Beware:Singtel do not honour iPhone 3G warranty

TSwht3639
post Jan 19 2009, 01:15 PM, updated 17y ago

iPhone 3G buyers should read this

Singtel will not honour the terms of the Apple warranty with the phone. Given the serial number on the phone they can identify it was purchased in Singapore, which implies Singtel, as they are the only vendor. However, Singtel do not recognise this. They need the following details before they will service an iPhone 3G:

* Serial number of iPhone 3G - to check it was bought in Singapore. If not, go straight to jail and do not pass go.
* Details of the original purchaser of the phone:
o Full name
o Address
o IC number
o Original phone number contract with Singtel was made with
o Warranty card

So if you are buying an iPhone 3G on eBay, be aware you need all the above information from the seller for the warranty to be "valid" (by Singtel definitions).

If anyone has sold their iPhone 3G and not passed over the warranty/willing to give me their details as above/willing to go down to the comcentre to transfer the warranty using the above information then please contact me.

Due to inefficiencies in Singtel systems they can only identify customers by phone number or IC number. The serial number of the phone is not recorded. So my serial number does not need to match the one you bought as they cannot check this.

I have been trying to discuss the illegality of this with regards to the written terms of the warranty from Apple but cannot get through to anyone senior enough in Singtel to understand what I'm talking about. Apple have repeatedly stated Singtel should service any iPhone 3G purchased in Singapore (as proved by the serial number) but that they have no power to force Singtel.

This post has been edited by wht3639: Jan 19 2009, 01:17 PM
tauevo
post Jan 19 2009, 01:28 PM

230 posts

Another thread like this again? is been 2 months already since i saw it. Tell u wat, iphone 3g tat is bought from singtel with official receipt is entitled for warranty claiming. Xfree the iphone seller in lyn able to claim 3 faulty iphones without any problem. One of it was his jb iphone n restore back to claim.
TSwht3639
post Jan 19 2009, 01:33 PM

tell u i couldn't claim my iphone from singtel without those information even got the receipt. anyway u can go here to listen my story. http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2113511

This post has been edited by wht3639: Jan 19 2009, 01:34 PM
tauevo
post Jan 19 2009, 01:38 PM

230 posts

is ur story updated?i see the post is like oct of last year friend.

the fellow i mentioned managed to exchange 3 iphone in 1 week. he changed it mid of last month only.
TSwht3639
post Jan 19 2009, 01:39 PM

QUOTE(tauevo @ Jan 19 2009, 01:28 PM)
Another thread like this again? is been 2 months already since i saw it. Tell u wat, iphone 3g tat is bought from singtel with official receipt is entitled for warranty claiming. Xfree the iphone seller in lyn able to claim 3 faulty iphones without any problem. One of it was his jb iphone n restore back to claim.
i dun think so, except the seller can locate the previous owner, u sure the 3 faulty iphone is restore back and even same imei?
tauevo
post Jan 19 2009, 01:42 PM

230 posts

haha.. he is iphone seller. of coz the iphone is same imei with the box. provided with the official receipt. he got it exchange. One more thing very funny. the gal in comcentre refuse to exchange his iphone as he jb it. then she asked him to restore the phone n come back to her again. lol
TSwht3639
post Jan 19 2009, 01:42 PM

QUOTE(tauevo @ Jan 19 2009, 01:38 PM)
is ur story updated?i see the post is like oct of last year friend.

the fellow i mentioned managed to exchange 3 iphone in 1 week.  he changed it mid of last month only.
hey, updated or not it is not important cos no one can help me there. anyway i jus wan to tell all the buyer be careful.
tauevo
post Jan 19 2009, 01:44 PM

230 posts

i am asking updated info. since the seller manage to change 3 faulty iphone last month, it should be no problem for claiming. just if ur iphone is drop into water and failed to operate. then is different story.
TalkMore.com
post Jan 19 2009, 01:45 PM

17 posts

JB is illegal so 100% Singtel reject your claim.
TSwht3639
post Jan 19 2009, 01:47 PM

QUOTE(TalkMore.com @ Jan 19 2009, 01:45 PM)
JB is illegal so 100% Singtel reject your claim.
maybe u dun understand wat im talking about
tauevo
post Jan 19 2009, 01:48 PM

230 posts

indeed. JB is illegal but if u restore back. is like non jb iphone. singtel is not authorized to examine the hardware in the iphone. so all the iphone is basic troubleshooting and they failed to overcome, they will exchange a new one for u.
TSwht3639
post Jan 19 2009, 01:50 PM

QUOTE(tauevo @ Jan 19 2009, 01:44 PM)
i am asking updated info. since the seller manage to change 3 faulty iphone last month, it should be no problem for claiming. just if ur iphone is drop into water and failed to operate. then is different story.
yes, important is the seller responsible for the claim.
xfree
post Jan 19 2009, 01:53 PM

138 posts

Yup. my iphone JB already when go there. she ask me go home restore than come back claim again..

and i got my set exchange.

just restore ur JB singtel iphone before u go to claim the warranty can already. I already visit them and get exchange 4 set for my customer include my own iphone which bought from other ppl as well.

TSwht3639
post Jan 19 2009, 01:56 PM

QUOTE(xfree @ Jan 19 2009, 01:53 PM)
Yup. my iphone JB already when go there. she ask me go home restore than come back claim again..

and i got my set exchange.

just restore ur JB singtel iphone before u go to claim the warranty can already. I already visit them and get exchange 4 set for my customer include my own iphone which bought from other ppl as well.

is it? what i met the singtel worker is very unfriendly.
TalkMore.com
post Jan 19 2009, 01:56 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(wht3639 @ Jan 19 2009, 01:47 PM)
maybe u dun understand wat im talking about
I referred to tauevo post, mate.
tauevo
post Jan 19 2009, 01:57 PM

230 posts

wow.. xfree bro.. so fast spot this post.. just mentioned bout ur successful on ur warranty claiming at comcentre. lol..

U exchange 4 set b4? wow man.. i tot is 3. u r really THE MAN.. lol.. didnt chat with u for quite some time bro. how's business? lol
xfree
post Jan 19 2009, 02:00 PM

138 posts

hehe...so far still ok.

yup. perhaps u need to looking for gal to service u. gal easier to talk.

act i go there just tell her the problem. she didnt even ask for the receipt for 2nd time. tongue.gif
TSwht3639
post Jan 19 2009, 02:01 PM

QUOTE(xfree @ Jan 19 2009, 02:00 PM)
hehe...so far still ok.

act i go there just tell her the problem. she didnt even ask for the receipt for 2nd time. tongue.gif
U no need fill up any form?
TalkMore.com
post Jan 19 2009, 02:04 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(xfree @ Jan 19 2009, 02:00 PM)
hehe...so far still ok.

Just because you are handsome mar.. tongue.gif
xfree
post Jan 19 2009, 02:04 PM

138 posts

yes.

she do the checking first then ask u to fill up ur particular.
then will exchange new set for u.

handsome? lol

This post has been edited by xfree: Jan 19 2009, 02:05 PM

0.0177sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:04 PM