Food Let's talk bout red wine

TSadriankhoo153
post Jan 13 2009, 04:27 PM, updated 14y ago

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

I know there is much more variety of Red Wine but normally this two are the most popular one.

What do u prefer? Merlot or Shiraz? Cabernet Sauvignon? Pinot Noir?

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Mar 3 2010, 10:06 PM
vey99
post Jan 13 2009, 04:32 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

wat difference?
luvjim
post Jan 13 2009, 05:07 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

i try Malbec, nice.
nicklaus
post Jan 14 2009, 12:14 AM

273 posts

south african wine??tried before?
its nice!!esp year 2006
Tainted
post Jan 14 2009, 12:49 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Shiraz too dry for me.

Traveler
post Jan 14 2009, 03:20 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

Don't like Shiraz. I prefer Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir and Merlot as single varietals or in blends in the various Bordeaux blends (Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, in varying percentages, depending on the region and winemaker) or Burgundy blends (mostly Pinot Noir).

For lesser known but tasty reds, try Frankovka (Czech), Plavac Mali (Croatia), Lambrusco (Italy), Beaujolais-Villages (France).
Putraskyline
post Jan 14 2009, 03:46 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Jan 14 2009, 03:20 PM)
Don't like Shiraz. I prefer Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir and Merlot as single varietals or in blends in the various Bordeaux blends (Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, in varying percentages, depending on the region and winemaker) or Burgundy blends (mostly Pinot Noir).

For lesser known but tasty reds, try Frankovka (Czech), Plavac Mali (Croatia), Lambrusco (Italy), Beaujolais-Villages (France).
You seem to have good taste about wine. How to determine whether that wine good or not?
Makakeke
post Jan 14 2009, 04:03 PM

310 posts

Pinor Noir is my favorite, very smooth wine. Shiraz is very dry and strong. Cabernet Savignon is like a balance between Pinor Noir and Shiraz, i love it too.

Jacobs Creek is the safe choice if you're looking for reasonable priced wine.
blinky
post Jan 14 2009, 05:34 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

Oxford Landing and Alan Landing is my choice, but I can't seem to find Alan Landing anymore!

I still prefer white wine by the way.
Traveler
post Jan 14 2009, 09:06 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jan 14 2009, 03:46 PM)
You seem to have good taste about wine. How to determine whether that wine good or not?
2 ways:

1. Be all snobby and do it the "experts" way >> buy a bunch of wine books, take tasting lessons and buy only the "good" (expensive) stuff.
2. Do it the cheaper way, and taste the wine... if you like it, it's good; if you don't like it, it's bad.

Oklah.. a 3rd way that is somewhat in between:

Buy a decent intro to wine book (I suggest books by Hugh Johnson or Oz Clarke, they are easy to read; maybe also the Wines for Dummies).
Go to a few tastings by local wine shops - normally they open the cheaper stuff; good way to learn what kinds of wine you like.
As you develop your taste, buy a wine guide (my favourite is Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Guide - there is one issue every year) and use it to help you pick wines to buy or drink at restaurants. Then as you discover the different grades of wine as marked by the professionals, match that to your own personal tastes so you know what you like. Different people have different tastes.

My favourite winemakers:

France (Bordeaux): Margaux, Lafite-Rothschild, Angelus, Figeac, La Conseillante, Mission-Haut-Brion, Haut-Brion, Pape-Clement, Cos d'Estournel, Pape-Clement, Pichon-Lallande (formerly known as Pichon-Longueville Comtesse de Lalande), Leoville-Barton, Pontet-Canet
France (Sauternes): d'Yquem, Suduiraut

USA: Robert Mondavi (especially the Reserves, and Moscato Bianco from La Famiglia du Robert Mondavi), Opus One, Beringer (Stone Cellars Cab Sauv is especially good value; also the White Zinfandel Limited Vineyard Selection), Kendall-Jackson, Stag's Leap, Lamoreaux Landing (Riesling)

NZ: Cloudy Bay (especially Te Koko Sauvignon Blanc, and the Pinor Noir), Oyster Bay

Chile: Errazuriz (Don Maximiamo Founder's Reserve)

Germany: Dr Loosen, Fritz Haag, MonchHof

Hungary: Oresmus (Tokaji Aszu - get 4-6 puttonyos)

Czech: Tanzberg Mikulov

Italy: Bolla (Valpolicella)

Canada: Inniskillin

My recommendation for cheap but good drinks:
Italian wines - Valpolicella, Lambrusco
German wines - stick to Riesling Auslese/Spatlese (sweet) from Fritz Haag, Dr Loosen, Peter Nicolay
Austrian wines - Zweigelt
Czech wines: Frankovka (one of the cheaper varietals), most wines are cheap
Hungarian wines: Kekeporto, Tokaji Aszu (very sweet dessert wine)
French wines:
- Bordeaux (Cab Sauv/Merlot/Cab Franc blend): Pavillon Rouge (Margaux), Alter Ego (Palmer), Clementin (Pape-Clement); wines from Pauillac, St-Emilion, Pomerol, Pessac-Leognan (all sub-regions of Bordeaux)
- Sauternes (very sweet dessert wine): generally very exp, so you can find similar wines from Barsac or Cadillac.
- Burgundy (Pinot Noir): had good Burgundy from Volnay, so that's a good region
- Alsace (Riesling): Trimbach
- Beajoulais-Villages: George de Beouf
US wines: [stick to Robert Mondavi, Beringer, Kendall-Jackson; you can't go wrong with these 3.
- Cabernet Sauvignon: Stone Cellars (Beringer), Robert Mondavi (Napa Valley or Oakville), Kendall-Jackson
- Pinot Noir: Robert Mondavi (Napa Valley)
- White Zinfandel: Beringer Limited Vineyard Selection
- Riesling: Lamoreaux Landing (Finger Lakes, New York)
- Sauvignon Blanc: Robert Mondavi (Napa Valley), Beringer
Chilean wines: try those from Errazuriz, Caliterra,
Argentine wines: try those from Nicholas Catena (price ranges from cheap to very expensive)
NZ wines: Stoneleigh
Australian wines: Hunter's

I dislike: E & J Gallo, Jacob's Creek, most Chardonnay, all Shiraz, Culembourg (South Africa), Lou Lan (China), most Cabernet Sauvignon below 5 years old, US wines from other than California or New York, etc.

As you can see, my tastes differ from others, like Makakeke (who likes Jacob's Creek, which I dislike). There is no one best wine, IMHO. Everyone has different tastes. If you like a wine, don't let others change your mind if they are "snobbish" about it. It's you who are drinking it right? smile.gif

Also more expensive doesn't mean better. For example, Tanzberg Mikulov had a blush (pink/rose) wine that I liked a lot, many of my friends loved it too when I opened a bottle at a wine party I held. Cost to me was RM20 since I bought it at the vineyard in Moravia directly. Chateau Lynch-Bages is supposed to be one of the top wines in Pauillac (Bordeaux), and price is expensive too. But when I tasted it, I really didn't like it. Neither did my 3 friends.
TSadriankhoo153
post Jan 16 2009, 10:12 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Agreed with Traveler. Everyone has different cup of tea. Myself i love Jacob's Creek Merlot.
Putraskyline
post Jan 16 2009, 11:11 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Thanks Traveler for such a great guide.
luvjim
post Jan 20 2009, 02:49 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

noone try Montes or Hardy before?
ts1
post Jan 21 2009, 02:11 PM

3,784 posts

i only knw australian wines..cheap ma

1) penfolds grange
2) penfolds 389
3) henschke (spelling correct?)
4) rosemount estate - balmoral
5) some sweet wine- Noble 1

some french wines la

1) la fitte

2) rothschild

3) la tour
holyghost
post Jan 27 2009, 10:47 AM

337 posts

Can anyone recommend me a not too pricey but nice red wine? smile.gif
CarlVlad
post Jan 27 2009, 11:03 AM

In Dedicato Imperatum Ultra Articulo Mortis
822 posts

Australian Yellowtails are nice.

For asian foods, try Chilean Anakena 2005 Reserve Merlot, 2005 Reserve Carmenere-cabernet Sauvignon.
ahchun
post Jan 27 2009, 11:10 AM

MiddleAge
1,147 posts

very deep lor
Pain4UrsinZ
post Jan 27 2009, 11:18 AM

1,856 posts

QUOTE(ahchun @ Jan 27 2009, 11:10 AM)
very deep lor
Vineger + ribena= redwine

This post has been edited by Pain4UrsinZ: Jan 27 2009, 11:19 AM
holyghost
post Jan 27 2009, 03:08 PM

337 posts

just got myself jacob creek merlot. doesnt seem to be in traveler's cheap n nice wine list. hope i wont regret. tongue.gif
bonzaimy
post Jan 27 2009, 05:24 PM

1,009 posts

My friend said that expensive wine taste like a grape juice and the chep one taste like (*&^..is that true?
outsider
post Jan 27 2009, 06:59 PM

~ get out ~
1,270 posts

Shiraz and merlot....what the different? unsure.gif
vermins
post Jan 27 2009, 07:15 PM

215 posts

Shiraz (or Syrah) tend to have blackberry, plum, spicy(not the chili spicy) to name a few, kinda flavor. Its the kind of wine you would pick to go with beef and hearty foods. IMO its a bit darker then merlot and generally would pick it if you are having a meal of sorts.

Shiraz is a much fuller bodied wine with more body or 'thickness' and has more mature taste. Whereas Merlot is a little lighter and not so heavy on the berry and plums, etc.

If you are just starting on reds (from whites) or just starting on wines, merlot would generally be your pick.

Or to make it simple... Merlot would be like beer as Shiraz would be to Vodka.. or absinthe - in terms of thickness and richness on the wine.

This post has been edited by vermins: Jan 27 2009, 07:17 PM
holyghost
post Jan 28 2009, 10:00 AM

337 posts

after opening a red wine n cant finish it, how long can be kept?
choongkiat
post Jan 31 2009, 11:04 PM

Personally I like wolfbrass brown label, Black label... but recently I taste ice wine, it was fantastic, but pricely...

<B>By the way, anyone know where can I post the selling list of liquor, as I want to clear out my collection of liquor, since didn't drink much liquor now...</B>
quantum
post Feb 1 2009, 02:48 AM

624 posts

For beginners (usually they prefer sweeter stuff) you could try some sparkling shiraz or maybe a rose they're alot easier to go down.

Sparkling shiraz is alot cheaper than Champagne but still classified under bubblies so the glamour effect is still there for those on a budget smile.gif
Traveler
post Feb 3 2009, 04:10 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(holyghost @ Jan 27 2009, 10:47 AM)
Can anyone recommend me a not too pricey but nice red wine?  smile.gif
My favourite recommendation for this is are Beringer Stone Cellars wines (Cabernet Sauvignon or Merlot) - go Merlot if you prefer lighter reds, Cab Sauv maybe too heavy for some people. There are also other reds I can recommend but they are not found easily in Malaysia, while Beringer Stone Cellars can be found quite easily.

QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Jan 27 2009, 05:24 PM)
My friend said that expensive wine taste like a grape juice and the chep one taste like (*&^..is that true?
Not true. If it tastes like grape juice, then it's not wine.

Added on February 3, 2009, 4:16 pm
QUOTE(holyghost @ Jan 28 2009, 10:00 AM)
after opening a red wine n cant finish it, how long can be kept?
If you cork it back, and store in the fridge, generally not more than 3-4 days, a week at most. More than that, I wouldn't drink it as the taste would have changed too much from exposure to air.

QUOTE(choongkiat @ Jan 31 2009, 11:04 PM)
Personally I like wolfbrass brown label, Black label... but recently I taste ice wine, it was fantastic, but pricely...
Ice wine is indeed great, and too expensive especially here. I remember getting half-bottles of nice sweet Finger Lakes icewines for USD5 at the wineries themselves. But outside that area, all I can find are pricey Canadian icewines.

QUOTE(quantum @ Feb 1 2009, 02:48 AM)
For beginners (usually they prefer sweeter stuff) you could try some sparkling shiraz or maybe a rose they're alot easier to go down.

Sparkling shiraz is alot cheaper than Champagne but still classified under bubblies so the glamour effect is still there for those on a budget smile.gif
You can also try prosecco, which is Italian sparkling wine. It's slightly sweeter than champagne/sparkling wine. By the way, Champagne is sparkling wine from the Champagne region of France only. Any other sparkling wine, even if made the same way, is only sparkling wine, not Champagne.

This post has been edited by Traveler: Feb 3 2009, 04:16 PM
scfun
post Feb 10 2009, 02:51 PM

29 posts

Any idea how long could I store red wine (new, unopened?) 20 years?
Traveler
post Feb 10 2009, 09:56 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(scfun @ Feb 10 2009, 02:51 PM)
Any idea how long could I store red wine (new, unopened?) 20 years?
It really depends on the type of red wine (Bordeaux blend, Cab Sauv, Merlot, Cab Franc, Pinot Noir, Shiraz, etc...) and how it is stored. I am assuming that by storage you mean a proper storage facility that is both temperature and humidity controlled. In our hot and humid weather, this would mean a wine chiller unit. In colder countries, this could be an underground cellar that is about 12-16C.

Some reds don't benefit from any storage at all, and are meant to be drunk young (like Beaujolais Nouveau), while others can be kept for 10-20 years or more. It really depends. If you are talking 10-20 years type, then most likely it will be the Bordeaux or maybe also the Cab Sauv from California. It's best to get a wine guide to see recommendations for your particular wine. I recommend Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Guide. It's not so expensive and its small and light to carry around. If your wine isn't listed in it, then it's probably best to follow the generic recommendations for your wine/vintage/region.
scfun
post Feb 11 2009, 11:29 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Feb 10 2009, 09:56 PM)
It really depends on the type of red wine (Bordeaux blend, Cab Sauv, Merlot, Cab Franc, Pinot Noir, Shiraz, etc...) and how it is stored. I am assuming that by storage you mean a proper storage facility that is both temperature and humidity controlled. In our hot and humid weather, this would mean a wine chiller unit. In colder countries, this could be an underground cellar that is about 12-16C.

Some reds don't benefit from any storage at all, and are meant to be drunk young (like Beaujolais Nouveau), while others can be kept for 10-20 years or more. It really depends. If you are talking 10-20 years type, then most likely it will be the Bordeaux or maybe also the Cab Sauv from California. It's best to get a wine guide to see recommendations for your particular wine. I recommend Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Guide. It's not so expensive and its small and light to carry around. If your wine isn't listed in it, then it's probably best to follow the generic recommendations for your wine/vintage/region.
Thanks for the tips.

Where to get the Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Guide?

I have a bottle of Merlot 2002 California, Cab.Sauv 2002 Australia and Merlot 2007 from Chile, all plan to store it for 21 years from it's vintage year. I put them under the closet which is quite humid, cool but not cold, would this think these wine would still be ok after that years? I'm not planning for investment but instead to give it away as my kids's 21th. birthday present!
Traveler
post Feb 11 2009, 12:38 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(scfun @ Feb 11 2009, 11:29 AM)
Thanks for the tips.

Where to get the Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Guide?

I have a bottle of Merlot 2002 California, Cab.Sauv 2002 Australia and Merlot 2007 from Chile, all plan to store it for 21 years from it's vintage year. I put them under the closet which is quite humid, cool but not cold, would this think these wine would still be ok after that years? I'm not planning for investment but instead to give it away as my kids's 21th. birthday present!
The Pocket Wine Guide you can find in MPH or Kinokuniya. Get the 2009 edition. If they are out of stock, you can also try Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk, with the GBP so weak, it may be cheaper or similar price to have it shipped.

Storing wines at our ambient temperature around 30C is not a good idea. Red wine will tend to mature extra-fast. To properly store wines, you need to keep it around 12-16C. Merlot is not known to age well and should be drunk within 3-7 years in general. So you should drink your 2002 Merlot now, while your 2007 Merlot you can probably drink it within the next 2-3 years. I normally won't drink any Cab Sauv less than 5 years old, as I think they need the time to mature. Your 2002 CS should be drinkable already but I don't know for sure if it will benefit from further aging. You may want to check it with HJ's Pocket Wine Guide. Normally I drink my CS when they are between 5-12 years. I don't keep anything longer than that unless it is a high-end Bordeaux, Sauternes, sweet Riesling, icewine or Tokay.
scfun
post Feb 11 2009, 02:07 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Feb 11 2009, 12:38 PM)
The Pocket Wine Guide you can find in MPH or Kinokuniya. Get the 2009 edition. If they are out of stock, you can also try Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk, with the GBP so weak, it may be cheaper or similar price to have it shipped.

Storing wines at our ambient temperature around 30C is not a good idea. Red wine will tend to mature extra-fast. To properly store wines, you need to keep it around 12-16C. Merlot is not known to age well and should be drunk within 3-7 years in general. So you should drink your 2002 Merlot now, while your 2007 Merlot you can probably drink it within the next 2-3 years. I normally won't drink any Cab Sauv less than 5 years old, as I think they need the time to mature. Your 2002 CS should be drinkable already but I don't know for sure if it will benefit from further aging. You may want to check it with HJ's Pocket Wine Guide. Normally I drink my CS when they are between 5-12 years. I don't keep anything longer than that unless it is a high-end , Sauternes, sweet Riesling, icewine or Tokay.
in this case, how do we know it is a high-end Bordeaux?

Added on February 11, 2009, 2:47 pmGuess what? This is what I get from Amazon.com:

Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009: 32nd Edition - Hugh Johnson
$6.59 - Usually ships within 1-2 business days
Condition: Used - Very Good
Sold by: snappyshoppe

*** We're sorry. This item can't be shipped to the country you selected. You can enter a different shipping address above, or you can remove the item from your order by changing its quantity to 0, then clicking the Update button. ***

This post has been edited by scfun: Feb 11 2009, 02:47 PM
Traveler
post Feb 11 2009, 05:07 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(scfun @ Feb 11 2009, 02:07 PM)
in this case, how do we know it is a high-end Bordeaux?

Added on February 11, 2009, 2:47 pmGuess what? This is what I get from Amazon.com:

Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009: 32nd Edition - Hugh Johnson
$6.59 - Usually ships within 1-2 business days
Condition: Used - Very Good
Sold by: snappyshoppe

*** We're sorry. This item can't be shipped to the country you selected. You can enter a different shipping address above, or you can remove the item from your order by changing its quantity to 0, then clicking the Update button. ***
1. If its a name I am not familiar with, I normally look it up in HJ's Pocket Wine Book.
2. That's odd, I never had any problems buying from Amazon US and shipping it to Malaysia. Try Amazon UK if you can't get Amazon US to work.
quantum
post Feb 12 2009, 10:06 AM

624 posts

Whatever wine you've got, try to research some information on them online. Sometimes there will be information on that particular year/grape/winery where they will tell you the peak time to drink the wine. Of course due to the weather differences you should minus a few years and then it will be DELICIOUS smile.gif

For dessert wine, my fav is still De Bortoli's Noble One. Anyone tried it?

This post has been edited by quantum: Feb 12 2009, 10:07 AM
Traveler
post Feb 13 2009, 10:47 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(quantum @ Feb 12 2009, 10:06 AM)
Whatever wine you've got, try to research some information on them online. Sometimes there will be information on that particular year/grape/winery where they will tell you the peak time to drink the wine. Of course due to the weather differences you should minus a few years and then it will be DELICIOUS smile.gif
For dessert wine, my fav is still De Bortoli's Noble One. Anyone tried it?
Good point. Some wineries post when-to-drink recommendations for their wines on their website.

My favourite wines for dessert are:

1. Chateau d'Yquem - Tasted the 2004, and this Sauternes is simply WOW! The price is also a WOW... so I could only afford to buy a half-bottle (375ml) of either 2002 or 2004 (which are decent years, but not the greatest) in HK (duty-free), and even that set me back close to RM600-700.
2. Moscato Bianco from La Familiglia du Robert Mondavi (Italian style offering from Robert Mondavi of Napa Valley, USA) - delicious and inexpensive (I paid around USD20 for it at the winery itself), but I don't know if they still make it.
3. A good Tokaji Aszu from Hungary - preferrably 4 or 5 puttonyos (measures of sweetness, the higher the number, the sweeter it is).
quantum
post Feb 13 2009, 01:07 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Feb 13 2009, 12:47 PM)
Good point. Some wineries post when-to-drink recommendations for their wines on their website.

My favourite wines for dessert are:

1. Chateau d'Yquem - Tasted the 2004, and this Sauternes is simply WOW! The price is also a WOW... so I could only afford to buy a half-bottle (375ml) of either 2002 or 2004 (which are decent years, but not the greatest) in HK (duty-free), and even that set me back close to RM600-700.
2. Moscato Bianco from La Familiglia du Robert Mondavi (Italian style offering from Robert Mondavi of Napa Valley, USA) - delicious and inexpensive (I paid around USD20 for it at the winery itself), but I don't know if they still make it.
3. A good Tokaji Aszu from Hungary - preferrably 4 or 5 puttonyos (measures of sweetness, the higher the number, the sweeter it is).
Wah you've really tasted alot of different wines eh........I tried quite a few but they're all from my uncles (they can afford it) hahaha....I rarely drink alone because I can't finish it and it's a waste drinking a good bottle alone....none of my friends appreciate wine sad.gif
evad14
post Feb 14 2009, 03:17 PM

17 posts

anyone know where to buy Moet Chandon champagne?
Traveler
post Feb 16 2009, 02:32 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(quantum @ Feb 13 2009, 01:07 PM)
Wah you've really tasted alot of different wines eh........I tried quite a few but they're all from my uncles (they can afford it) hahaha....I rarely drink alone because I can't finish it and it's a waste drinking a good bottle alone....none of my friends appreciate wine sad.gif
Heheh, yeah biggrin.gif

I've done wine tasting at the wineries in New York's Finger Lakes region, California's Napa Valley and Bordeaux (Left and Right Bank). Lots of good stuff but sometimes some mediocre stuff as well.

Next week am planning to open a bottle of Pavillon Rouge (Chateau Margaux's 2nd wine) 1994 vintage over a nice dinner with business friends. I'm really looking forward to it, since I bought that bottle in 1998 and have kept it in proper storage these past 11 years.
quantum
post Feb 16 2009, 05:54 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Feb 16 2009, 04:32 PM)
Heheh, yeah biggrin.gif

I've done wine tasting at the wineries in New York's Finger Lakes region, California's Napa Valley and Bordeaux (Left and Right Bank). Lots of good stuff but sometimes some mediocre stuff as well.

Next week am planning to open a bottle of Pavillon Rouge (Chateau Margaux's 2nd wine) 1994 vintage over a nice dinner with business friends. I'm really looking forward to it, since I bought that bottle in 1998 and have kept it in proper storage these past 11 years.
Wow thats nice......I can't wait to start working and get a place of my own so I can start a collection....I'm stuck with my wardrobe for the moment. I've only been to barossa, yarra valley and the granite belt. I kinda miss the free tastings that they used to give some years ago lol!!! Its getting too pricey to taste wine now
Traveler
post Feb 17 2009, 08:57 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(quantum @ Feb 16 2009, 05:54 PM)
Wow thats nice......I can't wait to start working and get a place of my own so I can start a collection....I'm stuck with my wardrobe for the moment. I've only been to barossa, yarra valley and the granite belt. I kinda miss the free tastings that they used to give some years ago lol!!! Its getting too pricey to taste wine now
When I went tasting in the Finger Lakes region, most wineries had free tastings. One even gave us cheese, crackers and a special dip for the crackers that used their wine as ingredient (it was super yummy - too bad they didn't sell the dip!). One or two charged up to US$3-5 for tastings. One of them had a microbrewery so you also taste their beer.

In Napa Valley, about half charged and half didn't charge. The most expensive tasting was at Opus One, US$28 for a glass. But they really filled that glass to the very top! And considering they sold a bottle for US$125 and Opus One is known as one of the best and most expensive from Napa Valley... not so bad lah the price. The wine is simply superb.

In Bordeaux, most of the top chateaux (the First Growths, Super Seconds), do not charge. Imagine getting a glass of 10 year-old Chateau Lafite (I saw a bottle in KL for sale around RM3.5K) or 20 year-old Chateau Figeac, for FREE! Well don't have to imagine, if you visit, you'll get it. Usually it's the lower-ranked chateaux that charge around EUR5-7 per person for tasting. It's understandable though, considering the top chateaux need only to sell one bottle and they can cover your tasting cost. The lesser chateaux's wines are usually around 10% of the price of the top chateaux and they don't have hordes of people clamouring to buy their wines, so they need to cover their costs. With several exceptions, you can generally taste the difference between the top chateaux and the lesser chateaux. It's quite noticeable, but whether it's worth paying 10-20x more... well everyone has a different view.
TSadriankhoo153
post Feb 17 2009, 10:00 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Yesterday jes throwaway a half bottle of JC Merlot. After open for about 2 month and in the fridge, the taste of the wine a little weird. I guess they expired very fast once open yeah?
quantum
post Feb 17 2009, 11:02 AM

624 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Feb 17 2009, 12:00 PM)
Yesterday jes throwaway a half bottle of JC Merlot. After open for about 2 month and in the fridge, the taste of the wine a little weird. I guess they expired very fast once open yeah?
Lasts at most up to a week depending on how you store your wine after opening.
TSadriankhoo153
post Feb 17 2009, 12:24 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Only one week? No wonder it taste funny!
Traveler
post Feb 18 2009, 09:39 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Feb 17 2009, 12:24 PM)
Only one week? No wonder it taste funny!
laugh.gif Yeah, they don't keep long, even if you keep them in the fridge. Some people use a vacuum pump to remove air from the bottle so that the wine lasts longer (you can buy the pump at most wine shops or even at wine sections at supermarkets). I've never used them as I finish my wines within a couple of days at most.
mattafare
post Mar 16 2009, 01:30 AM

14 posts

Jucso, Gaint & tesco which redwine reasonable to buy? begin taste dun too dry dun too young any recommanded? budget about RM45-60 & suitable for keep one?
D-Tourist
post Mar 17 2009, 01:00 AM

95 posts

hmm... i know CS is for keepinng > 5 yrs.. but wat bout Moet Chandon Champagne...? wat the recommended keeping time? Would not wan to waste the moet by keeping it too long

Traveler
post Mar 17 2009, 11:13 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(mattafare @ Mar 16 2009, 01:30 AM)
Jucso, Gaint & tesco which redwine reasonable to buy? begin taste dun too dry dun too young any recommanded? budget about RM45-60 & suitable for keep one?
I think around RM45-60 is a good level to try a few red wines as a start. At that price, don't expect to find one suitable to keep. Instead try out a few different wines and see which ones you like. Start with Merlot, Pinot Noir (or Burgundy) and Valpolichella, and then move on to Cabernet Sauvignon (or Bordeaux) - at least 5 years old, Chianti, and Shiraz. After you know what you like, you can start to pick one for keeping. Try those wines from the usual countries: France, USA, Australia, NZ, Chile, South Africa. There's usually a decent selection at the hypermarkets.

Bear in mind that:
1. Merlot, Valpolichella, Pinot Noir/Burgundy are normally drunk relatively young.
2. Cab Sauv/Bordeaux is good for keeping (>5 years), but Chilean reds normally are already at their best after 5 years, and may not improve further.
3. Our >30C weather will "cook" the wines, and some believe it will make the wines mature faster than expected.

QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Mar 17 2009, 01:00 AM)
hmm... i know CS is for keepinng > 5 yrs.. but wat bout Moet Chandon Champagne...? wat the recommended keeping time? Would not wan to waste the moet by keeping it too long
I don't know about champagne... never kept any.
aichiban
post Mar 17 2009, 11:47 AM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

Pot count o not blush.gif
Kiffer
post Mar 19 2009, 10:58 AM

140 posts

I've been looking around for Rosemount estate merlot because a friend really loves it, but haven't come across it yet... anyone know of any shops that carry it?
acijess
post Mar 26 2009, 12:55 PM

15 posts

Do you have any good wine store that offer reasonable price and varieties of red wine?

elgato
post Mar 26 2009, 01:48 PM

776 posts

try denise at taman tun. tesco mutiara damansara also got.
KitZhai
post Mar 27 2009, 03:50 AM

376 posts

i dunno red wine got 2 kind... Shiraz , Merlot ...zzz
for me... Liquor = good !!
Red Wine More good !! xD
Dovienya
post Mar 27 2009, 10:52 AM

293 posts

Hi all,

In the similar context, I recently was "enlighten" to the wine world and have tried a few type of wine.
I seem to have a liking for white wine more than red, maybe because I like the cooling effect (chilled before and during serving) compare to red wine.

For a new-comer, should I stick to red wine first, or can I explore white straight?
Also, my budget is normally below 50RM per bottle, and the few white wine I've bought arnt to my taste. Any recommendations of white wine for trying?

TQ
icon_question.gif
Traveler
post Mar 29 2009, 12:56 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(Dovienya @ Mar 27 2009, 10:52 AM)
Hi all,

In the similar context, I recently was "enlighten" to the wine world and have tried a few type of wine.
I seem to have a liking for white wine more than red, maybe because I like the cooling effect (chilled before and during serving) compare to red wine.

For a new-comer, should I stick to red wine first, or can I explore white straight?
Also, my budget is normally below 50RM per bottle, and the few white wine I've bought arnt to my taste. Any recommendations of white wine for trying?

TQ
icon_question.gif
Drink what you like, red or white, it doesn't matter. Some people believe that its better to start with sweet whites (riesling), then to less sweet whites (sauvignon blanc), then move to dry whites (chardonnay), light reds (merlot, pinot noir) and finally full-bodied reds (cabernet sauvignon, shiraz). But I started out with cabernet sauvignon and just loved it. So it really is up to you.

Below RM50 in Malaysia is not easy to find really good ones since our taxes are so high. Try Montana (NZ) Sauvignon Blanc (I think around 60-70), Robert Mondavi Woodbridge (USA) Sauvignon Blanc (50-60), and maybe some others from the Marlborough region of NZ and Napa Valley (USA). Then try Cloudy Bay (NZ) Sauvignon Blanc (around 140-170). You should be able to taste the difference.
quantum
post Apr 2 2009, 04:33 AM

624 posts

To substitute the pricey Cloudy Bay, you can try Oyster Bay. In Australia I pay around RM60 for Oyster Bay and RM120 for Cloudy Bay.

Cloudy is slightly better than Oyster but I feel it is not worth the double price.

Traveler
post Apr 2 2009, 08:57 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(quantum @ Apr 2 2009, 04:33 AM)
To substitute the pricey Cloudy Bay, you can try Oyster Bay. In Australia I pay around RM60 for Oyster Bay and RM120 for Cloudy Bay.

Cloudy is slightly better than Oyster but I feel it is not worth the double price.
Oyster Bay iSauvignon Blanc s very nice, I agree. Cheaper than Cloudy Bay. Unfortunately not as easy to find (in KL anyway).

I also like Cloudy Bay Te Koko Sauvignon Blanc. My favourite, although its very expensive, so I only buy it when I am overseas (where its much cheaper).
Kayne
post Apr 2 2009, 01:55 PM

Dota GODLIKE
1,606 posts

I've bought a sandalford Icewine back in 2004 for my dad when I was studying in perth back then and it was kept in KL till now

Still in my cabinet but not too sure if its a gone case for the wine as I heard icewine is not meant to be kept.

Maybe traveller can enlighten me a bit?
Traveler
post Apr 8 2009, 10:42 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(Kayne @ Apr 2 2009, 01:55 PM)
I've bought a sandalford Icewine back in 2004 for my dad when I was studying in perth back then and it was kept in KL till now

Still in my cabinet but not too sure if its a gone case for the wine as I heard icewine is not meant to be kept.

Maybe traveller can enlighten me a bit?
Icewine can be kept, but for long-term storage, like any wine, it should be kept in temperature/humidity controlled environments like wine chillers, especially in hot weather countries like Malaysia. I have kept icewines in my chillers for many years, the oldest icewine I have was bought 11 years ago, kept for 2 years in cool climate (US) and 9 years in chiller (Malaysia). Have drank them recently, and still taste great!

If you have kept your icewine in KL ambient temps for 5 years, I don't know if its still drinkable. I suggest opening them soonest and drinking them (if they are still drinkable), because hot weather tends to "cook" the wine and accelerates the aging/maturity process.
Flyers
post May 14 2009, 02:54 AM

93 posts

Hi all,

Glad that many wine experts here. I'm the beginner in wine thingy. Is there any sweet wine to go with steamboat session? Budget around RM40 - RM50/bottles, easily 3 - 4 bottles for 6 - 7 ppl? All beginners wink.gif

Got wine to be drink with cold and some with warm (room temp)? I don't have wine chiller, only normal fridge, can use for a while first ar? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Flyers: May 14 2009, 02:56 AM
SUSahjames
post May 14 2009, 09:30 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

stimbot wif beer. wif wine canot.
Traveler
post May 14 2009, 02:37 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(Flyers @ May 14 2009, 02:54 AM)
Hi all,

Glad that many wine experts here. I'm the beginner in wine thingy. Is there any sweet wine to go with steamboat session? Budget around RM40 - RM50/bottles, easily 3 - 4 bottles for 6 - 7 ppl? All beginners wink.gif

Got wine to be drink with cold and some with warm (room temp)? I don't have wine chiller, only normal fridge, can use for a while first ar?  rclxub.gif
Steamboat usually have hot/spicy sauces like the chilli garlic sauce, which can overwhelm the delicate taste of fine wines. So if you want to drink wine with steamboat, I would suggest cheaper and sweeter wines (but not dessert wines) to go with it. Your budget of around RM40-50/bottle should be about right. Go for a sweet Riesling and have it chilled real cold before serving. Rieslings from Germany or Australia ought to be suitable for this.

If don't have wine chiller, you can use a normal fridge as a temporary storage place.

Flyers
post May 14 2009, 05:11 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ May 14 2009, 02:37 PM)
Steamboat usually have hot/spicy sauces like the chilli garlic sauce, which can overwhelm the delicate taste of fine wines. So if you want to drink wine with steamboat, I would suggest cheaper and sweeter wines (but not dessert wines) to go with it. Your budget of around RM40-50/bottle should be about right. Go for a sweet Riesling and have it chilled real cold before serving. Rieslings from Germany or Australia ought to be suitable for this.

If don't have wine chiller, you can use a normal fridge as a temporary storage place.

Thanks for your info. Rieslings is the type of white wine, rite? What is the brand?
Traveler
post May 15 2009, 05:16 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(Flyers @ May 14 2009, 05:11 PM)

Thanks for your info. Rieslings is the type of white wine, rite? What is the brand?
Yes, Riesling is white wine. Any brand will do. Just look for one within your budget. Since it's for steamboat, it probably won't matter much which winery made the wine. Just stick to your budget.
deedumdum
post May 31 2009, 01:08 AM

29 posts

im looking for brown brothers, moscato 2008.
fell in love with this wine the first time i drank. anyone know where i can get?

terrysoh
post Jun 15 2009, 04:08 PM

1,145 posts

hey guys,

I was wondering anyone ever tried ice wine? I have a 2004 Inniskillin Oak Aged Vidal Icewine Gold Label 200ml for sale. It was a gift from my friend in Canada, but I am not really into wine. He told me its really good quality and different from the normal red wine. If anyone here is interested i am looking to sell it off @ RM150, thanks.

Some details of the ice wine:

Though Icewine's roots can be traced to centuries old German winemakers, there is nothing more quintessentially Canadian than this luscious luxury borne of patience and sub zero bravura. Grapes are left on the vine well into the winter months to concentrate and intensify the flavours, as water content freezes, thaws and dehydrates in each precious Icewine grape.
Made in the Niagara Peninsula
Ideally suited to the Canadian winter season in both the Niagara Peninsula and the Okanagan Valley, the magical process of crafting Icewine is guided by nature — triggered by the snap of the wintry elements, the harvest can't begin until temperatures drop below minus eight degrees Celsius for a sustained period of time. There are rigorous specifications regulating the making of Icewine set out by Canada 's quality control board, the VQA (Vintner's Quality Alliance). Artificial freezing of the grapes is strictly prohibited.

Extreme Winemaking
Once the extreme temperatures arrive, Icewine pickers arrive, often in the dead of night, to harvest the frozen clusters. The precious grapes are immediately pressed in the extreme cold to extract the luscious nectar. In this process, the water content in each grape remains frozen in crystals, leaving only a few coveted drops of concentrated, intense liquid. Icewine yields are a mere 10-15% of an average table wine harvest. Slowly fermented over the coming months, this delicate nectar will eventually become Icewine.

Intense Flavours, Pure Varietal Character and Great Balance
The finished Icewine is intense, sweet and sumptuous, yet balanced with brilliant acidity, creating a unique sensation on the palate. Renowned for fruit flavours ranging from mango to peach to lychees, Icewine is truly a natural wonder and extreme winemaking at its best, yielding the impressions of tropical tastes wrought from the frigid extremes of the icy Canadian winterscape.

Inniskillin is the World Leader in Icewine
Inniskillin Icewine is well renowned as the world leader in Icewine. It is sold in over 59 countries and is the #1 distributed wine in Global Travel Retail.

Added on June 15, 2009, 4:09 pmthe official website

http://www.inniskillin.com/en/ice/default.asp

This post has been edited by terrysoh: Jun 15 2009, 04:09 PM
Enferno
post Jun 15 2009, 06:54 PM

469 posts

After reading 4 pages of replies, seems like non one mention on Portugal wine.. although it is not as famous as its french counterpart but their PORTO range of wine can be put side by side with Bordeaux.

I have a bottle of 1985 Vintage Port wine which still waiting for the right time to uncorked it.. haha.. although 1985 is not a great year for PORTO, but it should taste great..

just my 2cents.. i learned more after reading this thread.
Traveler
post Jun 16 2009, 09:37 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

Icewine make for excellent dessert wines. I have several bottles of them from the Finger Lakes region of New York, Canada and Germany. Everytime I've opened a bottle for my friends, they've always loved it. Inniskillin is a well-known producer of wines. Although I've never had their icewines, I do like their Pinot Noir and Cabernet Franc.

Port is fortified wine, and has a higher alcohol content than the other wines, usually >14%. Not exactly a type of wine that I particularly enjoy myself, but from time to time I've had some and they have always been pretty good. In fact the oldest wine I have ever tasted was a 1894 port back in 2007. So it was 113 years old when I had it.. marvelous!
omelette
post Jun 21 2009, 09:39 PM

Hey. Good to find a thread talking about wine in lyn.

Icewine. Haven't seen any shops in msia selling icewines yet.
How does it taste like if compared with ports? I guess it won't be as caramel-like thick as a port?
Traveler
post Jun 22 2009, 11:36 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

Icewine looks like any other table wine, but is very sweet - like other dessert wines. Usually comes in tall thin bottles of 375ml. It's not caramel-thick but rather liquid. In Malaysia, you can find icewines at many wineshops, but usually they sell those from Inniskillin, a top producer of icewines from the Niagara region of Canada.
omelette
post Jun 24 2009, 10:42 AM

Interesting.

Is icewine the same as a Sauternes?
Like sparkling wine and a champagne.
Traveler
post Jun 24 2009, 02:43 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(omelette @ Jun 24 2009, 10:42 AM)
Interesting.

Is icewine the same as a Sauternes?
Like sparkling wine and a champagne.
No.

Icewine is made by allowing the grapes to freeze on the vines during winter, and then picking them (usually at night) and crushing them while in frozen state, so that the "juice" is in its most concentrated form and have a very high sugar content. You can have icewines made from several types of grapes. Icewine typically has a higher sugar content than Sauternes.

From wikipedia:
Ice wine (or icewine, as one word, or in German, Eiswein) is a type of dessert wine produced from grapes that have been frozen while still on the vine. The sugars and other dissolved solids do not freeze, but the water does, allowing a more concentrated grape must to be pressed from the frozen grapes, resulting in a smaller amount of more concentrated, very sweet wine. With ice wines, the freezing happens before the fermentation, not afterwards. Unlike the grapes from which other dessert wines, such as Sauternes, Tokaji, or Trockenbeerenauslese, are made, ice wine grapes should not be affected by Botrytis cinerea or noble rot, at least not to any great degree. Only healthy grapes keep in good shape until the opportunity arises for an ice wine harvest, which in extreme cases can occur after the New Year, on a northern hemisphere calendar. This gives ice wine its characteristic refreshing sweetness balanced by high acidity. When the grapes are free of Botrytis, they are said to come in "clean".

Due to the labour-intense and risky production process resulting in relatively small amounts of wine, ice wines are generally quite expensive.
Sauternes is made from a variety of grapes that have been affected by the Botrytis fungus (noble rot), which concentrates the flavours. It is also very sweet. In addition, wines made this way can only be called "Sauternes" if it's from the Sauternes region of Bordeaux in France.

From wikipedia:
Sauternes is made from Sémillon, Sauvignon Blanc, and Muscadelle grapes that have been affected by Botrytis cinerea, also known as noble rot. This causes the grapes to become partially raisined, resulting in concentrated and distinctively flavored wines. Sauternes is one of the few wine regions where infection with noble rot is a frequent occurrence, due to its climate. Even so, production is a hit-or-miss proposition, with widely varying harvests from vintage to vintage. Wines from Sauternes, especially the Premier Cru Supérieur estate Château d'Yquem, can be very expensive, due largely to the very high cost of production. Barsac lies within Sauternes, and is entitled to use either name. Somewhat similar but less expensive and typically less-distinguished wines are produced in the neighboring regions of Monbazillac, Cérons, Loupiac and Cadillac. In the United States, there is a semi-generic label for sweet white dessert wines known as sauterne without the "s" at the end and uncapitalized.[1]
Monstar
post Jun 26 2009, 12:00 AM

1,895 posts

Just to add on some suggestions for icewine. Try the Germans Eiswein. I personally think they are the best when it comes to icewines. The layers and dimension of flavours that you get from an Eiswine is incredible. Though it does get a bit too overwhelming after the 1st glass, even with the hallmark Riesling acidity that comes through at the finish. Brilliant as a digestif but not something I could enjoy all night long.
terryykf
post Jun 26 2009, 12:15 AM

175 posts

Hi there,
anyone know any red wine seller here?
I am looking for red wines for my upcoming wedding dinner,but not so soon lar,but started looking for red wines.normally what are the type of red wines ppl usually serve in their wedding dinner?I am not so familiar with this red wine thingy so I need help from you guys out there.

My budget is around RM30-RM40,any good wine to recommend?I know with this kind of budget,there are not much good red wines,but at least one or two that you guys think that taste ok.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by terryykf: Jun 26 2009, 12:16 AM
[sin]
post Sep 8 2009, 10:05 PM

84 posts

If I'm looking for some wine that goes well with a fine tiramisu, which would be a better choice?

ice wine or red wine?

My budget is around 60-80 , any recommendation?
D-Tourist
post Sep 8 2009, 11:53 PM

95 posts

anyone any idea how long maks should a moet et chandon's champagne be kept? before it expires?

patryn33
post Sep 10 2009, 08:57 AM

3,940 posts

tried a few Eiswein but none beats the icewines I got from Canada.
Eiswein are generally more expensive than the Canadian.

anyone tried icewine sparking? few winery have them. buy from the source they usually cost CND$60++.
if u get the chance go on the ice wine festival on Nigara-on-the-lake, can experience ice wine tasting (the right way).

2008 price list of Iniskillin and Peller Estates (purchase from direct)

2007 Inniskillin Price List
2004 Select Late Harvest Vidal - CND$19.99
2004 Select Late Harvest Riesling - CND$24.75
2005 Vidal IceWine 200ml - CND$29.95
2005 Vidal IceWine 357ml - CND$54.95
2004 Vidal Sparkling Icewine 375ml - CND$54.95
2005 Vidal Oak Age Icewine 375ml - CND$89.95
2005 Riesling Icewine 375ml - CND$69.95
Cabernet Franc Icewine 375ml - CND$109.95

2007 Peller Estates Price List
Ice Cuvee -CND$30
2003 & 2004 Vidal Icewine 375ml - CND$52.95
2004 Chardonnay Icewine 375ml - CND$70
2000 Vidal Signature Icewine 375ml - CND$65
2002 Vidal Signature Icewine 375ml - CND$60
2004 Cabernet Frac 375ml- CND$90
2001 Riesling 375ml - CND$75

This post has been edited by patryn33: Sep 10 2009, 08:59 AM
Traveler
post Sep 10 2009, 11:55 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(sin @ Sep 8 2009, 10:05 PM)
If I'm looking for some wine that goes well with a fine tiramisu, which would be a better choice?

ice wine or red wine?

My budget is around 60-80 , any recommendation?
Ice wine. Tiramisu is dessert so you need a dessert wine for that. However I haven't seen any icewines in Malaysia for below RM150. You can always look for small bottles or maybe some other dessert wines like late-harvest rieslings, or sauternes/barsac/cadillac.

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Sep 10 2009, 08:57 AM)
tried a few Eiswein but none beats the icewines I got from Canada.
Eiswein are generally more expensive than the Canadian.

anyone tried icewine sparking? few winery have them. buy from the source they usually cost CND$60++.
if u get the chance go on the ice wine festival on Nigara-on-the-lake, can experience ice wine tasting (the right way).
2008 price list of Iniskillin and Peller Estates (purchase from direct)

2007 Inniskillin Price List
2004 Select Late Harvest Vidal - CND$19.99
2004 Select Late Harvest Riesling - CND$24.75
2005 Vidal IceWine 200ml - CND$29.95
2005 Vidal IceWine 357ml - CND$54.95
2004 Vidal Sparkling Icewine 375ml - CND$54.95
2005 Vidal Oak Age Icewine 375ml - CND$89.95
2005 Riesling Icewine 375ml - CND$69.95
Cabernet Franc Icewine 375ml - CND$109.95

2007 Peller Estates Price List
Ice Cuvee -CND$30
2003 & 2004 Vidal Icewine 375ml - CND$52.95
2004 Chardonnay Icewine 375ml - CND$70
2000 Vidal Signature Icewine 375ml - CND$65
2002 Vidal Signature Icewine 375ml - CND$60
2004 Cabernet Frac 375ml- CND$90
2001 Riesling 375ml - CND$75
Did you try all those icewines? I recently bought a few bottles of Inniskillin icewines... will have to try them sometime hehe.

Am off to UK & France soon... looking forward to some nicely-priced Bordeaux to drink while in Paris, hehe!
patryn33
post Sep 11 2009, 03:51 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Sep 10 2009, 11:55 AM)
Did you try all those icewines? I recently bought a few bottles of Inniskillin icewines... will have to try them sometime hehe.
Inniskillin is a little over rated today. In competition the winner do go to other little known winery.
Niagara Falls being my backyard.
I do get to try a great number of ice wines from the region.
I had tried a few from US, Minnesota, Michigan and I think NY they are often expensive and not good.

[sin]
post Sep 12 2009, 08:56 PM

84 posts

say's I'm going times square (around that area) this weekend, any recommended shop to buy wine ? best is the boss very kind one, will intro me what nice what not nice one ... =)
C-Note
post Sep 12 2009, 11:48 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

ice wine =/ port wine?
patryn33
post Sep 13 2009, 12:03 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 12 2009, 11:48 PM)
ice wine =/ port wine?
ice wine != Port

Port are forified wine, brandy are often added.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Port_wine

ice wine no brandy are added, grape are hang out on the vine until Jan then harvest.
yield are often low, grapes do become over ripe, birds do eat them, they do dry out too.
as the temp go lower the sugar content get concentrated.
http://www.wineintro.com/types/icewine.html
http://www.icewinefestival.com/page/icewine_home
Junkie
post Oct 13 2009, 09:57 PM

Hi all

I'm looking for suitable yet inexpensive wines to serve at my wedding reception. The food is typical of a Chinese dishes served at any Chinese wedding receptions. Btw, it is a luncheon reception

Thus, what type of red wines would you suggest? icon_question.gif

Thank you
DarReNz
post Dec 20 2009, 01:47 AM

7,496 posts

is there a place to drink red wine in puchong ?
kuokyeow
post Dec 22 2009, 07:45 AM

221 posts

Moulin de Lavaud 05 consider under which group?
i tried and i think i can accept that. any recommendation which fall under the same group? thanks.
newbie99
post Jan 15 2010, 09:52 PM

667 posts

Hi All,

I am thinking of installing a wine cellar 8ftx10ft in my new house. I wonder if any one here knows a wine specialist who can install a full system? eg cooling system, wall and ceiling insulation, door and glass window? I stay in Penang. Thanks.
Traveler
post Jan 18 2010, 09:43 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(newbie99 @ Jan 15 2010, 09:52 PM)
Hi All,

I am thinking of installing a wine cellar 8ftx10ft in my new house. I wonder if any one here knows a wine specialist who can install a full system? eg cooling system, wall and ceiling insulation, door and glass window? I stay in Penang. Thanks.
You can try the wine shops, some of them would have something similar installed in their premises, so they may know of the specialists you are looking for.
saw2001
post Jan 18 2010, 06:20 PM

Chelsea Chelsea
1,192 posts

how to choose actually? i see i just take. lolx
pweeong
post Feb 5 2010, 03:41 PM

Hi kuokyeow,

Do you know know where to buy Moulin De lavaud 05? Im searching long time cannot find ler...

QUOTE(kuokyeow @ Dec 22 2009, 07:45 AM)
Moulin de Lavaud 05 consider under which group?
i tried and i think i can accept that. any recommendation which fall under the same group? thanks.
gunnerstkd
post Feb 19 2010, 08:19 PM

247 posts

Anyone knows where I can buy a good wine saver vacuum pump?
I've looking at off-the-rack item and not online. I've tried looking for it at some wine sections in super-marts but they ain't selling any..

I don't think jusco's wine section has it either.. didn't notice any wine accessories there...

Thanks smile.gif
TSadriankhoo153
post Mar 3 2010, 10:04 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Where can i get 2006 Wente Reliz Creek Pinot Noir in Klang Valley? Anyone know how much it cost?

https://shop.wentevineyards.com/SHOP.AMS?LE...BOT&PART=450-06

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Mar 3 2010, 10:08 PM
lilster
post Apr 28 2010, 01:03 AM

636 posts

hello, anyone here drank stanley wine before?
arthurlwf
post Jun 7 2011, 12:00 AM

2,546 posts

Anybody have any recommendation of sweet red wine? And any idea where to get it?

CarmenC
post Jun 7 2011, 10:31 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Jun 7 2011, 12:00 AM)
Anybody have any recommendation of sweet red wine? And any idea where to get it?

try Port.
my fav. is taylors LBV.
arthurlwf
post Jun 7 2011, 02:03 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(CarmenC @ Jun 7 2011, 10:31 AM)
try Port.
my fav. is taylors LBV.
Thanks for the info. Any idea where I can get this wine? and roughly how much?
SUSendau02
post Jun 7 2011, 03:15 PM

3,180 posts

port? quite easy to get drunk lol
harrychoo
post Jun 12 2011, 09:50 PM

3,589 posts

Anyone interested to buy red wine for wedding or other functions?

I have 2 box (24bottles) Shiraz Cabernet leftover from my wedding. The brand is Fallon Fellie from Australia.
TSadriankhoo153
post Oct 3 2011, 12:10 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

I am going to Melbourne Yarra Valley. Can anyone recommend me a good wine there? I dislike sweet redwine. I prefer wine that are smooth, not too strong or dry and most important, it must be a lil soury taste.
moody5
post Oct 4 2011, 12:14 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Oct 3 2011, 12:10 PM)
I am going to Melbourne Yarra Valley. Can anyone recommend me a good wine there? I dislike sweet redwine. I prefer wine that are smooth, not too strong or dry and most important, it must be a lil soury taste.
A lot of choices from Yering Station
http://www.yering.com/index.php
Tommykeng
post May 28 2012, 06:32 PM

579 posts

hi guys , i ALWAYS saw in those movie / Drama . those RICH PPL always order those red wine in hi class restaurant.

they always order , For example : 199x / 198x (YEAR) Lafite Red wine

So i wanna ask ,

1. the YEAR REPRESENT WAD ? represent the MANUFACTURE YEAR ?

2. The year means that OLDER taste better ? Hence more EXPENSIVE ?

3. i tot that after alcohol / wine keep in bottle = would only maintain same taste. no mather how long keeping = no change one

am i right guys ?
SUSHuman10
post May 28 2012, 06:39 PM

6,774 posts

1. yup manufactured year
2. mostly older wine taste/texture/feel better/smoother
3. nope, it will change

samlee860407
post May 28 2012, 06:46 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ May 28 2012, 06:39 PM)

3. nope, it will change
yes, it will change bad if not properly kept

also, doesn't means the older the age the better, see that year the grape how how and such.

not expert though
Tommykeng
post May 28 2012, 06:50 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ May 28 2012, 06:39 PM)
1. yup manufactured year
2. mostly older wine taste/texture/feel better/smoother
3. nope, it will change
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 28 2012, 06:46 PM)
yes, it will change bad if not properly kept

also, doesn't means the older the age the better, see that year the grape how how and such.

not expert though
1. Do you means that SOME year de grape good good but some year grape bad bad ?

2. IF WELL keep , Would red wine become More tasty if keep longer ?

3. how come red wine does not sell off after keeping so long time ? They keep at least 20-30 years ???

Whats the Value of keeping it ?

guys , i am SERIOUS noob in wine , need more pro to explain yah happy.gif

This post has been edited by Tommykeng: May 28 2012, 06:51 PM
SpyMalaysia
post May 28 2012, 08:58 PM

For storage:

In Malaysia it is worthwhile to invest in a wine fridge, you should aim to keep the temperature constant between 10c - 15c

You should always store red wine horizontally so as to keep the cork fairly moist & reduce the possibilities of cracking or air getting into the bottle resulting in the 'corked' effect.

Humidity is also important, if too dry the cork can crack & ruin the wine with air getting in & oxidizing the wine (corked). High humidity is best somewhere between 65-75% RH.

Keep the bottle in a dark place where it will not be disturbed, a wine fridge dedicated solely to wine is best as the door will not be opened 20 times a day (like a typical kitchen fridge) increasing the risk of moving the wine & so not allowing the sediment to settle properly.

Choosing wines:

The year for the grape used in the wine is very important. In a vintage year the grapes are bursting with flavour & this reflects in the quality of the wine. A good way to start is to research by region because one of the key factors is what the weather was like during that period.

You can find out about Vintage Guides for Australian Reds here.

There will be other pages on the net with similar information to help you choose which wine is good for storage.
Tommykeng
post May 29 2012, 01:24 AM

579 posts

hmmm .... where can you all get those OLD WINE ?
how much a Old wine cost may i ask ?
blackwhitechipsKL
post May 30 2012, 04:01 PM

330 posts

old wines not necessary good. young wines not necessary bad. problem with wines is, you know too little, you also don't know anything, but too difficult to know too many things.

easiest way, buy a bottle a month/a week whenever you can afford it, and drink it. if you like it, remember the brand and year and grape. keep in memory what type of grapes you like (shiraz, merlot, cabernet sauvigon, etc for reds or sauvignon blanc, riesling, etc for whites). know more doesn't mean you enjoy more. just try and you'll eventually learn as you drink along. after all, wines are supposed to be enjoyed!
leggedy
post May 31 2012, 01:19 PM

93 posts

blackwhitechipskl is the wine boss to go..

TS, jz listen to him

oh yea, jz to tell u, once u learn how to enjoy wine, u will be addicted to it..and by then u wont be hunting for 60bucks, 80bucks wine..there is red wine out there priced at 10grand ++

and not to forget the founder of red wine is france..their red wine are very rich of their wooden drum flavor..i used to studied wine..and the topic and sub topic of wine is so darn complicated..till so many of us failed this subject..lol..

Jz like blackwhiteschipkl said, the more u drink the more u will understand..

Red wine, white wine, ice wine, rose, port, and a few more names i've forgotten..
SUSWintersuN
post May 31 2012, 01:23 PM

3,173 posts

The wine only age in the barrel. Once bottle i think no more change in quality.

So 1970 wine will be the same this year compare 5 yrs later in quality. Not really sure how it works.

I think is see the harvest and production quality of the year. So maybe 1970 wine maybe not so good harvest price will ower comparre 1980 if the grape quality good?
-Davidoff-
post Jun 3 2012, 03:21 AM

307 posts

Wines is depending on each person preference and taste, it doesn't mean that 1970 or 1980++ wines that may suits you. There are alot types of wines and u got to try it and see which type of wines your comfortable with.

A RM80-RM150 is good enough for you to try and taste it as a beginner. Btw, if your looking for any red/white wines or recommendation, u may hit me up.
KTCY
post Jun 18 2012, 08:41 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

Old wines sleep.gif
Is called vintage wine actually.
Monstar
post Jul 11 2012, 12:05 AM

1,895 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ May 31 2012, 01:23 PM)
The wine only age in the barrel. Once bottle i think no more change in quality.

So 1970 wine will be the same this year compare 5 yrs later in quality. Not really sure how it works.

I think is see the harvest and production quality of the year. So maybe 1970 wine maybe not so good harvest price will ower comparre 1980 if the grape quality good?
Not true. The aging in barrel but not in bottle thing applies mostly to whisky and other spirits. Wine definitely matures after bottling. Not to say that old is gold. Some wines improve with age most turn flat with age.

This post has been edited by Monstar: Jul 11 2012, 12:05 AM
TinyPumpkin
post Jul 11 2012, 03:54 PM

1,233 posts

True. Wines continue to age in their bottles. Good wines improve with age and they are expensive so make sure you store them properly.

Cheap ones you drink la, don't keep otherwise they turn into vinegar. brows.gif

leo-chan
post Jul 12 2012, 05:33 PM

50 posts

Most wines nowadays (especially in the RM 0 - RM 300 retail range) are made for young drinking. I don't usually buy white wines above 3 years of age, and reds above 5 years.

Not all red wines taste better when they are older.

My preferences would be full bodied Italian wine from the southern region (nero d'avola, cannonau) from the 2008 vintage for red, and 2010/2011 white (vermentino, orvieto classico, soave).

I quite fancy a crisp, cold sauvignon blanc from villa maria in new zealand as well.
TinyPumpkin
post Jul 14 2012, 02:33 PM

1,233 posts

How about these Italiano? brows.gif
Mikamita
post Jul 17 2012, 12:44 AM

Hi there...

How are you guys...
I do keep some wine in my chiller for few years...
Now I will moving to other state soon so I'm thinking to let go some of my collection...
Can any one tell me where is the best way to sell it online?
I'm from Kota Kinabalu, Sabah...
I've been asking many of the wine drinker here but they just feel scare to buy from me...
Maybe I'm just too young? 34y/o...
I been in this wine keeping hobby for more than 5 years...
Thanks...
leo-chan
post Jul 17 2012, 01:04 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(TinyPumpkin @ Jul 14 2012, 02:33 PM)
How about these Italiano? brows.gif Attached Image
I've had the two Tignanello, both '07 and '08.

I like '08 better. I don't know why.

TinyPumpkin
post Jul 17 2012, 02:11 PM

1,233 posts

QUOTE(leo-chan @ Jul 17 2012, 01:04 PM)
I've had the two Tignanello, both '07 and '08.

I like '08 better. I don't know why.
Same with me tongue.gif

'08 is more approachable to me but '07 is the one with more character and the long distance runner, so said the wine critics brows.gif But I'm no expert on wine so I just like it or I don't.

What's your opinion on these?
funnybone
post Jul 17 2012, 02:17 PM

1,040 posts

Why no carbenet in the poll? My all time fav is Miguel Torres - Manso de Velasco (Best Wine 2006) drool.gif
TinyPumpkin
post Jul 17 2012, 02:36 PM

1,233 posts

QUOTE(Mikamita @ Jul 17 2012, 12:44 AM)
Hi there...

How are you guys...
I do keep some wine in my chiller for few years...
Now I will moving to other state soon so I'm thinking to let go some of my collection...
Can any one tell me where is the best way to sell it online?
I'm from Kota Kinabalu, Sabah...
I've been asking many of the wine drinker here but they just feel scare to buy from me...
Maybe I'm just too young? 34y/o...
I been in this wine keeping hobby for more than 5 years...
Thanks...
I doubt you could sell your collection online. Wine enthusiasts would want to look at the colour and condition before buying or if they buy online it would be from reputable sellers. Since you have been keeping them for years why not just move them with you so that you could continue to indulge in this hobby in your new location? Freight may be a bit more expensive but you may not be able to replace your collection at the same cost not to mention some vintages may be irreplaceable.

If your collection is too huge to be moved then try selling them to friends in your wine circle or drink up brows.gif
leo-chan
post Jul 17 2012, 05:13 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(TinyPumpkin @ Jul 17 2012, 02:11 PM)
What's your opinion on these?
No idea on French wines, I don't buy them unless someone gives them to me. Only encounter was Chateau Lafite, which was really expensive but honestly I thought it was overated. I had better bottles of brunello di montalcino at less than 1/2 the prices.

I'm more familiar with Italian wines though.

Mikamita
post Jul 18 2012, 01:07 AM

QUOTE(TinyPumpkin @ Jul 17 2012, 02:36 PM)
I doubt you could sell your collection online.  Wine enthusiasts would want to look at the colour and condition before buying or if they buy online it would be from reputable sellers.  Since you have been keeping them for years why not just move them with you so that you could continue to indulge in this hobby in your new location?  Freight may be a bit more expensive but you may not be able to replace your collection at the same cost not to mention some vintages may be irreplaceable.

If your collection is too huge to be moved then try selling them to friends in your wine circle or drink up brows.gif
Can you direct me to which website I can sell my wine?

I have around 30 bottle collectible and around 50 bottle daily drinkable wine in my chiller...

TinyPumpkin
post Jul 18 2012, 03:45 PM

1,233 posts

QUOTE(Mikamita @ Jul 18 2012, 01:07 AM)
Can you direct me to which website I can sell my wine?

I have around 30 bottle collectible and around 50 bottle daily drinkable wine in my chiller...
You could try your luck here or mudah or mysimplifieds etc but I doubt you can sell. Like I said earlier just move them with you and enjoy with friends. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TinyPumpkin: Jul 18 2012, 03:52 PM
TinyPumpkin
post Jul 18 2012, 03:53 PM

1,233 posts

QUOTE(leo-chan @ Jul 17 2012, 05:13 PM)
No idea on French wines, I don't buy them unless someone gives them to me. Only encounter was Chateau Lafite, which was really expensive but honestly I thought it was overated.  I had better bottles of brunello di montalcino at less than 1/2 the prices.

I'm more familiar with Italian wines though.
Yes brunello is good rclxms.gif
Never tried lafite before; agreed it's over-priced thanks to China!

The wine consumers are moving to italian now since french are getting pricey.
icemanfx
post Jul 18 2012, 11:59 PM

21,456 posts

In blind wine tasting, most people prefer cheaper wine or can't tell the difference.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2011/apr...eap-plonk-taste
http://www.freakonomics.com/2008/07/16/cheap-wine/
http://www.wine-economics.org/workingpapers/AAWE_WP16.pdf

Some people claim wines from same type of grape but different region taste difference. Then how many people can tell the difference of D24 or D2 durian or watermelon from Johor and Pahang?

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 19 2012, 12:39 AM
leo-chan
post Jul 19 2012, 11:02 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jul 18 2012, 11:59 PM)
In blind wine tasting, most people prefer cheaper wine or can't tell the difference.
In my opinion, the palates of the general public aren't that fine tuned to discern the subtle nuances of fine vintages. Additionally, vineyards are making wines that are easier to drink young, rather than the handful that focus on vintages that drink well in 10-15 years. Obviously a case of business decisions... Some young drinking ones are actually quite good! I'm not a wine snob though...

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jul 18 2012, 11:59 PM)
Some people claim wines from same type of grape but different region taste difference. Then how many people can tell the difference of D24 or D2 durian or watermelon from Johor and Pahang?
In terms of regions I don't know but I can definitely tell the difference of a Sauvignon Blanc from let's say, New Zealand, Chile, and France apart from each other. I won't be able to identify where they come from, but I would be able to say with some confidence that they originate from different locations.

Sometimes it's also the style / methods / techniques used to manufacture the wine that make the difference.

I feel that the comparison to durians does not apply as durians are eaten as is without further manipulation by humans/machines (i.e. maceration, fermentation, bottling, etc).

My humble two cents... smile.gif

This post has been edited by leo-chan: Jul 19 2012, 11:04 AM
icemanfx
post Jul 19 2012, 11:30 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(leo-chan @ Jul 19 2012, 11:02 AM)
I feel that the comparison to durians does not apply as durians are eaten as is without further manipulation by humans/machines (i.e. maceration, fermentation, bottling, etc).

Agreed with you that maceration, fermentation, additive, etc play a major role in flavour but seldom mentioned by wine maker.

TinyPumpkin
post Jul 19 2012, 05:48 PM

1,233 posts

QUOTE(leo-chan @ Jul 19 2012, 11:02 AM)
In my opinion, the palates of the general public aren't that fine tuned to discern the subtle nuances of fine vintages.  Additionally, vineyards are making wines that are easier to drink young, rather than the handful that focus on vintages that drink well in 10-15 years.  Obviously a case of business decisions... Some young drinking ones are actually quite good! I'm not a wine snob though...

In terms of regions I don't know but I can definitely tell the difference of a Sauvignon Blanc from let's say, New Zealand, Chile, and France apart from each other. I won't be able to identify where they come from, but I would be able to say with some confidence that they originate from different locations.

Sometimes it's also the style / methods / techniques used to manufacture the wine that make the difference.

My hubby has a small wine group where they take turns holding blind tastings and I must say that a few of them are pretty good at identifying the wine. What they do is they focus on the 4S; see, swirl, smell, sip. They must have very good palate and also good memory otherwise won't be able to identify the wine when drinking a second time.

Durians can't be compared to wine as wine making involves skills. A good wine maker will produce a wine that can be kept for a long time. thumbup.gif
hinloong48
post Jul 24 2012, 03:45 AM

QUOTE(TinyPumpkin @ Jul 14 2012, 02:33 PM)
How about these Italiano? brows.gif
TIGNANELLO ANTINORI 08 IS A BETTER VINTAGE THEN 07.
leo-chan
post Jul 24 2012, 07:55 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(hinloong48 @ Jul 24 2012, 03:45 AM)
TIGNANELLO ANTINORI 08 IS A BETTER VINTAGE THEN 07.
Ya this has been established a few posts ago. Losing the caps also makes your post a little less offensive.
Alan
post Aug 5 2012, 07:55 PM

413 posts

Emm... Anybody tried chilean pinot noir before? Need some opinioin as seeing Cono Sur normal/reserva pinot noir getting good feedback.... the new zealand oyster bay pinot noir seems fried up to rm90 per bottle, quite expensive (to me)... icon_question.gif

TinyPumpkin
post Aug 22 2012, 12:21 AM

1,233 posts

QUOTE(Alan @ Aug 5 2012, 07:55 PM)
Emm... Anybody tried chilean pinot noir before? Need some opinioin as seeing Cono Sur normal/reserva pinot noir getting good feedback.... the new zealand oyster bay pinot noir seems fried up to rm90 per bottle, quite expensive (to me)... icon_question.gif
I'm not into pinot; just don't like the peculiar taste.

We just had some very good wines; courtesy of some friends. biggrin.gif
leo-chan
post Aug 22 2012, 12:28 AM

50 posts

Curious on the '62 chateau pinchon, did u need to decant it for a long time? I've never had wines older than 20 yrs old... Was it corked by the time you opened it?

Added on August 22, 2012, 12:30 am
QUOTE(Alan @ Aug 5 2012, 07:55 PM)

I had a couple of bottles of fantastic sauvignon blanc from marlborough over the weekend, from villa maria. They were fantastic! Dont know about reds from nz though...

This post has been edited by leo-chan: Aug 22 2012, 12:30 AM
zipZ
post Oct 3 2012, 11:01 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(TinyPumpkin @ Jul 19 2012, 05:48 PM)
My hubby has a small wine group where they take turns holding blind tastings and I must say that a few of them are pretty good at identifying the wine.  What they do is they focus on the 4S; see, swirl, smell, sip.  They must have very good palate and also good memory otherwise won't be able to identify the wine when drinking a second time.

Durians can't be compared to wine as wine making involves skills.  A good wine maker will produce a wine that can be kept for a long time. thumbup.gif
I can imagine it will be a great moment where all the wine lover sit down together and taste wine..I just started to learn about wine, how i wish i can join the wine group and learn together smile.gif

jackiewong
post Oct 4 2012, 11:41 AM

368 posts

only red wine?.. how about port wine?..
TSadriankhoo153
post Oct 4 2012, 03:44 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Just bought a 5 years old red wine at Yering Station in Yarra Valley.. Very nice. Love it. They gave us free tasting of various wine. Tasting until surrender lol.
orientstar
post Nov 9 2012, 11:06 AM

65 posts

Anyone know where can buy wines at reasonable price??
T_flash
post Nov 18 2012, 10:44 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(orientstar @ Nov 9 2012, 11:06 AM)
Anyone know where can buy wines at reasonable price??
I would like to know, too. Penfolds, or other 100rm+ australian wine
TinyPumpkin
post Nov 21 2012, 05:22 PM

1,233 posts

[quote=leo-chan,Aug 22 2012, 12:28 AM]
Curious on the '62 chateau pinchon, did u need to decant it for a long time? I've never had wines older than 20 yrs old... Was it corked by the time you opened it?

Sorry for the late reply.

The '62 pinchon lalande was beautiful. I know nothing about character...blah...blah...blah but this wine was very nice on the palatte. And no it was not corked. Lovely bouquet and very fine tannins. Bought in Singapore by a very generous friend who refused to divulge the price. tongue.gif
Alan
post Jan 2 2013, 01:41 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(leo-chan @ Aug 22 2012, 12:28 AM)
Curious on the '62 chateau pinchon, did u need to decant it for a long time?  I've never had wines older than 20 yrs old... Was it corked by the time you opened it?

Added on August 22, 2012, 12:30 amI had a couple of bottles of fantastic sauvignon blanc from marlborough over the weekend, from villa maria. They were fantastic! Dont know about reds from nz though...
Sauvignon blanc from marlborough quite well-known, pinot noir also nice to me due to the fine tannin, but one of the priciest (young drinking wine).
jackiewong
post Jan 3 2013, 02:49 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Alan @ Jan 2 2013, 01:41 PM)
Sauvignon blanc from marlborough quite well-known, pinot noir also nice to me due to the fine tannin, but one of the priciest (young drinking wine).
agree... sauvignon blanc from NZ is always my 1 of my favorite white wine due to it is more tropical than sauvignon blanc from other region .. riesling from germany also great..
shakiraa
post Feb 26 2013, 08:17 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

hi all - would like to ask, how long can i keep an un open wine? (riesling, icewine, chardonnay).

thanks!
Alan
post Feb 27 2013, 07:02 PM

413 posts

Depends on how u store it:
http://www.winespectator.com/webfeature/show/id/45577
freestyler87
post Oct 5 2017, 08:39 PM

377 posts

sorry to revive an old thread, may i know other than jaya grocer , gaint , aeon , tesco where else i can buy red wine with wide range? in Klang Valley,

hardly able to find Vasse Felix , Leeuwin Estate , Watershed , Voyager Estate , wine in malaysia... any recommended place to go and purchase?
SUSlowya
post Oct 5 2017, 08:54 PM

4,821 posts

Normally i just pick Shiraz Carbenet, but i like to drink red wine empty stomach before sleep, which wine suits best?
SUSlowya
post Oct 5 2017, 09:18 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(10996455 @ Oct 5 2017, 08:56 PM)
Mulled wine , thank me later
unable to find it from online store, where do you buy them usually? price range?
razorboy
post Oct 5 2017, 09:30 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Oct 5 2017, 08:39 PM)
sorry to revive an old thread, may i know other than jaya grocer , gaint , aeon , tesco where else i can buy red wine with wide range? in Klang Valley,

hardly able to find Vasse Felix , Leeuwin Estate , Watershed , Voyager Estate , wine in malaysia... any recommended place to go and purchase?
Cellar 18 @ Tropicana Avenue
patryn33
post Oct 6 2017, 06:43 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 5 2017, 09:18 PM)
unable to find it from online store, where do you buy them usually? price range?
there are recipes to make them
http://www.delish.com/holiday-recipes/than...d-wine/?slide=1
SUSlowya
post Oct 6 2017, 09:06 AM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 6 2017, 06:43 AM)
basically mulled wine diy = simmered dry red wine + spices/herb + fruit

kinda like Benedict DOM, price almost the same as mulled wine ~NZD25
freestyler87
post Oct 8 2017, 04:23 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 5 2017, 09:30 PM)
Cellar 18 @ Tropicana Avenue
i went there last friday, they only carry voyager... dont have vasse felix
Cookie_Tiger P
post Apr 17 2020, 05:03 PM

Probation

Hi guys, I am beginner as red wine drinker, any recommendations?
Prefer smooth and easy to drink.
Thank you.
hihihehe
post Apr 18 2020, 06:28 PM

13,783 posts

looking for online delivery for wine. any idea?
dickybird
post May 10 2020, 08:30 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Cookie_Tiger @ Apr 17 2020, 05:03 PM)
Hi guys, I am beginner as red wine drinker, any recommendations?Ā 
Thank you.
Jacobs Creek Classic Shiraz.
Cheap, smooth, fruity and peppery, not much tannins so your mouth doesn't feel like you just ate an unripe banana.

This post has been edited by dickybird: May 10 2020, 08:32 PM
KTCY
post May 29 2020, 12:39 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 18 2020, 06:28 PM)
looking for online delivery for wine. any idea?
Quite a lot available.

https://www.dtsons.com/
https://www.cellar18.com/

Ultimately can join this group on FB. They share alot of wine info.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/malaysiawineclub

Hearts
post Jul 3 2020, 01:00 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(Cookie_Tiger @ Apr 17 2020, 05:03 PM)
Hi guys, I am beginner as red wine drinker, any recommendations? 
Thank you.
I'd recommend starting from something light-medium bodied like a Merlot or Pinot Noir, if not enough kick then go Cab Sauv or Shiraz. Smooth depends on how tannic the wines are, so I think Pinot Noir would be a good choice for you.

Try the Bin 23 from Penfolds wink.gif
Chyan
post Oct 1 2020, 09:55 PM

4,221 posts

Any recommendations for a spirit drinker for around 60-80 range? I reckon he'd prefer the likes of Shiraz which is of mild to dry taste.

Thanks!
xanh P
post Oct 16 2020, 12:48 PM

Probation

everyone can try this wine https://xabeco.com/product/kool-nuoc-tao-len-men/
keithdx
post Aug 12 2022, 09:11 AM

Hey, we're a new Wine Business called Verona Wines.

Our Website: https://www.veronawines.com.my/

We import Wines from Italy as well as Australia. And have Selections from France, Chile, and Spain.

Additionally, we have Whiskeys / Gin / other Liquors as well.

Do check us out and if there's any questions - do feel free to let me know.

Cheers!
DurianSamurai
post Aug 12 2022, 10:45 AM

226 posts

Hate red wine. All for show only. No one really actually enjoy red wine. Todhi taste way better. Trust me
nihility
post Aug 12 2022, 04:03 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(DurianSamurai @ Aug 12 2022, 10:45 AM)
Hate red wine. All for show only. No one really actually enjoy red wine. Todhi taste way better. Trust me
Where you get your supply ? Not all places sell good Todhi, majority sell the todhi with sour / acidic taste already.

So far the Teluk Gong Coconut Flower Restorant's Todhi the best so far. Some ppl said Ulu Yam also got good todhi.
DurianSamurai
post Aug 15 2022, 08:06 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Aug 12 2022, 04:03 PM)
Where you get your supply ? Not all places sell good Todhi, majority sell the todhi with sour / acidic taste already.

So far the Teluk Gong Coconut Flower Restorant's Todhi the best so far. Some ppl said Ulu Yam also got good todhi.
Yes agree with you. Teluk gong ones are easy to drink and very refreshing without funny smell. Very aromatic instead. Great food to accompany it.

0.1174sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:11 PM