Maltese Gang! V3, We know how good they are~

5h1rl3y
post Mar 24 2009, 03:49 PM

QUOTE(Robey Lim @ Mar 24 2009, 02:34 PM)
U noe Spring tend 2 sleep a lot.  Most of d time i wil find her sleeping!  Is it normal 4 a pup @ her age (2-mth+)
it's normal, puppy will sleep for at least 18hrs-22hrs per day... the bigger they are they'll sleep lesser...
5h1rl3y
post Mar 24 2009, 04:12 PM

QUOTE(cutevb19 @ Mar 24 2009, 04:06 PM)
yup....she's right...

Last time i can wake up n found mikey still sleeping... now? by d time u wake up or when u wanna sleep.. they will js continue play non-stop....  sweat.gif
hi cute, your maltese so cuteeeee.... where did you get your baby? is it toy size or normal maltese size? biggrin.gif
5h1rl3y
post Mar 27 2009, 05:04 PM

QUOTE(Robey Lim @ Mar 26 2009, 01:49 PM)
My Spring baby poo 2 times tis morning leh... 1st bout 1.5-hr after her morning meal n 2-hr later another one, proud tat she did both on d wee wee pad on her own, by d time i realised she was done.  She last did her b'ness yesterday morning.

Question, y she poo twice huh?? sad.gif ...i did vacuum & mop d hse during d interval n she was kinda scared 2 d vacuum noise!  Wil it b d reason 4 her 2nd poo??  Like d old folk said poo green-shit...d dimension is rather small compare 2 d 1st & her usual poop, n indeed greenish a bit! hmm.gif
It's normal, puppy poop every 2-3hrs... cos they cannot hold their bladder yet, when they getting bigger they'll poop less but big quantity and know how to hold their bladder, just like my pup before this he poop every 2hrs now 3hrs sometimes 5hrs... even tahan to pee, when he's at new environment, just like today...

Went to Fluff just now, bring him to pee doesn't want until i wanna go back, before that asked him to pee still dun want... end up almost reach my home, he cracked at the back seat, lucky is pee not poop... sweat.gif

also normal when Spring get scared of the vacuum, cos of the loud sound she never heard b4, after a while she'll get used to it, maybe might obsessed with the vacuum , my pup so obsessed with the mop... laugh.gif

5h1rl3y
post Mar 28 2009, 11:01 AM

QUOTE(Robey Lim @ Mar 28 2009, 03:40 AM)
But i tot feeding barf should cut down d "b'ness" significantly....d amt n frequent of poo should b less n as well as odor.
Nowadays my Spring has settled down n she poo more n more each day, now she poo bout 2-3 times in 24-hr bracket hmm.gif

Would it b my barf or simply tat i over-fed her??  She is 2-mth+ n weigh in @ bout 800g, on average i hv fed her ard 28g-30g per meal twice a day.  Pls advise. icon_question.gif

p/s. in between meals i sometimes gv her some treats 2 encourage her during d training session. It is very small amt only bout 5g max. unsure.gif
Robey Lim, just chill... don't so kam cheong... relax relax... cool2.gif cool2.gif i know that feeling when i get my pup laugh.gif

yes feeding barf shud cut down the business, but still Spring still a small pup and the bladder still adjusting to the food... just like my pup when he was 2months old he poops every 2hrs now 3 mths old poop around 3-4times... get what I mean? the bigger they are they know how to hold the bladder... we cannnot expect them overnight poop once... i'd rather want my pup to poop 2-3x so I'll know whether he's healthy or not frm the poop.. u see... smile.gif

i dun think u overfed, when my pup reached my home... I fed him small portion 4times per day and slowly you'll know which time of the food he less interested in, then I reduce to 3 times per day slightly bigger portion now I fed him twice a day with medium portion and it'll stay till he get less interested with one of the time and it'll become once a day with REAL BIG portion.

Example:
I feed my pup when he reached home first 2 months
1. 9am
2. 12pm
3. 3pm
4. 6pm
give 4x cos let him adjust with the food and let him get comfortable with our surrounding.

slowly reduced to
1. 9am
2. 3pm
3. 6pm
reduced to 3x cos he get less interested in the food, and sometimes cannot finish it even i gave him in small portion.

and now reduce to
1. 9am
2 6pm
this with bigger portion.

This post has been edited by 5h1rl3y: Mar 28 2009, 11:04 AM
5h1rl3y
post Mar 28 2009, 06:05 PM

RobeyLim,

I don't own any maltese, i own a male rottweiler puppy now 3months old called ozzie.
cos i dunno how to groom long hair breed... hehehe...

The method I'm using actually gather frm all kind of dog breed books I read from, including small breed books also internet research.
So here, I'm just sharing what I have read and experience, trial and error...

As for me, the way of taking care a pup is still the same whether they are small or large breed.
We just need more patience and observations... don't rush to it...

And I haven't feed my pup BARF yet, I'll wait till he 6 months old, now i'm feeding him kibbles cos dry food won't build up as much plague as BARF and I don't want he has teeth problem another reason also cos he's still young the immune system not strong yet although he gets his boosters, i want to build up his immune system 1st, before feeding him BARF.
I prefer to take things slow. I'm a slomo laugh.gif
But sometimes I do give him raw meat as a treat...

You want to know more I can give you more infos...

HTH...

5h1rl3y
post Mar 29 2009, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(Robey Lim @ Mar 28 2009, 09:30 PM)
Frm wat i read, i tot kibbles r more likely 2 coz potential teeth problem than barf. nod.gif Eventhough i supported barf n believe tat by nature dog's intestine is more acidic than human thus can tk in raw n kill off d bacteria, i stil rinse it wif boil water b4 i crush it. tongue.gif Nothing against kibbles but stil it is a processed food.  Actually i can c a difference between dogs tking barf n kibbles...my sis feed her schnauzer wif kibbles n it is a routine tat after 15-20min of eating she wil poo...n keep on going.  My sis has complained tat her dog @ 1 time even poo up 2 8 times a day...average 6 times/day.  I do believed tat d nutrition in kibbles r quite balance but d question is how much can a dog absord!!?? sad.gif
Pls feed me more info, appreciate it. smile.gif

I m going 2 bath my Spring tmrw, anything tat i should tk note of? Tq..
Yeah I'm agree with you abt kibbles, not much nutrition left after being processed... but still sometimes kibbles help when we are going to be busy or send our dog to boarding, cos most pet boarding feed kibbles... there's good and bad abt kibbles and barf, barf we cannot left it too long and some pet boarding who feed BARF they might not so responsible, they might just add everything inside, whether it fresh or not and doesn't even measure it then feed our dogs, our dogs might starve or too full till bloated... sleep.gif

about your sis' dog I think she should change to BARF or to a better Kibbles brand or mix kibbles with meat, I feed mine with kibbles and meat (dog can food - 1/2 can)...
if want to mix kibbles with meat remember to measure according to their breed, mine is large breed so i give 1/2can, small breed maybe a quarter or more a bit... smile.gif

about bath, just prevent the soap frm eyes and mouth and nose...

Don't let your puppy drink too much water, after 7.30pm u can take away the water, if she's thirsty, just feed her ice cube or give small amount of water...
cos too much water, they'll get Gastro Intestinal, puppy will drink too much when they are nervous and bored.

0.0378sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:25 PM