Jude of Head-Fi posts Senn HD-800 short review, from 2009 CES.

sep90
post Jan 8 2009, 12:03 PM

2,137 posts

wah that was fast
somebody aledi snapped photos of it at CES
now can it beat ed9 or surpassed the previous successor hd600 and hd650? hmm.gif
eh 3 pin xlr detachable cables? drool.gif damm the cable signal should be good.......
omg it is definetly upgradeable ......and the possibly is huge.......
damm i wan to get it 1st or auction it 1st......

This post has been edited by sep90: Jan 8 2009, 12:08 PM
sep90
post Jan 8 2009, 12:25 PM

2,137 posts

hmm i think i can get hold of it biggrin.gif
had to ask my friends and members to get it for me for impression and for gathering
most probably after cny
jus wait..
sep90
post Jan 8 2009, 02:57 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Jan 8 2009, 02:29 PM)
remind me of sony SA-5000
dun worry biggrin.gif
if i like the sound....and well i will fully mod it again like my hd650 again tongue.gif
hmmm let me c headband strap to titanuim ...leathers pads like omega II....cables to .......and wat else? tongue.gif
i think need to change to housing to wooden.......customized and fit to pair....
so many possibliltilies... hmm.gif
sep90
post Jan 9 2009, 12:39 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 8 2009, 09:25 PM)
1399.95 on Amazon.com

Where are you getting 3pin XLR news? Haha.
well i remember reading it in headfi there some of members mentioned cables detachable and 3 pin xlr like akg 702..... blink.gif not sure hmm.gif
anyway need to audit it 1st and check the build quality and c that it has upgrade potential or not .........
hmm senwoody hd800 yum yum thumbup.gif
sep90
post Jan 9 2009, 12:23 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 9 2009, 02:17 AM)
don't be silly to wood it. That would damage all the acoustics. Would you woody a L3000? or for that matter the Qualia 010? This is in the same vein.

Added on January 9, 2009, 5:02 amThe server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later. <Head-Fi>
lol biggrin.gif
jus a suggestion haha too exp wor for a piece of masterpiece biggrin.gif
hmm mostly only the cables i will change after all it looks very interesting to me
very futuristic and hopefully it can reign in top of vintage headphones like akg 1k and L3000 .....or sony ra10..
jus got news bout the cables...silver plated OFC cables......aisek man! hmm.gif why they use a mid entry level cables for a very good headphones?

This post has been edited by sep90: Jan 9 2009, 12:33 PM

sep90
post Jan 9 2009, 09:50 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 9 2009, 09:27 PM)
thanks bro this make my search easily biggrin.gif
ehh? 2 pin round connectors hmm.gif
better now go search for connectors as well for the cables for it hmmm decision decision .....
sep90
post Jan 9 2009, 10:13 PM

2,137 posts

hmm tyle from headroom did the 1st impression
he is 1 picky fella bout headphones and say hd800 even can rival to omega II and sony r10....
i guess if i get this hd800 maybe be the end of the road for me....... biggrin.gif
sep90
post Jan 10 2009, 06:00 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 10 2009, 11:42 AM)
It looks that way for many.

I'm holding my breath though. I had high hopes for the GS1k but was terribly disappointed on first listen.

Somehow this -really- seems to be something else.
anyway i jus waiting for the price to drop....and i wan to c ppl like Justin, Ray Samuels or Meier to audit or maybe Six Moon as well, they r more than trustworthy source....and i think they able to find a blind spot for this legendary headset...
well Jude and Tyle r the big man in headfi mentioned the weakness of all the greatest headphones they heard b4
but only thing they couldnt find any weakness bout hd800....suprisingly Tyle used only his ipod with idock station and Benchmark headamp section to hear it.......dunno he was exaggerating or wat sweat.gif
if other audiophile like u with b22 or super high end stuff i think HD800 able to dethrone omegas II and sony r10......and well u dun need to spend a bomb on the amp well only get a balanced xlr cable .....then finish.... hmm.gif
decision decision .....
sep90
post Jan 10 2009, 09:30 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 10 2009, 06:48 PM)
soundstage + sennheiser sound is what I want/need.

I was really uncomfortable with having to make a decision between the K1000 and the HD600. If I could, I wouldn't have sold the K1000.

I was really liking the K1000's soundstage but it was lacking the fullness of the HD600. The HD600 lacked the detail and soundstage of the K1000.

The HD800 seems to get these spot on for me. I will have to hear them to be sure.
after u had it recable to xlr for yur hd600 still cannot compare to k1000?
most sens benefit much from xlr if i may say so
heard my friends can's hd650 xlr balanced is a different beast from former shadow
the soundstage is way beyond.....
sep90
post Jan 11 2009, 08:58 PM

2,137 posts

look like stefan aledi came out with cables for hd800 biggrin.gif
well the price is legendary as well....
http://stefanaudioart.com/Voice%20HD800%20...le%20Ended.html

sep90
post Jan 11 2009, 10:33 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 11 2009, 09:57 PM)
fking rip off. I'm sure APS and Moon Audio can do the HD800 at their current price of 300
nah i get it diy by 1 of my friends who did the cables for my modded hd650
fair price and i only pay him for the cables and plugs biggrin.gif

sep90
post Jan 12 2009, 12:13 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 11 2009, 10:54 PM)
Yesh, what cables are you interested in.

I've always been curious about their individual proprietary blends.
well i got source for UP-OCC or CP-OCC cables here OCC cables as well
i dun like other cable like tfl or ofc....they make my music sound flat and boring not clean the source and somehow choking the sound signature
for good example hd600 and hd650 using tfl cables.... laidback,muddy,veilly and bass bloated...i sure u noticed it with yur hd600 still lacking the dynamics
UP-OCC = Ultra Pure Ohno Continous Casting = charactestic warm,detail,dynamics and very transparent = silver or copper element or hybrid,pure 99.99998% Unicrystal OCC Ohno Continous Casting method with teflon tubing
PC-OCC=Pure Crystal Ohno Continous Casting same as above but different naming however also developed by Proffesor Ohno from Japan
here is a review bout the cables from 10 audio
http://www.10audio.com/5_balanced_cables.htm
sep90
post Jan 12 2009, 01:32 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 12 2009, 01:15 AM)
the problem with most of these cables is that they don't come in the quad wiring.

The Mogami 2534 does (Neglex, I believe) and is the one I'm using.

There's also a Vampire cable with 4 wires and of course the cheaper Canare Starquad.
i got canare starquad as well my first try with it lol biggrin.gif
mogami is very good cable and vampire as well
they r not stress free for that the dissadvantages of it...
i also afraid to bend my cables or damage it sweat.gif
well it is a give or take thing unless u send it for cryogenix....unless u get the nordost cable for it.....
sep90
post Jan 12 2009, 09:57 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 12 2009, 01:41 AM)
huh, you're very keen on throwing brand names eh?

The APS and Moon Audio cable is more flexible than my current Neglex. The Neglex is a microphone cable which need not be flexible on stage performance applications.

However, it is a known fact that their cables are not shielded. They claim that their braiding technique allows them not to use shielding. But ionno.
brand names lol
well jus teasing u onli lol biggrin.gif
anyway i need to hear whether it worth the price or not
some how i think braiding also help reduce electrical interference and make it more durable and less microphonics
laugh.gif well is their techniques we r consumer onli can guess afterall

This post has been edited by sep90: Jan 12 2009, 10:50 AM
sep90
post Jan 12 2009, 02:58 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 12 2009, 11:30 AM)
I'm not so gullible to pay $1400 for cables that potentially could cost more than the headphones.

Who are they kidding really.
lol snake oil cables......
those ang moh really $$$$ minded excuse me but it is way overpriced....for a gold or platinum coated or wat ever cables...
well i think the best budget cables would be APS or Moon Audio..fair,good and afforable...at the price well usd 280 to 300 with balanced xlr about 1.2m
260 with furutech single end plug...same length..well not including shipping fee wise...
btw r u coming back to msia for cny ?

This post has been edited by sep90: Jan 12 2009, 03:11 PM
sep90
post Jan 13 2009, 11:47 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 13 2009, 10:19 PM)
Nope, not gonna be home for CNY. Never will.

Besides, I never bring my audio home anyway. smile.gif
looks like i need to pay u a visit soon biggrin.gif
let me c 1st biggrin.gif
sep90
post Jan 14 2009, 04:09 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 14 2009, 03:20 AM)
You coming to UK? I only have the HD600 now. The K1000 has been sold.
maybe now sterling r dropping like mad and let c that i can get 3 weeks holiday after cny..not sure yet...
if i coming mostly 3 days or 2 days earlier i will inform u biggrin.gif
i not interested in yur k1000 ler...i heard it b4 at my friend's place and his amp still cannot fully drive it yet....wooaudio somemore.... doh.gif
i am eyeing on yur b22....and i will bring all my freaking cans to yur place to try it out.... thumbup.gif

sep90
post Jan 15 2009, 02:47 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 15 2009, 12:26 AM)
If it was the Woo5 it definitely would drive the K1000 to sweet levels.

You can bring your cans, no probs. Don't know if it's a good idea to bring them travelling with you though. I'd like to re-hear tha AKG K701. I've never heard the DT880 or the HD650 properly.
re hear the akgs? sweat.gif well u formerly got the k1000 so i think the soundsignature is bout the same...only it is earspeaker... biggrin.gif
well i am wondering if U.K. custom let me carry it in my handluggage ?
sep90
post Jan 16 2009, 09:49 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(icyfawkes @ Jan 16 2009, 08:18 AM)
if this headphones werent that exp i would have considered...zzz...senh are really audio vampires...
well u better dun play with headset 1st
they more than audio vampires.........

0.0254sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:58 AM