36 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Travel Chiang Mai -Chiang Rai, Northern Thailand inc Golden Triangle

Dlan
post Sep 19 2015, 01:58 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(alygonecrazy @ Sep 19 2015, 01:42 PM)
i just came back about 3 days ago. it was good. not many tourists so there's no need to worry about crowds. it is rainy season though. not heavy rain but drizzling; sometimes whole day.
Thank for the reply smile.gif
adolph
post Sep 20 2015, 12:35 AM

Hail the hitler
832 posts

QUOTE(Dlan @ Sep 19 2015, 01:14 PM)
hi, any expert here? is it ok to visit in this month?
Any day is fine. If you want to see the inthakin festival held once a year, you can visit on may every year.
Berus Wine
post Oct 8 2015, 04:20 PM

101 posts

What is the distance from chiang mai to chiang rai?
I'm planning to visit there with my thai friend.
Estimated budget including flight ticket?
Accommodation might just stay at her house but maybe for 1-2days only..
thaifans
post Oct 8 2015, 10:52 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Berus Wine @ Oct 8 2015, 04:20 PM)
2-3hours by minivan ...
chiangrai have airport .... u can try direct flight ...

Berus Wine
post Oct 9 2015, 10:43 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(thaifans @ Oct 8 2015, 10:52 PM)
2-3hours by minivan ...
yes air asia have.
how about travelling there from bangkok?
is it cheaper to buy direct flight ticket to chiang rai or take minivan from bangkok?
thaifans
post Oct 9 2015, 12:53 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Berus Wine @ Oct 9 2015, 10:43 AM)
yes air asia have.
how about travelling there from bangkok?
is it cheaper to buy direct flight ticket to chiang rai or take minivan from bangkok?
unless there is people sharing that minivan with you ....
u try domestic flight NOK AIR ....
from don meong to chiangmai its only RM70+
Berus Wine
post Oct 10 2015, 02:31 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(thaifans @ Oct 9 2015, 12:53 PM)
ok thank you.. will look it up.
but other than that can also take bus right?
Berus Wine
post Oct 10 2015, 02:48 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(thaifans @ Oct 9 2015, 12:53 PM)

I checked the plane ticket price, if non promotion can reach 400++ for return rclxub.gif
how about by bus or rail? is it good?
adolph
post Oct 10 2015, 05:35 PM

Hail the hitler
832 posts

QUOTE(Berus Wine @ Oct 10 2015, 02:31 PM)
ok thank you.. will look it up.
but other than that can also take bus right?
yes.

QUOTE(Berus Wine @ Oct 10 2015, 02:48 PM)

I checked the plane ticket price, if non promotion can reach 400++ for return  rclxub.gif
how about by bus or rail? is it good?
yes, it is good enough.
Berus Wine
post Oct 10 2015, 06:12 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(adolph @ Oct 10 2015, 05:35 PM)
yes.
yes, it is good enough.
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
I'm looking forward to go there by train and back to kl by flight.
kl sentral (ETS)> padang besar > bangkok > and from there to chiang rai by bus..
is this possible?
adolph
post Oct 10 2015, 06:24 PM

Hail the hitler
832 posts

QUOTE(Berus Wine @ Oct 10 2015, 06:12 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
I'm looking forward to go there by train and back to kl by flight.
kl sentral (ETS)> padang besar > bangkok > and from there to chiang rai by bus..
is this possible?
i'm not sure for padang besar but you could take bus from hatyai, very tiring.

why you don't just take a booking fly to bangkok/chiangrai from airasia during promo, it's not much also if your main travel destination are bangkok or chiangrai. I tried it before from chiangmai - bangkok - hatyai to kuala lumpur ( either bus or train is ok )

This post has been edited by adolph: Oct 10 2015, 06:24 PM
Berus Wine
post Oct 10 2015, 06:57 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(adolph @ Oct 10 2015, 06:24 PM)
i'm not sure for padang besar but you could take bus from hatyai, very tiring.

why you don't just take a booking fly to bangkok/chiangrai from airasia during promo, it's not much also if your main travel destination are bangkok or chiangrai. I tried it before from chiangmai - bangkok - hatyai to kuala lumpur ( either bus or train is ok )
because the date i wanna go is not on promo.. my main destination is chiang rai.
besides by taking train i can enjoy the beautiful scenery along the path. i don't care if tired, i can handle it biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

ragk
post Oct 20 2015, 11:41 AM

BooBoo~
2,265 posts

Any1 went Loi Krathong b4? Is there going to be lot of activities during this period? Plan to just stay in the town for few days if that's activities
VinluV
post Oct 24 2015, 01:01 PM

1,946 posts

I'm planning to take train to chiang mai from bkk.
Anyone have advice on train class1 and ckass 2? Which one better for groups?

Also is 2 days in chiang mai enough? Dont plan temples visiting. Just visit tiger n white temple n shop n eat, doable in 1 day?

This post has been edited by VinluV: Oct 24 2015, 01:02 PM
alygonecrazy
post Oct 26 2015, 12:12 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Oct 24 2015, 01:01 PM)
Anyone  have advice on train class1 and ckass 2? Which one better for groups?

Also is  2 days in chiang mai enough? Dont plan temples visiting. Just visit tiger n white temple n shop n eat, doable in 1 day?
FYI, white temple (wat rong khun) is in chiang rai. the tiger kingdom is in chiang mai. chiang mai to chiang rai by bus takes about 3 hours.
gaeria84
post Oct 26 2015, 02:51 PM

830 posts

Also is  2 days in chiang mai enough? Dont plan temples visiting. Just visit tiger n white temple n shop n eat, doable in 1 day?
Class 2 and above is ok. Got AC. Just get soft sleeper, bottom bunk bed is more spacious and a bit more expensive

I recommend minimum 4d3n for chiang mai. Then can go makan2 at different places each night. Chiang Mai gate, tha phae and chang puak has really nice food rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Was in northern thailand for 10 days, 5d4n doing MHS loop, 4d3n in chiang mai, 3d2n in chiang rai... still I feel not enough laugh.gif

Don't really recommend doing white temple and tiger kingdom in one day, but if you rent your own transport, it's possible to get yourself all the way to chiang rai to see white temple (3 hours one way) and back to Chiang Mai by afternoon, probably enough time to see tiger kingdom I guess.

White Temple is tiny and can be seen in less than an hour.

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Oct 26 2015, 03:35 PM
Ketchum
post Oct 26 2015, 04:05 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(Berus Wine @ Oct 8 2015, 04:20 PM)
QUOTE(thaifans @ Oct 8 2015, 10:52 PM)
2-3hours by minivan ...
3-4 hours sometimes by minivan... if they plan to have rest stop along the way~~

Chiang mai 3-4 days enough to visit all those important wats. Unless you plan go white temple(1 day recommended) and chiang rai.
VinluV
post Oct 26 2015, 04:39 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Oct 26 2015, 02:51 PM)
Class 2 and above is ok. Got AC. Just get soft sleeper, bottom bunk bed is more spacious and a bit more expensive

I recommend minimum 4d3n for chiang mai. Then can go makan2 at different places each night. Chiang Mai gate, tha phae and chang puak has really nice food  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Was in northern thailand for 10 days, 5d4n doing MHS loop, 4d3n in chiang mai, 3d2n in chiang rai... still I feel not enough  laugh.gif

Don't really recommend doing white temple and tiger kingdom in one day, but if you rent your own transport, it's possible to get yourself all the way to chiang rai to see white temple (3 hours one way) and back to Chiang Mai by afternoon, probably enough time to see tiger kingdom I guess.

White Temple is tiny and can be seen in less than an hour.
Thanks for the Detailed feedback..
10days also not enough... hahaaaa i think i better plan another trip top chiang mai.

gaeria84
post Oct 26 2015, 05:39 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Oct 26 2015, 04:39 PM)
Thanks for the Detailed feedback..
10days also not enough... hahaaaa i think i better plan another trip top chiang mai.
Yup, you have to get out of Chiang Mai if you wanna see more. Most ppl coming to Chiang Mai normally take a few days of their itinerary and visit Pai. I did a separate trip to Pai and Mae Hong Son by motorcycle, best experience ever biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Can see how I did it here: http://gaeria84.blogspot.my/2015/10/mae-ho...tinerary-5.html

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Oct 26 2015, 05:41 PM
VinluV
post Oct 26 2015, 05:53 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Oct 26 2015, 05:39 PM)
Yup, you have to get out of Chiang Mai if you wanna see more. Most ppl coming to Chiang Mai normally take a few days of their itinerary and visit Pai. I did a separate trip to Pai and Mae Hong Son by motorcycle, best experience ever  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

Can see how I did it here: http://gaeria84.blogspot.my/2015/10/mae-ho...tinerary-5.html
Great itinerary man
Need motorbike? How about cars?
Im Illiterate with bikes but any 4 wheel vehicle is no prob.

This post has been edited by VinluV: Oct 26 2015, 05:55 PM

36 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:49 PM