.
China phone won't be selling that expensive. Unless the shop owner wanna scam the buyers.
Are_keem
post Sep 25 2009, 10:51 AM

I'm riders, not rempit
2,123 posts

guys, is there any main drawback of this phone? currently thinking to get it or N79 smile.gif
tanson
post Sep 25 2009, 11:15 AM

125 posts

can I follow the instruction at the 5800 thread to install the Garmin mobile XT on 5730? anyone here can use GMXT on their unit?
Lynixx
post Sep 25 2009, 11:21 AM

Gooner
1,916 posts

i duno about 5800 but definitely u can follow the N82 thread.
tanson
post Sep 25 2009, 11:27 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Sep 25 2009, 11:21 AM)
i duno about 5800 but definitely u can follow the N82 thread.
oh, thanks, will get it a try. smile.gif (go dig on N82 thread)
Everdying
post Sep 25 2009, 02:55 PM

30,730 posts

im using GMXT on mine...but i got the shop to install it for me when i got my phone tongue.gif
pydrumerboy
post Sep 26 2009, 02:59 AM

Anyone tried running imeem on the web browser for this phone, I already have flash lite installed but can't seem to play imeem???? Is there something I need to set up in my browser in order to see the imeem play button. Any help is appreciated
eanson
post Sep 26 2009, 10:20 AM

423 posts

how is it when using garmin xt? smooth ? hmm.gif
soonlee33
post Sep 26 2009, 07:40 PM

2,677 posts

hi guys...gonna get my 5730xm dis coming week... so xcited!

Added on September 26, 2009, 7:41 pmin d moment using n85... is it better, same or worst? lolx...wanna hear opinions from u guys

Added on September 26, 2009, 7:45 pm
QUOTE(deale30 @ Sep 22 2009, 10:19 PM)
yesterday bought this phone 5730XM RM1300 ori zitron at mydin kuala terengganu..
lol just went there few days ago...

This post has been edited by soonlee33: Sep 26 2009, 07:45 PM
walkmanlover
post Sep 27 2009, 01:54 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(eanson @ Sep 26 2009, 11:20 AM)
how is it when using garmin xt? smooth ?  hmm.gif
yes it is so smooth until u cant differentiate between using 5730 and garmin gps device.
pydrumerboy
post Sep 27 2009, 08:43 PM

hmmmm, cant even play youtube with flashmedia?????
alex_wong91
post Sep 29 2009, 12:52 PM

lol
i got the phone already
so far its ok lo
no comment until now
soonlee33
post Sep 29 2009, 05:31 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(alex_wong91 @ Sep 29 2009, 12:52 PM)
lol
i got the phone already
so far its ok lo
no comment until now
the slide ok not>? is it wobbly?

Added on September 29, 2009, 5:32 pm
QUOTE(pydrumerboy @ Sep 27 2009, 08:43 PM)
hmmmm, cant even play youtube with flashmedia?????
u can try to on9 directly to youtube web

This post has been edited by soonlee33: Sep 29 2009, 05:32 PM
Lynixx
post Sep 30 2009, 09:50 AM

Gooner
1,916 posts

my slide is kinda loose,maybe i slide too often. biggrin.gif
soonlee33
post Sep 30 2009, 09:52 AM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Sep 30 2009, 09:50 AM)
my slide is kinda loose,maybe i slide too often. biggrin.gif
hehe...stylo kid huh...keep sliding 24/7...lolz

Added on September 30, 2009, 5:46 pmFINALLY I GOT MY 5730XM IN MY HANDS NOW HEHE

This post has been edited by soonlee33: Sep 30 2009, 05:46 PM
eanson
post Oct 1 2009, 09:17 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Sep 30 2009, 09:52 AM)
hehe...stylo kid huh...keep sliding 24/7...lolz

Added on September 30, 2009, 5:46 pmFINALLY I GOT MY 5730XM IN MY HANDS NOW HEHE
congratz! rclxms.gif how was it?? review abit tongue.gif
soonlee33
post Oct 1 2009, 11:06 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(eanson @ Oct 1 2009, 09:17 PM)
congratz!  rclxms.gif  how was it?? review abit  tongue.gif
lolz! i tot dis room was dead ! no feedback for 1 week ! haha...

so far so good... im using n85 b4 dis... so kinda hapi to hear the *much better* sound quality....

but disadvantage is... there is no radio transmitter...front keypad kinda pack closed to each other so kinda hard to press..

and 1 more thing... when we using qwerty, is kinda hard when we nid to press button from the front panel bcos after we slide it up, the thing is unstable to press (have the feeling the slider will break 1 day lolz)
Everdying
post Oct 1 2009, 11:34 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Oct 1 2009, 11:06 PM)
lolz! i tot dis room was dead ! no feedback for 1 week ! haha...

so far so good... im using n85 b4 dis... so kinda hapi to hear the *much better* sound quality....

but disadvantage is... there is no radio transmitter...front keypad kinda pack closed to each other so kinda hard to press..

and 1 more thing... when we using qwerty, is kinda hard when we nid to press button from the front panel bcos after we slide it up, the thing is unstable to press (have the feeling the slider will break 1 day lolz)
depends how u hold.
when qwerty mode, i always put my 2 index fingers under it to stabilise also.
the slider seems pretty stable anyway.

soonlee33
post Oct 2 2009, 02:17 AM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 1 2009, 11:34 PM)
depends how u hold.
when qwerty mode, i always put my 2 index fingers under it to stabilise also.
the slider seems pretty stable anyway.
do u guys put any protective layers on it other than old fashion leather pouch?haha.. now my 5730 is naked...just wit d screen protector onli hehe
eanson
post Oct 2 2009, 09:37 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Oct 2 2009, 02:17 AM)
do u guys put any protective layers on it other than old fashion leather pouch?haha.. now my 5730 is naked...just wit d screen protector onli hehe
wif screen protector enough lor...like that only can c the ori/real design of ur phone mar.. wink.gif
soonlee33
post Oct 2 2009, 01:47 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(eanson @ Oct 2 2009, 09:37 AM)
wif screen protector enough lor...like that only can c the ori/real design of ur phone mar..  wink.gif
but im sure within 2 months sure can c the paint faded de... the material made out of plastic kinda insecure la bro. haha
SUSfree666
post Oct 2 2009, 02:15 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Oct 1 2009, 11:06 PM)
no radio function? hmm.gif
soonlee33
post Oct 2 2009, 03:21 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(free666 @ Oct 2 2009, 02:15 PM)
no radio function? hmm.gif
5730 sure got radio la... even cheap phone also have de... only thing is 5730 no fm transmitter.
miniatur
post Oct 2 2009, 07:21 PM

25 posts

fm transmitter?

what is that for? dont get it
tunertoobe
post Oct 2 2009, 07:49 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(miniatur @ Oct 2 2009, 07:21 PM)
fm transmitter?

what is that for? dont get it
It turns your phone into a miniature radio station.
So if you don't have bluetooth in your car, just use your radio transmitter to play your music through your car stereo.
Also works to other radios. Just assign an empty frequency to transmit from your phone, and tune your radio to that assigned frequency to hear your music, as if your phone is a radio station!
soonlee33
post Oct 2 2009, 08:23 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Oct 2 2009, 07:49 PM)
It turns your phone into a miniature radio station.
So if you don't have bluetooth in your car, just use your radio transmitter to play your music through your car stereo.
Also works to other radios. Just assign an empty frequency to transmit from your phone, and tune your radio to that assigned frequency to hear your music, as if your phone is a radio station!
yeah... u can save ur car fm transmitter money which cost around 30 bucks since our hp got dis extra feature d haha
lj0000
post Oct 2 2009, 08:37 PM

2,197 posts

not just radio, it got internet radio! very good function to listen to overseas radio station.

FLV files.. use Core player to play

youtube - use the youtube app in internet. superfast instant playback with celcom.

imeem - can you try skyfire or opera?
soonlee33
post Oct 2 2009, 10:12 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Oct 2 2009, 08:37 PM)
not just radio, it got internet radio! very good function to listen to overseas radio station.

FLV files.. use Core player to play

youtube - use the youtube app in internet. superfast instant playback with celcom.

imeem - can you try skyfire or opera?
internet radio not worth.. will b charged
lj0000
post Oct 3 2009, 11:44 PM

2,197 posts

subscribe to unlimited internet lo tongue.gif

now celcom/digi/maxis all got daily pass liao. i think its very worth smile.gif

soonlee33
post Oct 4 2009, 01:56 AM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Oct 3 2009, 11:44 PM)
subscribe to unlimited internet lo tongue.gif

now celcom/digi/maxis all got daily pass liao. i think its very worth smile.gif
hows d plan? can describe bit...
im a prepaid user so duno bout dis plan...

Added on October 4, 2009, 10:48 pmlolzz dis thread can be shut down i guess...
no active users at all...

This post has been edited by soonlee33: Oct 4 2009, 10:48 PM
lj0000
post Oct 5 2009, 03:13 AM

2,197 posts

Digi - RM5 per day
http://www.digi.com.my/data_services/mobil...rnet/pricing.do

Celcom RM6 per day
http://www.celcom.com.my/broadband/html/index.html

Maxis RM8 per day per 500mb... sickening
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/mobile/br...iStruct=0:1:1:8
johnkor
post Oct 5 2009, 12:01 PM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

my friend wanted to buy this phone , and i saw his another friend brought his . is a AP set but for me i dont like the design so urgh!
eanson
post Oct 5 2009, 07:08 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Oct 4 2009, 01:56 AM)

Added on October 4, 2009, 10:48 pmlolzz dis thread can be shut down i guess...
no active users at all...
yalor...maybe less ppl use this model guah... but for me i think this is a nice phone n its not so pricey too.. thumbup.gif
too bad my current phone aint faulty yet.. sweat.gif
SUSfree666
post Oct 5 2009, 07:15 PM

235 posts

it is the problem of TS.

no updates at all.
close it and open a new one but with an active TS
like this phone too. collecting $$ now
soonlee33
post Oct 5 2009, 10:54 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(free666 @ Oct 5 2009, 07:15 PM)
it is the problem of TS.

no updates at all.
close it and open a new one but with an active TS
like this phone too. collecting $$ now
yeah..
who suggest dat we re open a new 5730xm thread
we shud make it as happening aso possible...
bcos its a good and nice to intro to everybody bout it

Added on October 5, 2009, 11:03 pm
QUOTE(lj0000 @ Oct 5 2009, 03:13 AM)
bro
im using hotlink prepaid...
i think the rate differs from maxis as the rate is only applicable to postpaid users
sobsob

This post has been edited by soonlee33: Oct 5 2009, 11:03 PM
uhlaw
post Oct 5 2009, 11:10 PM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

Btw, why TS haven't delete the title "Unannounced"... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by uhlaw: Oct 5 2009, 11:11 PM
lj0000
post Oct 5 2009, 11:30 PM

2,197 posts

the internet rate is for everyone. postpaid and prepaid

Added on October 5, 2009, 11:31 pmpossible to take over the thread?

This post has been edited by lj0000: Oct 5 2009, 11:31 PM
uhlaw
post Oct 5 2009, 11:42 PM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Oct 5 2009, 11:30 PM)
possible to take over the thread?
Try to inform TS about it first. If he no reply, then PM mod to ask whether can close this thread and re-open another new 5730 XM thread smile.gif

This post has been edited by uhlaw: Oct 5 2009, 11:42 PM
maizatj
post Oct 6 2009, 12:37 AM

48 posts

so far i use this phone no prob...really like this phone...

ANTI-TOUCH SCREEN!!!! hehehe
eanson
post Oct 6 2009, 09:53 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(maizatj @ Oct 6 2009, 12:37 AM)
so far i use this phone no prob...really like this phone...

ANTI-TOUCH SCREEN!!!! hehehe
ya...touch-screen phone sometimes can be troublesome... sweat.gif

i wonder did u guys frequently use the qwerty keyboard? izit 'mafan' to use to sms n stuff? hmm.gif
lj0000
post Oct 6 2009, 08:27 PM

2,197 posts

i switched from touchscreen phones, as i find it too dangerous when driving. input speed is also very slow in touch screen. using windows so have to almost always pull out the stylus, or keep a stylus-fingernail.

now damn happy with 5730.

yes, the full keypad is used most of the time esp to type in fring/msn.
my friends wondered how i manage to reply so fast using mobile tongue.gif
eanson
post Oct 6 2009, 08:51 PM

423 posts

but if the screen size can big somemore...then will good lor.. biggrin.gif
anyone mind to show pics taken from 5730?? show the quality of the camera brows.gif
soonlee33
post Oct 7 2009, 02:08 AM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Oct 6 2009, 08:27 PM)
i switched from touchscreen phones, as i find it too dangerous when driving. input speed is also very slow in touch screen. using windows so have to almost always pull out the stylus, or keep a stylus-fingernail.

now damn happy with 5730.

yes, the full keypad is used most of the time esp to type in fring/msn.
my friends wondered how i manage to reply so fast using mobile tongue.gif
if u all hv notice....
if u sms with the front number keypad using english diction mode,...
there is similarities with SE phone.
so now im more used to qwerty.

Added on October 7, 2009, 2:10 am
QUOTE(uhlaw @ Oct 5 2009, 11:42 PM)
Try to inform TS about it first. If he no reply, then PM mod to ask whether can close this thread and re-open another new 5730 XM thread smile.gif
anybody here can start a new thread...b a new ts
just leave dis thread aside...
the title of dis thread is still 'unannounced' which may sound annoying for 5730 users like us

This post has been edited by soonlee33: Oct 7 2009, 02:10 AM
SUSfree666
post Oct 7 2009, 09:47 PM

235 posts

i pm-ed TS and he decided to close this thread and any 5730 owner can start a new thread

cheers
eanson
post Oct 7 2009, 11:19 PM

423 posts

i think either soonlee33 or lj0000 suitable to be the new TS smile.gif
any other suggestions?
johnkor
post Oct 8 2009, 12:19 AM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

this phone one thing cant insert chinese language and once insert the language 2 button confirm not working.
lj0000
post Oct 8 2009, 12:32 AM

2,197 posts

QUOTE(johnkor @ Oct 8 2009, 12:19 AM)
this phone one thing cant insert chinese language and once insert the language 2 button confirm not working.
language 2 button?
i just tested to type in english,then chinese,then english again in the same message ler.

first, my default language is english
after typing in english, press *, select "writing language" - > chinese.

type in pinyin

swap to english by pressing #

type english

press # to scroll to chinese again.

Added on October 8, 2009, 12:42 amsample image at dark dark place, flash fired

Added on October 8, 2009, 12:45 ammore dark, with flash
sorry for non-halal pics

Added on October 8, 2009, 12:54 amnot so dark, no flash

Added on October 8, 2009, 1:08 amoutdoors

This post has been edited by lj0000: Oct 8 2009, 01:08 AM
eanson
post Oct 8 2009, 01:10 AM

423 posts

omg!! nice pic..the quality not bad! thx lj0000 rclxms.gif
i like those without flash more.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by eanson: Oct 8 2009, 01:11 AM
lj0000
post Oct 8 2009, 01:15 AM

2,197 posts

the cam is not the best, but certainly not the worst.
in office my colleague got a 2 year old olympus camera with 6megapixels, but would struggle when taking indoors pics. after taking pic, need to use usb cable+card reader to get the pic, load into email software, send email.

i just pull out my 5730, snap the pic, straight away email out. settle problem.

yet.. the pic quality from my phone is better than the olympus:P

Added on October 8, 2009, 1:24 amindoors without flash

This post has been edited by lj0000: Oct 8 2009, 01:24 AM
eanson
post Oct 8 2009, 10:39 AM

423 posts

the picture quality certainly is not bad....izit really 3mp? looks more like 5mp quality to me... smile.gif
soonlee33
post Oct 8 2009, 01:01 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Oct 8 2009, 01:15 AM)
the cam is not the best, but certainly not the worst.
in office my colleague got a 2 year old olympus camera with 6megapixels, but would struggle when taking indoors pics. after taking pic, need to use usb cable+card reader to get the pic, load into email software, send email.

i just pull out my 5730, snap the pic, straight away email out. settle problem.

yet.. the pic quality from my phone is better than the olympus:P

Added on October 8, 2009, 1:24 amindoors without flash
damn...im hungry staring this pic...
@@
nice 1 bro...
lj cr8 new thread if possible

Added on October 8, 2009, 1:02 pm
QUOTE(eanson @ Oct 8 2009, 10:39 AM)
the picture quality certainly is not bad....izit really 3mp? looks more like 5mp quality to me... smile.gif
lol...later i capture my dumbbell wit 5730 ya eason
hehe

This post has been edited by soonlee33: Oct 8 2009, 01:02 PM
eanson
post Oct 8 2009, 03:47 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Oct 8 2009, 01:01 PM)
damn...im hungry staring this pic...
@@
nice 1 bro...
lj cr8 new thread if possible

Added on October 8, 2009, 1:02 pm

lol...later i capture my dumbbell wit 5730 ya eason
hehe
lolz...thx..cant wait to c it.. brows.gif
soonlee33
post Oct 8 2009, 09:43 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(eanson @ Oct 8 2009, 03:47 PM)
lolz...thx..cant wait to c it.. brows.gif
hehe my dumbbell pic u gonna wait nxt week
maybe i'll post some nice pictures
after u guys get a new thread
hahaha
not for dis thread....
lj0000
post Oct 8 2009, 10:00 PM

2,197 posts

how to create ar? have to inform the master planner of lyn?
walkmanlover
post Oct 8 2009, 10:05 PM

620 posts

who has guitar hero mobile installer? can give me a? i want the one with mp3 songs, not the midi one..plzzzz
eanson
post Oct 8 2009, 10:44 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Oct 8 2009, 10:00 PM)
how to create ar? have to inform the master planner of lyn?
i tot just click New Topic can liao? need to inform lyn wan oh? not sure..
lj0000
post Oct 9 2009, 12:53 AM

2,197 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1188340
this is the new home
kymanhalim
post Dec 15 2009, 11:55 PM

113 posts

wow... nice phona... gonna buy it soon....

Added on December 15, 2009, 11:55 pmwow... nice phone... gonna buy it soon....

This post has been edited by kymanhalim: Dec 15 2009, 11:55 PM
leyley
post Dec 16 2009, 09:23 AM

2,096 posts

Picture quality is normal
~funeralofheart~
post Dec 16 2009, 03:53 PM

Mivec 4B11 + Z10R!!
1,212 posts

QUOTE(kymanhalim @ Dec 15 2009, 11:55 PM)
wow... nice phona... gonna buy it soon....

Added on December 15, 2009, 11:55 pmwow... nice phone... gonna buy it soon....
??
mmm
nice phone ah?
i don think so...heee
RagingHeart
post Dec 28 2009, 04:05 PM

Red user Reporting in. =D

0.1364sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:12 AM