Literary Quotes

TSRBR
post Jan 19 2009, 07:17 PM, updated 17y ago

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

Please post some quotes by prominent literary figures here! Include the name of the person.

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple. Modern life would be very tedious if it were either, and modern literature a complete impossibility!" - Oscar Wilde
Chris25
post Jan 19 2009, 08:30 PM

221 posts

"Oh, the tiger will love you. There is no sincerer love than the love of food." ~George Bernard Shaw
ShinAsakura
post Jan 19 2009, 11:08 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

"Ay, there's the rub." - William Shakespeare
prasys
post Jan 19 2009, 11:21 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

"If you could say, with truth, to your own solitary heart, to-night, 'I have secured to myself the love and attachment, the gratitude or respect, of no human creature; I have won myself a tender place in no regard; I have done nothing good or serviceable to be remembered by!' your seventy-eight years would be seventy-eight heavy curses; would they not?"

Charles Dickens - A tale of two cities
dishwasher
post Jan 20 2009, 02:20 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

"Fish, I love you and respect you very much. But I will kill you dead before this day ends" - Ernest Hemingway, Old Man and the Sea

aka 'monologue with a fish'.
Massa
post Jan 20 2009, 08:26 AM

Massa™
709 posts

"Love has no age, no limit; and no death." , John Galsworthy.
firedauz
post Jan 20 2009, 12:23 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

"I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by."
- Douglas Adams
Massa
post Jan 20 2009, 10:02 PM

Massa™
709 posts

One of my favourites :

"What must be shall be." , William Shakespeare. smile.gif
ShinAsakura
post Jan 21 2009, 11:12 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

Round and round in circles
Completing the charm.

T. S. Eliot
Massa
post Jan 22 2009, 03:41 PM

Massa™
709 posts

"God made Truth with many doors to welcome every believer who knocks on them." , Khalil Gibran.
MayAnne
post Jan 24 2009, 01:24 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

"Friendship is constant in all other things save in the office and affairs of love..."
~ William Shakespeare in Much Ado About Nothing ~
temptation1314
post Jan 24 2009, 02:20 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

"Despair is only for those who see the end beyond all doubt. We do not."
-J. R. R. Tolkien in The Fellowship of the Ring

This post has been edited by temptation1314: Jan 24 2009, 02:21 PM
toobad
post Jan 24 2009, 05:38 PM

291 posts

It takes 20 years to build a reputation and five minutes to ruin it. If you think about that, you'll do things differently.
-Warren Buffett-

i find it so damn true.
Massa
post Jan 24 2009, 08:33 PM

Massa™
709 posts

"Strong reasons makes strong actions." , William Shakespeare.
dishwasher
post Feb 2 2009, 09:00 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

In memory of Jon Updike

'Time is our element, not a mistaken invader.'
milleu
post Feb 6 2009, 11:16 AM

431 posts

I like this quote by einstein.

'The sign of a cluttered desk shows a messy mind but then an empty desk shows an empty mind?"

hihi,the quote I tell my mom every time she asks me to clean up.

may not get the quote totally right but then that's probably excused by this quote.

"Misquotation is, in fact, the pride and privilege of the learned. A widely- read man never quotes accurately, for the rather obvious reason that he has read too widely."
- Hesketh Pearson
Massa
post Feb 7 2009, 03:18 AM

Massa™
709 posts

"There's beggary in the love that can be reckon'd." , William Shakespere. smile.gif
Massa
post Feb 16 2009, 03:44 PM

Massa™
709 posts

"Realize deeply that the present of the moment is all you ever have." , Echart Tolle.
lunalovegood
post Feb 23 2009, 06:55 PM

111 posts

"Youth cannot know how age thinks and feels. But old men are guilty if they forget what it was to be young.."
"To the well organized mind, death is but the next great adventure."
"It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities."
- Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore.
Massa
post Feb 27 2009, 01:25 PM

Massa™
709 posts

"He draweth out the thread of his verbosity finer than the staple of his argument." , William Shakespeare.

0.0236sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:18 AM