Link: http://www.paylessbooks.com.my/

Book Xcess
Link: http://www.bookxcess.com/

Brasheer Graphic Bookstore
Link: http://www.basheergraphic.com/

MyNEWS.com
Link: http://www.mynews.com.my/

------------------------

If you know of a good bookstore, do suggest them here.
It would be good if you can provide of its link, or if its not available, its location.

This post has been edited by firedauz: Apr 1 2009, 12:52 AM
temptation1314
post Jan 20 2009, 01:52 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Times Bookstores
Link : http://www.timesbookstores.com.my

This post has been edited by temptation1314: Jan 20 2009, 01:52 AM
budakjahat
post Jan 20 2009, 10:00 AM

617 posts

What about Big Bookshop..? I don't think they have a website though.. There's a big one in Atria. There's also a branch in The Mall and Ampang Park

And Payless Books, do they count?

Sometimes I buy books from Payless or this 2nd hand book shop at Central Market -- though I haven't been there for AGES, so not sure if the shop's still around or not.

IcedNyior
post Jan 20 2009, 11:21 AM

1,768 posts

I think Payless Books should count

http://www.paylessbooks.com.my/

They always have warehouse sales
renaelyng
post Jan 20 2009, 02:14 PM

150 posts

Big bookshop rocks. Though they don't have a webbie, but it's really a bargain to buy books from them.

Too bad the one in Penang closed. Sigh.
latias93
post Jan 20 2009, 04:06 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

Book Xcess - http://www.bookxcess.com/

Their shop is in Amcorp Mall. They sell NEW books at second hand prices. The books are, like the name of the shop suggests, excess or overstocked items.. you'll find something in there to your liking. They have many sections like a proper bookstore.
dishwasher
post Jan 20 2009, 04:34 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Jan 20 2009, 04:06 PM)
Book Xcess - http://www.bookxcess.com/

Their shop is in Amcorp Mall. They sell NEW books at second hand prices. The books are, like the name of the shop suggests, excess or overstocked items.. you'll find something in there to your liking. They have many sections like a proper bookstore.
Some of their books are 'reject stock'. I noticed many misprinted covers the last time I was there. The content should be fine though, can't sell books missing a chapter or two without a huge outcry from the reading public.

There's actually a 2nd hand bookstore on the top most floor of One Utama btw. Its quite near MPH, hidden in a less traveled lane between shops. Quite a selection there. 2nd hand mags as well IIRC. Lots of National Geographic magazines.
toobad
post Jan 20 2009, 04:46 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jan 20 2009, 04:34 PM)
Some of their books are 'reject stock'. I noticed many misprinted covers the last time I was there. The content should be fine though, can't sell books missing a chapter or two without a huge outcry from the reading public.

There's actually a 2nd hand bookstore on the top most floor of One Utama btw. Its quite near MPH, hidden in a less traveled lane between shops. Quite a selection there. 2nd hand mags as well IIRC. Lots of National Geographic magazines.
I think kinokuniya is a good bookshop, very well organized, but books are sold at retail price.
Even their website is quite efficient.

TSfiredauz
post Jan 21 2009, 12:01 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

First post updated.

Cool! Do let us know the name of the shop on the next time you visit there (and if they got a website).
Just tell them we do free advertisement LOL laugh.gif
pikopi
post Jan 21 2009, 08:40 PM

How bout Basheer Graphic Books in B.B?
It's my 2nd fav bookstore after Kino. But the site is currently under construction.
I bet all those in the creative field probably knew bout this shop.
I could go on for hours in here wub.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by pikopi: Jan 21 2009, 08:40 PM
aaeem
post Jan 23 2009, 11:31 PM

289 posts

basheer is my favourite bookstore after kino too...all my animation artbooks i get from them...
dishwasher
post Feb 14 2009, 12:22 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Bumping this and requesting a sticky. Was googling for site of local bookstores until i remembered this list.
snowcrash
post Feb 14 2009, 01:42 AM

Mortal Sword
662 posts

Good idea. What about adding on 2nd hand bookshops as well as book renters as well, either on the same sticky or as a separate list?
shah_ho_nam2
post Feb 20 2009, 06:12 PM

らき☆すた
4,242 posts

QUOTE(snowcrash @ Feb 14 2009, 02:42 AM)
Good idea. What about adding on 2nd hand bookshops as well as book renters as well, either on the same sticky or as a separate list?
yeah like one at ampang point
dishwasher
post Feb 24 2009, 01:22 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Last week, I trotted all over KL in an attempt to secure Gardens of the Moon. Almost every bookstore failed me. Both Borders at Gardens and MPH at One Utama listed the book as 'available' in their database, but the book is nowhere to be found in the store.

MPH's website is also very very inaccurate. Books I can find in their stores they list as 'unavailable'.

In the end, Kinokuniya wins. Their bookweb is updated daily, and they are definitely better stocked than MPH and Borders. They also provide a hassle free book ordering service. I placed an order for Memories of Ice and they didn't require a deposit. Also, their estimation of 2-3 weeks arrival date is much better than Borders, who told me it would take a minimum of 2 months to get what I wanted. 2 months!
Massa
post Feb 25 2009, 03:54 PM

Massa™
709 posts

myNEWS.com. smile.gif
nicholaswinters87
post Mar 19 2009, 09:17 PM

134 posts

http://synergi-books.blogspot.com tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nicholaswinters87: Mar 19 2009, 09:18 PM
chibi_tenko
post Apr 24 2009, 11:52 AM

I see. I pinch. I squeeze
1,250 posts

Are you talking bout the Payless bookstore? I've bought quite a number of 'rare' classic novels there. Nice hardcover classic novels. brows.gif The novel selections are not that many but they have special books sometimes

QUOTE(toobad @ Jan 20 2009, 04:46 PM)
I think kinokuniya is a good bookshop, very well organized, but books are sold at retail price.
thumbup.gif Of all the bookstores in Malaysia, I love KinoKuniya's online purchase the best.
Shahtrughna
post May 25 2009, 10:58 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(pikopi @ Jan 21 2009, 08:40 PM)
How bout Basheer Graphic Books in B.B?
It's my 2nd fav bookstore after Kino. But the site is currently under construction.
I bet all those in the creative field probably knew bout this shop.
I could go on for hours in here  wub.gif  wub.gif
ahahaa yeah my entire class goes to basheer to buy design books tongue.gif
snowcrash
post May 26 2009, 09:47 PM

Mortal Sword
662 posts

There is a book renter available at Central Market, ground floor, can't recommend as it's horribly disorganised and has books hidden behind each other.

There are 2 book renters in Amcorp Mall, one on the top floor has the same problem as the Central Market one, but there's another one with a smaller collections but VERY well organised. A definite recommendation.
henrytanaka
post Jun 4 2009, 12:14 PM

Can you include:
www.acmamall.com as well.
I am in charge of the books in Acmamall.com and I would love to hear some feedback how we can cater to book lover customers ^^
snowcrash
post Jun 10 2009, 03:36 PM

Mortal Sword
662 posts

QUOTE(henrytanaka @ Jun 4 2009, 12:14 PM)
Can you include:
www.acmamall.com as well.
I am in charge of the books in Acmamall.com and I would love to hear some feedback how we can cater to book lover customers ^^
Thanks for the info, I'm testing it out with an order as I'm keen to support a local book ordering website. Will do a full review once I receive my order. Thumbs up on the competitve pricing though, let's see whether delivery is as good tongue.gif

henrytanaka
post Jun 11 2009, 11:00 AM

QUOTE(snowcrash @ Jun 10 2009, 03:36 PM)
Thanks for the info, I'm testing it out with an order as I'm keen to support a local book ordering website. Will do a full review once I receive my order. Thumbs up on the competitve pricing though, let's see whether delivery is as good  tongue.gif
Do me a favor and do your review next month instead *laugh*
It might be weird for me to ask you to do that, but there is a reason for me to say that rclxms.gif
snowcrash
post Jun 22 2009, 05:15 PM

Mortal Sword
662 posts

QUOTE(henrytanaka @ Jun 11 2009, 11:00 AM)
Do me a favor and do your review next month instead *laugh*
It might be weird for me to ask you to do that, but there is a reason for me to say that  rclxms.gif
Well, I kinda got my order so I've already posted my feedback in the Buying Books Online thread. Some minuses, but overall good better than the other local Online stores that I'm aware of.

I look forward to finding out what there is next month hmm.gif

kanelo
post Jul 4 2009, 11:29 PM

Today I went to One Utama, and can't find the Payless. Did it close the shop?
nongdash
post Jul 8 2009, 03:02 AM

23 posts

Do they buy second hand books, novels and magazines as well? I'm looking for a place to sell off my old collection. There's alot of it so there's no way for me to list them to and put them online.. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
cikulatbuku
post Jul 10 2009, 11:25 AM

i do have a list of second-hand blogshops at my blog. do visit if u are interested smile.gif

http://cikulatbuku.blogspot.com
Dallas_Lim
post Jul 27 2009, 01:39 PM

QUOTE(kanelo @ Jul 4 2009, 11:29 PM)
Hi, I came to know one secondhand bookshop located at 78, Jalan Tun H.S Lee, 5 minutes
walk from Masjid Jamek LRT station, opposite RHB card centre. They have a comprehensive
range of good books, saw many European customers while I was there. They have a good
praise and I bought some good classic and non-fiction. Worth visiting and is a real
treasure trove bookshop. Surely u won't get disappointed.
You may try contact them at 03-2078 3822 or the shop owner, Adelyn at 017-2920855.
I hope the above is informative.
rockstarsroll
post Oct 12 2009, 09:14 AM

QUOTE(Dallas_Lim @ Jul 27 2009, 01:39 PM)
Hi, I came to know one secondhand bookshop located at 78, Jalan Tun H.S Lee, 5 minutes
walk from Masjid Jamek LRT station, opposite RHB card centre.  They have a comprehensive
range of good books, saw many European customers while I was there.  They have a good
praise and I bought some good classic and non-fiction.  Worth visiting and is a real
treasure trove bookshop.  Surely u won't get disappointed.
You may try contact them at 03-2078 3822 or the shop owner, Adelyn at 017-2920855.
Yeah, they have many good titles but the staff are not that friendly. tongue.gif
SUSpeewee
post Oct 21 2009, 12:08 AM

32 posts

http://www.silverfishbooks.com/

http://mataharibooks.blogspot.com/

http://www.bookcafe.com.my/my/

This post has been edited by peewee: Oct 21 2009, 01:58 PM
amoeba98
post Nov 4 2009, 02:43 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(toobad @ Jan 20 2009, 04:46 PM)
yea i agree, done a few online order and very efficient with friendly staff as well
henrytanaka
post Nov 17 2009, 09:12 PM

I called them twice and was asking for assistance at the same time to check on their customer service, I gotta say I am a little impressed *laugh*

This post has been edited by henrytanaka: Nov 17 2009, 09:12 PM
snowcrash
post Nov 17 2009, 10:58 PM

Mortal Sword
662 posts

QUOTE(henrytanaka @ Nov 17 2009, 09:12 PM)
I called them twice and was asking for assistance at the same time to check on their customer service, I gotta say I am a little impressed *laugh*
A li'l tough competition is always good tongue.gif

Sima Yi
post Dec 9 2009, 11:09 PM

13 posts

Hmm,I just came across this one.

要购物网 1shopping.com.my

You can view the English version on upper right of the website.

debbieyss
post Dec 16 2009, 01:06 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

Hi, have done some research on second hand bookstores, share you all the attached file. biggrin.gif

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Bookstores.doc ( 277.5k ) Number of downloads: 1045
dopeycheese
post Jan 3 2010, 01:07 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(kanelo @ Jul 4 2009, 11:29 PM)
closed d, payless is now like a wandering wagon, every fortnight or so it'll be somewhere in klang valley.
for the better IMO
check their webbie or facebook for locations

@debbieyss
nice work there =)
kobe24bryant
post Feb 19 2010, 07:30 PM

67 posts

If anyone has seen a copy of How Many Friends Does One Person Need?, please do let me know.
angel20871
post Mar 18 2010, 06:31 PM

can i know where to rent a book with a cheap rate around petaling jaya??

thank you
caped21
post Jun 3 2010, 11:06 PM

Can anyone tell which bookstore accepts 2nd books? I want to sell them
book_khaki
post Jul 19 2010, 01:01 PM

we have a new online bookstore too - Booqc.com (pronounced as book dot com) smile.gif

we focus a lot on
International Bestsellers
Local Malaysia English Books
Asia Books
Buku Bahasa Malaysia

most of our books are sold at a discount, sometimes up to 40%

hope u guys can support us smile.gif

flore
post Oct 12 2010, 11:53 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(Dallas_Lim @ Jul 27 2009, 01:39 PM)
walk from Masjid Jamek LRT station, opposite RHB card centre.  They have a comprehensive
range of good books, saw many European customers while I was there.  They have a good
praise and I bought some good classic and non-fiction.  Worth visiting and is a real
treasure trove bookshop.  Surely u won't get disappointed.
The name of that book store is Junk Book Store?

Sounds like a place for me! Would definitely check it out. Thanks!
spacelion
post Oct 13 2010, 10:03 PM

Ada Liu
1,689 posts

Malaysian bookstores suck. The only place I can find hard scifi and steampunk happens to be Kinokuniya. It's where I do all my ordering and purchasing.
cheerybell
post Oct 21 2010, 04:16 PM

Gosh,I do agree...Kinokuniya's online purchase is the best - for Malaysia la..I do overseas purchase from The Book Depository quite frequently - www.bookdepository.co.uk..convert over to RM is almost the same or cheaper plus free delivery altho you have to wait for about a week for the books to arrive but hey, it's free plus there're much more variety there~ They are quick to respond to your email queries and all my parcels arrived safely..
Empathy
post Oct 27 2010, 04:04 AM

1,184 posts

There are many second hand book stores in the Klang Valley but they are scattered around. I think it's high time for the government to create a second hand book store center under one roof like the ones in Tokyo, London etc...

Just like Low Yat Plaza selling PC equipments and cell phones all under one roof...

akira2001
post Nov 1 2010, 04:06 PM

64 posts

Does anyone know any bookstores that buy out secondhand book on reasonable price? I live in Penang and I dislike to sell my books to the Chowrasta Bazaar there like selling cheap paper. They offer very low on the price. It would be nice if there have one.
flore
post Nov 30 2010, 11:49 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(flore @ Oct 12 2010, 11:53 AM)
The name of that book store is Junk Book Store?

Sounds like a place for me! Would definitely check it out. Thanks!
The place is sure impressive enough but the prices aren't.. kinda disappointed cos not much cheaper than the new books.
I would rather go to Kinokuniya.
casperito
post Dec 18 2010, 09:26 PM

662 posts

any idea for a place where i can sell off old books and comic in KL? i have a bunch of unused book and comics to be disposed... better sell off at 2nd hand shop... at least got people appreciate it rather than selling them to "old news paper"

This post has been edited by casperito: Dec 18 2010, 09:26 PM
vien
post Dec 19 2010, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(casperito @ Dec 18 2010, 09:26 PM)
any idea for a place where i can sell off old books and comic in KL? i have a bunch of unused book and comics to be disposed... better sell off at 2nd hand shop... at least got people appreciate it rather than selling them to "old news paper"
hi casperito,

You can try Junk Book Store. but im not sure whether they are buying old books or not. Here are the details of the shop:

Address:
78, Jalan Tun H. S. Lee,
50000 Kuala Lumpur

Business Hours:
8.30 am - 5.00pm (Monday)
8.30 am - 6.00pm (Tuesday - Friday)
8.30 am - 2.00pm (Saturday)

Tel : 603-2078 3822, 017-2920 855 (Adelyn Koh)

www.junkbookstore.com

Email:
junkbookstore78@gmail.com

Facebook Fan Page: Junk Book Store (The Biggest Secondhand Bookstore)
or go to this link: http://www.facebook.com/junkbookstore

Added on December 19, 2010, 3:50 pm
QUOTE(firedauz @ Jan 20 2009, 12:39 AM)
Kinokuniya Bookstores, KLCC
Link: http://bookweb.kinokuniya.co.jp/indexohb.cgi?AREA=05

MPH Bookstores
Link: http://www.mph.com.my/

Borders Bookstores (Malaysia)
Berjaya Books Sdn Bhd

Link: http://www.berjaya.com/berjayabooks.htm

Popular Bookstores
Link: http://www.popular.com.my/

Times Bookstores
Link : http://www.timesbookstores.com.my

Payless Books
Link: http://www.paylessbooks.com.my/

Book Xcess
Link: http://www.bookxcess.com/

Brasheer Graphic Bookstore
Link: http://www.basheergraphic.com/

MyNEWS.com
Link: http://www.mynews.com.my/

------------------------

If you know of a good bookstore, do suggest them here.
It would be good if you can provide of its link, or if its not available, its location.
Hi firedauz..

can u please add in second hand book Junk Book Store (The Biggest Secondhand Bookstore)
Link: http://www.junkbookstore.com

This post has been edited by vien: Dec 19 2010, 03:53 PM
ayanami_tard
post Jan 18 2011, 09:05 PM

40 posts

is there any dark horse comics outlets in malaysia?or any bookstores that sells dark horse comics?
junnie87
post Jan 18 2011, 11:47 PM

841 posts

Bookalicious at Summit is a great book store. They always have sale of buy 2 free 1 or buy 2 for 1. Real bargain!!
zenwell
post Mar 29 2011, 10:32 AM

1,749 posts

anyone knows about a book rental shop in Subang parade? I used to go there years ago. I remember it is in a corner of the shopping mall, near esquire kitchen. you actually need to walk out of the mall to enter the shop. I forgot what is the name. is it still there now?
adamh
post Jun 14 2011, 12:16 AM

101 posts

Kino FTW! Basheer nice place smile.gif
faridz7
post Jun 28 2011, 12:07 PM

132 posts

hey everyone

there was a good book rental place in Bangsar near TMC. I frequented it since I was a kid and now its closed ! Does anyone know whether they closed it for good or maybe they relocated somewhere else?

Does anyone know of a good book rental place which has recent -ish releases such as Dan Brown's lost symbol etc etc?
snowcrash
post Jun 28 2011, 02:52 PM

Mortal Sword
662 posts

QUOTE(faridz7 @ Jun 28 2011, 12:07 PM)
Does anyone know of a good book rental place which has recent -ish releases such as Dan Brown's lost symbol etc etc?
Amcorp Mall has a good well-organised one, called My Book Place.
There's also one in Central Market ground floor, but very disorganised, so hard to find specific titles.

faridz7
post Jun 28 2011, 05:06 PM

132 posts

ah cheers snowcrash, will check it out
JanableJoy
post Jul 17 2011, 02:37 PM

I happen to like this bookstore in Island Plaza, Penang.

http://www.leobookstore.com/
Sharing is caring! biggrin.gif
moonlightlady
post Aug 24 2011, 11:57 PM

18 posts

Hi All,

I usually borrow non-fictions from the National Library. There are quite a lot of English novels available and it's free!
matalie
post Nov 22 2011, 02:06 PM

110 posts

does anyone know where has the bookstore that sell Taiwan or China books? cause i cant find it here
matalie
post Nov 22 2011, 05:05 PM

110 posts

i just found out two more malaysia online store
www.pappago.com
www.banhee.com
adamh
post Jan 26 2012, 02:14 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(vien @ Dec 19 2010, 03:45 PM)
hi casperito,

You can try Junk Book Store. but im not sure whether they are buying old books or not. Here are the details of the shop:

Address:
78, Jalan Tun H. S. Lee,
50000 Kuala Lumpur

Business Hours:
8.30 am - 5.00pm (Monday)
8.30 am - 6.00pm (Tuesday - Friday)
8.30 am - 2.00pm (Saturday)

Tel : 603-2078 3822, 017-2920 855 (Adelyn Koh)

www.junkbookstore.com

Email:
junkbookstore78@gmail.com

Facebook Fan Page: Junk Book Store (The Biggest Secondhand Bookstore)
or go to this link: http://www.facebook.com/junkbookstore

Added on December 19, 2010, 3:50 pm
Hi firedauz..

can u please add in second hand book Junk Book Store (The Biggest Secondhand Bookstore)
Link: http://www.junkbookstore.com
hey vien. how's the books condition at junk book store?
many varieties or not?

Persephone
post Feb 9 2012, 09:25 AM

I love the Central Market bookstore, been there since I was a teen. There are more romance, chick lit, Mills & Boons books, and a much smaller section for the general fiction / fantasy / scifi etc. Their biggest draw (to me) is if a book has been rented a few times, the price goes down and then you can keep them. It is a thrill to discover a book I have longed for years somewhere in the heap. Not so good when it comes to serial fantasy titles, but they tend to stock up a lot on popular titles like Harry Potter and T Prachett.

For those that are interested in the Golden Age scifi, pulps like Moorcook, Burrough, Piers, Asimov short stories, classic stuff, they recently acquired a huge range of the original editions. You have to dig and the books smelt musty & brown with age .... but these are the originals! It's like a treasure hunt.
OMG!
post Feb 13 2012, 09:53 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

AM wondering whether popular bookstore sell any hard disk?
richgrohl
post Mar 3 2012, 04:50 PM

Hi guys I just like to ask if there are any Comic book store here in Malaysia that sells DC and Marvel weekly/monthly issues?
I've only been in MY for only a month and so far I haven't seen any. Also any local online comic book store that i cna order from would be ok as well.
johnconnor
post May 4 2012, 02:48 PM

142 posts

Well if you don't mind, I know of this really good eBook site called Project Gutenberg. You can download classic ebooks and text/HTML files for free.

http://www.gutenberg.org/catalog/
mykwc
post May 16 2012, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(Persephone @ Feb 9 2012, 09:25 AM)
I love the Central Market bookstore, been there since I was a teen. There are more romance, chick lit, Mills & Boons books, and a much smaller section for the general fiction / fantasy / scifi etc. Their biggest draw (to me) is if a book has been rented a few times, the price goes down and then you can keep them. It is a thrill to discover a book I have longed for years somewhere in the heap. Not so good when it comes to serial fantasy titles, but they tend to stock up a lot on popular titles like Harry Potter and T Prachett.

For those that are interested in the Golden Age scifi, pulps like Moorcook, Burrough, Piers, Asimov short stories, classic stuff, they recently acquired a huge range of the original editions. You have to dig and the books smelt musty & brown with age .... but these are the originals! It's like a treasure hunt.
Where is it in CM?

BTW, Borders Bookstore website link is Borders Malaysia

Persephone
post May 21 2012, 11:20 PM

QUOTE(mykwc @ May 16 2012, 07:31 PM)
Where is it in CM?

BTW, Borders Bookstore website link is Borders Malaysia
It is a bit hard to describe but I will try. It is on the ground floor. When you come in through the main entrance from the car park, go straight down the main thoroughfare. As you move along, you can turn right at the second right-turn amongst the shoplots (this is the part I am not sure as I don't count them!). Go down the alley a bit and you should then see the shop on your left.

It is somewhere on the right side of the mall and given the small size of CM, you can easily find it. Otherwise there is always a friendly concierge at the entrance as this is a tourist spot.

You will see shelves and shelves of books piled inside. I really hope you manage to find it without any trouble. I just borrowed Greg Egan's Halo - THe Forerunner Trilogy, I hope they get Bk 2 next. And somehow I managed to find a copy of The Tiger's Wife by Tea Obreht.
Wayne Liew
post May 22 2012, 11:01 AM

33 posts

There's a new online bookstore in town called Lazada Malaysia.

Link: Lazada Malaysia Online Bookstore

Okay, first of all, I work here but no intention of spamming. Just sharing with you guys because the prices are low for some popular titles.
mama1baba
post Jun 2 2012, 09:41 PM

63 posts

*sigh* im frm taiping,perak.. not considering big city, but city of heritage.. but there is only POPULAR bookstore in my area... sometimes i just cant find books that i longed... when its going to open new bookstore like MPH,KINOKUNIYA. BORDERS and more....
cryingbaby
post Jun 27 2012, 02:00 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Persephone @ May 21 2012, 11:20 PM)
It is a bit hard to describe but I will try. It is on the ground floor. When you come in through the main entrance from the car park, go straight down the main thoroughfare. As you move along, you can turn right at the second right-turn amongst the shoplots (this is the part I am not sure as I don't count them!). Go down the alley a bit and you should then see the shop on your left.

It is somewhere on the right side of the mall and given the small size of CM, you can easily find it. Otherwise there is always a friendly concierge at the entrance as this is a tourist spot.

You will see shelves and shelves of books piled inside. I really hope you manage to find it without any trouble. I just borrowed Greg Egan's Halo - THe Forerunner Trilogy, I hope they get Bk 2 next. And somehow I managed to find a copy of The Tiger's Wife by Tea Obreht.
Will definitely go try out this weekend... icon_rolleyes.gif
always looking for book rental place but hard to find one.
didnt want buy anymore new book or 2nd hand, house full of books oredi.
in fact try to offload some whenever i can, some juz giveaway.
Empathy
post Sep 20 2012, 10:40 PM

1,184 posts

This morning , while in a bus I unexpectedly discovered a second hand bookstore at Jalan HS Lee called the Junk Book Store . Impressive second hand book shop ... but I am quite dissapointed with the book prices . Quite expensive compared to new books . I was the only customer while in the shop for an hour ! ... I'm sure more ppl would be more interested in visiting this book store if they can lower the prices of those books .

alwazwin
post Oct 9 2012, 10:35 PM

This online bookstore is actually quite good as it provides Artbooks at a cheaper rate. Artbook lovers will be able to find nice books here.

http://www.facebook.com/TheArchiveExpress (Official webpage)
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key...1MdEM4RVE#gid=0
(The booklists currently they sold)

It normally took 4-7weeks to get the books deliver from UK to Malaysia if the book is out of stock.
If you do not spot the ones you want, you can request to them.
SUSagewisdom
post Oct 15 2012, 08:43 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(adamh @ Jan 26 2012, 02:14 AM)
hey vien. how's the books condition at junk book store?
many varieties or not?
Since I've been to the Junk Bookstore recently, I'll give some feedback.

The positives:

1. If you're looking for books on the Asian side, such as history, politics and economy - they have quite a good collection. These are usually out of print books which is rarely available elsewhere in KL.

2. They also have quite a good collection of fiction books but I didn't really look into these. One good thing is that these fiction are not the typical ones sold elsewhere, but more on the British ones and old novels.

3. Books are reasonably well stacked. There are actually 3 floors. The ground floor has more on non-fiction and the 1st floor are more on fiction. The 2nd floor is what they call the library which contains the more valuable and historical books - which is a treasure trove if you're interested in Malaysian and Asian history/politics.

The not-so positives:
1. Browsing around is definitely not too great an experience because some of the books are stacked vertically. You would need to move it around a bit which is inconvenient. Also, maybe because the Junk Bookstore may have some bad experience, they tend to hover around you at times, especially if you're not a familiar customer. Makes it a bit uncomfortable.

2. The prices are not that cheap. I think they're catering more for people that want to find out-of-print books that they can't find anywhere else. Hence the prices are not that heavily discounted. It's not a problem for someone that WANTS to buy the books, even at retail price but CANNOT get them anywhere at all since they're out of print. But if you're looking for great bargains, it might not be your cup of tea.

Conclusion:
Overall, if you treat the Junk Bookstore as a repository of long out-of-print books or an antique library, you can have a very enjoyable experience there. However, if you're hoping for it to be a bargain bin with cheap novels/books, you might be disappointed. Perhaps, one of the main grouses I have is that some out-of-print books are really expensive, especially those up in the library in the 2nd floor.

Overall, I'd give the Junk Bookstore a 7/10.
SPYiNG
post Jan 10 2013, 08:46 PM

138 posts

how about www.got1shop.com? They sell lots of taiwan & local chinese books. tongue.gif

I found this website a few days ago, and haven't order anything yet. But the price I think is quite ok~
SUSinsightone
post Mar 10 2013, 10:11 PM

161 posts

Guys, do u think Borders book is a bit overpriced compared to Popular and MPH? And also I noticed their book collections quite less compared other bookstore
dentalfloss
post Mar 15 2013, 04:08 PM

389 posts

which popular bookstore has more choices in english novels?the one at wangsa walk mall or petaling street?
thefryingfox
post Mar 16 2013, 03:24 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

where can i buy translated books ( from english to bahasa ) like enid blayton/hardy boys etc?

need some for my kids
andershen
post Mar 18 2013, 04:55 PM

Hey guys, we are Bookurve.com, a new Malaysia Online Bookstore.

A bit intro about us, we provide
1. Latest and Widest selection english books. (Send us the ISBN if you cant find your book in our website)
2. Lowest price in town. (Contact us if you are not happy with our price)
3. Free Delivery within Malaysia.

Yup, Free delivery within Malaysia. Check us out now.

NOTE: We are currently running a "Book Marathon Lucky Draw"

Join our race now at www.Bookurve.com.

dfc16
post Jun 25 2013, 12:24 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(insightone @ Mar 10 2013, 10:11 PM)
Guys, do u think Borders book is a bit overpriced compared to Popular and MPH? And also I noticed their book collections quite less compared other bookstore
For me personally... Borders over MPH and popular any day. Even if the price is higher they have a better selection of books and with my borders card I get 10% all yr round. I guess it's personal taste. I never am able to find anything in MPH. Popular.. let's not even go there. I only read English books and I find popular caters mostly to Chinese titles...

Actually, best variety is Kinokuniya but prices higher than anywhere else...
dfc16
post Jun 25 2013, 12:26 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Oct 15 2012, 08:43 PM)
Since I've been to the Junk Bookstore recently, I'll give some feedback.

The positives:

1. If you're looking for books on the Asian side, such as history, politics and economy - they have quite a good collection. These are usually out of print books which is rarely available elsewhere in KL.

2. They also have quite a good collection of fiction books but I didn't really look into these. One good thing is that these fiction are not the typical ones sold elsewhere, but more on the British ones and old novels.

3. Books are reasonably well stacked. There are actually 3 floors. The ground floor has more on non-fiction and the 1st floor are more on fiction. The 2nd floor is what they call the library which contains the more valuable and historical books - which is a treasure trove if you're interested in Malaysian and Asian history/politics.

The not-so positives:
1. Browsing around is definitely not too great an experience because some of the books are stacked vertically. You would need to move it around a bit which is inconvenient. Also, maybe because the Junk Bookstore may have some bad experience, they tend to hover around you at times, especially if you're not a familiar customer. Makes it a bit uncomfortable.

2. The prices are not that cheap. I think they're catering more for people that want to find out-of-print books that they can't find anywhere else. Hence the prices are not that heavily discounted. It's not a problem for someone that WANTS to buy the books, even at retail price but CANNOT get them anywhere at all since they're out of print. But if you're looking for great bargains, it might not be your cup of tea.

Conclusion:
Overall, if you treat the Junk Bookstore as a repository of long out-of-print books or an antique library, you can have a very enjoyable experience there. However, if you're hoping for it to be a bargain bin with cheap novels/books, you might be disappointed. Perhaps, one of the main grouses I have is that some out-of-print books are really expensive, especially those up in the library in the 2nd floor.

Overall, I'd give the Junk Bookstore a 7/10.
Thanks so much for sharing!

I've seen this store so many times but never went in.

If you don't mind... how much are the books generally?
SUSagewisdom
post Jun 26 2013, 01:20 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(dfc16 @ Jun 25 2013, 12:26 PM)
Thanks so much for sharing!

I've seen this store so many times but never went in.

If you don't mind... how much are the books generally?
1. Well, there's 2 aunties there, generally they're ok but they tend to be suspicious the first time they see you, so they'll follow you around a bit as your browse. A bit annoying, but guess they must have faced some pilferage before.

2. Those books generally range between RM25-75 on average. You can expect most books to be close to their retail price or slightly discounted. Novels etc. could cost about RM30+...

Usually, I buy those books that I can't find it in local bookstores anymore because they are out of print. This is especially true for books on local interest like on Malaysia and Singapore. Depending on the demand, you can expect them to be between RM25-100, largely based on their original retail price.

Some older books are even more expensive and those are located on the 2nd floor. You can ask them to show you. This are usually historical/antiquarian books or books on Malaysian politics.

You can usually bargain a bit, but really depends on the mood of the aunty there. Maybe if you are leng-chai, you can charm there to get a bigger discount. thumbup.gif

Rgds

dfc16
post Jun 27 2013, 11:44 AM

30 posts

hahahahahhaha I am a gurl.

being leng chai might be a bit hard... :-p
SUSagewisdom
post Jun 27 2013, 03:07 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(dfc16 @ Jun 27 2013, 11:44 AM)
hahahahahhaha I am a gurl.

being leng chai might be a bit hard... :-p
Can bring a leng-chai there mah... tongue.gif
Or maybe you can sweet talk them lo... Do drop by, maybe you can find some nice books there laugh.gif
lavianayee
post Jul 9 2013, 09:59 AM

51 posts

Do anyone knows which bookstore in malaysia is selling the ACCA study text? I wish to purchase P6 MYS version. Urgent.. Thanks cool2.gif
luyee
post Jul 13 2013, 10:37 AM

I found this, use to sell fashion stuffs , but start selling english book and malay books.
www.nile.com.my
Life_House
post Jul 14 2013, 04:39 PM

505 posts

hi all,

Anyone know where can this book be found ?

"Selogia" or " Sedogia" by Amal Hemeon (or Amal Hameon)

In fact i stumble across the cover of this book when it's being read by a malay lady on the train from some distance, and i'm not sure if i spell the book title correctly.

i've tried to search from the internet but so far to no avail, not even the details of the author.

Appreciate any advice. Thx.

kagamistar
post Aug 28 2013, 06:55 PM

579 posts

Regret because i bought only 1book of the kite runner graphic novel only rm10.at bbw..sigh.
Any1 know where can i find the kite runner graphic novel?or any1 sell it?thanks
kagamistar
post Aug 28 2013, 06:59 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Mar 16 2013, 03:24 PM)
where can i buy translated books ( from english to bahasa ) like enid blayton/hardy boys etc?

need some for my kids
I saw some books enid blyton at mph and popular.
Peekabook
post Dec 22 2013, 04:00 PM

Peekabook.com.my
Link: http://peekabook.com.my

Peekabook specializes in workbooks for Chinese primary schools and story books for children aged between 0-12 years old. We have the widest range of SJKC books available online, with over a thousand workbooks to choose from.

This post has been edited by Peekabook: Dec 22 2013, 04:07 PM

Attached image(s)
edison1437
post Jan 5 2014, 04:43 PM

819 posts

Hi all i'm looking for a book 說話之道 any1 can help?
7premium
post Feb 13 2014, 10:30 AM

32 posts

Offering service to buy ebook (just any title) from Amazon or B&N or iBooks at discounted price (25% to 60% off). Hundreds of thousands of titles at your fingertip.

You can find out more through my signature, thanks !
scandx369
post Feb 27 2014, 10:56 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(Life_House @ Jul 14 2013, 05:39 PM)
hi all,

Anyone know where can this book be found ?

"Selogia"  or " Sedogia" by Amal Hemeon (or Amal Hameon)
In fact i stumble across the cover of this book when it's being read by a malay lady on the train from some distance, and i'm not sure if i spell the book title correctly.

i've tried to search from the internet but so far to no avail, not even the details of the author.

Appreciate any advice. Thx.
I think the book that your search is Seyogia by Amal Hamsan, published by Lejen Press

Life_House
post Feb 28 2014, 11:25 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(scandx369 @ Feb 27 2014, 10:56 PM)
I think the book that your search is Seyogia by Amal Hamsan, published by Lejen Press
hi.. many thanks for ur reply. i found this book reently in Times Bookstore in pavillion kl. It's a very good book actually.

scandx369
post Feb 28 2014, 05:07 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(Life_House @ Feb 28 2014, 12:25 PM)
hi..  many thanks for ur reply.    i found this book reently in Times Bookstore in pavillion kl.    It's a very good book actually.
No problem!

I still new here, just browsing aroung

You should read Heroin by same author.Complication of short stories in Malay. smile.gif
Life_House
post Feb 28 2014, 05:40 PM

505 posts

ok .. many thx for the recommendation.

junitor
post Mar 29 2014, 02:22 PM

19 posts

hi,

i am looking for

The Wheel of Time (3-Volume Set) : Crossroads of Twilight/ Knife of Dreams/ Gathering Storm (Wheel of Time) (BOX) (paperback)

i can't find it anywhere. i can buy the books individually but i need the art work (cartoons) as the cover. (published by tor)

This post has been edited by junitor: Mar 29 2014, 02:23 PM
yuya.azu
post Apr 10 2014, 10:41 AM

hi all..i'm looking for the iron witch trilogy books by karen mahoney..
last time saw them at popular book store but only left few pcs..
later when want to buy it, out of stock already..
anyone know where to get it? prefer to buy it from local bookstore..
MsLonelyHearts
post May 27 2014, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(zenwell @ Mar 29 2011, 10:32 AM)
anyone knows about a book rental shop in Subang parade? I used to go there years ago. I remember it is in a corner of the shopping mall, near esquire kitchen. you actually need to walk out of the mall to enter the shop. I forgot what is the name. is it still there now?
Hello. Just noticed this post. The book rental shop is called SS Readers Corner. It is now located at SS15, Subang Jaya. There is a simple webpage on the store. To check it, visit SS Readers Corner.
MsLonelyHearts
post May 27 2014, 04:24 PM

QUOTE(yuya.azu @ Apr 10 2014, 10:41 AM)
Hello. Have you checked out Bookurve. It's the newest online bookstore. I've never used it but I find some of the books in my wishlist there (these books are not stocked in Kinokuniya). Good luck in finding the books.
thenightcrusader
post Jul 29 2014, 12:18 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(MsLonelyHearts @ May 27 2014, 05:24 PM)
Hello. Have you checked out Bookurve. It's the newest online bookstore. I've never used it but I find some of the books in my wishlist there (these books are not stocked in Kinokuniya). Good luck in finding the books.
i've checked out the website and personally i'm impressed. they really have low price books and free delivery, but what was most impressing to me is the selection of specialty books like chess books. It's very very difficult to find good ones in the bookstores and ordering them cost a bomb. With Bookurve i can get many great titles with a good price
malakus
post Sep 21 2014, 08:09 AM

234 posts

Which courier do Kinokuniya uses?

Can customer request them to post via Pos Laju?
Pinacoladas95
post Jun 13 2015, 09:31 PM

QUOTE(yuya.azu @ Apr 10 2014, 10:41 AM)
Heyyy have you tried looking at Bookalicious at Subang Summit?
I found most of my books there at lower price.
The owner seems to be very decent too.

Jimmyy00
post Jul 5 2015, 12:08 AM

Check out the new amazon bookstore at groupway.
chosie
post Jul 8 2015, 07:28 AM

69 posts

For parents, who are looking for picture books for your little ones, you can check out www.kidpicturebooks.com. Some of the books are targeted for early age education for your babies. Also, they are doing great discount now and price is lower than other major book stores.
xjia
post Oct 8 2015, 07:50 PM

245 posts

Anybody knows where can i buy this book. in Chinese version. Thank you

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1953839._33
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Oct 17 2015, 12:07 AM

937 posts

QUOTE(xjia @ Oct 8 2015, 07:50 PM)
Anybody knows where can i buy this book. in Chinese version.  Thank you

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1953839._33
any comic bookstore would have it.
aj_
post Apr 23 2016, 10:59 PM

Does anyone know of any good used bookstores in KL?

There is one in Seremban that I know of, at a mall called Parade. I'm looking for something like that.

The books that I'm after are picture books where you look for hidden objects. Mainly "I Spy" and "Can You See What I See".

Any info would be appreciated.

This post has been edited by aj_: Apr 23 2016, 11:04 PM

0.1290sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:31 AM