◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V5, Proud CAMPRO always... ^^

2fast2furious
post Aug 18 2009, 02:51 PM

32 posts

Hi dudes...

I am planning to trade in my car to either Persona base line or M line automatic.

This car is it problematic? Or anything i should be aware of? I never hv any experience with Persona so i do not know....

And do they have this 5k trade in something like that??? I know there is this cash thingy going on... Sorry for asking such questions.

Please kindly advice. Thanks.

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Aug 18 2009, 02:52 PM
2fast2furious
post Aug 21 2009, 05:43 PM

32 posts

Does the Persona come with stock cabin filter fitted at the aircond blower intake??? Or can it be fitted?

Added on August 21, 2009, 5:53 pmOk i am comparing this to my 3 years + old MyVi automatic.

I just test driven a B Line auto just now... Road noise was very minimal! Love it. Plastic fittings seemed / feel very tightly fitted.

But the initial pickup from standstill is kinda slow. But reaching 100 Km/h and above was kinda easy. Comparing this with my 88bhp MyVi automatic...how come my MyVi feels so much faster in pickup? Can wheel spin some more... Persona with 110bhp right? I tried to have a fast pickup and mb a bit of spin but it didn't... Mb power to weight ratio eh?

Aircond noise so so... And what i like is that the blower is pretty strong even at level 1 setting.

Engine noise quite minimal. Overall ride quality not bad...

Gear shifting was very smooth.

BUT

The unit i test driven was only 34 Km/h mileage. I didnt bother as i still red line and speed over 100km/h on it. It has a malfunctioned signal light and wiper.... hummmm.... some kinda first impression to me eh?? hahaha.... And it has this zingy noise (not too loud) coming out from the aircond blower... Dunno why is it...

So tell me guys... is it advisable to go for Persona or stay away because of the list of problems?

If this would be my next new car, i would be going for the M Line.

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Aug 21 2009, 05:56 PM
2fast2furious
post Aug 22 2009, 10:01 AM

32 posts

guys... does Persona comes with aircond blower intake filter aka cabin filter?

If not, can it be fitted?
2fast2furious
post Aug 22 2009, 11:23 PM

32 posts

Hi guys... question again...

RM50 bukks of fuel can go for how many KM for auto tranny?
2fast2furious
post Aug 24 2009, 02:14 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(alexliew @ Aug 24 2009, 01:34 PM)
hi guys...
last day for my old car sad.gif ....tonight wtill take my M-line manual. rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbup.gif .. icon_idea.gif
but have to prepare and hopefully the car out from all problems. hmm.gif ..if not..  have to very boring goto the SC..... doh.gif
exchange project...hope proton no give me a bad car.... sweat.gif
saleman dun want pump full tank due to this is exchange program...this is the 1st bad news a get..... mad.gif
I hope things go well soon... Do give us a detailed review of things!!!

I hope to get mine soon too. hehehe....

Anyway, i copy my entry at another post to here if you guys and mods do not mind.

Was looking to trade in my car...Then the salesman at Proton told me that there is a Blueberry Tea (Purple laa) Full Spec Persona H line model automatic 2008 model wanna let go. The owner want to upgrade to Exora so asking help from the salesman.

Gonna let go mb about 45k Kuching price. Mileage is around 7k only. Drive from home to work, work to home.... Thats why low mileage. Itchy ler wei...

Planning to trade in my car with B Line model and swap my 205 45 R16 wheels over (sales man agree) or trade in and exchange with the 2nd hand unit like i mentioned above.

So how la? hahaha

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Aug 24 2009, 02:34 PM
2fast2furious
post Aug 24 2009, 04:04 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(alexliew @ Aug 24 2009, 03:08 PM)
here should be have people can help you....
for me..if the car is nice no problem, no accident..i will go for the 2nd hand SE...many parts and funtion also got ABS....
Not SE la... H-Line. Sorry if i confused u earlier. I mistyped. Corrected already.
2fast2furious
post Aug 24 2009, 09:57 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(nsty @ Aug 24 2009, 09:00 PM)
Just a comment from me on M-line's braking performance. Yesterday night I was a bit careless because I didn't notice the traffic light at the junction, so during emergency situation like this one would just slam on the brake pedal like I did. The braking distance was remarkably long, total wheel spin on the front wheels and you couldn't control the vehicle at this moment - if you steered a bit left or right your could would have skipped right away. As have been stated countless times here, the braking performance for B-line and M-line is questionable, since these two models are fitted with drum at the back and there's no ABS, EBD and brake assist to help you in emergency situation, and the boosters are kinda weak.

People who always preach "drive safely and sanely", but if another driver is careless (like I did last night biggrin.gif) you still end up in an accident no matter how careful you are. My advice, if budget permits get the H-line. B-line and M-line owners should consider changing their brake booster to Gen-2 booster, although for everyday driving the braking performance is acceptable.

Last but not least, if last night you saw a Persona doing an emergency brake at a junction in Ayer Keroh, please pardon my mistake - especially to the Kancil driver who was kind of pissed while staring at me. smile.gif
Yes the brakes are indeed very very weak. I guess we could change to better pads? Someone in here care to review on the pads used?

I also noticed that the brake feels kinda "spongy". I felt all these while test driving two units of Persona from different branches...

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Aug 24 2009, 10:04 PM
2fast2furious
post Aug 25 2009, 07:28 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Aug 24 2009, 10:56 PM)
use brake pads like RS,bendix, ferodo, formula.....improve the pedal feel and bites better....
QUOTE(krk24 @ Aug 25 2009, 03:42 AM)
mine:

(Auto-rm50)
petronas=334km
shell=337km
Thanks man...
2fast2furious
post Aug 25 2009, 02:41 PM

32 posts

I just had my salesman to get my loan approved from EON. I am gonna get the B-Line model either metal gray OR metallic silver. Priority is black but need to wait for quite sometime for the order to arrive.

So once i get it, i'm gonna swap my 205 45 R16 over from my old car. <<< This tire size is ok right??? I wonder how would it look like...worry that the fender gap will be too big.

Waiting period for loan approval and take the car is expected to be within a week. I can't wait for the time to come!

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Aug 25 2009, 02:42 PM
2fast2furious
post Aug 25 2009, 02:59 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(alexliew @ Aug 25 2009, 02:45 PM)
the problem is cap ayam need pay RM488 and air-cool is RM688...warrently is same 5 years...only quality i do not know...

Added on August 25, 2009, 2:47 pm

freind better ask all the thing before sign...if not you will like me...no full tank...no Air-cool...
salesman always say yes....and the end is no....Suck.... doh.gif
Ok.
I need to trade in my MyVi quick as someone wants it. Since its able to cover the additional costs that i need to fork out... why not. Just like tukar kereta only.

Last time when i bought my MyVi it was the best value for money at the time. Until Persona came out. Over the years i realised that i needed a bigger car. Since i am going to hv a little family of my own in a couple of years time, the thought of owning a car for long term...i need to change it. I need a car with a boot...that is all.

Yea i regretted buying MyVi in the first place. Because that time it was priced the same with the Persona model i am aiming for...
2fast2furious
post Aug 25 2009, 03:19 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(alexliew @ Aug 25 2009, 03:09 PM)
post your Myvi pic 1st...then sure got ppl ask you..
Already ppl want it la.
2fast2furious
post Aug 26 2009, 01:50 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Aug 26 2009, 01:02 PM)
thx bro..
this morning I just adjust the mirror to more outside.. it look better view.. biggrin.gif
Having soo used to driving MyVi with big dumbo the elephant ears when i test drive Persona i was not used to it.
2fast2furious
post Aug 28 2009, 12:20 PM

32 posts

Loan is verbally approved as mentioned by the salesman who checked for me. Bank gonna call me this coming Tuesday to sign. I can't wait!

Btw, since there are ready stocks for the Persona, once sign the loan how long will i be able to drive my new car inclusive of process the trade in of my car?

Another thing, how much do you guys think it will cost me for the plate number 1818 / 1223 / 8112???

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Aug 28 2009, 12:21 PM
2fast2furious
post Aug 28 2009, 02:08 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(jackson4237 @ Aug 28 2009, 01:26 PM)
i am also go for the exchange old car trade plan....
already been waiting for three weeks....
my SA said probably will be around one or two more months...
Haiz.....
Today my SA called me and ask me to take my car for photography....
mad.gif  vmad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif
already three weeks since i sent my car for inspection at JPJ...
BUT now only he wanted my old car photos....
DAMM... i'm wondering either all my old car details have been send to PROTON for 5k rebate voucher.....

IF u get your car earlier than mine... then i think that SA purposely delay it....
mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
ermm.... actually i am not on the exchange for old car plan thingy. Mine is trade in my myvi with Persona.
2fast2furious
post Aug 28 2009, 02:49 PM

32 posts

Eh Persona really high FC is it?
2fast2furious
post Sep 1 2009, 08:26 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Aug 30 2009, 11:53 PM)
ok i heard most of u complained that the SC people pour the engine oil all 4 Liter of it. correct?

i sent mine recently for my 1st 1k service. bfr my car was a waja with the old mitsubishi engine. the sc dude pour 3.75liter atleast.. i asked him if (jus to test him) why not full. he thn claimed after susah nak tekan pedal.

so far so good...

thn whn its my turn to service my car.. the same dude.. pour all of the contents.. i was like wtf... i asked him back."apasal tadi u kata bukan semua, sekarang u kasi taruk semua."

he said, "semua campro tuang habis.." you check "meter" memang tepat tepat"

i was speechless.. check it on site, outside the service area.. it was abit beyond the max line..

i honestly rather hv it below the max line. rather thn above..

really hate it whn thy dont allow us near the car whn thy do the repairs.. i know its rules and regulation. but atleast we know wat thy are doing to our cars..

anyone wanna comment on the 3.75liter as to SC pouring 4 liter??
This is the blardy problems with most of the mechs around. My MyVi and Kelisa at home everytime i sent it to service at SC, they ALWAYS ALWAYS OVERFILL. And everytime i screw them and even complained to their HQ and have them drain my oil on site.

So now i service outside, i always keep a sharp eye on them especially when pouring the oil. Some argued say that later my engine burnt. I said as long as the oil level is between Low and max the engine has more than enough oil to run properly.

2fast2furious
post Sep 3 2009, 03:44 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Sep 3 2009, 10:10 AM)
thanks boss.. i kinda regret for not servicing the car before the warranty expires doh.gif

Added on September 3, 2009, 10:14 am

This is a known problem and Proton has no solution at all. It is reported that the noise comes from a metal hose hitting the frame/body. Not to worry as it is not a problem, just the sound is too annoying.

If you complain to SC, they won't know what to do.. they will only 'tighten screw' which does nothing. doh.gif
What metal hose is that actually?
2fast2furious
post Sep 4 2009, 10:41 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Sep 4 2009, 08:45 AM)
some say it is aircond hose.. some say it is the power steering hose..
i'm not sure which one.. it doesn't matter to me because proton can't solve the problem doh.gif
So how to solve it outside? By insulating it? Btw, since its ermm said to be hitting the frame, doesn't it will wear out faster and causing leaks in the future?

Btw, my ex colleague's Gen2 last year had a break down in town. Towed to the shop and found that a hose at the firewall was rubbing and caused it to leak and lost all engine power due to it. I forgot what hose was that. They said its most common with Gen2. It needs to be slightly relocated and insulated heavily or else it may rub and leak over the years thus causing problems.... Since its the same with Persona so, anyone know???

Added on September 4, 2009, 10:43 amMine coming out after lunch.... B-Line silver. QAR2218. I can't wait to reach my hands. Hehehe....

And will be ready to face some of the problems. Well, i am not that worried cuz i have been driving a problematic MyVi 1.3 auto for the past 3 years plus.

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Sep 4 2009, 10:45 AM
2fast2furious
post Sep 5 2009, 10:27 AM

32 posts

Barely 24 hours of ownership (got the car at 5:30pm on 4 Sep 09), i found several defects already.

1. Automatic gear lever indicator lights (at the gear lever) sometimes no light. Suspect it is connector problem.
2. Rear boot lid above the Persona logo, paint chip.
3. Rear bumper top portion, paint chip.
4. Front bumper corner slightly misaligned
5. Rear bumper corner slightly misaligned
6. The famous aircond vent rattle
7. The ever famous RHF wheel "kok" sound when turning right / left i dun remember which direction.
8. Meter cluster slightly misaligned
9. Steering alignment slightly misaligned but i think i won't bother about it for now.
10. Fuel lid when opened the top portion corner (RH top corner) touches the car body. So it sorta scratches it. I will hv this fixed first thing today because i cannot wait till the 1st service to do. It will be too late cuz by then i already refill several times already. So it might scratches it even more.

Okay this below is i am not so sure if its really defect or not:-

1. There is this hole cover beside the dash next to the meter cluster. I am not so sure if there is a small gap for you to pry or it is slightly cracked. Not so sure.

Question:

1. How much is the full tank?
2. Since mine is B Line, where can i buy the rear boot lid sound damping similar to M & H line models?

Driving experience:

1. Very nicely sound insulated. Road noise etc very minimal.
2. Very nice driving feel, eg. steering feel, engine power etc etc. suspension.... The engine and AT ECU is adapting to my driving style so it is improving since i got it yesterday. The power delivery is getting more and more better.

As to date, this is what i discover barely 24 hours of ownership.... brows.gif

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Sep 5 2009, 10:34 AM
2fast2furious
post Sep 5 2009, 11:58 PM

32 posts

I owned two new cars before.

MyVi for 3 years plus. The 3rd month i sent to tint. 50% comfort gold all round. Road block, kenak on the 3rd week. Stupid move by me. Sides and rear should have just maintained 50% and front at 30%. Had it fixed the following week and replaced to 25% front windscreen tint. And ever since, it passes block even though sides and rear still 50% gold.

Now i barely own the Persona for 24 hours. Just had the car out from the tint shop like barely 2 hours or so. Kenak flagged down by police. Say cannot see me. My tint (black) was 60% dark sides and rear. Front is clear but a bit reflect and it was 40% dark.

I went for such tint level cuz i saw my friend's Mitsubishi Triton with 50% all around is still very clear.

I know standard rules is max 50% sides and rear. And Max 30% front. But i have seen many cars with 60% sides and rear and still not that dark and passes the roadblock everytime like my mum's Kelisa.

What i didn't realised is that, Persona's interior is all black. Windows are smaller thus, "view" of the person sitting inside is more limited. So these adds up and made the tint looked even much more darker.....

Man... i never learn..... shit man... How now?! Sigh... someone please slap me. hahaha....

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Sep 6 2009, 12:43 AM

0.0388sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:33 PM