125 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Bottom

All Things About BLU-RAY | V10, happy BLU year 2009

megatron007
post Feb 28 2009, 08:44 AM

4,000 posts

wow.. all techie discussion... tat's the way !!!

BTW, test IP MAN for some scenes... so far so good

just the graini effect to show the movie in those old days smile.gif
aiman04
post Feb 28 2009, 10:23 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

50Hz, 60Hz, 100Hz and 200Hz are not in the multiple of 24, so 3:2 pulldown will be applied for 24p source. Simple reason, can these numbers be divided by 24? wink.gif

However, at 24 frame per second, there are too few frames to makes up a perfect smooth motion, but at least that's the way it was filmed. This means there will be some jerkiness during fast motion shots, usually noticeable during left to right panning shot (in cinema I see blurry effects rather than jerkiness). The bigger refresh rate of the TV will create more frames, but they'll only be duplicates. This is what the AMP/MF/IFC trying to do, doing interpolation rather than duplication, smoothing it out, which will make the picture the video-like effect (camcorders usually records at 60Hz). So if you want to turn AMP/MF/IFC on or off, totally up to your liking. But make sure you turn 24p setting to on/automatic in the PS3/BD player to avoid the pulldown (making the frame interpolation in the multiple of 24).

But there is a catch, this AMP/MF/IFC is not perfect. They're supposed to be frame interpolation, not duplication. The TV will create intermediate frames using certain algorithms based on the information from adjacent frames. Sometimes it's inaccurate, thus giving ghosting and possibly re-introducing judders on fast motion shots. If the response time is not fast enough, when someone throws a ball, you might see 3 balls flying instead of one. laugh.gif

For rontt88 case, I think the reason is the combination of both 3:2 pulldown and the AMP. Maybe the 24p setting was turned off, while the AMP was turned on. Make sure the 24p is on, but the AMP is optional.

This is just from what I understands, hope the sifus can correct me. My 2 cents. biggrin.gif

AMP - Auto Motion Plus (Samsung)
MFP - Motion Flow (Sony)
IFC - Intelligent Frames Creation (Panasonic)

This post has been edited by aiman04: Feb 28 2009, 10:26 AM
ronnt88
post Feb 28 2009, 10:49 AM

2,353 posts

bro aiman.. u mean to say we can choose to turn on or off 24fps? where can we do this.. at tv or receiver or ps3?

thanks.
arj
post Feb 28 2009, 12:23 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(irwan6179 @ Feb 28 2009, 01:25 AM)
yeap.. you can turn it on/off. At first I turn it on ( it has low, medium, high setting) for playing games coz i love seeing those alien creeping at real life speed in Dead Space. and turn it off when watching lovey-dovey movie to make it look film-like. usually i forgot to turn it and it's on all the time. so now I'm used to it and still feeling the film-like effect even it's on.

btw, CG movies look great on AMP. I watched Mada2 and Monster Inc recently and both of them are awesome.
Yup, Kungfu Panda looks stunning with 100hz set to high thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Feb 28 2009, 10:49 AM)
bro aiman.. u mean to say we can choose to turn on or off 24fps? where can we do this.. at tv or receiver or ps3?

thanks.
I don't think we can turn off 24p hmm.gif
aiman04
post Feb 28 2009, 12:30 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Eh, you guys never explore your PS3 yet? Go to video settings, there's option to turn 24p to on/off/automatic.

My BD35 also has this option. laugh.gif
arj
post Feb 28 2009, 12:41 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 28 2009, 12:30 PM)
Eh, you guys never explore your PS3 yet? Go to video settings, there's option to turn 24p to on/off/automatic.

Oopss... forgot about the settings on the PS3/player blush.gif
horray
post Feb 28 2009, 01:10 PM

496 posts

Just finished watching Ip Man. Yes there was some ghosting at early part of the movie but only for a minute or two. Doesn't really bother me.

Overall, PQ and AQ are great but I did find the dialogue level is bit too low. Storyline -> Awesome and not to mention the fight scenes - simply inspiring! He really beat the crap out of the Jap General! Makes me want to learn Kung Fu! flex.gif Haha! thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by horray: Feb 28 2009, 01:10 PM
rthj
post Feb 28 2009, 01:20 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 28 2009, 07:30 AM)

my TV is old enough not to be able to accept 24fps. so its a pain in the butt for me whenever i switch from tv to pj and back
KimirR88
post Feb 28 2009, 01:50 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(horray @ Feb 28 2009, 01:10 PM)
Just finished watching Ip Man. Yes there was some ghosting at early part of the movie but only for a minute or two. Doesn't really bother me.

Overall, PQ and AQ are great but I did find the dialogue level is bit too low. Storyline -> Awesome and not to mention the fight scenes - simply inspiring! He really beat the crap out of the Jap General! Makes me want to learn Kung Fu!  flex.gif Haha!  thumbup.gif  rclxm9.gif
go learn la....then can protect 'me' ... wub.gif
nakata101
post Feb 28 2009, 02:19 PM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(KimirR88 @ Feb 28 2009, 01:50 PM)
go learn la....then  can protect 'me' ... wub.gif
I got shotgun..... reliable than kungfu, right?? laugh.gif
fadthil
post Feb 28 2009, 03:48 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Hahh, now everybadi wants to be IP Man... user posted image
irwan6179
post Feb 28 2009, 04:14 PM

1,040 posts

didn't you see what Ip man did with the pistol? biggrin.gif

btw, I keep reading IP man, as I,P Man. It supposes to be Ip as in Yip.right
myqd
post Feb 28 2009, 04:27 PM

2,247 posts

ya,it's not "I-P man" ,it's suppose to read as "yip-man" in cantonese biggrin.gif

OT abit,looking for Matrix Tri box set,brand new or used both can,PM me if u got one for sell,thanks. smile.gif
ar188
post Feb 28 2009, 08:17 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 28 2009, 10:23 AM)
50Hz, 60Hz, 100Hz and 200Hz are not in the multiple of 24, so 3:2 pulldown will be applied for 24p source. Simple reason, can these numbers be divided by 24? wink.gif

However, at 24 frame per second, there are too few frames to makes up a perfect smooth motion, but at least that's the way it was filmed. This means there will be some jerkiness during fast motion shots, usually noticeable during left to right panning shot (in cinema I see blurry effects rather than jerkiness). The bigger refresh rate of the TV will create more frames, but they'll only be duplicates. This is what the AMP/MF/IFC trying to do, doing interpolation rather than duplication, smoothing it out,  which will make the picture the video-like effect (camcorders usually records at 60Hz). So if you want to turn AMP/MF/IFC on or off, totally up to your liking. But make sure you turn 24p setting to on/automatic in the PS3/BD player to avoid the pulldown (making the frame interpolation in the multiple of 24).

But there is a catch, this AMP/MF/IFC is not perfect. They're supposed to be frame interpolation, not duplication. The TV will create intermediate frames using certain algorithms based on the information from adjacent frames. Sometimes it's inaccurate, thus giving ghosting and possibly re-introducing judders on fast motion shots. If the response time is not fast enough, when someone throws a ball, you might see 3 balls flying instead of one. laugh.gif 

For rontt88 case, I think the reason is the combination of both 3:2 pulldown and the AMP. Maybe the 24p setting was turned off, while the AMP was turned on. Make sure the 24p is on, but the AMP is optional.

This is just from what I understands, hope the sifus can correct me. My 2 cents. biggrin.gif
AMP - Auto Motion Plus (Samsung)
MFP - Motion Flow  (Sony)
IFC - Intelligent Frames Creation (Panasonic)
got some more terminologies to confuse you all..

black frame insertion between 5:5 pull-down
intra-frame insertion with adaptive motion interpolation between all these AMP/MF/IFC technologies.. biggrin.gif tongue.gif
sample and hold technique for LCD panels rather than panel response time causing motion blur artifacts..

laugh.gif laugh.gif

I will leave it to sifu sifu aiman and anfield to explain.. notworthy.gif
htkaki
post Feb 28 2009, 10:54 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I bet that at the end of the day, those not well-versed in these terminologies will ended more confused than ever. LOL.
fadthil
post Feb 28 2009, 11:49 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Well, I think its about time we all try and learn these terminologies since we're all so into hi-def now. Especially to people like me, for example... I want to understand thoroughly about all these before buying a new 1080p/24fps hdtv.. These tvs certainly ain't cheap & you want to make sure that you invest in a right one that suit you well & hopefully future-proof, at least for the next 5 years maybe... nod.gif

So with that, thanks to all the "si-foos" here for sharing these knowledges... notworthy.gif
ar188
post Mar 1 2009, 12:05 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Feb 28 2009, 11:49 PM)
Well, I think its about time we all try and learn these terminologies since we're all so into hi-def now. Especially to people like me, for example... I want to understand thoroughly about all these before buying a new 1080p/24fps hdtv.. These tvs certainly ain't cheap & you want to make sure that you invest in a right one that suit you well & hopefully future-proof, at least for the next 5 years maybe...  nod.gif

So with that, thanks to all the "si-foos" here for sharing these knowledges...  notworthy.gif
won't need to learn so much if we settled for a Kuro plasma instead of LCD.. biggrin.gif

fadthil
post Mar 1 2009, 12:27 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 1 2009, 12:05 AM)
won't need to learn so much if we settled for a Kuro plasma instead of LCD..  biggrin.gif
Hmmm, me not so into plasma.... tongue.gif well, to each their own smile.gif
SunofaBeach
post Mar 1 2009, 03:53 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 28 2009, 12:30 PM)

wat is the different for ON/OFF/AUTOMATIC ?? i try to observe the difference .. is that the difference can only be seen when playing bluray ? not the video clip we downloaded from psn ?
rthj
post Mar 1 2009, 05:21 AM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 28 2009, 07:05 PM)
won't need to learn so much if we settled for a Kuro plasma instead of LCD..  biggrin.gif
so which size of kuro are you using?

125 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:55 AM