Michael Crichton's Book Club, the late writer of Jurassic Park

TSdishwasher
post Jan 20 2009, 01:18 AM, updated 17y ago

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

The late Michael Crichton, probably one of the most well known contemporary sci-fi writer due to the success of Jurassic Park, deserves a thread of his own. He has written more then 20 books over 30+ years, few compared to machines like Stephen King, but prolific non the less. Most of his early books were written under a pen name and may not be very well known, but his latter books were mostly blockbusters, with numerous films made from them. More on him at wikipedia.

Books written as Michael Crichton:

The Andromeda Strain
The Terminal Man
The Great Train Robbery
Eaters of the Dead
Congo
Sphere
Jurassic Park
Rising Sun
Disclosure
The Lost World
Airframe
Timeline
Prey
State of Fear
Next

I'll try to write some reviews for these books later on in the thread. Feel free to chip in a review or two if you're a fan as well.
raul
post Jan 20 2009, 12:52 PM

3,930 posts

i have all the collections except the last 4 titles: timeline, prey, state of fear, next. sad.gif

TSdishwasher
post Jan 20 2009, 01:45 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(raul @ Jan 20 2009, 12:52 PM)
i have all the collections except the last 4 titles: timeline, prey, state of fear, next. sad.gif
A fellow fan! To be honest, I don't have timeline myself. I heard it was kinda 'meh' and never got down to buying it. The rest of the books are OK. Prey was good. State of Fear is abit controversial because of the whole global warming issue. Next was actually disappointing - I somehow felt it lacked a plot, a protagonist, and a clear direction. Instead of was a bunch of stories chained together at the end. In the end it just turned out to be a pamphlet warning us about the dangers of genetic engineering.

Am now waiting for his posthumous book.
firedauz
post Jan 21 2009, 12:16 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

--> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jurassic_Park...urassic_Park_IV
Jurassic Park IV

In June 2002, director Steven Spielberg told Starlog magazine that he planned to produce Jurassic Park IV and that director Joe Johnston, who helmed Jurassic Park III, would direct it. In November 2002, screenwriter William Monahan was hired to write,[16] with the film's release slated for summer 2005.[17] In July 2003, Monahan completed the first draft, with the story no longer set in the jungle.[18] Actor Sam Neill said he was returning as Dr. Alan Grant, with filming expected to begin in 2004 in California and Hawaii.[19] In September 2004, screenwriter John Sayles was re-writing the script, with the film re-slated for a winter 2005 release.[20] His second draft focused on the new character Nick Harris, who returns to Isla Nublar, the location of the first film, and retrieves Dennis Nedry's can of frozen embryos. He is captured by the Grendel corporation, which now owns InGen, and he is hired to train five genetically modified Deinonychus as mercenaries.[21]

In October 2004, paeleontologist Jack Horner said he would return as technical adviser for the fourth film as he had done for previous Jurassic Park films.[22] By April 2005, special effects artist Stan Winston explained that the delay in production was due to repeated revisions of the film's script, none of which satisfied Spielberg. According to Winston, "He felt neither of [the drafts] balanced the science and adventure elements effectively. It's a tough compromise to reach, as too much science will make the movie too talky, but too much adventure will make it seem hollow."[23] In February 2006, producer Frank Marshall said filming would begin in 2007 for a 2008 release.[24] In March 2007, Sam Neill said he was not asked to reprise his role as Dr. Alan Grant,[25] while Laura Dern was asked to return for the new film, which Universal still wanted to release by 2008.[26] Director Joe Johnston was also reported not to be directing the film.[27] Richard Attenborough has been contacted about reprising the role of John Hammond.[28] Jeff Goldblum has expressed interest in reprising his role for the fourth film. [29]

In December 2008, Frank Marshall and Kathleen Kennedy were asked if there was any development on the long-anticipated sequel. Kennedy responded, "No... I don't know. You know, when [Michael] Crichton passed away, I sorta felt maybe that's it. Maybe that's a sign that we don't mess with it."[30] While Marshall and Kennedy were no longer signed with Universal Pictures in a production capacity, the two will remain involved with the studio and its plans for Jurassic Park IV.[31]

The death of Crichton is deeply felt by those anticipating the fourth JP movie sad.gif
TSdishwasher
post Jan 24 2009, 03:49 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

As promised, here's the first review of Crichton's books:

The Andromeda Strain

This was the first sci-fi thriller Crichton wrote, and a remarkable effort for a first novel. The basic plot is based on the premise 'what if our space probes and astronauts were to accidentally carry back an alien microorganism'. The novel starts with the retrieval of a fallen low orbit probe in a small American town, Piedmont. It doesn't take long for the agents dispatched to collect the probe to realize the town has died, and they follow suit soon enough.

What follows is a dramatic recount of a week in a high tech underground lab, where four scientist work to find out what was contained within the probe, and seek a cure. Together with them are the only two survivors from Piedmont - an old man with a drinking problem and a child with colic, two highly different individuals that somehow share a trait making them immune to the alien microorganism.

The book climaxes as the team realizes the microorganism has spread above ground, and that they are running out of time to save humanity. A secret from one of the team members complicates matters further, delivering a explosive end to the book.

It is in this book that Crichton first showcases his 'fiction as a real event' style of writing. He peppers his book with memos, declassified documents, computer printouts etc, oft times making the reader wonder if the event actually happened. He would later use this style of writing in most of his books to great effect, especially his masterpiece: Jurassic Park, but that is a review for another day.
StarGhazzer
post Jan 27 2009, 11:25 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jan 20 2009, 01:45 PM)
A fellow fan! To be honest, I don't have timeline myself. I heard it was kinda 'meh' and never got down to buying it. The rest of the books are OK. Prey was good. State of Fear is abit controversial because of the whole global warming issue. Next was actually disappointing - I somehow felt it lacked a plot, a protagonist, and a clear direction. Instead of was a bunch of stories chained together at the end. In the end it just turned out to be a pamphlet warning us about the dangers of genetic engineering.

Am now waiting for his posthumous book.
Timeline is a pretty decent book. I felt that it had better explanation of the time travelling hoohah than the movie, but the movie has better character development/interaction. Prey started off well - Loved the gradual buildup of the portrayal of the Swarm's AI, but the final battle at the cave seemed like something out of a B-grade alien movie.

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jan 24 2009, 03:49 PM)
As promised, here's the first review of Crichton's books:

The Andromeda Strain

This was the first sci-fi thriller Crichton wrote, and a remarkable effort for a first novel. The basic plot is based on the premise 'what if our space probes and astronauts were to accidentally carry back an alien microorganism'. The novel starts with the retrieval of a fallen low orbit probe in a small American town, Piedmont. It doesn't take long for the agents dispatched to collect the probe to realize the town has died, and they follow suit soon enough.

What follows is a dramatic recount of a week in a high tech underground lab, where four scientist work to find out what was contained within the probe, and seek a cure. Together with them are the only two survivors from Piedmont - an old man with a drinking problem and a child with colic, two highly different individuals that somehow share a trait making them immune to the alien microorganism.

The book climaxes as the team realizes the microorganism has spread above ground, and that they are running out of time to save humanity. A secret from one of the team members complicates matters further, delivering a explosive end to the book.

It is in this book that Crichton first showcases his 'fiction as a real event' style of writing. He peppers his book with memos, declassified documents, computer printouts etc, oft times making the reader wonder if the event actually happened. He would later use this style of writing in most of his books to great effect, especially his masterpiece: Jurassic Park, but that is a review for another day.
Andromeda Strain is a nice sci-fi book with lots of technical description, but the ending is very WTF. Too abrupt and sleazy for my liking, as if Crichton has nothing else to write and hastily ended the story. Still, it's worth reading.

One thing I find with Crichton's books is that he tends to drift away towards the late stages of his story and tends to end the story in an abrupt and awkward manner. Prey, Andromeda Strain, and even Jurassic Park suffered the same fate. In fact, I preferred the movie's version of Jurassic Park's story where they edited out the crazy parts eg velociraptor nest.
Aurora
post Jan 28 2009, 01:43 PM

630 posts

Another book worth mentioning is Sphere. Simply amazing. Here is the paperback summary...

"In the middle of the South Pacific, a thousand feet below the surface of the water, a huge vessel is discovered resting on the ocean floor. It is a spaceship of phenomenal dimension, apparently undamaged by its fall from the sky. And, most startling, it appears to be at least three hundred years old.... "

Read the book in 1 sitting, twice. The story spin off with a dramatic first chapter, and a lot of unexpected twist and sci-fi theory which drive the reader to think. Each chapter were so vivid and exciting.

I find that his recent books are a bit disappointing. Prey endding was a real disappointment.

This post has been edited by Aurora: Jan 28 2009, 01:45 PM
bozerman
post Feb 3 2009, 03:46 PM

183 posts

Big fans of MC book here. (God Bless MC)
Hav collected most of his book.

Except:
The Terminal Man
Eaters of the Dead
Congo
Sphere

Looking forward to get Congo & Sphere. This two book nowaday is
a bit hard to found. Another 1 i would lik to get is Travels.

My favourite book from MC is Airframe, A Case of Need & Disclosure.
The least i like is The Great Train.. & NEXT.

The been a rumor n MC suspose to release a new book this year, but
since he sudden depart, the book hav been put on hold.
I wonder the last MC works will ever see the light to the store.

TSdishwasher
post Feb 4 2009, 01:20 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

From what I gather, the book will indeed see posthumous publication, sometime in the middle of 2009.
milleu
post Feb 6 2009, 11:08 AM

431 posts

me too. my favorite is Rising Sun.It was brilliant but the movie was stupid even with Sean Connery.

I've read Timeline. A bit confusing but it's okay.
Massa
post Feb 13 2009, 05:27 AM

Massa™
709 posts

God , I didn't know that the creator of ER was this guy.

This post has been edited by Massa: Feb 13 2009, 05:29 AM
TSdishwasher
post Feb 13 2009, 12:56 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Mmhmm, Crichton was also a profilic TV/film producer. ER is probably his most well known series, but he has worked on most of the film adaptions of his books, as well as films like Westworld and Twister.
Massa
post Feb 13 2009, 04:58 PM

Massa™
709 posts

I see. Okey.
Thanks for the info , dishwasher. smile.gif
tgrrr
post Apr 10 2009, 01:29 PM

939 posts

Jurassic Park, Lost World and Congo are my all time favourites.

Andromeda Strain I find it kinda fake, same with Prey, possibly due to my engineering background. I'd say I love sci-fi books with fantastic but plausible scenarios.
Posgrado
post Apr 20 2009, 11:29 AM

70 posts

when i saw the title, i thought, why 'the late'

i didnt know he has passed away sad.gif

Obviously one of my most favourite writers. Jurassic Park was the first 'thick' english novel i read (was given as a gift) and i haven't look back since. Ive read all his books and found them to be intriguing at the very least.

nimloth32
post Apr 22 2009, 10:38 PM

284 posts

woot, it is quite unexpected to find michael's fan club here..i had read all the books written by him except the non-fiction one..

i like andromeda strain the most due to the pace of the story..that is the only book i finish within a night without putting the book..

but lately, i felt that 'next' and 'state of fear' are not as good as his previous titles..that he changed his writing style..instead of writing from a single party's perspective..he tried to write from several party's perspective..i still like his style of blending scientific facts and fiction together..

and reading 'the lost world' is like reading a biology textbook on dinosaur..>_>

cheers..
igor_is300
post May 23 2009, 03:36 PM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

I like his kind of sleazy mood in his writing.

Yeah, just bought State of Fear after finished reading Prey and Next last year.

nimloth32
post Apr 13 2010, 11:10 AM

284 posts

anyone read his newest book 'pirates latitude' here?

care to give any reviews on it? tongue.gif

cheers
Vivato
post Feb 1 2011, 03:52 AM

182 posts

It been ages since I last read Micheal Crichton's books.
The picture below is my collection of his books.
Dunno who took my Jurassic Park, cant seem to find it.
My favorite would be Sphere, Congo and Jurassic Park.

This post has been edited by Vivato: Feb 1 2011, 04:14 AM
akira2001
post Feb 11 2011, 03:21 PM

64 posts

I have read and collect all the Crichton's book except the latest one 'Pirate Lattitude'. His work is very nice and contain a lot of interesting fact(don't know is real or fiction). It is sad that he had pass away. A real big lose.

'The Rising Sun' make me notice that even though US are one of the World biggest TV show maker but they didn't build or have any television brand that we know nowaday due to Japan.

Mov_freak
post Nov 1 2013, 01:03 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Gosh, there is a Book thread on Low Yat, and and Michael Crichton thread to boot.

I'm currently reading, probably one of his last book (which he did not complete) call Micro.

Will post my thoughts when i finish, if there are any interested parties.

Cheers!

0.0220sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:24 AM