All Things About BLU-RAY | V10, happy BLU year 2009

fadthil
post Feb 23 2009, 12:14 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(jts007 @ Feb 23 2009, 11:43 AM)
Terminator 2 Skynet Edition on Blu-ray Disc and the Limited Edition T2 Complete Collector's Set will be available for $29.99 and $174.99 respectively on May 19, 2009, coinciding with the theatrical release of Terminator: Salvation and the DVD release of the Schwarzenegger DVD Collection.   whistling.gif
I really hope they can top the reference quality of German T2 HD-DVD Steelbook. The current single disc US blu-ray looks pretty bad IMO... and its almost no extra features. tongue.gif

Added on February 23, 2009, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 23 2009, 12:05 PM)
Anyway, BD viewing will benefit from even basic calibration. At least the brightness, contrast and backlight settings can be accurate. Grayscale calibration would definately benefit BD viewing.
Wow dude, based on your comprehensive explanation on grayscale calibration etc. etc., one really has to know the type of HDTV before one can buy, huh? hmm.gif Even if you do, you have to calibrate first to get the most out of your hi-def blu-ray viewing pleasure... I for one, knows nothing.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by fadthil: Feb 23 2009, 12:33 PM
fadthil
post Feb 23 2009, 02:11 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Feb 23 2009, 02:10 PM)
slumdog millionaire won 8 oscars....or is it 9?
fadthil
post Feb 23 2009, 05:58 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Feb 23 2009, 05:12 PM)
Kind of weird that TDK fail to 'sapu' the oscars but manage to break the box office record. Titanic won 11/14 Oscars.  blush.gif
Nah, I don't find that a failure at all even though Oscar is the creme de la creme of da awards. In fact TDK was acknowledged with nominations of more than 150 awards, more than any other film of last year (covering all aspects of the film especially Ledger's performance!). Of these nominations, it has won 92!! notworthy.gif Dat is, more than Titanic...
fadthil
post Feb 23 2009, 06:31 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Slumdog director D.Boyle helmed one of my favourite movie... Trainspotting back in '96! notworthy.gif He oso did Leo DiCaprio's The Beach... thumbup.gif
fadthil
post Feb 24 2009, 02:04 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 23 2009, 07:09 PM)
he did sunshine with michelle yeoh in it rite?
Yup, but I didn't watch that one... izit any good?
fadthil
post Feb 25 2009, 02:38 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

"centralized storage KONG?"

Nolah, I think coz yesterday we spoke rubbish (remember "ahem") dats why... ohmy.gif biggrin.gif
fadthil
post Feb 25 2009, 05:03 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Feb 25 2009, 03:37 PM)
So rich arr you guys, buying non stop.

Credit crunch made me makan roti only. sad.gif
I oso stop buying for now... next coming months a lot to buy; namely X-Men trilogy, Fast and Furious trilogy, Quantum of Solace, T2, Sin City etc etc... walao, bengkok ini macam. Nway, still got nearly 10 bds belum unwrap lagi tongue.gif
fadthil
post Feb 26 2009, 01:26 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Feb 25 2009, 10:19 PM)
sad.gif Just tested Ip Man BD but my copy was very bad in terms of PQ.. 1st time saw ghosting on my LCD tv... pretty obvious to me, any LCD users experienced the same thing??
Throw dis one into dustbin, pre-order from Amazon US wan, release at the end of March... but for $50!!!? tongue.gif
fadthil
post Feb 26 2009, 10:46 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Or for the whole list, can check here... Amazon.com Price Adjustment Update (BD, games & others)
fadthil
post Feb 26 2009, 06:41 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Bro ronnt88 reported ghosting image on IP Man & bro magiara noticed noise on transfer. Not so good PQ, eh? Let's assume there's nothing wrong with their tv or calibration, is it advisable if wait & buy from another region?
fadthil
post Feb 27 2009, 11:16 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 27 2009, 10:03 AM)
I wish I was a master of PQ, but I'm not and have been wrong before. I am still learning.

Anyway, movies/films are normally shot in 24frames per second (24Hz). This is primarily done to save space. Most BD are mastered in 24 fps (technically it is 23.97 fps - this I am not sure why, a real expert needs to explain this). Thus when played back 24 frames are played back in 1 sec. The problem is the eyes is our eyes does not have this refresh rate stuff. Our eyes can normally detect this when a slow panning shot on camera is showing on a screen. We see 24Hz judder. To counter this, most displays repeat each frame 1/2/3/4/5 (24/48/72/96/120 Hz) per second to reduce the effect of judder and thus showing a more natural picture. Again repeating each frame too many times start introducing a "video" like picture and a lot of videophiles dislike this. I have seen refresh rates of up till 72Hz and do not feel that it is videolike. A lot of pjs have this function as well. JVC, Epson and all. I am not sure of the refresh rates of the Optoma. Hope it helps. Again, my explanation might be slightly off. I believe ar188 is pretty well versed with this stuff as well. Correct me if I am wrong.

The thing is 24Hz judder is as the director meant it. So it is not all that bad. The 24Hz conversion to non multiples of 24/48/72/96/120 like 60Hz, 100Hz is where the judder becomes unbearable. I believe that is what is happening in the case of the AMP being turned on for the Samsungs and other displays that have options for processing of 24Hz material wrongly.

Edit: I believe the term speed up I used in the earlier reply was wrong. It is actually 24Hz being displayed at 48/72/96 Hz , meaning the frames are repeated. Speed up is only normally done for 24fps > 25Hz (each frame is sped up).
To add: what's the main difference between refresh rate (like the 100Hz/200Hz tv?), 24 fps (does dvd has this feature?) and motion flow (??) It's all a bit confuse to me... rclxub.gif And secondly, do all 1080p tvs have 24fps feature? hmm.gif Thanks...

ps - on a personal note, I love watching bds (at shop's demo) with the so-called "videolike" look aka 24 fps... it takes me to another level of viewing movies (unlike at cinema) and one important reason why I'm upgrading to bd, apart from its great PQ & AQ of cos... Thinking of buying 1080p tv this year but to be absolute sure to get the right model/type dat can handle these feature.
fadthil
post Feb 27 2009, 11:40 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

In your earlier post, you mentioned AMP. What is & is it related? BTW, thanks for the comprehensive yet simple explanation... appreciate it, dude! notworthy.gif
fadthil
post Feb 27 2009, 02:21 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(irwan6179 @ Feb 27 2009, 12:38 PM)
Just to chip in. AMP stands for Auto Motion Plus. It's a pretty name for frame interpolation that predict motion between frames. It smooths out the judder and make film looks like soap opera. When I first looked at it, i felt like it took out the feeling of a movie (dramatic feeling). but after a couple of days, I can't watch without AMP.

here's nice explanation with pictures

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-LN46A650-46-.../ref=pd_ts_e_3#
OIC. You were saying, if your tv has this feature, you can choose to activate (24 fps/Hz or not) to your liking, izit? If dat is so, then its pretty neat... imo rclxms.gif and yup, I agree... the 24 fps/Hz is more of a personal preference in viewing. Some like tea, some like coffee... biggrin.gif TQ
fadthil
post Feb 27 2009, 05:15 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

But I tot that 24 fps is actually what all film frame rate supposed to be in motion picture, right? Well, I could be wrong... hmm.gif
fadthil
post Feb 28 2009, 03:48 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Hahh, now everybadi wants to be IP Man... user posted image
fadthil
post Feb 28 2009, 11:49 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Well, I think its about time we all try and learn these terminologies since we're all so into hi-def now. Especially to people like me, for example... I want to understand thoroughly about all these before buying a new 1080p/24fps hdtv.. These tvs certainly ain't cheap & you want to make sure that you invest in a right one that suit you well & hopefully future-proof, at least for the next 5 years maybe... nod.gif

So with that, thanks to all the "si-foos" here for sharing these knowledges... notworthy.gif
fadthil
post Mar 1 2009, 12:27 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 1 2009, 12:05 AM)
won't need to learn so much if we settled for a Kuro plasma instead of LCD..  biggrin.gif
Hmmm, me not so into plasma.... tongue.gif well, to each their own smile.gif
fadthil
post Mar 2 2009, 12:42 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(pAnGuInDa @ Mar 2 2009, 11:45 AM)
Wanted to order some tittles from Amazon US, while going through the payment detail, I realize that Amazon had included "Import Fees Deposit" to Malaysia and it was not cheap. What is that? Never had this kind of charges from Amazon rclxub.gif

Guess buying from Amazon is not getting cheaper unless special promotion like BOGO doh.gif
?? Which part of your order detail that you saw this statement? hmm.gif I just ordered this morning, takde pun... normal charges applied je...

Added on March 2, 2009, 12:45 pmoops, just saw mpyw's post. But, there's no additional charges to my order pun!....

This post has been edited by fadthil: Mar 2 2009, 12:45 PM
fadthil
post Mar 2 2009, 02:04 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Mar 2 2009, 12:59 PM)
import tax is only applicable if you use those expedited intl shipping and above.

this rule has been in place since late last year
oic, no wonder mine excluded. i onli use std shipping... rclxms.gif
fadthil
post Mar 3 2009, 10:16 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Terrible la u guys here, whole day talking about "Cyan" blu-ray... respect la a bit, got mademoiselle now in de thread!! shakehead.gif

eh, where's the cover la? why remove so quickly one... i didn't see la, my office tdy whole day server down... PM me la de pix/link, hehe... biggrin.gif tongue.gif

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0538sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:40 PM