◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V5, Proud CAMPRO always... ^^

dARKaNGEl
post Aug 2 2009, 04:49 AM

Just another helping hand
1,368 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Aug 1 2009, 01:14 AM)
nope..dont think so....but some road like certain part of nkve not really vibrate but federal highway got vibrate.....any tires price around rm180-220??? wana change the front only....solve the vibration... sweat.gif  furthermore going PD....if drive 100km vibrate really sien..lor laugh.gif
New goodyear duraplus 195/60 R15 selling for rm222 per tyre. Not sure how good it is, but it could be a hard compound tyre since can last so long.

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/22/goo...up-to-100000km/
dARKaNGEl
post Aug 3 2009, 12:13 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Aug 2 2009, 08:28 AM)
i prefer good grip and tire that will maintain its quality even used up till 50%......the ori conti cc1 fitted along is  doh.gif ......when its new, ok...but after 1year of usage...the tire became uneven more to the thread and rubber which causes the vibration to happen...
so along now, im thinking of changing to primacy/ pilotpreceda 2/ c.drive/ s-drive(if within my range/ or any tire which suits my budget (rm180-rm230)++ laugh.gif
for primacy, i dun think fit our car. the size is more for altis, civic, accord and camry. that's what i read la. coz i also thought of changing to that next time when my tyres gone bad.
dARKaNGEl
post Aug 7 2009, 12:48 AM

1,368 posts

for those who wants to know, the rpm while driving at 180kmph is 4800
drove at that speed again today biggrin.gif
dARKaNGEl
post Aug 7 2009, 11:31 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Aug 7 2009, 12:59 AM)
wow.. almost maximum speed..
btw, at which highway?
Maju Expressway (MEX)
There's a long stretch from the Bukit Jalil entry to the Putrajaya/Cyberjaya exit
Good place to test speed brows.gif
My friend last time everymorning drives his old modded corolla at top speed to work. His personal best was 222kmph notworthy.gif

QUOTE(zairee2580 @ Aug 7 2009, 01:00 AM)
Let the brake settle-in first. In a month or so, if still not very "makan", change pad lor.
Agree. When my car was new, the brake also not very "makan". But now after more than 1 month, it's good liao. Let the brake settle in first.
dARKaNGEl
post Aug 10 2009, 09:16 PM

1,368 posts

went to cameron highlands over the weekend.
had a feel of the handling. can say very good especially downhill thumbup.gif
also stressed on the engine quite a bit with change of gears and pushing the rev even slightly above 5k at times. brakes were great too icon_idea.gif
half way on the way up previously, i set my cruise control to 110kmph but later my gf say why drive so slow and ask me faster. so i drove around 140kmph till simpang pulai. on the way back from simpang pulai, was pushing from 140-170kmph brows.gif
steady and stable car. really nice. love the cruise control

now my mileage already 4.6k. another 13 days only 2 months old.. not yet 2 months already want to go for 2nd service @5k sweat.gif
going to make appointment for next monday.

will ask if i can bring my own engine oil this time. if can, will pour out about 700ml first so that they use only 3.3L

later i will check out the older posts in this thread on the regular stuffs they replace/check for 5k service. don't want the unnecessary stuffs
dARKaNGEl
post Aug 11 2009, 09:40 PM

1,368 posts

Guys, I called up the 3S mutiara damansara SC to make my 2nd service appointment next monday. Asked if can bring my own engine oil, the person say can but recommend petronas.

I'm thinking of either Mobil 1 or Castrol semi syn.
Which you guys think better and what model to get?
dARKaNGEl
post Aug 12 2009, 01:07 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(nsty @ Aug 12 2009, 01:02 AM)
Hey dARKaNGEl,

I presume your 2nd service is 5,000KM? If its 5000KM service, I'd recommend you to use a semi-syn first because your next appointment would be at 10,000KM and its your *last* labour free service. After 10,000KM, use a fully synthetic (because 15,000KM no free service, you'll need to pay for labour about RM60+), thus straightaway jump to 20,000KM major service which will be a pretty expensive one.

You might ask why waste so much money on fully synthetic? Because there are value for money FSes out there - Bardahl (RM78), Penzoil, BHP (RM120-130+), Tesco Shell Ultra (RM135) and Carrefour Mobil 1 (RM 140+). Make sure to get SM grade. It is so much cheaper to get a FS that is good for 10,000KM, rather than buying 2 bottles of Syntium (RM98 x 2 = RM196) that is only good for 5000KM each. Besides, if change at 5,000KM also incurs additional labour charge, which is pretty expensive at PE SC, EON and even authorized SC.

Hope the math isn't too confusing smile.gif
Yep, 5k KM service.
Thanks for the advice.

I'm indeed going for a semi-syn first for now. So wondering which is better - Mobil or Castrol? Is Mobil Super S 10w40 good for Persona?
dARKaNGEl
post Aug 14 2009, 01:40 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(nsty @ Aug 12 2009, 08:56 AM)
Morning dARKaNGEl,

Mobil products have been working good for me, including their lubes and petrol (Synergy F1 works best in my Persona). As for Mobil Super S 10w40, yes I've tried it and its pretty good. If you've just switch from Syntium with viscousity of 15w50, you'll immediately notice that the engine runs noisier and revvy happy upon switching to 10w40 oil. 40 weight is noticeably lighter than 50 weight oil. FC wise, pretty subjective for me as the difference is not that dramatic.

As for Castrol, I assume you're thinking of the Magnatec. I haven't personally tried it, but some said its good (maybe because of the BP DNA in it). Castrol is BP's flagship lube so it must have some of the engineering goodies dedicated to them. However, if I'm not mistaken the Magnatec is a premium mineral oil, and not a synthetic blend/ semi-synthetic lubricant.

Price wise, I believe both are priced at around RM97. Any sifus with better lube background care to give more comments?
Thanks for sharing. I think i will try out Mobil Super S this time. You say after changing it's noticeably noisier? Is that true? I read review online that says it's quieter...

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Aug 12 2009, 03:46 PM)
im using mobil super s 10w40....so far after 3000km++ of usage still good....u can try it if u want..... brows.gif ...and i will do the next oil change after 6500km or 7000km of usage
will go shop for a Mobil Super S, hopefully this weekend. where's the best place to get it at the best price in PJ?

QUOTE(zarreta @ Aug 12 2009, 06:00 PM)
Just want to share my disappointment of my persona & proton
Basically what am I going to highlight here are quality issues (again & again..)
I don’t want to write much..just list down the problem from day 1 till now (my persona only 4 months old..why got so many problem!!)  vmad.gif

1. handbrake..can’t fully released..problem solved..
2. both front alloy rim cap came off…bought 2nd hand at tyre shop 
3. nyek..nyek sounds from rear seat’s locks..problem solved..DIY
4. the famous clunking + nyek..nyek sounds...the clunking sound still persist with a bit improvement after replace insulator.. 
5. bad radio reception..no solution yet..get used to it already..
6.  engine hard to start (sometimes) + loud sound engine (like old taxi)..going to replace the IAFM soon (only 4 months old..IAFM out already!)  ohmy.gif
7. noise when braking..problem solved..done brake service
8. faulty of volume controller at steering..problem solved..replace new switch..
9. air cond system sometimes on/off..no solution yet..
10.  interior light faulty..don’t know whether circuit  problem or bulb problem..going to complain at SC soon..  shakehead.gif
11. weird sound while turn down/up window (driver side)..might be power window problem.. going to complain at SC soon..

Not sure whether you guys face the same problem..or I’m just the unlucky one..
Fed-up la with proton quality…  icon_question.gif
Wow.. I can only say you're one unlucky owner.
Of all the problems you experienced, I only have the bad radio reception problem so far after near 2 months of ownership.
But i must agree that the engine sound loud from outside, especially when the air con is on but i believe it's normal for this car.

dARKaNGEl
post Aug 16 2009, 09:00 AM

1,368 posts

Guys, i couldn't get Mobil Super S 10w40. The workshops nearby that sells it finish stock. Not many sells Mobil lubes here.
Then i went to ESSO petrol station.
They say finish also and now replaced with Mobil Super 2000 x2.
http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1P1-164439187.html
http://www.optimumfluids.com/index2.php?ac...=fullnews&id=13

So i just bought it @rm98.
Wonder is it the same with different packaging only or not.

This post has been edited by dARKaNGEl: Aug 16 2009, 09:13 AM
dARKaNGEl
post Aug 16 2009, 08:00 PM

1,368 posts

guys, i'm going for my 5K km service tomorrow.
Any of you guys know what they charge for and what they change during 2nd service?
Don't want to kena katuk for nonsense that they put in
dARKaNGEl
post Aug 17 2009, 09:38 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(mensa @ Aug 17 2009, 09:32 AM)

i dunno to call this a problem or not..coz my fuel gauge meter will drop faster to 'E' when the fuel remaining one bar..izzit normal?  icon_question.gif

Mine the same too. but u daring enough, once it low fuel lamp lights up, you can still drive and eventually your fuel gauge meter will go back up again a bit. but on average, each bar/quarter allows me to travel about 100km, so in total about 400km+- for a full tank.
dARKaNGEl
post Sep 11 2009, 10:32 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Sep 11 2009, 09:01 AM)
i go to Sec13, PJ. i know that glenmarie and mutiara damansara don't allow customers to bring their own oil.
i brought my own oil to mutiara damansara SC and i could use my own oil

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0209sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:02 PM