Nokia ☜♥☞ Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE" V4, VACANCY FOR THREAD STARTER V5, PM me!!

Clavicus
post Jan 10 2009, 09:42 PM

765 posts

Is the light leakage really that serious? Its pure aesthetics, innit? Mine has a little here and there but i dont find it annoying at all. Not like i look at the edges of my phone every day. Slap one one of those silicone casings and tadah!

Speaking of silicone casings, kindly report any sightings of them if you happen to stumble upon any, please?
Clavicus
post Jan 10 2009, 09:48 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 10 2009, 09:43 PM)
here and there? wow so much ka?

mine only on top right corner. a bit only la. doesnt bother me either.
Eh eh eh, the leakage you guys mean is from the edge of the screen (as in, when your eyes are almost on the same plane of the screen) or from the enclosure itself? If enclosure then no problem ler.. Just abit of backlight leakage at the top and the side.
Clavicus
post Jan 10 2009, 09:53 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(greghouse @ Jan 10 2009, 09:48 PM)
Hey ppl,

So is anybody having any problems with their 5800 other than the earpiece volume matter?

Checked out the price at Pyramid recently. They're selling the Avaxx set for RM1320. Bundled with the 8gb card but forgot to ask about the 1000 free songs. Lol.

Then I asked the Nokia shop about the earpiece prob and he said the units selling now are alright. Nokia is selling it for RM1499 tho.

So I'm wondering whether to get the RM1320 and risk having the earpiece problem because it might be from the first batch, or just get the RM1499.
If you are willing to send it to the service centre, then get the cheaper priced one. Thats what i'd do. No guarantees that the ones Nokia has are problem free anyway. Salesmen can promise you the sky when they are trying to close a deal. In the end, if any issues arise, you would still have to send it in to Nokia Care. Not like you'd get royal treatment cuz you paid a premium anyway..
Clavicus
post Jan 11 2009, 09:24 AM

765 posts

Wallpapers, peeps, wallpapers!

Some have been posted before, but its a treasure trove down there *glee*
Clavicus
post Jan 11 2009, 06:43 PM

765 posts

Send in for repair, duh. Why the hell else would Nokia give you warranty for? Decor?

OR DIY it, if you got the guts. Instructions on first page of this thread.

This post has been edited by Clavicus: Jan 11 2009, 06:43 PM
Clavicus
post Jan 11 2009, 08:44 PM

765 posts

Supply and demand la bro. Ppl ask, so he upload la. Each fellar has his (or her, *hinthint*) own taste. Good to repost also now the hype has died down. I didnt even know that wallpaper pack was posted with the tsunami of posts crashing in in v3.

Aaaaaanyway, so much for buying lottery. My tube has the earpiece problem edi. So, are the showrooms NCCs (like the one in Pyramid) or do i have to go to some specific location? What's the closest i can get? I'm from Shah Alam.
Clavicus
post Jan 12 2009, 03:38 PM

765 posts

Novacell is selling those plain silicone cases for 10 bucks a pop. But do be warned tho, there is

- no access to your stylus (how the hell did they miss this beats me.)
- no ports for your speakers, so audio might be a little muffled

The three hard keys are covered, but its fine by me. Just a heads up.

All in all, its pretty shitty. I only got it because i got fedup of yanking my tube out every time, especially when there's a call. You know la how impatient some people can get tongue.gif

I asked about SP, they said 2-3 more weeks. Take with a pinch of salt.
Clavicus
post Jan 12 2009, 06:20 PM

765 posts

Eh, some fellar posted before about Skool protector being sold in Pyra methinks. More precise please? Btw, the Nokia in Pyra is NCC ka? I'm going there tomorrow, so i thought, what the heck, might as well get my earpiece fixed. Do i need to bring anything?
Clavicus
post Jan 14 2009, 02:37 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(zbard @ Jan 14 2009, 02:31 PM)
just bough for 2 days for about rm1490 and already got problem...earpice problem and screen goes blank when making/receiving call...now at ncc pekeliling...such a disappointment... sad.gif
asdf lar. FFS, the screen goes blank is due to the proximity sensor disabling the screen when its pressed near your face (or whatever else you use to make calls with). Saves battery + prevents accidental key presses. The earpiece problem... get it fixed at ncc and get over it. Its been highlighted in the forums for 13978234034 times already that this is a 5800 flaw.
Clavicus
post Jan 15 2009, 10:42 PM

765 posts

Weird. I can convert movies or series into 5800-compatible format with HandBrake or Mediacoder, but i cant seem to get low reso videos to work with it. For example, a downloaded youtube video cant be converted to play in my tube. There'll be a error message saying that unable to play, and smth about playing it partially, then it ends up with audio only.

Is this a resolution problem?
Clavicus
post Jan 16 2009, 06:43 AM

765 posts

QUOTE(vo0de3_x | oum@n @ Jan 15 2009, 10:45 PM)
u can try follow page 1 format to convert ? so far i got no problem biggrin.gif
Other stuff like movies can lah. Even series like Prison Break also can. But its those downloaded stuff from youtube that dont work. Even when i convert the .flv file to .avi before converting in HandBrake, the same error still occurs. I cant use the built in RealPlayer to watch and download youtube vids as i have that rtsp router problem too.

0.0410sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:25 AM