transfer of title, how long?
TSfa-tin
Jan 20 2009, 02:43 PM, updated 17y ago
hii...
considering buying completed terrace house at bandar baru bangi. but suddenly house owner have a doubt to sell it. he said that maybe changing title take a long time (6 month to 1 year), so better just rent it instead of sell it. is it true that process takes that long? please advice me since this is my first time. or is it normal to just buy that house, pay the instalment while waiting the process?
toby.c13
Jan 20 2009, 02:56 PM
yes its a kinda long process. u would have to go thru :- vendor's lawyer purchaser's lawyer loan lawyer land office duty stamp office
could take up to 1 year to complete everything.
keithcky
Jan 20 2009, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(fa-tin @ Jan 20 2009, 02:43 PM) hii... considering buying completed terrace house at bandar baru bangi. but suddenly house owner have a doubt to sell it. he said that maybe changing title take a long time (6 month to 1 year), so better just rent it instead of sell it. is it true that process takes that long? please advice me since this is my first time. or is it normal to just buy that house, pay the instalment while waiting the process? Bdr baru bangi should be a freehold right? still individual title or master?
Eng_Tat
Jan 20 2009, 06:26 PM
subsale house take about 3 month some times less its stipulated in s&p that sale must be concluded in 90/120days, i just purchased an apartment. complete with reimbursement with bank approx 3 month. bank will only reimburse the $$$ to vendor only after the name is yours and they will keep your title. hope this helps
maru
Jan 20 2009, 06:58 PM
yupz...it normally take half to 1 year
normally they said fastest is 6 months but u know lar....malaysia boleh ^^
agape_ian
Jan 20 2009, 08:29 PM
Freehold ---> Faster (usually 2.5 - 4months) Leasehold ---> Slower (usually around 6 - 12months)
ckryan
Jan 21 2009, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Jan 20 2009, 06:26 PM) subsale house take about 3 month some times less its stipulated in s&p that sale must be concluded in 90/120days, i just purchased an apartment. complete with reimbursement with bank approx 3 month. bank will only reimburse the $$$ to vendor only after the name is yours and they will keep your title. hope this helps You could have exceeded the 3+1 months? Any late penalty charge to you if your bank cannot reimburse the monies to your vendor within 3 months because of the title has not being transferred to your name?
ganz
Jan 21 2009, 01:16 PM
usualy, during the transfer process.. the owner of the house will try to have a seperate agreement on rental the house to you.. the process of transfering title it self took 3-4 months.. u need a good lawyer .. a rajin one to follow up with authority..
it took me about 7 months from the day i sign snp till i received the key..(* a lease hold title at Shah Alam)
falcon867
Jan 22 2009, 09:42 PM

what other fellow LYN members have said its good enough but i just wanna highlight one point.
The only obstacle for a usual transfer(3months) will be for property where it is stipulated in the land title that it requires the consent of the State Government(usually leasehold). Where consent is required it will take 3 months. Upon obtaining consent then ONLY the time period in your SPA (90/120days) shall start to take effect. Thats why it takes roughly 6 month.
For property's without individual title where it is held under the master title (usually Condo and properties in Mont Kiara) the only obstacle would be to obtain the Developer's consent or confirmation. But in practice there should not be any problem. It can be conmpleted within 3 months
You have to keep paying rental until the date you have made 100% payment to the company.
If you are looking for a solicitor pm me...THX!!
??!!
Jan 23 2009, 12:17 AM
QUOTE For property's without individual title where it is held under the master title (usually Condo and properties in Mont Kiara) the only obstacle would be to obtain the Developer's consent or confirmation. The Act has been amended. Developer's consent is no longer required. On completion of documents, developer just needs to be informed to change the ownership in their record accordingly.
Eng_Tat
Jan 23 2009, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(ckryan @ Jan 21 2009, 10:16 AM) You could have exceeded the 3+1 months? Any late penalty charge to you if your bank cannot reimburse the monies to your vendor within 3 months because of the title has not being transferred to your name? they will charges in the clause, it 8%yr interest of balance money for the house if bank cannot reimburse within 90/120 days. also if vendor is nice to you then no charge since the monies of charge actually goes to vendor