How to check whether my iPhone 3G is .., Official unlocked unit or software unloc

frozzbyte
post Jan 20 2009, 12:51 AM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

QUOTE(Clarencerx @ Jan 19 2009, 11:38 PM)
not all singtel are unlocked if im not mistaken.

hmm..try restoring ur phone and see.if it shows no network means its software unlock lor.easy..haha
U have the source saying not all singtel unit are unlocked? Or u mean iPhone from SINGAPORE (the country), purchase from other than the authorized SINGTEL(the telco) retailer could be software unlock?

Don't confuse people ... as far as I know, ALL iPhone offered by SINGTEL are officially unlocked. Only those phone sold at phone shop in SINGAPORE i.e Simlim can or can't be software unlocked.

Like u said its easy .. just confirm the part number and thats it. No need to restore. It will be difficult when people give incorrect information.

p/s - even Apple indicate the phone from SINGTEL are not locked to carrier according to http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1937
frozzbyte
post Jan 21 2009, 02:04 AM

3,657 posts

@magazine
Maybe thats the problem. You said that on iTunes it said complete restoration but the progress bar was only half on the phone. I'm using vista to JB mine last time so it's not the OS.

What you can do, restore the phone using stock 2.2 firmware, connect to iTunes and let it recognize it first. Then put in your sim card. Does it detect the signal? By right it should if it's an officially unlocked phone. Only after you get the signal then you proceed with the jailbreaking process.

Hope that help. It's not wise to use yellowsn0w on an officially unlocked phone.
frozzbyte
post Jan 21 2009, 02:21 AM

3,657 posts

No wonder. You must activate it first before can use it. Why you don't want to use the official method of activating through iTunes? It's not going to lock the phone if it detect a malaysian sim card or anything.

All firmware are from US apple site. There's no region specific firmware.

0.0157sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:02 AM