Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn
Feb 11 2009, 05:14 PM
2,030 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Melbourne |
Melbourne is 47?
Feb 12 2009, 02:02 AM
I've got 1 pack of 5 maggi. 1 pack of milo 3 in 1. 1 pack of Chipsmore.
2 bottles of vitamins and 1 strip of panadol. But even with these, my friend said the bleeding customs might take 1 hour to go through. I've put them all in 1 suitcase to ease their search. Hope I won't be unlucky! Early in the morning I'll be reaching. Don't be in a foul mood. Please. @_@ |
Feb 20 2009, 07:35 PM
Melbourne was frickin hot today. I'm burnt all over. Red red liao
Feb 21 2009, 02:45 PM
I went to St Kilda lo. But lucky I'm not that fair, so can't see much of a burn
Mar 12 2009, 12:52 PM
Walaoeh. DC++ is spoiling me. All the games/movies/software/music...
It's an EVIL thing! |
Sep 1 2009, 07:50 PM
Fark la Moonlight Oasis.
Fark my Advanced Financial Accounting lect also la. She set mid sem test on 18th Sept at 6pm. WTH. Can't go for the cruise and afterparty d. Fak. I'm going for MUISS's Mid-Autumn Gala instead. Its at The International, Brighton. Just google up that venue weh. And be awe-struck ;D |
Sep 1 2009, 07:57 PM
BTW the high fees charged are basically coz Intl students are paying for the local student's places in these unis. You know, they pay bloody A$ 4k per semester only. Thats one third of what we intl students pay (and no concession summore, stupid victoria).
And then they have HECS. Higher Education C? Scheme or something like that. That means they don't have to fork out a dime now. When they work, their salary gets deducted like $50 a week or something. Fak. 50 bucks a week gets taken out. So what? Their education is bloody free man! Parents only need to think about getting house and car and beers. The student don't have to worry about their parent's financial burden. Go to uni free now. Next time pay 50 bucks out of a salary of $80k. Damn unfair lo! I heard of all of this from my local friend. He's like "How much do you intl guys pay?" "12k per semester, 25k per year?" "Holy ****!! 25 grand?! What the hell are you being charged that for? Are you serious?" "Huh? Is that a lot? Well, if I convert that back to my local currency, its x3, so its like $75k a year" "..." He was shell-shocked and went speechless. I guess they don't know we are kinda paying for their uni placements. Then he told me about HECS. |
Sep 2 2009, 03:40 PM
I'm applying for Honours or Masters soon ;D
I'm attending an information session tomorrow. Any particular questions in mind? |
Sep 3 2009, 12:41 AM
I got my printer free from 3. You should come here and have a look at offers and promotions all over the place. Some ppl selling their laser printer for $20 or $50, even though they just used it for 1 sem. Cause they were on exchange and went back or went to another country, after 1 sem, and they just leave it here.
My friend got a fridge from some exchange student living next door. I was like WTF. Thats A$ 250 free! |
Sep 3 2009, 09:28 PM
I feel certain universities have overpopulated international students. The ratio is getting ridiculous. Like up to 60:40 intl : locals overall.
In some faculties, it can go up to 80:20 until the poor guai lou... is the only guai lou in our tutorial. |
Sep 6 2009, 03:01 PM
Yeah. My friends on exchange get concession. We pay a hell of a lot more... and we're long-term users too!
It should be the opposite >:O |
Sep 9 2009, 02:19 PM
I don't think AUD is climbing. Its more like MYR is sinking.
Sep 12 2009, 02:12 PM
Yo, whats wrong with the weather? It was 8 degrees yesterday morning. its 27 now? no wonder so bloody hot my McD icecream melted in 30 seconds
Sep 17 2009, 04:57 PM
Since the exchange fluctuates like a prick, has anyone hedged the MYR to the AUD before?
Anyone? Anyone wanna share their experience? I kept telling my mom she should've hedged it when it was 2.3 fast forward 12 months now look what happened @_@ |
Sep 17 2009, 07:24 PM
Srsly? Was there a minimum amount that you needed to do that? My mum rambled about something like 50k minimum amount or something... but I believed she wasn't really interested in finding out more.
I'm sure there should be a channel for small hedgers like us. Typical conservative parent who dono much about finance except fixed deposit and unit trust -.-" |
Sep 17 2009, 08:41 PM
@ limeuu : Thanks for that info. But I'm really talking about hedging the exchange rate.
Like I know the rates are going to shoot up in 6 months time, but thats when I have the money to buy the AUD. And I want to buy at the rate now (lets say its 2.3). So I make an agreement with a counterparty [the bank] to buy AUD in 6 months time at 2.3. So in 6 months time, no matter if it went down to 1.5 or went up to 3.3, i still buy at 2.3 [but of course this is not the rate the banks will give me, as they are not stupid. they'll probably agree on a 2.5 or 2.6] Nobody does this? :S This post has been edited by Grimm: Sep 17 2009, 08:41 PM |
Sep 19 2009, 08:09 AM
Right. Thanks for the tip limeuu
Sep 23 2009, 11:04 AM
FeeD, its not mandatory if you're above 18. However, if you're interested, there is always the homestay program. Improves your english as well as enables you to mix with guai lou
Sep 23 2009, 11:23 AM
squirro, try searching around this forum for people studying in those universities.
There's a whole thread on Monash University. You'll have to look through the threads till page 3 or 4 sometimes, as the Edu Essentials tend to get a bit messy and spammy. |
Sep 24 2009, 08:54 AM
I waited for around 1 month plus also. Don't worry, they'll get back to you
Or you can drop by Monash. Their marketing department personnel will help you check your application status. |
| Change to: | 0.0233sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:39 PM |