Nokia ☜♥☞ Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE" V4, VACANCY FOR THREAD STARTER V5, PM me!!

tunertoobe
post Jan 12 2009, 10:49 PM

9,309 posts

Guys, I'm an avid SMSer. How fast would you say the touch response is? Say if I use the number keypad instead of the QWERTY, is the speed as normal or there's slight lag when I tap it a few times to reach a certain letter. Would I be able to outrun the processor by a few letters or can it keep up??
tunertoobe
post Jan 12 2009, 11:05 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(hvaly @ Jan 12 2009, 10:52 PM)
almost no visible lag when using virtual keypad. just negligible lag with predictive text on+ Chinese hand writing  icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(ridzyroo @ Jan 12 2009, 10:54 PM)
there is no lag as far as i can tell...the qwerty keyboard is easy to use and much nicer than the T9 interface...but the T9 interface is quite fast too but you must remember to lift ur finger a bit before pressing again...

Added on January 12, 2009, 10:56 pm

i realised that the end of the plectrum is a bit sharp compared to the stylus...

i think its cause of the way its made...

there will be some "baki" at the edge of the thing...

u can feel the sharpness if u go against the plectrum really hard with ur thumb
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Jan 12 2009, 10:56 PM)
I am a frequent sms'er also and my phones have to have the ability to sms according to my comfort. The 5800 took me by surprise when i was able to sms easily.
Sometimes there is a slight lag i dont think the processor will be able to follow you if you were VERY fast lol.
I use the dictionary to sms and it does perfectly.
but you havta look at the screen and sms thow....
I don't use predictive text. And yes, with a virtual keypad it's a bit weird not be able to feel bumps and clicks normally found with a physical keypad. I use different parts of my thumb sometimes to text. Probably have to change habit since the roll of the thumb can lead to different keys pressed.
So thx guys, good to hear there's little lag. Or else malu only use phone canggih2 but SMS very slow. sweat.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 12 2009, 11:10 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 12 2009, 11:07 PM)
for me, its responsive, u also can set ur typing speed that Tube can capture at either normal, fast, slow, or very fast
Oh, got that setting as well. biggrin.gif
And like Bigblock said, hafta look screen.
I wonder if we'll be able to train ourselves to position our thumb to position itself correctly to a certain key without looking? hmm.gif Me smell experiment. laugh.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 12 2009, 11:28 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 12 2009, 11:16 PM)
im trying dis 2-3 days but it seems cannot yet. haha. still have to looks
Give it a go for few more days la. Hehe. brows.gif

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Jan 12 2009, 11:19 PM)
Well i havta look at the screen different people have different styles during smsing.
But i type really fast, sometimes it cant catch my speed brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
That's why I ask the responsiveness. I was afraid that my friends would note the lag if I use this phone. But since it's quite responsive, okay la.

Added on January 12, 2009, 11:30 pm
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Jan 12 2009, 11:24 PM)
To tell you the truth i wanted this 5800 for fun as in my primary goal was to get a N85 at first because i assumed the touch-pad might not work somehow due to my previous experience with my HP pda's.All i can say is the 5800 re-defined everything what a touch touch screen phone can do. heck i even disliked smsing when i was using the iphone. Different people different preferences thow bro.
Some might like when others dislike smile.gif
All i can say is i quit going for the N85.... smile.gif
Too bad it's not multi touch though.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 12 2009, 11:30 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 12 2009, 11:49 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(mthc @ Jan 12 2009, 11:47 PM)
Yeah. Just bought it 2 hours ago. Its so fking nice. Its so value for the money. RM 1499 @ Nokia. 12 months 0% interest Maybank's installment.
Can also do this ka? Didn't know oh!! doh.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 12 2009, 11:53 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(ridzyroo @ Jan 12 2009, 11:51 PM)
at nokia Ori shop mah...of course can do things like that...oh well, u can always do it with ur second nokia 5800 =p
Haven't bought one yet. laugh.gif
I'll tell my dad right after he comes back from KL. laugh.gif

Wait let me get this ctraight. I know the definition of installments. So this means, pay bit by bit over time??

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 12 2009, 11:54 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 12 2009, 11:55 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(ridzyroo @ Jan 12 2009, 11:53 PM)
are you talking about the one with password? if not, then use the thing on the right in between the camera and volume buttons

Added on January 12, 2009, 11:54 pm

your FIRST 5800 then =p
Good news then. Coz I used up my savings for a new phone to pay other stuff a few days back. dry.gif
Thx ridzy, needed that just to clear my mind. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 12 2009, 11:56 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 13 2009, 10:09 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(borneosailor @ Jan 13 2009, 10:04 PM)
miss pana! add me, RED tube user here!!! zitron set, rm1350, centre point, kota kinabalu

huhuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!!!!!!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Haha, saw that deal there. laugh.gif
Tak lama lagi tak lama lagi tak lama lagi.......
tunertoobe
post Jan 14 2009, 04:29 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Jan 14 2009, 04:26 PM)
the qwerty of this phone dont really serve me. i use alphanumeric keypad instead.  blush.gif
Any of you tried SMSing with the stylus? tongue.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 14 2009, 05:04 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(davidlian @ Jan 14 2009, 04:31 PM)
Yes. And I'm sticking to my alphanumeric keypad thank you. smile.gif
Hehe. Even from the videos I've seen it looks annoying. laugh.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 14 2009, 05:09 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(davidlian @ Jan 14 2009, 05:07 PM)
Really? Nah.... just treat it like a regular phone lah.
I tend to write in "berangkai" when I want to write fast. And I'm impatient when it comes to replying or sending messages. laugh.gif

I dunno wether the phone is smart enough to recognize my ever changing handwriting styles.
tunertoobe
post Jan 14 2009, 06:07 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(ridzyroo @ Jan 14 2009, 06:04 PM)
gotta love the bass on this thing...i have one too =p
How much do you think for a bluetooth version?
tunertoobe
post Jan 14 2009, 06:30 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(ridzyroo @ Jan 14 2009, 06:10 PM)
i think i heard 399 from somewhere...i hate bluetooth headphones...i had a pair...creative ones...costed 460 i think...ended up getting my money back cause i replaced it with a new one every time cause the left speaker kept malfunctioning...and it looks just like the one nokia is selling...so be-aware...
Thx for the heads up! biggrin.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 14 2009, 06:31 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Jan 14 2009, 06:30 PM)
Phone ada masalah sekali lagi. dry.gif
We're listening.
Reading's more like it...

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 14 2009, 06:31 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 14 2009, 07:29 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Jan 14 2009, 07:00 PM)
Hey toobie, long time no see. biggrin.gif
Speaker problem again. This is the second time masuk hospital. doh.gif
Hey. biggrin.gif
Dude I was thinking of getting the blue one. Probably end of this month or early Feb.
2nd earpiece prob? Same volume prob, where the contact isn't good or a new problem?
tunertoobe
post Jan 14 2009, 07:34 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(NIckLJF @ Jan 14 2009, 07:31 PM)
I hate this thread and you people for poisoning me so bad that I went to get this phone this afternoon  tongue.gif

As an revenge act, I shall let you all envy me lol (if anyone is bothered)

I got a Zitron set at RM1300 =) cool.gif
F***!!!!!!!!!!
Where!!!?? shocking.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 14 2009, 08:48 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(NIckLJF @ Jan 14 2009, 07:36 PM)
believe it or not, from a shop in Sungai Wang

They asked me to sing up for Digi Postpaid which will mean I have to pay RM 30 for the first month and can cancel it after that. Confirmed with Digi.

Total is RM1330 for a Zitron set + Skool screen protector.
Owh IC.
We were just talking about that at dinner just now. He did say at Sungai Wang he found it at RM1300.
The whole family is under DiGi Postpaid for close to a year now. tongue.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 15 2009, 05:08 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Jan 14 2009, 09:21 PM)
Long time no chat. How's things over at FnF? biggrin.gif

My advice would be to wait for the phones to be problem-free first. Yup, it's the 2nd time the earpiece is having the same issues. smile.gif
Same contact problem? How can an easily repairable physical problem occur twice?
Like breaking your bones twice at the exact same spot. Still within warranty though so that's good. I think the NCC screwed up the first time.
I'm not as active anymore at FnF. Only to ask solutions for probs with cars or general chatting when I'm bored.

I've read the reviews from gsmarena. Made me think twice about the phone. But then I said to myself, what the heck. laugh.gif
Nokia is doing at least one thing right, making touchscreen affordable to the mass market.
Touchscreen was one of those technologies that were only available for the high end market consumers. Now I can see almost everyone owning touchscreen phones in the next 20 years or so.
tunertoobe
post Jan 15 2009, 06:16 PM

9,309 posts

The colour that the camera produces isn't really to my liking.
tunertoobe
post Jan 15 2009, 08:33 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jan 15 2009, 08:30 PM)
problem: your screen protector
Ya.
Bright lights can do that also. Bright lights can interfere with the infrared emitted by the proximity sensor. That's why the screen goes blank under bright lights.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0474sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:17 AM