Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn

ostangel
post Dec 9 2009, 07:09 PM

143 posts

Yeah, my question is regarding eVisa application as well..

I just got my ecoe yesterday..and I'm not even sure where to start at the website to apply. Anybody can help please?
ostangel
post Dec 10 2009, 06:11 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Dec 9 2009, 07:58 PM)
go to www.immi.gov.au

You will see tabs,  contain (Visas, Immigration and Refugees), click on it & scroll down to Students. then you will be directed to a page where all information for students ranging from visa types & assesment level.

hope this help smile.gif , im sure you are smart enough to read thru the requirements to be ready before applying. icon_rolleyes.gif
yeah, I already checked out that site today.

I was just wondering right, what are the documents we need t provide when applying online: passport, ecoe and offer letter? also, i read something bout having copies of the above documents certified? is that correct?

And also the amount that we need to pay for eVisa application. there are 2 amounts stated there..one is AUD 115 the other AUD 540? Which should be the one I'm looking at?

Thanks for your help. smile.gif
ostangel
post Dec 10 2009, 08:08 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Dec 10 2009, 06:43 PM)
I'm heading to UQ next February (2+1) and I just got my visa via online application so I'll try my best to help you with what I know. I did it in HELP's UQ center and handed them the documents to submit on my behalf so I guess thats where the certification is done. I had to give them a photocopy of my passport, ecoe, offer letter and a passport sized photo. Paid AUD540 via CC and did my medical at Tung Shin. Got the visa approved four days later.
I see, so would it be safe for me to say I could prolly certify my documents with my uni (Monash) as well? I'll give them a call anyway. How many passport size photos do we need? 4?

Also, we do the medical check up after applying for the visa? Btw, what do they do in the medical check up? I have an inane fear of needles doh.gif

Thanks for all the info!
ostangel
post Dec 14 2009, 07:18 PM

143 posts

I wanna ask, while applying for our visa, they asks us about our course start date. but we need to arrive before our course starts so how much earlier before the course start date would our visa be starting from?

Or does it start the day we get the visa approved?

ostangel
post Dec 15 2009, 04:09 PM

143 posts

Hi, I hate to ask again.

But after I have submitted my e-Visa application, they never mentioned anything about going for medical checkup. Should I just make an appointment myself with the panel of doctors for the checkup or do I need to wait for anything else?

This post has been edited by ostangel: Dec 15 2009, 04:10 PM
ostangel
post Dec 15 2009, 10:17 PM

143 posts

how long did it take for ur visa to be approved?
ostangel
post Dec 15 2009, 11:09 PM

143 posts

no, you misunderstand.

I'm not asking bout the generalities of the visa. I'm asking specifically to lawl how long his visa took to be approved. because i wanna try to have mine done before jan 1st >_<

This post has been edited by ostangel: Dec 15 2009, 11:47 PM
ostangel
post Dec 16 2009, 08:38 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Dec 16 2009, 08:31 PM)
Chill chill... I applied e-visa last monday and then went to Thung Shin last wednesday to do check up. Got approved by monday. Bear in mind last friday was public holiday. Maybe that cause a bit of delay.
laugh.gif ok, thanks. going to go do my medical check up tomorrow at Young & Newton PJ. Have a feeling they will refer me to Assunta for the X-ray sleep.gif
ostangel
post Dec 16 2009, 09:00 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Dec 16 2009, 08:53 PM)
Choose one that u can do both at same place. So dun have to go here and there. Btw thung shin is quite cheap. Rm92 for everything.
Yeah, I wanted to go to Tung Shin also but quite far for me and super jam shakehead.gif So opted for Young & Newton instead. Kinda anticipated to go here and there but they said can be done in 1 hour so we'll see tomorrow.. according to them its 110 so not too much difference i guess.

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 16 2009)
where u heading next year ostangel?
Will be going to Monash Clayton happy.gif

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Dec 16 2009)
Doesn't matter what course do you take , It's just general . Usually around 2-3 weeks , You can ask your agent(If you have one) . I don't think that they'll prioritize who starts first , First come first serve I think . You should have applied last month if you're worried about this
I would have, but I only got my ecoe last week.. and nope, no agent. rather not pay for the service i can do myself, heh.
ostangel
post Dec 16 2009, 10:00 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Dec 16 2009, 09:35 PM)
since you are Monash people, i believe there is representative in student services on this regarding visa thingy.
Really? I always thought it was for the international students that are coming to msia to study. ah well, a little too late already i guess ..
ostangel
post Dec 17 2009, 04:34 PM

143 posts

Went to do my medical today. Surprisingly, Young & Newton has their own X-ray facility..

Now just left to hope that nothing is wrong with my medical.
ostangel
post Dec 22 2009, 05:36 PM

143 posts

Hello again!

Just wanted to tell all of you who took the time to reply to my comments/questions that I have finally gotten my visa approved! biggrin.gif exactly a week after lodging my application. The clinic sent out my medical reports today(i know because I called) and I got it approved on the same day itself. biggrin.gif

Thanks to all of you for your help.
ostangel
post Dec 23 2009, 05:51 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Dec 23 2009, 05:47 PM)
Where u going to ar? Which uni? Congrats btw.
Hey lawl. Thanks. I'm headed to Monash Clayton next year. How about you?
ostangel
post Dec 23 2009, 08:32 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 23 2009, 06:39 PM)
My visa has something wrong with it, can't proceed atm, so prob need to wait till Jan till it's done. Got my hand jabbed for Hep B vaccine just now >< Thats a must before I go for placements. haha.

Grats ostangel =) what course you're taking? Excited on going to Melb? =D
Thanks! I'm doing my bachelors in computer science biggrin.gif How about you?

I AM EXCITED! rclxms.gif

You need jabs for placements? What is a placement?

QUOTE(lawl @ Dec 23 2009, 08:24 PM)
Im going to adelaide next year. I knw.. Boring town.. lol..
Haha, actually adelaide is quite a good place. very quiet and peaceful from what I hear from my friends. Very good studying environment haha. Which uni are you in?

This post has been edited by ostangel: Dec 23 2009, 08:33 PM
ostangel
post Dec 26 2009, 07:41 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(-gullible- @ Dec 26 2009, 06:53 PM)
Thanks for your advice!

I honestly admit that other than I've never visited Australia to know more about it, I'm also somehow ignorant. I don't know which location is considered the 'rural town' and which isn't.  unsure.gif I'm actually comparing Adelaide with Sydney + Melbourne. I heard Adelaide is a very laid back city so I'm also trying to find out if Adelaide is 'smaller city' I'm imagining in my comparison to Sydney and Melbourne.

What I did is just looking from each university homepage to another university homepage. I also don't know how to judge which is the 'better' here.

Yeah, if I were to visit the country, I will probably stay more than 1 month to 2 months to do university hopping survey. I don't know if it will help me in deciding which university I want and if it doesn't, might as well save up the money which I've to spend to live there for 2 months. Moreover, going from city to city, it will cost a big sum. However, at least I have a clearer picture of what city is where and how it's like  laugh.gif
Adelaide is indeed the more affordable city. It isn't too rural, I believe but the people there certainly are very friendly. Sydney and Melbourne would be the 2 most expensive cities to study in as both have high cost of living.

Looking at each uni's homepage is definately a good idea because it can give you a rough idea of what is to be expected. Also, I'm sure most uni's website have a estimated cost of living that can be used as a guide.

IMO, I don't think it is necessary to go university hopping because it honestly won't help much. You would only be able to see the campus, living area etc but it wouldn't really help in preparing you to stay there. However, if you do go. It would be a good idea to first make a list of the universities that you are interested in before checking out the campus.

All the best!

This post has been edited by ostangel: Dec 26 2009, 07:42 PM
ostangel
post Dec 27 2009, 10:42 PM

143 posts

What turf! Nobody flying AAX? I'm going there first time to study next year and i'm taking AAX since I got super cheap tickets. Like rm300+ 1 way only tongue.gif

My mum and I each have 20kgs so i think should be enough right? >_<

Btw, do you guys think I should get a printer here and bring it over or will it be more feasible for me to buy a printer there.?

And if you don't mind..can you please suggest some items that I should bring over other than the necessary clothes/toothbrush/toothpaste/shampoo/stationery?

edit:// Oh oh. and what exactly is this ISIC card you guys are talking about?? Besides to get more kgs on MAS

Thanks!

This post has been edited by ostangel: Dec 27 2009, 10:44 PM
ostangel
post Dec 28 2009, 09:09 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Dec 28 2009, 08:46 PM)
this is stupid,

my flatmate screwed up her exams and now she is charging my room 25 bucks extra per week. if i dont comply she will ask me to move out.

pesonally i think its retarded even to do such a thing, the only problem was that i did not sign a solid contract and things were periodic. damn idiots

if someone has a room offer to boot, in brisbane st lucia i want to hear it. i hate to bring this up to the relevant authorities, i feel she is stupid as she wrote there in black and white that she is forcing me out of the house due to her own imcompetence.

i want to do this diplomatically, id hate to live with someone that is soo stupic
This is the shocking.gif dumbest thing I've ever heard.
ostangel
post Jan 6 2010, 03:01 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jan 6 2010, 11:53 AM)
My visa got approved! =) weird though really. It was approved even before i finished my medical check up. Said that they used the medical check up data which i did last year for my old visa. So yeah. =) yays.
congrats! But how come you need to reapply for a visa? I thought the visa they gave us is for the duration of our studies in the uni? For me, they gave me 2 years + 3 months.

0.0375sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:30 PM