Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn

hihihehe
post Dec 10 2009, 12:09 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Dec 10 2009, 10:00 AM)
I think you can review your application again even if your student visa is approved. I did missed out a letter in my passport number and i did send out a letter to the application visa processing center to rectify the mistake.
Go to DIAC website and download a form regarding amending/rectifying visa application details, fill it up and provide the evidence for the amendment and send it as registered mail. Real easy. Just e-mail them if you have problems.
If i be you i'll take summer school, even you yourself stated that you want to graduate earlier, if you fail then you have 1st semester to re-do it again.
So do summer school, pass the subject and graduate.
And you have done the subject before so you know what to expect, unless your lecturer changes the course structure.
i also think so
is like this..i took course A n failed
then they got offer course B which available at summer
course A n B structure almost the same

so tht means if i take summer course, i need to take course B
if not, i will retake course A...
hihihehe
post Dec 10 2009, 02:37 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Dec 10 2009, 01:52 PM)
Oh now i understand your dilemma, did you ask you school or faculty if you can take B instead of A for your degree credits so that you can graduate with enough credits?
Ask yourself do you think you can pass the course being that B is same as A, course structure wise?
If you still facing problem i guess you should make appointment with a course advisors from your faculty or school, they are really there to help you academically and personally as well.
I understand you must be bumped due to one course denying you the graduation.
Btw i think for final semester undergrads. they usually offer supp. if you failed a course, have you ask anyone about it?
that is the suggestion from teaching & learning advisor(she help n gif me a lot of advices b4)
if i go for summer course then i need take B(A is not available for summer course)
the duration for summer course is 1 month..i scared i cant handle it in such short duration(that course is the most difficult for me)
my entire course is 1 and a half year.if i extend 1 more sem then it will be 2 years duration
next semester will be my last semester if i nvr fail any..
i m now waiting for reply from teaching advisor...
hihihehe
post Dec 10 2009, 10:05 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Dec 10 2009, 08:04 PM)
did the visa costs just go up again? i dont remember it being so expensive 3 years ago hmm.gif
i rmb i apply visa for $450 only
now $540?
hihihehe
post Dec 10 2009, 11:25 PM

13,786 posts

they will send u email
hihihehe
post Dec 12 2009, 02:15 PM

13,786 posts

if extend the visa for another semester, the feel stil lthe same?no less/more?
hihihehe
post Dec 12 2009, 03:12 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Dec 12 2009, 02:58 PM)
its just waste of time & cost.
why dont just do summer?
coz of no confident to handle the course in such low duration
n my bro wedding within the class duration...
if i go for summer,i need to skip 1/2weeks class(nearly half of the course duration)
or i miss out my bro wedding(which is highly impossible)

1 more thing, if extend to another semester which will be from 1.5 year extend to 2years, will it count toward to PR 2 years study in OZ?
hihihehe
post Dec 15 2009, 03:42 AM

13,786 posts

it will start once the visa approved until the given expired date
hihihehe
post Dec 15 2009, 12:46 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Dec 15 2009, 11:01 AM)
If tat's the case, if i wanna go Australia in ard 2nd week of March 2010, what should i put for the course start date? (Postgrad research programme which can go in anytime, but my supervisor asked me to start before end of March)
i mean when u apply visa today n get approved 2-5days later, then ur visa will start at 2-5days later which mean u can go australia after visa approved

QUOTE(C-Note @ Dec 15 2009, 11:03 AM)
hey guys i think aussie is gonna stop permitting PR application for foreign students starting next year? That means after study cannot stay?
i doubt so..n don think will happen
hihihehe
post Dec 15 2009, 02:11 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(tty8890 @ Dec 15 2009, 02:07 PM)
Yes, i want to apply for student visa. What do I need? Thanks in advance.
any healthcare tht recognized
last time i went to healthcare near pj hilton thr
i heard some1 here went to tung shin...
hihihehe
post Dec 15 2009, 04:31 PM

13,786 posts

just straight away go for medical checkup n tell them u need for visa application..they will know wat to do
hihihehe
post Dec 15 2009, 05:08 PM

13,786 posts

can transfer?
my fren who is PR there no need transfer..just take driving test
now he got malaysia n oz driving license
hihihehe
post Dec 15 2009, 05:43 PM

13,786 posts

yes...thts wat i heard
hihihehe
post Dec 16 2009, 12:23 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Dec 15 2009, 10:34 PM)
Any proven statements ? Can you ask your friend just to be sure ?
no statements or anything..
not my close fren..n he now at melbourne
but he nvr mentioned about transfer thingy when we talking about this issue
he said after he get PR then he take driving license at oz...
hihihehe
post Dec 17 2009, 04:04 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Dec 17 2009, 12:02 PM)
haha, you from east malaysia sure take Brunei Airlines loh. I am in KL.

Just called SIA office, they said student get 40kg baggage allowance but have to show offer letter, visa, and passport, I haven't accept offer yet as my parents can oly pay the deposit on jan, so can't buy it now. sad.gif

I think I have to buy AA then... does the university from to Coolongatta to fetch student? I'm going to QUT. Anyone going on Feb 2010?
u can buy the ticket from SIA first then later on only show them(email/fax) the documents to them..thats wat i did
they will update the allowance

i think if u r new international student, they will offer free airport transfer..refer to ur uni about this
hihihehe
post Dec 22 2009, 05:31 PM

13,786 posts

i think u no need to ask for refund for OSHC coz it still the same n can use..as long as u got OSHC card then u no need pay for OSHC fee when accepting offer(state thr u already got OSHC)
hihihehe
post Dec 27 2009, 12:44 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(sykz @ Dec 27 2009, 12:57 AM)
I am!

Maybe you can try out MAS GRADS @ http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/my/en/loyal/grads/grads.aspx .

I bought the tix for RM2116 for one way flight to Brisbane from KL. Return flights with validity of one year available too at much cheaper rate. The hassle is to apply the card itself and going to cost you RM25. Compare to normal price fare, you still get it cheaper.

Btw, anyone got ISIC card? Is it useful for students when we in Aussie?

Rgds,
sykz
for me ISIC card is useless...in OZ,u got student card also more than enough..like when u buy ticket for melbourne zoo,u can go for concession fee as student
same goes to cinema
hihihehe
post Dec 27 2009, 04:11 PM

13,786 posts

thts weird...3 will b able to unlock back ur phone..but how come they cant? hmm.gif
hihihehe
post Dec 27 2009, 04:30 PM

13,786 posts

maybe u should ask this at whirlpool forum...they mayb can help u
hihihehe
post Dec 27 2009, 09:14 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Dec 27 2009, 07:36 PM)
ISIC card for the extra luggage weight if you're flying with MAS for outbound and inbound flight from and to Australia.
By default if you show you student card or confirmation of enrollment you will get 25 kg for student(to and from Australia), if you want to get that extra 5kg for total 30kg then you must show your ISIC or Mas Grad for flight to Australia.
From Australia student card will do for 30 kg, but to Australia student card is useless to get 30kg max since the MAS staff(s) at check-in counter will insist that you show your ISIC or Mas Grad since they get commission if you have to pay extra for luggage someone told me thus you have to pay for that extra weight, happen to me this year.
Alternatively if you have no ISIC or Mas Grad then i suggest you just carry it as hand luggage since MAS don't really weight hand luggage, i saw a guy brought 10+ text books and another dude bringing two boxes of instant noodles to the cabin to Australia, be warned from Australia MAS weight your hand luggage(s).
For ISIC regardless when you apply they have a fixed expiry date according to calendar year which start end of March, regardless of when you applied.
Anyway it's worth it, i would rather pay RM100 for the card than pay RM150++ per-kg.
Anyway YMMV.
hmm...i duno about now but 1st semester at this year i can get up to 30kg allowance if i am student..i just fax/email them my COE,offer letter,visa n passport copy to them then they allow me..
thts y i said no need ISIC card for more allowance...just hand them the documents tht can proof u r student..
well,i duno whether they change the rules or not...but so far SIA still allow this
hihihehe
post Dec 28 2009, 11:51 AM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Dec 27 2009, 09:59 PM)
My post is regarding MAS only.
I ask the lady at the MAS office at Adelaide when i booked my ticket to go back home this year about getting 30kg for flight to Australia from Malaysia, she told me student card will only get 25kg, only ISIC or Mas Grad can get 30kg max.
And for your info, i boarded MAS to Australia from KLIA late Feb. and i even showed the MAS staff my student ID(i didn't have ISIC or Mas Grad) , she refused to give me an extra 3kg, since my luggage total weight was 28kg, and the flight was not even half full.
Anyway i'm just sharing my experience for those who are embarking to Australia for their studies next year, the rules might changed but it's better to be prepared and be informed.
hmm...My friend also taking Mas last feb n can go up to 30kg by fax/email them the documents tht can proof u r student..he not show the student card straight at check in counter...
but i also heard someone at here mentioned the rules already changed..so now mayb different

QUOTE(ostangel @ Dec 27 2009, 10:42 PM)
What turf! Nobody flying AAX? I'm going there first time to study next year and i'm taking AAX since I got super cheap tickets. Like rm300+ 1 way only tongue.gif

My mum and I each have 20kgs so i think should be enough right? >_<

Btw, do you guys think I should get a printer here and bring it over or will it be more feasible for me to buy a printer there.?

And if you don't mind..can you please suggest some items that I should bring over other than the necessary clothes/toothbrush/toothpaste/shampoo/stationery?

edit:// Oh oh. and what exactly is this ISIC card you guys are talking about?? Besides to get more kgs on MAS

Thanks!
many ppl advice take a better airline for new student as a good starting experience..tht means u should have nice n enjoyable journey to australia as new student
for me, AAX not rly a bad airline n should b worth for budget airline..i took AAX last month n not bad..just hard to slp but lucky the time past fast..

if got choice,i would go for better airline

21 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 >Top

0.0477sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:36 PM