Travel Chiang Mai -Chiang Rai, Northern Thailand inc Golden Triangle

KenYoung
post Dec 4 2022, 02:20 AM

661 posts

QUOTE(tangtang22 @ Dec 3 2022, 10:06 AM)
Chiangmai is a lovely place.

The town itself has lots of attractions + good food.

If u have time, can even venture out to Mon Jam n the big loop going through the hills.

It all depends on ur planning. have fun smile.gif
Hello there

So Happen Mon jam also caught my attention! R u able to where some infor on the place?

Thanks in advance!
godzilla88
post Dec 29 2022, 11:01 PM

181 posts

How much Grab cost from Airport to the city?
RegentCid
post Dec 30 2022, 09:53 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,036 posts

QUOTE(godzilla88 @ Dec 29 2022, 10:01 PM)
How much Grab cost from Airport to the city?
Not more than 150 baht. Normally 100-150 within this range.

I personally prefer Airport Taxi. Price are fix at 160 baht. But the car was Toyota Camry Hybrid biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 30 2022, 09:54 AM
godzilla88
post Jan 9 2023, 07:30 PM

181 posts

Chiangmai got many buffet shabu2 outlets. Packed with people esp during dinner
penguinno1
post May 12 2023, 01:28 AM

39 posts

Hi sifus, Im planning to visit chiang mai later this year and just wanted to check whether anyone know if I were to apply for IDP using my D license, can I legally rent and ride a 125cc motorbike in chiang mai?

Like if I were to kena roadbloack can I just show the IDP?
RegentCid
post May 18 2023, 12:02 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,036 posts

QUOTE(penguinno1 @ May 12 2023, 12:28 AM)
Hi sifus, Im planning to visit chiang mai later this year and just wanted to check whether anyone know if I were to apply for IDP using my D license, can I legally rent and ride a 125cc motorbike in chiang mai?

Like if I were to kena roadbloack can I just show the IDP?
Can rent. Rental shop they don't care about IDP. But Police is another story.
Kena block normally they want kopi duit. Personally, If you dont plan going Pai. no need rent motocycle.
Vengeance_Mad
post Oct 9 2023, 12:58 PM

Aston-ishing
796 posts

I'll be going to Chiang Mai soon and not sure how much cash should I change.
Is credit card is generally accepted in most places in Chiang Mai?
FinFin
post Oct 25 2023, 10:53 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(Vengeance_Mad @ Oct 9 2023, 12:58 PM)
I'll be going to Chiang Mai soon and not sure how much cash should I change.
Is credit card is generally accepted in most places in Chiang Mai?
I would suggest you to prepare more cash, while most establishments accept credit card, they will charge you an extra 3%~7%.
Cash is still very much preferred here.
Even the car rental company I went to only deals with cash, and I was asked to pay deposit in cash, luckily I had extra MYR gave them the equivalent value as deposit.
Only the 'atas' places that already charge you a premium price will let you pay in cc without extra charges.

Surprisingly, I noticed the exchange rate of those money changer stall in Chiang Mai around old town area is not that bad. I even came across one that offered better rate than what I have gotten in Malaysia, but I wouldn't rely on that.
Vengeance_Mad
post Oct 26 2023, 03:57 PM

Aston-ishing
796 posts

QUOTE(FinFin @ Oct 25 2023, 10:53 PM)
I would suggest you to prepare more cash, while most establishments accept credit card, they will charge you an extra 3%~7%.
Cash is still very much preferred here.
Even the car rental company I went to only deals with cash, and I was asked to pay deposit in cash, luckily I had extra MYR gave them the equivalent value as deposit.
Only the 'atas' places that already charge you a premium price will let you pay in cc without extra charges.

Surprisingly, I noticed the exchange rate of those money changer stall in Chiang Mai around old town area is not that bad. I even came across one that offered better rate than what I have gotten in Malaysia, but I wouldn't rely on that.
Thanks for your advise bro.
Anyway, I've gone to CM and came back already biggrin.gif .
I ended up changing more THB and as you said, most of the places are still heavily using cash and for those places that allows cards, they do charge extra.

36 Pages « < 34 35 36Top

0.0121sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:26 PM