Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn

KVReninem
post Feb 2 2009, 07:48 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(jerk @ Feb 2 2009, 02:09 AM)
@KVReninem

my ticket is booked back in july last year.. so i just have to live with "less than 20kg"

@Thalmes

my father is quite strict on the 20kg as well.. guess he is just like the officers at the airport. he said it would be very expensive to exceed the limit. well, i am just bringing clothes, 1 pair of shoes , 1 pair of throngs and some files and stationary.. would not have any big problems
hopefully the students there are not required to wear formal clothes during every classes. back here in malaysia, we are required to do so

Added on February 2, 2009, 1:35 amoh ya.. all of you dont being drinking water in hand luggage? i think there are something like liquids cannot exceed 100ml?

i am still reading through the terms and conditions
but you can apply for changes in the tix.

yes; liquid not exceed 100 ml; so throw away water n just carry empty bottle. sweat.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 2 2009, 07:27 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 2 2009, 05:25 PM)
hmm

any1 here can help me inspect some rooms at melbourne because they don't allow me get the room without inspection..
location? smile.gif
if you want i can help you smile.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 3 2009, 08:41 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ Feb 3 2009, 01:33 AM)
i was wondering that how much instant noodle that i can bring over to aussie? lolx..
where is your city you going? if melb then just get in laguna tongue.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 3 2009, 08:47 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 2 2009, 10:54 PM)
is it?when i go for inspect then need pay bond 1st b4 can get the room?
either la trobe st or carlton
if ur ok then i will gif u add n inspection time...
im ok; better PM me & i`ll see how it goes.

QUOTE(panda-man @ Feb 3 2009, 01:58 AM)
bring as much as your baggage allows....

btw.... they have instant noodles there.

30packs of indomee costs AU$8-12 depending on where you buy.
i just bought my indomee! A11.30 cry.gif stupid inflation mad.gif

QUOTE(jieyao @ Feb 3 2009, 02:31 AM)
Hello there!

Im new here. And I'll be flying to Melbourne on the 20th of Feb 2009.  biggrin.gif
welcome mate icon_rolleyes.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 3 2009, 11:35 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Feb 3 2009, 10:18 AM)
11.30... overpaid liao tongue.gif

Go hunt around other Asian grocery stores. KFL at Newmarket usually have them at sub-AUD10 or even lower, but of course the prices fluctuate like everywhere else. There's another branch at Footscray as well.

Inflation no good ler... everything also increase, especially wheat/flour/noodle stuff. Even milk is no longer cheap. sad.gif

Going back soon... can't wait for my ADSL2 instead of screamyx rclxm9.gif But need to study again dry.gif
about same. last time; you go back those store n check again; sure not cheap anymore.

QUOTE(tsm @ Feb 3 2009, 11:35 AM)
I bought Korean Mee 0.70 per pack.
ramen? sweat.gif

QUOTE(tsm @ Feb 3 2009, 12:25 PM)
I would like to ask about police record check. I have just received a letter from my university to ask me to do police record check.

I have done for Police Record Check for Australian.

However, the letter also state that "students who have lived in Australia for less than one yera must obtain a police record check from the country in which they last resided".

Do you all have any idea about police record check for Malaysia?

last heard go bukit aman; but i think you can try to get police check here. wink.gif nt really sure.

KVReninem
post Feb 3 2009, 05:47 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 3 2009, 03:41 PM)
the price roughly how much for gas,water,electricity bills per month?
depends usage; less than 100 shud be.

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ Feb 3 2009, 06:36 PM)
sorry.. this is my 2nd yr la... i'm in tassie not mainland... so everything is more expensive that what you guy expected....  I want to bring coz I LIKE MSIA MEE MAGGIE lolx......
oh morgan...
that ar; i can export to you in tassie wakakakkaak
KVReninem
post Feb 5 2009, 11:12 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bakakenshin @ Feb 5 2009, 11:27 AM)
Do australia have any saloons like malaysia?
yes; they do.

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Feb 5 2009, 11:44 AM)
Good question.
Was wondering myself how much does a normal haircut over there cost  hmm.gif
normal haircut is about A15; varies from state to state.
KVReninem
post Feb 7 2009, 02:21 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(-Jonathan- @ Feb 7 2009, 02:41 PM)
Speak of the devil
[attachmentid=793038]

That's a 2 years span of NOT cutting my hair. And yes, not even layering nor anything affiliated with the slight modification to my hair. It's not because things are expensive here, but it's just not getting the right mind set to have it chopped off. Furthermore, company and customers doesn't feel that much offended speaking to someone that has a hair that fairly resembles a working professional. That's the working culture i've come to accept.

On a more fairly loose term, i've been reading previous posts and i do find it offensive that some of you planning to come down under have the thought of bringing every single damn thing just because of the fear of spending that extra nickel. Toilet rolls, Reams of A4 papers, thongs, undies, and every single damn thing that you spent around RM20 in Malaysia and going to spend less than AUD10 here. The mentality of penny wise pound foolish needs to be tagged on the forehead for some of you.

Yes, food is expensive here, but that doesn't mean you've got to ship the whole box of instant noodle or seasoning to Australia. I swear for every time i hear people even thinking of bringing food over, i'd get enough nickel to sink Singapore.
haha.
How are you surviving with the heat? thumbup.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 7 2009, 02:33 PM

IX
5,369 posts

-doublepost-

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 7 2009, 02:34 PM
KVReninem
post Feb 8 2009, 06:50 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 8 2009, 01:27 PM)
Which one is you and which one is your girlfriend?

As for me, I can't stand long hair, so every 5-6 months I throw in the towel and shave my head. Its not too bad in winter, but in summer I can't sleep with the mass of hair being one nice heat pack.

After doing the math, I find that fresh food is not much more expensive, and sometimes actually cheaper in Australia. Naturally kaya is going to cost more than Malaysia, but what's wrong with Nutella?

You cannot come to another country and live like what you did in Malaysia. Yes, I do miss kolo mee, but I actually have taken a liking to Beef pies (just make sure you have tissues at hand). I can't stand it when I see ethnic Chinese (Malaysian, Singaporean, Hong Kong, Taiwanese, China Chinese) eat their excessive soup noodles with newspaper under the bowl and bones scattered all around. Especially when they never bother to clean up.
While I can understand bringing in supplies for the first 1-2 days, 4-5 days is probably a bit much. Woolies and Coles is not that far away. My first meal in Australia on the evening I landed was Red Rooster.
Nutella; addictive then kaya icon_rolleyes.gif super ..addictive laugh.gif
ah u r like the red rooster fella in ads; asking where do you get rooster in NY ? what isnt tat wallabie laugh.gif

QUOTE(Sophia228 @ Feb 8 2009, 06:02 PM)
Hello, anyone in Adelaide? I've been here for 1 week plus, last monday was 46c, today suddenly drop to 26c, though quite same as msia, but it's cold, strong winds...gona start my classes tomorrow =)
oh ur good..today ..15C in melb rclxub.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 9 2009, 08:24 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Feb 9 2009, 09:06 AM)
Do the doctors give us medicine if we get food poisoning ? I heard that fever doesn't allows any medicine . I got struck by food poisoning ... Going to the doctor later
no; you have buy your medicine in pharmacy. smile.gif drink more warm water n keep flushing in toilet.
KVReninem
post Feb 9 2009, 08:38 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Feb 9 2009, 09:29 AM)
I mean do they give medicine certificate to those who is having a food poisoned session or disease . If normal sickness they won't give medicine . That's what I fear
you can ask from them. smile.gif say you hav class etc then u need medical cert for rest n recovery.
KVReninem
post Feb 9 2009, 09:05 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Feb 9 2009, 09:43 AM)
That one I know ... What I meant is ... For food poisoning , Will they give us the medicine list so that we can buy in pharmacy or just go home and rest ? My friends got like fever and stuff , Doctor never give medicine . Suffering
ya they do give u what to buy from pharmacy
KVReninem
post Feb 9 2009, 04:46 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Feb 9 2009, 05:37 PM)
I went to the doctor earlier , He gave me 2 boxes of medicine . He says that nowadays people tends to get food poisoning / diarrhea because of an viral outbreak . Be careful when you go out guys .
yes; take care yourself smile.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 9 2009, 07:42 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Feb 9 2009, 05:51 PM)
Those who like Singapore Airlines .

Please be advised, all Singapore Airlines flights are being operated on the
Airbus 330-300 series in the month of December. However, this may change if
necessary, due to operational reasons.

I have emailed them about this question as I saw they're using Airbus A330-300/400 in this coming December .
why nt A380 laugh.gif

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Feb 9 2009, 08:04 PM)
A330 is as big as 777 . Well , Do you guys notice that SQ is a lot cheaper than MAS ?
yes; but depend alot. Due to the recession they had scale down badly just to keep operation running.Good time it aint cheap; bad time it is cheap laugh.gif

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Feb 9 2009, 08:26 PM)
i met haya today! a nice bloke ^^
hope to meet other malaysians in Brisbane! have a nice day mates!
haha.

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 9 2009, 07:42 PM
KVReninem
post Feb 10 2009, 10:55 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(soontheam @ Feb 10 2009, 11:50 AM)
The AUD's having a real roller coaster ride
ohyes indeed.

but projected its down trend. possible it be pinnacle style. but hell msia need stability. I plan to light a torch on the 2 so called warlords govt n make sure the boat sink.

political instability can create smth like thailand. mad.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 10 2009, 10:57 AM
KVReninem
post Feb 10 2009, 08:21 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 10 2009, 01:42 PM)
those who need to pay fees, hope you all caught it at the lows just before the rate cuts.....missed it and now it's rebounded to another peak......
QUOTE(soontheam @ Feb 10 2009, 03:57 PM)
The interesting part about rate cuts is that it generally causes the exchange rate to fall, not rise. This is due to the fact that the dollar becomes less 'enticing' as it was when interest rates were higher, this was reflected quite well over the past few months which is why I am wondering why its rising AFTER a rate cut
just a small one as assumed.But do remember- education is part of australia export too.They hav export higher value than Msia.
then we come in to the political hooo hee hhaaa back msia; that will drive people out and left stranded like thailand.
you want to play CS with nojob or anuar? ..so ya..
wait O-Admin stimulus packages; i think that will see. Also tmr job data is out. so hope to see it 2.35 at bet.

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Feb 10 2009, 08:01 PM)
2.5 still ain't too bad... We've survived through 3.0 for the past year tongue.gif

Just hope that when the uni fees are due, the exchange rate will be very forgiving. Otherwise during daily lives whether it's 2.3 or 2.5 makes little difference. I've always considered it to be 3.0 even though it was 2.7/2.8 last time for quick and easy conversions when buying stuff, and it deters you from spending unnecessarily. And now it's easy to count by multiplication of 2.5... times 2 plus half, or times 10 divide 4.

Avoid exchanging at airports if possible as their rates are definitely higher than other places.
tips: the best is small trader; they do offer better icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 10 2009, 08:25 PM
KVReninem
post Feb 12 2009, 04:59 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(lunarcry @ Feb 12 2009, 05:41 PM)
Do i need an international license to drive in perth?

Added on February 12, 2009, 4:42 pmYikes sorry double post. Thanks for the info. Same here. I've been getting mixed replies as well. Sigh.
just drive till u get stop by police tongue.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 12 2009, 06:54 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(fishooi @ Feb 12 2009, 10:21 AM)
Hi, I just arrived Melbourne to enroll for Diploma in Engineering at Monash College, Clayton campus. So far I'm having trouble on applying accomadation. Since the hostel are full and I'm still staying in a temporary accomadation in South Yaraa and it will be hell lot trouble for me to get here and there.

Well all I want to ask is, what is the procedures to get myself acoomadation?? So far, I just send some emails to some rents posted on the notice boards, and only one of them replied.
try to find from your monash marketplace; there is heaps when i look through.

QUOTE(fishooi @ Feb 12 2009, 10:36 AM)
lol but i havent register to any telco yet... anyone can tell me is there any telco companies at clayton??
Just go to J2K; in clayton campus ..i`m sure they can find you a plan or suitable price to your budget.

QUOTE(fishooi @ Feb 12 2009, 10:57 AM)
anyway... back to the main question from me... i would like to know the procedures to apply one of the reply to me
to apply for a rent is just easy; saw the ads get the number of plc or room to rent & then go inspection. If agree; just take it.

Unless you want to get a rent from agent; that's another story.

You will need to look up your place from real estate agents; success of email & phone is low; the best is approach them in office.

then the agent; will need copy of passport; banking; enrolment letter etc to be submit.

hope this help.

KVReninem
post Feb 12 2009, 07:42 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Feb 12 2009, 08:03 PM)
Why Melbourne shops close so early, not getting use to it  rclxub.gif
cos it is like such tongue.gif
today & tmr you can shop till 9pm smile.gif

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top