2' X 2' Porcelain Floor Tiles - How to Polish ?

TSdannyl77
post Jan 6 2009, 12:25 PM, updated 17y ago

116 posts

Hi All ,

I have just got Keys last month to my new Condo.. The Living area Flooring is 2' X 2' Porcelain Floor Tiles ....
After Some Rectification of Deffects & renovation works , the Floor is Dirtied & scratched , & also some tiles is Dull & do not have the Glossy Look............

Just Wondering is there Any Special Method / Way / Products to Polish these kinda Porcelain Floor Tiles , so that it returns the Natural Glossy Look ??...

I am thinking about using Thinner ? is it Advisable ? Please enlight me ...... biggrin.gif
??!!
post Jan 6 2009, 03:32 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(dannyl77 @ Jan 6 2009, 12:25 PM)
Hi All ,

I have just got Keys last month to my new Condo.. The Living area Flooring is 2' X 2' Porcelain Floor Tiles ....
After Some Rectification of Deffects & renovation works , the Floor is Dirtied & scratched , & also some tiles is Dull & do not have the Glossy Look............

Just Wondering is there Any Special Method / Way / Products to Polish these kinda Porcelain Floor Tiles , so that it returns the Natural Glossy Look ??...

I am thinking about using Thinner ? is it Advisable ? Please enlight me ...... biggrin.gif
Scratch ...no cure liao. Better u change them now or else dust get stuck in the scratches, banyak .

If scratch due to rectification works, ask developer to replace them
If due to renovation works, ask contractor for replacement..

BTw, r u sure yr tiles are glossy finish?...sometimes it is matt finish.
TSdannyl77
post Jan 6 2009, 05:18 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Jan 6 2009, 03:32 PM)
Scratch ...no cure liao. Better u change them now or else dust get stuck in the scratches, banyak .

If scratch due to rectification works, ask developer to replace them
If due to renovation works, ask contractor for replacement..

BTw, r u sure yr tiles are glossy finish?...sometimes it is matt finish.
Hi, Scratch as in hair line scartches....Just wonder is there a Method / Way / Products to Polish these kinda Porcelain Floor Tiles ?? ....

The Porcelain Floor Tiles are Glossy.. Some kena dirt / dust / plaster / cement ... & a few replace by the developer.... ther replaced tile i can see that it supposed to be Glossy , just that is dirtied with a layer on dirt /d ust / plaster / cement ....

??!!
post Jan 6 2009, 08:06 PM

2,548 posts

AFAIK, polished tiles are supposed to look polished without any major task to make it look polished like marble, terrazo, etc.

for cement droppings , maybe can use scrapper gently n carefully scrap , without scratching gloss finish.

Dust suppose vacuum and wipe only shld go off. Don't use any harsh chemicals in case the glazing is damaged then i think lagi jia lat
TSdannyl77
post Jan 6 2009, 11:29 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Jan 6 2009, 08:06 PM)
AFAIK, polished tiles are supposed to look polished without any major task to make it look polished like marble, terrazo, etc.

for cement droppings , maybe can use scrapper gently n carefully scrap , without scratching gloss finish.

Dust suppose vacuum and wipe only shld go off. Don't use any harsh chemicals in case the glazing is damaged then i think lagi jia lat
Thanks ??!!.... I know polished tiles are supposed to look polished ??... but I am just Wondering if Anyone Know any Method or Solution to Get back the Porcelain Tiles Glossyness ... Something like if dor car paint : u can use CAR POLISH / WAX, etc .... Marble : u can hire a MARBLE FLOOR POLISHER to Polish the Marble Floor....

kimyee73
post Jan 7 2009, 03:57 PM

1,007 posts

You don't need to polish brand new tiles, just mop or wipe with water. Sure the replacemebt tile are glossy type? Maybe they mistakenly used the non-glossy type. My kitchen and living room tiles are almost identical except the kitchen one is not glossy. Oh, if it is the one replace by developer, just file another defect complaint that it is not glossy. They will fix it.

This post has been edited by kimyee73: Jan 7 2009, 03:58 PM
??!!
post Jan 7 2009, 05:12 PM

2,548 posts

Kitchen tiles sure use matt ones...for anti-slip qualities as kitchen area may be wet/oily.
TSdannyl77
post Jan 8 2009, 09:45 AM

116 posts

Thanks for all the advise , I think i get the idea , as in POLISHED PORCELAIN TILES ARE SUPPOSED TO BE FACTORY POLISHED ( That's why got Glossy / Shinny Finsh ) ... How if it Was UNPOLISHED by the Factory ... I MEAN THEY FORGOT TO POLISHED IT , THEN THE Contractor LAY ON IT without noticing that.... as what i said , its the same Tile ..... It's just UNPOLISHED....

ANnyone here know any DIY way to polished the 2' x 2' Porcelain Tiles ???......
??!!
post Jan 8 2009, 12:26 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(dannyl77 @ Jan 8 2009, 09:45 AM)
... How if it Was UNPOLISHED by the Factory ... I MEAN THEY FORGOT TO POLISHED IT , THEN THE Contractor LAY ON IT without noticing that.... as what i said , its the same Tile ..... It's just UNPOLISHED....

I do think u can DIY what the factory 'forgot' to do. If that's the case, it's product defect. Say yourself the problem, ask developer to replace them
TSdannyl77
post Jan 9 2009, 10:35 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Jan 8 2009, 12:26 PM)
I do think u can DIY  what the factory 'forgot' to do. If that's the case, it's product defect. Say yourself the problem, ask developer to replace them
Might Want to consider that as a Last Resort ???...

i also read some Forum from oversea , That vinegar and water to can clean residue & also that there's a Product like Ceramic Tile Polishing Compounds or Cement Residue Remover .. Dunno which is for What.. So i guess i better check out the Local supplier / tile shop for advise & solution...
kimyee73
post Jan 9 2009, 02:15 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(dannyl77 @ Jan 9 2009, 10:35 AM)
Might Want to consider that as a Last Resort ???...

i also read some Forum from oversea ,  That vinegar and water to can clean residue & also that there's a Product like Ceramic Tile Polishing Compounds or Cement Residue Remover .. Dunno which is for What.. So i guess i better check out the Local supplier / tile shop for advise & solution...
Are you hiding something? why take the trouble to polish yourself when you can always file for defect with the developer. You also mentioned that the one not glossy are those replaced by them, so they better rectify it. I think you need similar tool/machine as the one people used for polishing granite or marble.
jchong
post Jan 9 2009, 09:52 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(dannyl77 @ Jan 8 2009, 09:45 AM)
Thanks for all the advise , I think i get the idea , as in POLISHED PORCELAIN TILES ARE SUPPOSED TO BE FACTORY POLISHED ( That's why got Glossy / Shinny Finsh ) ... How if it Was UNPOLISHED by the Factory ... I MEAN THEY FORGOT TO POLISHED IT , THEN THE Contractor LAY ON IT without noticing that.... as what i said , its the same Tile ..... It's just UNPOLISHED....

I don't think it is possible to DIY polish an unpolished tile.
TSdannyl77
post Jan 13 2009, 09:38 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 9 2009, 09:52 PM)
I don't think it is possible to DIY polish an unpolished tile.
Guys , i think u get me wrong here.....

Hi Jchong : Thanks , I think is a Polished tiles , maybe kept in store roome for too long... i can see that some part are Glossy.... hidden underneath the Sheen layer of dirt /dust / plaster / cement , etc.... Will Try to clean it with Water & other Cleaner a Lot a Lot of Times ..... & might use Vineger & water as suggested by some Forum from Oversea....

Hi Kimyee : Am i Hiding Something ???... Dont really get wat u mean... I dont want to file in the Defects , need time to wait for them to rectify.... a bit hassle to wait , it's been 1 month since i got the keys... deffects rectify, my renovators also came in & did my small renovation already ( completed ) .... becos the last time they replace this piece.... My whole condo ( living & dining area ) is Full of Dust.... , Now u i got my Fittings all up & some furniture is in & will go in more in this 1 to 2 weeks... so a bit troublesome to ask them to come back & replace a tile.......& i need to Provide them the Key as well , I have change all my lock / padlock , etc....... , Thats why i mean by it will be the last resort to ask them to change it... meanwhile , i am trying to find some DIY solution to removed the Sheen layer of dirt /dust / plaster / cement , etc....... , u can see that some part are Glossy.... hidden underneath the Sheen layer of dirt /dust / plaster / cement , etc.... Try to use water & Cleaning liquid but removes a bit only.. maybe need to go through a lot of rounds.... Just post up a Thread & see if anyone encounter the same thing as i Do , maybe can share experience & solution.....

Anyhow, Thanks guys....... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dannyl77: Jan 13 2009, 09:40 AM
jchong
post Jan 14 2009, 05:19 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(dannyl77 @ Jan 13 2009, 09:38 AM)
Guys , i think u get me wrong here.....

Hi Jchong : Thanks ,  I think is a Polished tiles , maybe kept in store roome for too long... i can see that some part are Glossy.... hidden underneath the Sheen layer of dirt /dust / plaster / cement , etc.... Will Try to clean it with Water & other Cleaner a Lot a Lot of Times ..... & might use Vineger & water as suggested by some Forum from Oversea....
In that case, what you mean is how to clean a polished tile to remove the layer of dirt /dust / plaster / cement , etc..

You can try vinegar and water (since vinegar is slightly acidic). Or go to a tiling shop and ask them for tile cleaner liquid. Remember to wear gloves!
Lawyer1
post Jan 17 2009, 10:59 PM

Validating
338 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 14 2009, 05:19 PM)
In that case, what you mean is how to clean a polished tile to remove the layer of dirt /dust / plaster / cement , etc..

You can try vinegar and water (since vinegar is slightly acidic). Or go to a tiling shop and ask them for tile cleaner liquid. Remember to wear gloves!
Try using Pye products. The designated product for this is called the Pye Tile Cleaner. Please post some feedback here after you have used it.

Let me guess : As for the tiles in your Living Room, I think you can still see your reflection on the tile, and the reflection of the ceiling downlight on the tile surface, however, it is not clear, and looks hazy, RIGHT ?

Please tell me if I have described your observation accurately ! I may be able to advise afer that.
TSdannyl77
post Jan 18 2009, 11:51 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Lawyer1 @ Jan 17 2009, 10:59 PM)
Try using Pye products. The designated product for this is called the Pye Tile Cleaner. Please post some feedback here after you have used it.

Let me guess : As for the tiles in your Living Room, I think you can still see your reflection on the tile, and the reflection of the ceiling downlight on the tile surface, however, it is not clear, and looks hazy, RIGHT ?

Please tell me if I have described your observation accurately ! I may be able to advise afer that.
Hi , me ask around oso... some ask me to use Vineger & water... some said Acid ( but from Hardware Shop ) ... some said tile Cleaner.... I wil definetly try one by one starting from the Not so expensive solution. Yet to go to Hardware Shop & ask ... went to 1 tile shop but The Salesperson said she dunno ( weird shop ... i think its quite a commen problem for Porcelain tiles ) ...

& Yes , its something like how u describe... ... Some area is not clear, and looks hazy .. some u can see its glossy ...

Lawyer1
post Jan 19 2009, 10:54 AM

Validating
338 posts

QUOTE(dannyl77 @ Jan 18 2009, 11:51 PM)
Hi , me ask around oso... some ask me to use Vineger & water... some said Acid ( but from Hardware Shop ) ... some said tile Cleaner.... I wil definetly try one by one starting from the Not so expensive solution. Yet to go to Hardware Shop & ask ... went to 1 tile shop but The Salesperson said she dunno  ( weird shop ... i think its quite a commen problem for Porcelain tiles ) ...

& Yes , its something like how u describe... ... Some area is not clear, and looks hazy .. some u can see its glossy ...
Danny, thank you,..... looks like that's our problem now,... hazy at certain spots on the porcelain tiles.

I have just spoken with a friend in the construction industry. He said you can buy the Pye Tile-Cleaner from the following places :-

1) A hardware shop in Seri Kembangan, tel no : 89488343.

2) The Pye Products Sales Office, tel no : 78779771 and 78747843.

I haven't spoken with them before, perhaps you can give it a try,....... Do feedback here whether it works or not.
??!!
post Jan 21 2009, 03:28 PM

2,548 posts

I checked with my fren who sells jubin.
He said try rub with 'white cement' and cloth.
give it a try.
Lawyer1
post Jan 22 2009, 05:33 PM

Validating
338 posts

QUOTE(Lawyer1 @ Jan 19 2009, 10:54 AM)
Danny, thank you,..... looks like that's our problem now,... hazy at certain spots on the porcelain tiles.

I have just spoken with a friend in the construction industry. He said you can buy the Pye Tile-Cleaner from the following places :-

1) A hardware shop in Seri Kembangan, tel no : 89488343.

2) The Pye Products Sales Office, tel no : 78779771 and 78747843.

I haven't spoken with them before, perhaps you can give it a try,....... Do feedback here whether it works or not.
Hi Danny, are you trying with the Pye Tile Cleaner ? Any results please ???
TSdannyl77
post Jan 25 2009, 04:42 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Lawyer1 @ Jan 22 2009, 05:33 PM)
Hi Danny, are you trying with the Pye Tile Cleaner ? Any results please ???
Hi Lawyer... Sorie a bit busy lately , so no time to test out & reply u ... BTW , just bought a BLEACHING WATER ( ACID ) from Hardware Store , cost me RM3 for a small bottle ..... i have Tried using it on the tile... It works... It actually removes the layer/ sheen of of dirt /dust / plaster / cement .... Havent removes 100% but almost 80% of it ... maybe bcos i Tried on time only , maybe need to do a few rounds... biggrin.gif

But , guys ... If u r using it , BE VERY VERY CAREFULL & PLEASE USE GLOVE... THE BLEACHING WATER ( ACID ) IS VERY ACIDIC... Can see smoke coming out after u pour it out.... , Come to think of it mayb i should use a Tile Cleaner instead... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by dannyl77: Jan 25 2009, 04:42 PM
Lawyer1
post Jan 27 2009, 09:05 AM

Validating
338 posts

QUOTE(dannyl77 @ Jan 25 2009, 04:42 PM)
Hi Lawyer... Sorie a bit busy lately , so no time to test out & reply u ... BTW , just bought a BLEACHING WATER ( ACID ) from Hardware Store , cost me RM3 for a small bottle ..... i have Tried using it on the tile... It works... It actually removes the layer/ sheen of of dirt /dust / plaster / cement .... Havent removes 100%  but almost 80% of it ... maybe bcos i Tried on time only , maybe need to do a few rounds...  biggrin.gif

But , guys ... If u r using it , BE VERY VERY CAREFULL & PLEASE USE GLOVE... THE BLEACHING WATER ( ACID ) IS VERY ACIDIC... Can see smoke coming out after u pour it out.... , Come to think of it mayb i should use a Tile Cleaner instead... hmm.gif
Thank you. Is this Bleaching Water you talked about in yellow or clear colour please ?

I have used both of the yellow and clear -colored acids on my tiles, but they still look hazy at many places. Again, perhaps the Tile Cleaner is the 'specialized' cleaner for this problem ?

We should try it out,.......
cwtien
post Jan 28 2009, 05:26 PM

477 posts

Note: The bleaching water is used to clean cement/super-dirt/etc from your tiles. It reacts to form ammonia (that's why very very smelly). Very much recommended when you first plan to move in. Don't use it around the edges or it'll eat into the tile filling at the side. It's not used to polish tiles.

Lawyer1,
Got the shop name? I'm staying in Seri Kembangan, may try it out one of these days smile.gif. Most shops closed for CNY today...
Lawyer1
post Jan 28 2009, 09:46 PM

Validating
338 posts

QUOTE(cwtien @ Jan 28 2009, 05:26 PM)
Note: The bleaching water is used to clean cement/super-dirt/etc from your tiles.  It reacts to form ammonia (that's why very very smelly).  Very much recommended when you first plan to move in.  Don't use it around the edges or it'll eat into the tile filling at the side.  It's not used to polish tiles.

Lawyer1,
Got the shop name?  I'm staying in Seri Kembangan, may try it out one of these days smile.gif.  Most shops closed for CNY today...
Hi CW,

Well, I'm sorry, I haven't called them before. If possible, can you please call them and ask ? The number is 89488343. Thanks, CW,.....

cwtien
post Jan 30 2009, 04:44 PM

477 posts

QUOTE(Lawyer1 @ Jan 28 2009, 09:46 PM)
Hi CW,

Well, I'm sorry, I haven't called them before. If possible, can you please call them and ask ? The number is 89488343. Thanks, CW,.....
Nobody picked up. I guess they're still on holiday.
Lawyer1
post Jan 31 2009, 11:18 AM

Validating
338 posts

QUOTE(cwtien @ Jan 30 2009, 04:44 PM)
Nobody picked up.  I guess they're still on holiday.
CW, thanks,.... Happy and Prosperous New Year to you too,.......
TSdannyl77
post Feb 10 2009, 11:26 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(Lawyer1 @ Jan 27 2009, 09:05 AM)
Thank you. Is this Bleaching Water you talked about in yellow or clear colour please ?

I have used both of the yellow and clear -colored acids on my tiles, but they still look hazy at many places. Again, perhaps the Tile Cleaner is the 'specialized' cleaner for this problem ?

We should try it out,.......
Hi... I used the Clear One " Bleaching Water " , after a few rounds it works for mine... It has cleared / cleaned off the layer of Hazy sheen.... , & let us know the Result for using the Tile Cleaner too.. It maybe a good option since " Bleaching Water " is a bit harsh... smile.gif
Lawyer1
post Feb 10 2009, 03:25 PM

Validating
338 posts

QUOTE(dannyl77 @ Feb 10 2009, 11:26 AM)
Hi... I used the Clear One " Bleaching Water " , after a few rounds it works for mine... It has cleared / cleaned off the layer of Hazy sheen.... , & let us know the Result for using the Tile Cleaner too.. It maybe a good option since " Bleaching Water " is a bit harsh... smile.gif
Thanks Danny,.... I too am waiting for the result on the tile cleaner too.

0.0420sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:02 PM