English Clubs Arsenal Street Talk, Awaiting for Arshavin - ARS 0-0 WHU

skod
post Jan 17 2009, 03:42 AM

1,038 posts

QUOTE(sakaito @ Jan 17 2009, 03:38 AM)
ok ok...

let's see... hypothetically speaking... say if ManCity come knocking on our doors for Cesc with say 120million... u think AW will sell or not? if u are the board, will u sell?

come come.... need more popcorn here! ehehe solstice, gimme some...
nope. he didnt even use the transfer fund given, why should he makes more money n giveaway our best asset? not gonna happen hmm.gif

and hull..mu loan striker already signed right? dunno about permit..think havent got it yet
Apis_LuaLua
post Jan 17 2009, 03:48 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

yes.. still not get yet.. but it must be no big issue..
youloong118
post Jan 17 2009, 06:13 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Jan 17 2009, 03:48 AM)
yes.. still not get yet.. but it must be no big issue..
Mu Loan striker signed ..
his name is

Manucho

So what ..
we still can win them

This post has been edited by youloong118: Jan 17 2009, 06:14 AM
aladdin
post Jan 17 2009, 07:49 AM

True Love Never Runs Smooth
4,346 posts

ok ok...

let's see... hypothetically speaking... say if ManCity come knocking on our doors for Cesc with say 120million... u think AW will sell or not? if u are the board, will u sell?

if i am AW/Arsenal manager, surely i will sell him. No doubt. MILK manC gaogao 1st. The board has refused AW's transfer kit. And if such an offer comes in, i cant see the board will reject. Their purpose of running this club is because of the $$. As long as their pocket is full, they will be happy, vice versa, if ask them fork out money from their pocket, it is very hard
niuchin
post Jan 17 2009, 08:34 AM

98 posts

ok ok...

I doubt it

Is Arsenal deep in debt?
Is City Cesc preference or RM if he goes?
Will AW part with his capt. ?

chronic_blade
post Jan 17 2009, 08:49 AM

1,099 posts

*tears of joy*... finally finish my paper.... fuuh... lack of sleep the past couple of days... what to do...brought it upon myself...last minute work.. i never learn =P

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Jan 16 2009, 01:50 PM)
I still remember Geovanni's long shot that scored against us vmad.gif
I still remember BENTLEY's longshot... THAT ONE.... lagi la..... (great goal, but doesn't make him good, fluke goal tho a nice one hehee not gonna get one like that again (okok i stop being sour grapes =P )

QUOTE(kaka91 @ Jan 16 2009, 07:43 PM)
yep.. next wednesday. if u guys dont see me around here anymore, i think u can guess my results..hehe
Because your results too good they fly you out straight to cambridge here? =D

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 16 2009, 09:53 PM)
OT: Selling popcorns...Selling soft drinks... Selling beer...

Anyway, the Upson guy linked with u guys earlier is linked with us now...

I bet his agent is behind the scene for all this...
Mate, i'll have a pint of strongbows or bulmers! (apple cider beer yum!) some big fat english chips to go with it...

QUOTE(Casanova88 @ Jan 16 2009, 10:06 PM)

Added on January 16, 2009, 10:12 pm
But this is not a true champions performance!
Ok i wanna pick up on this point... i find this real interesting, it's been like a month or 2 now (bar the chelsea game) man utd has been drawing games 1-0, pulling out goals from last minute and the media calls them champions elect for grinding out victories. Liverpool has been doing this for most of this season and they're on top. When we're winning ugly and grinding it out shouldn't we have that "champions elect/champions luck" as well ?

All man utd's games have been less than convincing really.. i was even falling asleep during the man utd chelsea match despite the goals.. it wasn't like man utd was all over them anyways, still i will not take it away, a good victory and hats off to a game that could be 5-0. (interesting corner taking too, my friend noted that roma did it couple years back, perhaps man utd picked it up when they played roma ? hehe , and it seems alot of ppl in england tried it before- in casual sunday football games that is)

anyways hull's gonna have a go at us at home this weekend, i hope our defense and midfield know what they have to do and roll up their sleeves, considering our situation with injuries and form, im happy to grind out victories until we find our form and get injured players back, An improved performance from the boltons, portsmouth, villa games would be great not expecting much but still anticipating the match eagerly...felt so long since the last match.

If you wanna face it, we are not champion's and should not be expected to put up champions display esp with this kind of situation now. We are ambitious yes, but we're realistic, we're not going to say "we're going to jump to the moon" because we are ambitious, lets be realistic about it. Hopeful and expectation is 2 different things as well lets remember..

consider this... given our poor form... playing like "crap" for most of the season, players out, lack of quality etc etc.. and to be 8 pts off the leaders? i'll take it!! The league is as tight as ever, i think we're hitting a plateau for a moment, and the other clubs even other divisions are notching up. Think of it as ppl now shaping up their scouting systems.. last time it used to be only arsenal, now alot of clubs spend alot on their scouting network, it is said you'll prolly get 10-15 scouts at a game even a lower key league one.. Thats how much reality has changed. It'll take a breakthrough to push the performance boundaries again. AW came and brought about the last breakthrough (if you don't count sugar daddys as breakthroughs) with his sports science and scienticfic obesesion and scouting policys.
paulhon
post Jan 17 2009, 10:43 AM

180 posts

As we all know that AW has fund to spend but he is very cautions in doing that because he studied economy b4...so he know what is best for the club and he will not make Arsenal like Leeds United.....Arsenal is not a place for star players, Arsenal is a place for developing star players rclxms.gif s....
Mie
post Jan 17 2009, 11:46 AM

GOONER
1,718 posts

i hate to see arsene once again said that players that will come back from injuries is like a new signing. pfft =P i will not fall for that haha
but i don't mind if we didn't sign anyone after january transfer, though.
after all, we got a lot of promising youth players, we can promote them cautiously to the first team since we lost so many players through injuries.

p/s: arsene statement above, it seems like every season we'll have one. =P

sigheart
post Jan 17 2009, 01:31 PM

The Ultimate Driving Machine
1,442 posts

ok ok...

I'd say Wenger or the board would be stupid not to sell. Whether Cesc will leave for Man City is another matter. 120m for a single player is just plain ridiculous in epic proportions, no player is worth that kind of money. Not even Cesc.

QUOTE(skod @ Jan 17 2009, 03:42 AM)
nope. he didnt even use the transfer fund given, why should he makes more money n giveaway our best asset? not gonna happen hmm.gif

and hull..mu loan striker already signed right? dunno about permit..think havent got it yet
Bro best asset or not it would be crazy to turn down a 120m offer. Imagine who we could buy with 120m.

For example with 120m we could get: (Below is clearly for fun and example purposes.)

10m for Yaya Toure
30m for David Silva
30m for David Villa
15m for Cristian Zapata

The rest totalling 35 million into the stadium fund and wage bill.

We will have a lineup like this assuming all stays fit:

---------------Almunia-----------------

Sagna-----Toure----Zapata-----Clichy

-----------------Yaya--------------------

Walcott---------Nasri-------------Silva

-------------Villa-----Van P------------

Stronger if we don't sell Cesc or if we sell Cesc ?

This post has been edited by sigheart: Jan 17 2009, 03:42 PM
joesex
post Jan 17 2009, 02:06 PM

whyy arshavin, he's 28 and for 20m its not worth it. he might be really good in the russian league, but he might be shyte in the premier league.
i'd look into someone like arteta.
Nostalgia
post Jan 17 2009, 02:24 PM

2,878 posts

A quick update on the Arshavin saga:

Arsenal closer to sealing the deal for Arshavin

Arsenal's tactical manoeuvres to capture the Zenit St Petersburg midfielder Andrei Arshavin appear to be approaching their end game, with officials from the player's current club inviting Emirates representatives to Russia to discuss details.

"Zenit have invited Arsenal officials to St Petersburg next Tuesday," Alexei Petrov, a club spokesman, said."This is to show that Zenit do want to find an option which will be acceptable for everyone."

Zenit turned down Arsenal's initial bid of £10m for Arshavin last week but remain keen to seal a deal thought to be closer to the £12m mark. The Arsenal manager Arsène Wenger has repeatedly stressed his club's determination to live within realistic financial means before and during the ­ ­current transfer window.

A key figure in Arsenal's pursuit of the Euro 2008 star appears to be the Gunners' majority shareholder, the Russian billionaire Alisher Usmanov. Zenit are owned by the Russian energy giants Gazprom and Usmanov is chairman of Gazprom­investholding, the company which manages its international investments. It is believed that Arsenal's chief executive, Ivan Gazidis, will travel to Zenit's home city to carry out negotiations on the Usmanov-brokered deal.

Wenger, meanwhile, needs Emmanuel Adebayor to regain the goalscoring form he demonstrated last season, as Arsenal travel to Hull not yet having erased the memory of their ealry-season home defeat to this evening's opponents.

"What is important is that he works hard and contributes to the team," Wenger said. "If he opens the way for other players [to score] for me it is the same."

Wenger promises to treat Hull more seriously this time around. "I feel that on the day we were just not cautious enough. We were a bit too cavalier. It was a big blow because if we'd won that game, we would have been top. They were a complete ­surprise package."

Guardian UK

The 2nd blue text caught my attention. I wasn't aware that we were using Alisher's "expertise" in this negotiation? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Nostalgia: Jan 17 2009, 02:26 PM
Quick`
post Jan 17 2009, 02:28 PM

735 posts

i second sieghart comments
if theres 120m pounds offer for fabregas,
take it and buy those as below
but then again,knowing wenger style.
sell 120m,keep 120m and dont buy anyone
if he plans to do that. id rather not have him sell fabregas
few ways to look at it unsure.gif
skod
post Jan 17 2009, 02:44 PM

1,038 posts

u sure those guys wanna come to emirates? especially after cesc left..just look at us after henry left..wheres hleb & flamini? thats why i dont think wenger will sell..

but if they wanna come here, why not? thumbup.gif villa drool.gif
sigheart
post Jan 17 2009, 02:56 PM

The Ultimate Driving Machine
1,442 posts

QUOTE(Quick` @ Jan 17 2009, 02:28 PM)
i second sieghart comments
if theres 120m pounds offer for fabregas,
take it and buy those as below
but then again,knowing wenger style.
sell 120m,keep 120m and dont buy anyone
if he plans to do that. id rather not have him sell fabregas
few ways to look at it  unsure.gif
QUOTE(skod @ Jan 17 2009, 02:44 PM)

u sure those guys wanna come to emirates? especially after cesc left..just look at us after henry left..wheres hleb & flamini? thats why i dont think wenger will sell..

but if they wanna come here, why not? thumbup.gif villa drool.gif
Haha like I said its just for fun tongue.gif Anyway its a win win situation even if Wenger doesn't get anyone to replace Fabregas if we sell him. 120m will wipe out a huge chunk of our stadium debt and Nasri so far looks to be a competent replacement. This 4 months while he is injured will be a good in sight into life without Fabregas IMO.

Bottom line is 120m for a player regardless if he is your best player or not is just plain crazy. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by sigheart: Jan 17 2009, 02:59 PM
-Nos-
post Jan 17 2009, 03:04 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

QUOTE(joesex @ Jan 17 2009, 02:06 PM)
whyy arshavin, he's 28 and for 20m its not worth it. he might be really good in the russian league, but he might be shyte in the premier league.
hi casanova88
sakaito
post Jan 17 2009, 03:14 PM

1,366 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Jan 17 2009, 03:04 PM)
hi casanova88
PWND!! ehehehe rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

anyway, with 120M, AW will buy the entire french under 21 team... spanish under 21 team and maybe ivory coast under 21 team.

ahahahahah

kaka91
post Jan 17 2009, 03:37 PM

2,228 posts

lol, i dun think i can change my nickname tho.. yea, abt the 120 million we will get if we sell cesc, first, cesc wouldn't want to go to citeh even for 120 mil, coz he is not dumb. he rather go to barca or real. and if we can get villa, silva, alonso, toure, the entire french under 21 team, the entire spanish under 21 team, then i say, cesc can go! lol.. not really. i want him to stay
daidzz
post Jan 17 2009, 03:41 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(joesex @ Jan 17 2009, 02:06 PM)
wuts ur last name m8?
curious because i have a very good friend whose name is joe who shares exactly the same opinion.
tongue.gif

This post has been edited by daidzz: Jan 17 2009, 03:42 PM
solstice818
post Jan 17 2009, 03:54 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Jan 17 2009, 03:04 PM)
hi casanova88
wakakaka... Spot on!!! PAWNED!!!

Anyway, let him la... laugh.gif brows.gif
kaka91
post Jan 17 2009, 06:04 PM

2,228 posts

awww, he loves us.. i love u too kaka biggrin.gif now, if only arsene can get him

122 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0547sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:19 PM