Maltese Gang! V3, We know how good they are~

lipglosseater
post Jul 8 2010, 10:02 AM

Hello! Another Maltese owner checking in here!! wave.gif

Here's my beloved Cookie:

Nowadays her tear stains are getting quite bad! cry.gif I've tried almost everything short of bleaching her - feeding her distilled water + vinegar, wiping her face often, supplimenting her food with Health n Shine, dripping eye drops for her and changing her food, but nothing works... haiz! Any idea what else can i do? sad.gif
lipglosseater
post Jul 8 2010, 02:21 PM

Oh dear!!! shocking.gif How can such a small thing make such a big mess?? Haha!! But he's too adorable!! wub.gif
lipglosseater
post Jul 13 2010, 11:14 AM

Same here!! She was an angel before she went for boarding, but after coming back, my girl started to purposely pee outside her designated toilet to get back at me whenever i do something she doesnt like (like put her back in her pen or keep her snacks)! vmad.gif

For the first few days i had to potty train her again too... seems like she forgot cuz she anyhow pee everywhere! rclxub.gif
lipglosseater
post Jul 21 2010, 04:23 PM

peak_wei88 & kinzonu: What treats are you using?? I wanted to get yoghurt drops for my baby but the pet shop person said i shouldn't because she's still a puppy (turning 4 months) and she might dowan to eat her usual kibble after that. I bought chew bones as treats for her, but she gets angry when i take it away from her! sad.gif
lipglosseater
post Jul 22 2010, 01:21 PM

She won't bare her teeth or growl at me, but she will pee outside her wee wee pad to get back at me! vmad.gif

Other than scolding her / smacking her lightly (she always acts super pitiful after that, but never learn - the next time still do like that), i really dunno what to do already! sad.gif
lipglosseater
post Jul 23 2010, 12:04 AM

Ya I know! She's 100% wee wee pad trained, and she will pee there all the time, except those times when she's mad at me then she will purposely pee on the floor in retaliation. And the moment she pees we will startle her, scold her and carry her to her wee wee pad to finish her business, but she still does that time and time again after that, so confirm is naughty already! vmad.gif

Hopefully she'll grow out of this childish behaviour soon!! rclxub.gif
lipglosseater
post Jul 23 2010, 10:02 AM

I think she is fully trained la because she will go back to her toilet to relieve herself even when in another room. Furthermore its kinda impossible that every time after i take away her bone or put her back in her pen, she gives a snort at me then pees right after right? Once or twice i understand that that may be an accident, but after weeks of doing so, i guess its more or less confirmed?
lipglosseater
post Jul 29 2010, 05:13 PM

How i wish my Cookie lets me tie her hair too!! She's just one week older than Kaka! biggrin.gif

Like Touffy she will keep on scratching at the rubber band until it drops off! doh.gif

ETA: This is her pissed off face when you tie up her hair! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lipglosseater: Jul 29 2010, 05:22 PM
lipglosseater
post Jul 29 2010, 07:05 PM

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jul 29 2010, 05:41 PM)
You have to scold him whenever he scratch his hair cuz some might not get used to it or it will became habit. Like mine last time also like to scratch whenever I tied her hair up, now no more scratching but she likes to push her head on her bed or my bed and then in a minute she'll became a ghost dog with all her face cover by her own hair hahaha
what u can do is, try to tie his hair when u saw he was nearly sleeping/tired. You let him play until he was tired then u try to tie his hair that time. This is because when he was soooooooo tired, he will just let u do his hair and wont really move alot, after sometimes he might get used to let u tie his hair =]
QUOTE(peak_wei88 @ Jul 29 2010, 06:11 PM)
haha.. i think what muchan say is truth..
u must scold her when she start scratch her rubber band.
mine one din scratch her rubber band....
or mayb u help her tie to tight??
until she is not comfortable.
maybe u can tie it lose a bit..
hehe..
just my opinion oh..
i oso not very pro...
hehe..
Thanks so much for the advice! Yeah i guess she's just not used to it! I did scold her when she scratches at the rubber band, but after that she's smart enough to do so only when i'm not around rclxub.gif Maybe i'm doing it wrong! Haha! Gotta ask the groomer to teach me now to tie then! notworthy.gif

QUOTE(daisypooh @ Jul 29 2010, 05:43 PM)
oh.... her pissed off face is so cute...  rclxms.gif
Hehehe yes! wub.gif Though she has a fiery temper sometimes but still she makes my heart melt! biggrin.gif
lipglosseater
post Feb 1 2011, 08:20 PM

I shaved my girl earlier and her hair grew back curly. Would like to ask if her coat will be straight again?? Her hair became rather coarse too! cry.gif

What can I do in the meanwhile? The vet prescribed fish oil, but it gives her diarrhea sad.gif
lipglosseater
post Feb 6 2011, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(Divas @ Feb 5 2011, 07:42 PM)
When you shave a coat it will grow back coarser (and sometimes curlier) in the same way if you shave your legs/armpits the hairs will grow back thicker. For some dogs the texture change will be very little, but for some (like your girl) it will make a huge difference.
If your dog isn't doing well on the fish oil, try Primrose Oil instead, it has the same effect, but is from a different source.
You can also use a conditioner to try and soften her coat up a bit. If you have a regular groomer, perhaps ask them not to use a clipper for a while (they might charge you 'show groom' prices for full scissoring unless you want to grow her coat out to full length), your groomer could also do a series of treatments (very similar to conditioning treatments you get at the salon for yourself, but formulated for dogs) to try and get the softness back. The curliness will be more likely to go away once her coat has regained the softness (soft hair is heavier so pulls the coat straight), also if her coat is kept longer (more coat is also heavier) it will help remove the curls.
Finally when you brush her, encourage her coat to grow downwards (so make a parting in the middle and brush out to the sides along her back) which will help straighten it a little as well.

Hope your girl's coat gets back to glorious Maltese softness soon smile.gif.
Thanks so much for the advice Divas! notworthy.gif

I'll try to look for primrose oil and a conditioner then! Hopefully her coat will be pretty again! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by lipglosseater: Feb 6 2011, 03:12 PM
lipglosseater
post Mar 14 2011, 09:24 AM

QUOTE(Jezkiie @ Mar 13 2011, 04:23 PM)
Hello! i own a maltese too biggrin.gif

she was on heat exactly  6 months i nearly didnt notice cause she was so clean! i only realise when one day she fell asleep on my white sofa =.= then i noticed the stain LOL

She will pee on her pad 90% of the time. if the pad is dirty she'll pee next to it hahaha.
Hello! biggrin.gif wave.gif

My Cookie is like too! She will pee beside her pad if the pad is too dirty! doh.gif
lipglosseater
post Sep 26 2014, 01:23 PM

Dear Maltese Owners,

Need your advice. Which dog food is your Maltese taking currently? Mine is quite sensitive to many brands, and those that didnt upset her stomach gave her tear stains. She was on Go! Natural Salmon for the longest time ever and was triving with this diet. However, Go! is no longer imported now and I'm very worried about her!

Here're the other brands that I have fed her (but they did not agree with her):
- Canidae ALS: Good for a couple of months, then gave her diarrhea and skin allergies
- Orijen 6 Fish: Cleared up her allergies but gave her TERRIBLE tear stains, lots of gas, soft stools and finally, diarrhea
- Taste of the Wild Pacific Stream: Gave her quite bad tear stains and stinky poo
- Wishbone Ocean: Made her threw up many times - rushed her to the vet @.@
- Natural Balance Limited Ingredient Diet Sweet Potato and Fish - currently on this one. Best of the lot but still gave her rather bad tear stains.
lipglosseater
post Sep 26 2014, 10:28 PM

Yes I went through 2 bottles of Health and Shine - it didn't help with the tear staining unfortunately sad.gif I have also tried tear stain solutions, they didn't work as well >.< So i'm quite inclined to believe that her tear staining is due her food as it came back right after i stopped Go! Natural.
lipglosseater
post Oct 1 2014, 01:24 PM

Thanks for the suggestion, White Palace! I will look into this! smile.gif

0.0444sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:35 PM