Nintendo Wii and DS. 2008 Year in Review, Share your opinions!

TSKyoyagami
post Jan 4 2009, 01:02 PM, updated 17y ago

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

After reading lots of coverage on what 2008 has been for platforms and games, I've been considering what 2008 actually was to the Wii and the DS. I am jealous of how the PS3 has performed this year (It truly is the year of the PS3), but what about in Nintendo's front?

The Wii

I'm pleased with 2008 for the Wii. Most of us were hyped with Super Smash Brothers Brawl, and it proved to be exciting indeed not just to the hardcore Smash players but also to the casual folk. And then who could forget No More Heroes, it's by far the Wii's most rarest of genre titles and it definitely is a great experience.

Middle of the year we saw Mario Kart Wii and Wii Fit coming into the light. Mario Kart is no doubt fun, and the online play is really great. Wii Fit sheds some light to the people who loves exercising.

But what happened after that? Was there anything of great caliber from 1st party or even third party to boot? Well, there is, and then there are some.

World of Goo is no doubt good fun. But a solid Wii title would be Boom Blox. It is fun watching the whole tower you create explode. Disaster: Day of Crisis was there, but this one seems mixed in lots of opinions and reviews. Honestly, some gems I see in the Wii front somehow get overshadowed by more crazy competition from the 360 and PS3 front. The holiday season didn't do much for Wii gamers in my opinion. Of course GHWT and RB2 successfully ended the Wii's romp of 2008 in a bang, it just doesn't seem that way to me.

The DS

This year is to me, a great one for the DS. You've got a new Advance Wars, Professor Layton, Guitar Hero makes its mark, then there's Ninja Gaiden, more Dragon Quest remakes, and probably, A WHOLE LOT OF JRPGS comparing to any console you can point a finger at in 2 seconds.

I don't think I feel unsatisfied with the DS over here. In fact, i don't even have much gripe over it. It's been a good 3 year run so far for the DS and now entering it's fourth. While the DSi is coming very soon, I think it's best to say for me that the DS sticks with me for as long as it can be for me. There is definitely a lot left to go on with and hopefully we'll see what this small little powerhouse can do.

Got a gripe with what I said? Don't be shy and post it up! biggrin.gif
kalnet
post Jan 4 2009, 02:14 PM

153 posts

i agree with GHWT and RB2 ending with a bang!even if its multiplatform! as for the DS.not to mention "the world ends with you" is one of the best JRPG and the stylus was used to be very accurate!

For the wii of course super smash bros. Brawl Wins it all!been having fun with melee of course we all will enjoy Brawl!

as for the rest.looking forward to what 2009 titles will add to the Wii and DS game library nicely.
PhoenixByte
post Jan 4 2009, 03:06 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

me want new Zelda!! happy.gif
hafez13
post Jan 4 2009, 03:08 PM

excited nintendo switch fanboi
1,274 posts

as for me,2008 has a very good title for me such as FF4 and chrono trigger .
so i have no problem in 08 except the delay of NDSi.
i hope In 09 ,NDS will shine once again with the new and revamped console smile.gif
and also the games smile.gif

Added on January 4, 2009, 3:14 pmas for me,2008 has a very good title for me such as FF4 and chrono trigger .
so i have no problem in 08 except the delay of NDSi.
i hope In 09 ,NDS will shine once again with the new and revamped console smile.gif
and also the games smile.gif

This post has been edited by hafez13: Jan 4 2009, 03:14 PM
PhoenixByte
post Jan 4 2009, 03:24 PM

798 posts

eh..i tot the ds still haven't stopped shining biggrin.gif

unlike psp the...fade in fade out shine fade fade out shine biggrin.gif..the ds hv been giving us many good times non stop throughout the year smile.gif
hafez13
post Jan 4 2009, 04:31 PM

1,274 posts

ops,silap
i should said,more shining than ever! tongue.gif
gundamalpha
post Jan 4 2009, 06:51 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

It was a boring year on Nintendo's front for me sleep.gif
hafez13
post Jan 4 2009, 08:37 PM

1,274 posts

oh well,in 09 bnyk GREAT game keluar
A LOT!
neogeocdz
post Jan 4 2009, 10:26 PM

698 posts

I think it is mainly the quiet 2nd half of 08 that disappoint some people (Not me).
Until mid & late of 2nd half you see Animal Crossing, Tatsunoko vs Capcom, de Blob, Fatal Frame, World of Goo, Wario Shake It...

The first half is pretty action packed with Smash Bros, Mario Kart Wii, and Wii Fit. With Wii Fit being very unconventional, and holding lots of promise. Well.... 3rd party wise we have Okami, No More Heroes, etc.

Hardly an uneventful year software wise. But certainly a fantastic year hardware sales wise, Wii might just go ahead and smash every record in gaming history in 2009.

My take on the 2008 Wii hardware sales impact is - Game Industry will re-adjust more of their resources towards Wii. They can no longer ignore that large install base, and given today's dire economic situation they seriously need to concentrate scarce resources to reach bigger audiences.

We could see more 1st tier talent deploy to develop games for Wii. We've seen companies that used 2nd/3rd tier talent on Wii, but this should no longer be the case.

And sadly to say, companies could withdraw some investment and 1st tier talent from PS3 given the poor sales of hardware. This is not good, because a 3 way fight is better than a 2 way fight for consumers like us.
kalnet
post Jan 5 2009, 01:31 AM

153 posts

i suppose it will be a great year for the NDS this year with square-enix help of course!games like kingdom hearts 358/6 days,FFV,DQ IX,DQ remakes too!maybe that bahamut game that i keep hearing about?square-enix is seriously going to boost up nintendo sales this year!

for the wii maybe dead rising to help the sales?or maybe the new fatal frame game if its announce for the u.s.things are going to be mixed up for the wii this year.
aiyish
post Jan 5 2009, 02:04 AM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

Seriously, Nintendo need to help the hardcore gamers.. most wii titles this year is for soccer moms or retirees. GIve us startropics, Gryus (how you spell that), a new awesome contra game or a new Earthbound game.
PhoenixByte
post Jan 5 2009, 08:16 AM

798 posts

aiyish..
u dah ada ps3...duduk diam2 tongue.gif I tot last time u told me u already gave the wii to your mom.

soccer moms n retirees hv more money to spend for other ppl (usually they are the ones buying gifts for their children, grandkids)...dun underestimate them. Nintendo is smart to aim at this market.
neogeocdz
post Jan 5 2009, 08:56 AM

698 posts

QUOTE(kalnet @ Jan 5 2009, 01:31 AM)
i suppose it will be a great year for the NDS this year with square-enix help of course!games like kingdom hearts 358/6 days,FFV,DQ IX,DQ remakes too!maybe that bahamut game that i keep hearing about?square-enix is seriously going to boost up nintendo sales this year!

for the wii maybe dead rising to help the sales?or maybe the new fatal frame game if its announce for the u.s.things are going to be mixed up for the wii this year.
Dead rising? shocking.gif
I am thankful if it doesn't dissuade people from Wii, let alone sell more system.

The 360 version is a mediocre game, yes i didn't like it but still keep it for collection.
Not sure how are they going to improve it on Wii.

cyclonekid
post Jan 5 2009, 12:50 PM

356 posts

2008 was a bore (2nd half of the year). Besides SSBB and a couple of notable titles nothing stuck out. The problem with Nintendo is once they make a game for a franchise (with the exception of Zelda). They wont release a sequel. So that means we probably wont see a new Super Mario this year, Mario Kart is gone. The only games that are left is Star Fox, F-Zero and Donkey Kong perhaps. Still no word on a stand alone pokemon adventure game?

The only thing im looking forward this year is the GC to Wii titles. Rouge Squadron trilogy. Nintendo has to cater to the hardcore players otherwise the wii is going to collect dust.
aiyish
post Jan 5 2009, 04:57 PM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 5 2009, 08:16 AM)
aiyish..
u dah ada ps3...duduk diam2 tongue.gif I tot last time u told me u already gave the wii to your mom.

soccer moms n retirees hv more money to spend for other ppl (usually they are the ones buying gifts for their children, grandkids)...dun underestimate them. Nintendo is smart to aim at this market.
ya lor, sebab dia yang beli, haha!! skrg dia pun dah boring... doh.gif
zorocaster
post Jan 5 2009, 05:25 PM

50 posts

For me, the NDS had a pretty interesting year in 08 with some cool games and peripherals. I like the Arkanoid Paddle Controller. There are some underrated games out there, one of them being Speed Racer The Video Game, which is a pretty good despite the lack of WFC connectivity. I also noticed a price drop for NDS games, usually a few months after launch, now you can get great titles from USD 24.90 to USd 34.90 each, pretty good value for money I would say.

Looking into 2009, with the DSi coming up, I guess we'll be missing any fun peripherals, as developers might just jump onto the DSi bandwagon instead.

As for the GBA platform, I guess the fan-translated Mother 3 is the story of the year for the dead platform.

All in all, the both platforms provided me a lot of stuff to write about, without the content, I probably wouldn't have gotten the following feature:

TSKyoyagami
post Jan 5 2009, 05:28 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

For Nine Over Ten's article in NST today, you can visit this link down here.

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/techNu/...icle/index_html

And damn you Zoro! I want that spot too! tongue.gif
PhoenixByte
post Jan 5 2009, 05:38 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Jan 5 2009, 04:57 PM)
ya lor, sebab dia yang beli, haha!! skrg dia pun dah boring...  doh.gif
tu la..aku bagi GTA smlm utk ko main sama dia..tp ko pulangkan lak nod.gif
zorocaster
post Jan 6 2009, 09:49 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jan 5 2009, 05:28 PM)
For Nine Over Ten's article in NST today, you can visit this link down here.

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/techNu/...icle/index_html

And damn you Zoro! I want that spot too! tongue.gif
Can make it a new year's resolution. smile.gif
penman
post Jan 6 2009, 10:12 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(zorocaster @ Jan 6 2009, 09:49 AM)
Can make it a new year's resolution. smile.gif
WOW!!! Gratz Zoro! thumbup.gif

0.0199sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:12 AM