All Things About BLU-RAY | V10, happy BLU year 2009

rawfish
post Jan 4 2009, 06:18 AM

30 posts

Hi everyone,

This has been posted in the Street Fighter IV thread and since the Collector's Edition features a full-length anime as a BD itself, here's something I'd like to share to the benefit of those getting the game.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=22693858

Not sure if this has been posted, as I noticed most gamers would opt for candy rather than (IMHO) better freight-forwarding service, which is cheaper to boot.
rawfish
post Jan 5 2009, 06:47 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jan 5 2009, 04:51 PM)
good job  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif  wonder whose copy are those  rolleyes.gif
%$#%^* imagine their displeasure when they open my boxes to find another guy who's been ordering Kill Bills. Starseedz, what were their reactions? Do they have that i-think-i-can-pass-these look?
rawfish
post Jan 5 2009, 07:19 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Jan 5 2009, 06:55 PM)
...and Harold & Kumar: Escape from Guantanamo Bay? dis one even syiok... "bottomless" kikikiki... rclxms.gif  brows.gif
... or any newer movies from Jude Apatow after Forgetting Sarah Marshall...

QUOTE(ferricide @ Jan 5 2009, 07:04 PM)
Huh? Those were yours? I had a fantastic 3 month love-hate relationship with Filem Control and UPS.
Hope you dun have to go thru all that too
Thanks for your good wishes. And nope. After hearing many horror stories with UPS, I queried Amazon expecting already a very standard reply:

Since they could not confirm the type of carrier, I decided to go for freight-forwarding instead. I'd take my chances on vPOST than UPS.

This post has been edited by rawfish: Jan 5 2009, 07:24 PM
rawfish
post Jan 5 2009, 07:26 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jan 5 2009, 07:24 PM)
what is roti goreng? is it roti canai+pisang goreng?
roti bom, roti tisu, roti helicopter, roti manchester united, roti i-love-u, how about a roti buluray?
rawfish
post Jan 6 2009, 09:09 PM

30 posts

Somehow something told me this was coming and I decided to put random titles into my cart and wait...

rawfish
post Jan 8 2009, 04:53 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Gfreak @ Jan 8 2009, 04:42 PM)
Dear BluRay Gurus,
Hope you can help me out since I may have made a big Boo Boo in buying BluRay disc…..I recently bought official PS3 from Sony 80gb and so kan cheong want to to test the BluRay disc……I bought some bluray from HMV UK i.e. Mama Mia (for me wifey aaa), Transformers and Pirates Box Set.
Only after that I noticed that they could be region lock…
So my question is, did I just wasted GBP75 or those BluRays can be played on my PS3????? I really hope the answer can be favorable since if not, really don’t know what to do with my Blurays….
Thanks Gurus…..
You can always refer to the front page of this thread for the link to a repository of region-free/locked titles by region:
http://bluray.liesinc.net/index.php?region=b

The PS3 is Region-A and you're lucky all your titles can be played smile.gif
rawfish
post Jan 9 2009, 10:50 AM

30 posts

Guys, beware of arj - his Racun skill (level 11) is very strong and so far there is no known antidote. There are many casualties lately, from the result of excess oxide in their homes - commonly at living room display racks. This is known as 'Blu-Steel Poisoning' - which causes many victims to look like this...

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED icon_idea.gif
rawfish
post Jan 9 2009, 12:55 PM

30 posts

Some of my old Mat Salleh friends just dropped by. All were lucky to gain permit into Malaysia without hassle at the Immigresen. icon_rolleyes.gif

John mentioned he is now retired, and managed to 'retire' a few people himself. Don't know what he meant by that.. I think it's a corporate takeover by his company in Burma.

Jack was still his old witty self, and he said he moved to Port Klang - easier to find parking for his big car there. Did not know he even liked cars - jalan also mabuk all the time. Where can drink and drive? And I'm sure there's plenty of parking if he stayed in KL/PJ. He's here to visit some old DVD factory for some booty to bungkus home.

Eric's always on the run but this time he stayed for a long time in my garden looking at some flowers. What a pansy! I will tease him later to see if he gets angry brows.gif

Tony, always the playful but smart guy, shared plenty of concern with Israel's invasion of Gaza City. He was following CNN closely on my TV but perhaps he's just interested in the welfare of his his skipping-rope factory there. How selfish... people are being killed and all he can think of are his own interests! vmad.gif

Bruce stood outside for sometime, as he was afraid to come in. I don't blame him for fearing my german shepherd, who is tame as a puppy. Scaredy-cat he is, he is an equally successful man as Tony. Both were engaged in tech-jibberish.. about the quality of rubber and metal materials, fast cars and gadgets.

Jay is now a government worker. I really can't remember what he said last time... I seem to forget everything he tells me.. must be getting old blink.gif

We will still miss poor poor Andy, the final guy in our gang. Did not hear from him since the news that he's no longer in prison. And he was serving for life!. My prayers are always with him.. he suffered everyday and was always complaining about the kanasai warden and some bullies known as 'The Sisters'. Didn't even know that place was unisex.

Overall, I am happy they paid me a visit. I hope to spend more time catching up with my friends, one by one. All look so young and sound so energetic!!!

rawfish
post Jan 31 2009, 03:51 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Jan 31 2009, 03:38 AM)
My Amazon 3-for-2 promo arrived yesterday!

Ordered from Amazon US: 17 January 2009
Shipped from Amazon US: 23 January 2009!!? (Wat? Nearly a week?)  vmad.gif
Dilepaskan Kastam KLIA: 28 January 2009 (Wah, only 5 days to reach KL... veli good)  rclxms.gif
Received on my doorstep: 30 January 2009  rclxm9.gif

Mode: Chose 'Standard International Shipping' but Amazon generously changed to 'Expedited International Shipping' (yup, without additional charges) due to stock delay... Kudos Amazon!!  notworthy.gif

That's cool. Kastam withheld my Amazon US package containing just:

Celine Dion: Live in Las Vegas
Band of Brothers
Batman Begins
The Prestige

Even with shipping it's below the limit, and doesn't contain elements that would corrode our young generation. Blimey, I'm takin a weekend drive out to LCCT in a few hour's time to get me flicks.
rawfish
post Jan 31 2009, 05:42 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Jan 31 2009, 10:48 AM)
Withheld? Did they send you a notification about the goods being held or it hasn't reach you yet? If the latter, maybe its incoming...delayed prolly during the CNY holidays?  hmm.gif
I used vPOST this time, so it's PosLaju within Malaysia. It was just a small shipment of 4 titles so didn't expect any Kastam issues. And yes, they sent me a letter advising the item is within Kastam's possession when the courier guy came and PosLaju even called me up to give me the heads up.

The whole thing plus shipping was not over RM500, nor would any of the family titles raise any KDN flags. My guess is either they noticed it's Chinese New Year season and didn't had any better thing to do (unlikely) or I'm just a victim of randomness. KDN does make random checks, I know for a fact so I'm just a bit unlucky.

I managed to get the help of a friend there to settle this for me and since I was curious, he mentioned there's an increased rate of DVD/Blu-rays containing Black Metal (a no-no) and pr0n. And yes, he mentioned JSDVD so I guess people do try their luck after all for those naughty titles mixed openly with the normal ones at that website.

Geez, if you want to bring in those titles be smarter a bit-lah... use other jalan!
rawfish
post Mar 14 2009, 01:39 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Mar 14 2009, 01:20 AM)
just came back frm the cinema, watched dragonball..

crap... wasted my good 25ringgit.

dont watch it!
Thanks for this. I know it's gonna be crap anyway. But some people still swear it's better than SF: The Legend of Chun Li. I nearly left office to go to the 1:30am screening at Pavillion since I needed a break.

During the trailer screening for Dragon Ball, people in the hall were laughing hard. Also after watching the Chun Li movie, people clapped hands - it was so funny because it was sarcastic biggrin.gif

Why do we endure this torture??

0.0538sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:58 AM