Nokia ☜♥☞ Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE" V4, VACANCY FOR THREAD STARTER V5, PM me!!

Hyde`fK
post Jan 11 2009, 03:42 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 11 2009, 03:36 PM)
my december maxis bill (data charges) was Rm50 bucks!!! used 5MB all together.  sweat.gif

a little strange because i used wifi most of the time, i thought wifi connection is FOC? no?
I think you might want to delete the Maxis destination point for internet access. Mine is DiGi and I deleted the diginet's, else eventhough you choose WiFi in the first place, if no connection, it will jump to use other destination point. I kena few RM because of this. sad.gif
Hyde`fK
post Jan 11 2009, 03:55 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Settings -> Connectivity -> Destinations -> Internet

Inside you should see other access points beside Wifi's if you previously set any. DiGi uses Diginet, Celcom and Maxis, not sure the name. Just delete it off if you think you will have no use for it.
Hyde`fK
post Jan 11 2009, 04:04 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 11 2009, 04:00 PM)
the thing is, i didnt connect it for GPS. purely wifi for surfing and msn.

i remember last time my data was charged when i surf using iPhone. there's one trick provided by the iPhone members, they said, asuming you're using Maxis, the access point - unet, just changed it to something different, eg. 1unet.

so we wouldn't be charge.
aww i need it for MMS purposes  unsure.gif
Maybe you can use WAP instead?

QUOTE(feimeng @ Jan 11 2009, 04:00 PM)
i'm not recommend to detele it because it helps a lot in fast positioning of GPS, and summore just need a few cents each time.
1 suggestion for u all to set ur connection as Always Ask instead of automatic
It's not the matter of the Always Ask or automatic actually. I choosed my office wifi, but because sometimes there's no internet connection, it will use other access points without telling you.

This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: Jan 11 2009, 04:04 PM
Hyde`fK
post Jan 11 2009, 04:16 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(feimeng @ Jan 11 2009, 04:11 PM)
huh?
mine will inform me whether i wan to connect to watever else

Added on January 11, 2009, 4:12 pm

maybe sum1 was curi using ur 5800 XD
First time connecting, yes, when first assigned access point has no internet connectivity in the midst of the application running need internet, it wont ask but automatically change to other access points based on the priority of access points.

When you go to the Destinations menu under Connectivity, you can see priority rank and can set which one to be the first, second, third and so on for available access points.

Added on January 11, 2009, 4:18 pm
QUOTE(ridzyroo @ Jan 11 2009, 04:14 PM)
well, it asked me when the wifi connection got dropped. It asked whether I wanted to use the Maxis 3G
Sometimes it will, sometimes it wont. Very sienz like that, I just deleted Diginet off the from the list. Those settings can be set up in the future so it's not really a big issue for me, futhermore I won't need it at all.

This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: Jan 11 2009, 04:18 PM
Hyde`fK
post Jan 11 2009, 04:22 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(feimeng @ Jan 11 2009, 04:19 PM)
oh, ya
then this is related to the app u're using oredi
some app r connecting to other AP without asking
yes, i forgot abt tis
Hmm, I guess very much could be the apps setting, else I can't think of other better explanations for it, which would pretty much leads to "phone problem". XD

Another case which I've mentioned about the ringtone, it uses the default one instead of the one you assigned, it is due to Handy Shell. I uninstalled it and I don't have such problem anymore. So for those using Handy Shell, mind take note if you have such problem?

This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: Jan 11 2009, 04:25 PM
Hyde`fK
post Jan 11 2009, 06:31 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Any application that can play .pls .asx files?

Basically its a playlist for online radio.

This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: Jan 11 2009, 06:32 PM
Hyde`fK
post Jan 12 2009, 12:14 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

For those who wish to try out the front camera, can try CameraFX, introduced by my friend, jye'n. biggrin.gif

http://www.wildpalm.co.uk/CameraFX.html
Hyde`fK
post Jan 12 2009, 12:14 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(mykpin88 @ Jan 12 2009, 12:13 PM)
any charges for msn if using wifi?
Totally free, unless you are using your telco's internet(GPRS,HSDPA etc).
Hyde`fK
post Jan 12 2009, 12:55 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

@pana

You have any application that works like WMP or Winamp, that can play online streaming music files? Go to www.di.fm and you know what I mean. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: Jan 12 2009, 01:01 PM
Hyde`fK
post Jan 12 2009, 01:02 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 12 2009, 01:00 PM)
none that i aware of, Hyde.

i try to use less data streaming now, scare scare kena charge extra jor.
Ok thanks.

BTW, about the CameraFX, I'm not sure if it can take photos using front camera or not. The one I'm using now is Chinese version but don't seem there's any option to take photos at all. If anyone is free to try it out now, please enlighten us. smile.gif

QUOTE(myghimh @ Jan 12 2009, 01:00 PM)
yup, i oso found this, but got any that is free tongue.gif or cough*cracked*cough
but hmm, still will find certificate error...
Yes, Uncle Google is always be with you. whistling.gif
Hyde`fK
post Jan 12 2009, 04:21 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

How much is the Skool SP with pre-cutted hole? I still have 4 pcs of SP left with me, but have to cut holes myself, and it get scratched quite easily.
Hyde`fK
post Jan 12 2009, 04:28 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(gaigene @ Jan 12 2009, 04:24 PM)
I bought mine at RM20 at LYP. But then I did not nego also. Heard someone got it for RM10.....
Ok. I will check it up with local stores here.

QUOTE(alextee1881 @ Jan 12 2009, 04:27 PM)
just bought the tube.....now bust xfering all the contact & messages....
Congrats, another Tubian. What color you've bought yourself?
Hyde`fK
post Jan 12 2009, 04:32 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(Veron83 @ Jan 12 2009, 04:29 PM)
remember to let us know if u know where to get... tongue.gif
Er.. I'm from Miri though. sweat.gif
Hyde`fK
post Jan 12 2009, 06:31 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Use your phone to login to http://wap.jbenchmark.com/ and see what your phone can do.

Or http://www.jbenchmark.com/tools.jsp to download independant installers. smile.gif

Have fun.
Hyde`fK
post Jan 12 2009, 07:39 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(jpaq @ Jan 12 2009, 07:16 PM)
Regarding the Mobile Paint app...

There are 4 .sis files inside the folder after i download... which one am i supposed to install and what the heck is the difference????? Can't  find this info anywhere in the text files?
Any will do, it's the same I guess.
Hyde`fK
post Jan 13 2009, 04:01 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

I'm a previous Omnia user before moving to Tube. I dare to say, 5800XM kicks Omnia's touch screen, in terms of colors, resolution and touch sensitivity.
Hyde`fK
post Jan 14 2009, 10:54 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(hvaly @ Jan 14 2009, 10:35 AM)
just one finding, if anyone need a quick soft reboot,
use dialer and dial 5** (then dial very fast), the tube will reboot ^^

a good way to free ur 5800 ram
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 14 2009, 10:42 AM)
wow what a finding! biggrin.gif

yeah tested, it works. it turned off my handy shell too. lol.
Er how to do it?
Hyde`fK
post Jan 14 2009, 11:07 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(freeman1314 @ Jan 14 2009, 11:06 AM)
5** or 5*+  ??
I press * twice will become +
LOL same. Even if I dial 5**, nothing happens.
Hyde`fK
post Jan 14 2009, 11:14 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Shucks. Doesn't seems to work. Tried using the touchscren dial and even dial button. It will just call.
Hyde`fK
post Jan 14 2009, 11:22 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 14 2009, 11:16 AM)
oh. that's what i read also!

apparently this method doesn't work on EVERY nokia 5800. i oso dunno why.
Aiseh, nvm. Not really important. Can use 3rd party application to soft reset as well. biggrin.gif

Added on January 14, 2009, 11:23 am
QUOTE(xtrifor @ Jan 14 2009, 11:22 AM)
Just dial it very2 fast laio... press 5** + dial in 0.1 sec. it works for me!
When you press * two times fast, doesn't it change to +? If you see your dial pad, there's */+.

This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: Jan 14 2009, 11:23 AM

0.0216sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:31 PM