◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V5, Proud CAMPRO always... ^^

overfloe
post Apr 6 2009, 09:52 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,205 posts

QUOTE(yuheng @ Apr 5 2009, 10:05 PM)

one more question to all sifu here, is that proton only offer 3x free services, after that if i go to non-authorised proton sc. the warantty of 2 yrs/3 yrs will become void?

Void.
overfloe
post Jun 18 2009, 07:27 PM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(necromencer @ Jun 18 2009, 03:49 PM)
Last Monday I has sent my persona to COE for normal service & complaints.

Here are the complaints:-

1) Metal Knocking sound while turning at humps / uneven road.
      (caused by the power steering hose hitting I don't know what!!! according to the tech.guy,
      but the problem was solved no more sound...smile.gif

i hope more owners can she the light about this problem. a lot of ppl suffer this problem but SC said dunno.. vmad.gif

i have heard they change the hose to a non-metal one.. but when I go to SC in PJ, they say it won't solve the problem mad.gif
overfloe
post Jun 30 2009, 10:01 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(roiss @ Jun 30 2009, 02:15 AM)
What will happen if my gasket is burnt and what is the cost to repair it?  shakehead.gif
you will not burn the gasket if you rev kaw the new engine. don't listen to nonsense comments.
even if it does burn, it will be covered by warranty (car still new).

i did rev kaw the engine for the first 1000km.. now mileage is more than 40k km.. and a few people did notice a difference when driving my persona.. they said more response.. using fully syn oil.. i'm glad that I did a proper running-in method.. drive it like you stole it!
overfloe
post Jul 14 2009, 10:43 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jul 13 2009, 04:14 PM)

I told him other ppl in other SC pours all the engine oil until above the max line, but the SC person said that the engine requires all 4 liters of oil, hence it's right to pour all. He then said it might be their cars are older and their dip stick min max line is not correct as the old batches has this problem according to him.
But then after servicing my car, i checked mine the next morning when the engine is cold, it's still above the max line  vmad.gif
Stupid liar...
Guys, any idea roughly how much engine oil our campro iafm requires? thinking of buying my own engine oil, then pour out a bit first before passing to the SC next time.

bro,

I also have this problem.. everytime went to SC, they will pour in ALL 4 litres of engine oil. feels like giving a tight slap on the mech. There's only one time the mech did listen to my request to pour in just til the max level.

FYI, the current campro needs about 3.75 litres of oil.. i think the older campro have bigger oil sump hence it requires slightly more oil, but surely NOT 4 litres..

so most SC will just pour in the balance of 0.25 litres just to make their job easier. when i asked, the SA said oh, 0.2 litres are just too little, might as well pour everything in! KNN

next service, i will pour 0.25 litres out to another bottle (i got extra leftover from the previous service). so they cannot pour in all 4 litres.. HAHAHHAHAHA vmad.gif mad.gif
overfloe
post Jul 20 2009, 08:50 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Jul 20 2009, 03:20 AM)
i notice my 8month old persona suspension bcome soft, when traveling at highway, its much less stable compare to when i got the new car 6month ago.
i believe that's normal.. when the car is new, the absorber feels slightly stiff.. and they will become softer over time once they have 'settled' in..
overfloe
post Jul 21 2009, 08:31 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Jul 20 2009, 02:19 PM)
but i feel the car is more shake when traveling in highway compare to new car.
how can i improve it? change new spring again?
how shaky? suspension or steering? if suspension, like i said, the absorbers have settled in and becomes soft (as persona should be).. if you want firmer ride you can try gen2 absorbers.

nothing to do with brand. be it proton/honda/toyota/etc.. most absorbers will feel differently once they have fully run-in
overfloe
post Jul 22 2009, 09:42 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Jul 21 2009, 12:46 PM)
Btw, both trip using same tyre and pressure is about 260ps F/R.
isn't the tire pressure a bit high? standard should be 210 Front, 190 rear. try revert back to original tire pressure to get the roadholding feeling.
overfloe
post Aug 18 2009, 01:00 PM

2,205 posts

just replaced the stock continental comfort contact-1 with yokohama a.drive aa01. initially i wanted to buy michelin primacy lc, but for 195/60/15, the price is RM250/piece! blardy hell.. x 4 = RM1k.. so i settled for a cheaper option which is the yoko. only RM190/piece. noise is low. when new, the conti seems to be quieter, but at least it is better than NCT5 crap.

got one shop commented why pay more for michelin when you can get a similar quality tire for cheaper price? maybe he is right, but silence and wet grip are what i am after for.. maybe when the yoko is finished i will try the primacy lc.

another option is falken ze-912. this is a good tire, but slightly noisier than yoko a.drive.
overfloe
post Aug 21 2009, 03:51 PM

2,205 posts

Hi all,

do you service the aircond at Proton SC or outside? which is cheaper?
overfloe
post Aug 21 2009, 06:50 PM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(alexliew @ Aug 21 2009, 05:10 PM)
better dun touch it if no problem... later more problem come out after service...
if part problem then goto proton SC and request change a new one...
if service suck as add the gas.. pefer go outside...
duuhh.. my aircond is not cold, hence the question. i just need to know whether service aircond outside is a good option since the car is still under warranty.
overfloe
post Aug 23 2009, 05:54 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(cbkhor @ Aug 21 2009, 10:29 PM)
New car? Did you set the temperature correctly? I now this is kinda stupid but, 'min' is mininum temperature (cold), 'max' is maximum temperature (Hot)...smile.gif
mileage is 50k already.
overfloe
post Aug 25 2009, 07:57 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Aug 24 2009, 10:57 PM)
Yes the brakes are indeed very very weak. I guess we could change to better pads? Someone in here care to review on the pads used?

I also noticed that the brake feels kinda "spongy". I felt all these while test driving two units of Persona from different branches...
Usually the spongy feeling is caused by improper brake fluid bleeding and there are some trapped bubbles in the brake hose.

After I changed my brake fluid & pads, the brake feels much better.
overfloe
post Sep 1 2009, 08:47 AM

2,205 posts

let me clarify again about the engine oil. i have posted before this.

the campro 1.6 needs only 3.75l of lube. a lot of SC will pour in all 4l. why? they are a bunch of lazy ppl. i did ask the SC why pour in everything til the oil level is ABOVE max level? they said because 0.25l is just too little, might as well pour in all. sigh!

my solution? whenever i bring my own oil, i will always pour out 0.25l into another bottle. so that they can never overfill.. hahaha!

why overfilling the oil is not good? your car's pickup will feel sluggish. the fuel consumption will be affected. not much, only minor difference.
overfloe
post Sep 1 2009, 06:51 PM

2,205 posts

been using RON95 for the past 2 weeks. no difference at all.
overfloe
post Sep 2 2009, 01:58 PM

2,205 posts

Do all persona come with 5 years warranty? I'm a bit confused with this..

the normal warranty is 2 years or 50,000km.. so the other 3 years is what? extended warranty? what does it cover?

my car is over 50k and replaced the door latch and got charged for it.. so i assume it is not covered by warranty? really confused here..
overfloe
post Sep 3 2009, 10:10 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Sep 2 2009, 03:48 PM)
Extended warranty is for engine + transmission only.  smile.gif

My door latch also broken..i need to pay for it wink.gif
thanks boss.. i kinda regret for not servicing the car before the warranty expires doh.gif

Added on September 3, 2009, 10:14 am
QUOTE(boozed99 @ Sep 2 2009, 09:57 PM)

There is a loud Metal knocking noise/sound when driving through uneven pavement like going up a multilevel carpark! sad.gif
The metal knocking sound seems to be coming from the front right suspension sad.gif

This is a known problem and Proton has no solution at all. It is reported that the noise comes from a metal hose hitting the frame/body. Not to worry as it is not a problem, just the sound is too annoying.

If you complain to SC, they won't know what to do.. they will only 'tighten screw' which does nothing. doh.gif

This post has been edited by overfloe: Sep 3 2009, 10:14 AM
overfloe
post Sep 4 2009, 08:45 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Sep 3 2009, 04:44 PM)
What metal hose is that actually?
some say it is aircond hose.. some say it is the power steering hose..
i'm not sure which one.. it doesn't matter to me because proton can't solve the problem doh.gif
overfloe
post Sep 10 2009, 03:02 PM

2,205 posts

I just replaced all 4 brake pads with Bosch Power Plus. Total: RM110 only.

I have used it before. Brake feel is a lot better, low dust and quite lasting. It is probably the best brake pads you can buy for that money.

Other pads may bite better, but they also produce more dust and sound. I really like the progressive feel of the Bosch Power Plus.

Recommended to all Persona owners.
overfloe
post Sep 10 2009, 05:04 PM

2,205 posts

bought them at PH Auto, PJ. it is a spare parts shop. I believe you can find it at other shops too, but price may vary.
overfloe
post Sep 11 2009, 08:44 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(dbtel74 @ Sep 10 2009, 06:48 PM)
Very well Overfloe, I am staying at PJ as well.
Mind to tell the exact location of this PH Auto? Which landmark? As in same row with what company? For eg. next to Taman Sea CIMB bank, opposite Shell station.
Thanks in advance.
you almost got it spot on. it is near Shell and CIMB. opposite Maybank and same row as Watsons biggrin.gif

full address:
No. 7, Jalan 21/17, Sea Park
46300, Petaling Jaya, Selangor.

Added on September 11, 2009, 8:46 am
QUOTE(jack111 @ Sep 10 2009, 09:25 PM)
Any fully synthetic oils is best suit for proon persona? or just keep use bc the petronas semi-synthetic oil?
Petronas oils are fine, but there are many cheaper options if you buy from spare parts shop. I've been using Q8 fully synthetic oil from 10k mileage until now. No probs so far and it is cheaper than petronas syntium 3000 (5w-40).

This post has been edited by overfloe: Sep 11 2009, 08:46 AM

0.0386sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:34 PM