4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V5, Proud CAMPRO always... ^^

dARKaNGEl
post Jun 25 2009, 11:50 PM

Just another helping hand
1,368 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Jun 25 2009, 04:22 PM)
Errrr... sorry to burst your bubble bob, but wait till you average out your calculations over several thousand km, like mine.
shall keep track of the distance and fuel for some time to calculate out the average. very easy reach thousands of km since 1 day already 100km tongue.gif
now back from work, the distance covered so far is very close to 300km, but the meter just dropped slightly less from half the tank. wonder how much distance i can cover till empty hmm.gif

QUOTE(bobbychin @ Jun 25 2009, 05:37 PM)
that click sound is the micro relay's coil magnetizing sound. that 1 should not be heard..but i think they use really lousy parts...during rain time,with my radio turned on, still can hear that little click sound ... how pathetic.
thanks for the explanation. from the way u speak, i assume that it can't be helped or fixed. ya, quite irritating hearing the sound. guess have to live with it.
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 3 2009, 11:21 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(dingdong985 @ Jul 2 2009, 02:10 PM)
hi all, i jz get my persona last week.... smile.gif
but there is a question, is the reverse sensor reli vy low volume?
i jz can barely hear it inside my car
is there anything can do abt this?
I got my car last week too. The beeping sound for my car is loud and clear.

I realized that my accelerator pedal vibrates around 90-100km/h although it's just very little, but still can be felt. above 100km/h or below 90km/h, the vibration seems to disappear.
I remember i read some persona owners complaint about the same issue before and from what i read the vibration can only be minimized and not permanently fixed. Is that true??

So far, only 1 complain from me. the radio reception is bad... any aftermarket antenna that u all can recommend for me to replace?

Other than that, don't really have any problem. Tueday i went to fix the alignment at an outside workshop and the foreman told me the Camber test shows that the left front wheel is abit off and needs to be adjusted. Guess, i will go back SC to ask them to fix it.

oh btw, i was reading the car manual 2 days ago and it says the running in speed limit for 4th gear is 135km/h. so meaning anything below is ok for the engine while it's new. Now i go a bit faster while running in laugh.gif
At the fuel saving recommendation section, it is also stated "Commence driving after starting engine" and from what i understand, it's as though it's not recommended to let the engine run a while before moving the car as it will consume fuel. This contradicts with what some ppl say where we should let the engine warm up first before moving the car. Anyone has any opinion on this?

In the manual, at the last few pages where it specifies the car spec, it stated that the CAMPRO version uses multilink suspension, as for CAMPRO IAFM version, it uses torsion beam axle. Is this true?? I thought they are multilink suspension. It may be the manual not having accurate info...
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 7 2009, 09:49 PM

1,368 posts

guys, dunno when, now when my engine is running, someone opens a door and close it, the doors will autolock by itself. happens to all 4 doors, whichever closes, it will lock all doors.
but not consistent though. sometime does sometimes doesn't. seem like need to slam the door harder and it will trigger the autolock.
is this a built in feature or something? any idea? or should i ask the SC to check?
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 8 2009, 11:31 AM

1,368 posts

oh guys, i did some test. apparently, the autolock whenever a door closes happens when my gear is in D or N. No need slam door hard also will autolock. Doesn't happen in P mode. Will try a few more times in different ways to see if it's consistent or not.
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 8 2009, 11:55 AM

1,368 posts

FYI, i read today's SUN newspaper, it reported that a new SAGA SE and Exora 1.6 MT were unveiled.

SAGA SE got black finishing rooftop and front grille, new front and side skirtings, rear lip spoilers, rear skirting with black diffuser, new alloy rim design, leather seats and door trims, leather wrapped steering wheel, pearl white meter panel finishing, dark chrome air cond vents, CD player with MP3 capability, white dashboard.
the car comes in brilliant red and solid white colors only esitmated sold at rm43k for MT and rm45k for AT

Added on July 8, 2009, 11:57 am
QUOTE(mamata @ Jul 8 2009, 11:54 AM)
my car will auto lock even if i didnt start the engine

if i press the button and i let it be for 2 or 3 minutes
it will autolock itself
not sure if it's related, but if u read the manual, it says that if u unlock the car using the remote and don't start the engine, it will autolock back in 30 seconds. I tested and proved it to be true.

This post has been edited by dARKaNGEl: Jul 8 2009, 11:57 AM
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 13 2009, 03:14 PM

1,368 posts

My first service experience.

I went for my first service last monday on 6th July at the Mutiara Damansara Platinum Center.
Reach there bout 7.15am, but there's already a person waiting there despite the service center opens at 8am. Then more ppl came, counter opens, got my number and waited for my turn.
Then my turn came and i told him the things below:

2 complaints:
1. Radio reception bad
2. Accelerator pedal vibrates around 90-100km/h

Non-complaints:
1. No Magnatrap
2. No engine oil additive
3. No break oil / gearbox oil additive
4. Ensure dun pour all the engine oil until above the max line indicator

I told him other ppl in other SC pours all the engine oil until above the max line, but the SC person said that the engine requires all 4 liters of oil, hence it's right to pour all. He then said it might be their cars are older and their dip stick min max line is not correct as the old batches has this problem according to him.
But then after servicing my car, i checked mine the next morning when the engine is cold, it's still above the max line vmad.gif
Stupid liar...
Guys, any idea roughly how much engine oil our campro iafm requires? thinking of buying my own engine oil, then pour out a bit first before passing to the SC next time.

The SC person says it will take roughly up 11.30am to finish. I was like wth... so simple task requires 3 hours...
Anyhow, i went to nearby mamak and waited patiently. Then came a call around 9.30 from SC. He said the radio reception problem needs more time to rectify and asked if i can leave my car until afternoon or not. I told him i cant as i'm working in the afternoon and say nvm, i'll come again another time to have that fixed.

Then 10.10am, he called again and said car ready for collection. That's good, faster than the estimated 3 hours. Went back there, then saw the service slip, it said advise the customer to leave the car for 2 days to get the radio reception problem checked. i'm like OMG... then i asked the SC person, he says better leave here 2 days coz very troublesome, need to open this and that to check wiring etc... i fed up already and said ok la, next time la.

As for the pedal vibration problem, he says the foreman/mechanic took out a round to test, but say no problem. He then said when it revs at around 2.7k-2.8k, that's when the power comes in for the engine, and probably it makes it vibrate a little. Ok la, since very minor issue to me, so i also didn't insist much on this from them.

In the end, my total cost of servicing is around rm89. Paid rm50 in voucher and another rm39 in cash.

Last friday, managed to test my car at highspeed on a highway. was able to go until 180km/h until i had to slow down back due to curving road.
i can say it's stable just got loud wind sound.

dARKaNGEl
post Jul 14 2009, 01:51 AM

1,368 posts

oh, 3.7 liters is the max. Thx for the info. If that's the case, i'll do like loong2020, just fill up till 3.3 liters. Gotta pour out the 0.7 liters first before passing to the SC.

ipohmali70, why must the engine oil be 20w50?
i know that's what they use, but i thought 5w40 or 10w40 would be better.

half_lif3, I not sure if my steering vibrates or not when my pedal vibrates. Let me check out and update here again on my findings.

1 more thing want to ask u guys. Did any of you changed the catalytic converter?
My SA personally told me that it's used only for better emission, as stated in the manual as well. He said can change it outside, and it will help save fuel around like additional 10km for every 10 ringgit petrol and will give better performance. He said got few times, with the best one over 100 ringgit. He says changing it wont void warranty.
U guys heard about this before? If yes, where would you guys recommend me to get it changed and to what type as well?

Added on July 14, 2009, 2:10 amguys, want to ask, where can we get a glass mounted antenna?
i read somewhere before where the antenna is like a stripe of sticker to be pasted at the top of windscreen.

Will putting that void our warranty?
i think it might coz we're tampering with the wires right?

This post has been edited by dARKaNGEl: Jul 14 2009, 02:10 AM
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 14 2009, 01:33 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(nonadoes @ Jul 14 2009, 10:53 AM)
Hi, anyone manage to solve the radio problem already? i try to turn the Local and RDS on. I don't see any difference in it. Anybody manage to solve this? i beh tahan the radio.

Hmm..FC really high lar although i get it around 6.5l/100km. Now only 700++ km. Need to service soon already.
i tried the rds and Local too and it didn't work. feel like getting a separate antenna like the glass mounted antenna. but i think it will void some warranties as it it involves tampering of wiring.

my car mileage now about 1800, and FC i'm getting is like 9l/100km. It's about rm65 worth of fuel for 400km... I didn't base on the odometer coz it's not accurate. it shows 6.xl/100km for mine too.
i find that shell gives me more mileage than petronas. wonder if other fuel is better or not.
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 15 2009, 01:38 AM

1,368 posts

do u guys realize that our steering wheel is not mounted exactly on the middle of the dashboard?
the dashboard is slightly to the right. sigh, can't they even design this correctly.
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 16 2009, 09:44 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(godprophet @ Jul 16 2009, 07:58 PM)
Hi. I'm from Kuching and is new here. I just got my Persona H-Line(black) less than 2 weeks ago. Already run about 140km. Have no problems with the car except for some minor issues.  My driver door panel sometimes make knocking sound while driving. Otherwise, I'm very satisfied with the car's performance. thumbup.gif  However, I'm not satisfied with the paint though.  1 day after I got the car I noticed some short white lines which look like cuts on my rear bumper and another 2 small scratches on the driver side pillar! mad.gif  I also noticed a tiny little dent under the chrome line at the rear.  Will the SC fix it for free in my 1st service?
guess that's the quality of our proton cars..
even mine also i find that the paint job isn't good. already did inspection before they pass the car to me and i spotted a scratch. they sent the car for respray on the left rear door where the minor scratch is. then on the day i collect my car, still inspected the car.
but sad to say, after bring the car back for almost 3 weeks now, and i find the paint jobs isn't good, slight dent on the side skirt but not a scratch (although hardly noticable), a minor spot of uneven paint where there seems to be another layer of paint which is not as smooth/polished as other parts of the car (not the resprayed rear door) and the bonnet surface, can see that the lacquer layer has micro lines of scratches although very hardly visible to naked eyes when viewed directly.

so yea, too bad we can't do anything about it now that we have already accepted the car.
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 17 2009, 12:05 AM

1,368 posts

speaking of fuel gauge, just now while driving back, i was quite worried as the meter shows that it's around 3/4 of the final quarter and i have to drive back quite far around 45km.

then ok, i started driving. not long after, it went down quite fast and the suddenly low fuel indicator lid up. the DTE shows still can travel 70km, but I already worried. I kept monitoring the DTE, it went down to a point of 66km left and stuck there, even after travel another 3-4 km or so still same at 66km. very strange and i start to think it doesnt show any lower than that d, and from then on i start to monitor my mileage and do manual calculation.

Then not long after, strangely the fuel gauge meter started to go up back to around 1/4 of the final quarter, low fuel indicator gone and i checked the DTE, it becomes 78km now... crazy...

I kept driving, and it started to drop again till the point the low fuel indicator comes up again. by then, i already travelled around 35km from when i first started the engine. Finally i reach a Shell station to pump petrol. as i stop to make the pump, the DTE shows can still go 50km and my mileage is 417.5km since the last full tank.

This isn't an intentional test. It just so happen that no petrol station along the way, till the Petronas & Shell station I can find and I prefer Shell for this car as it give more mileage than Petronas.
It also proved to me that the fuel gauge is not accurate, suddenly go down fast in the last quarter, then can jump back up...

Fortunately can still reach the petrol station. Didn't dare go further without pumping although nearing my neighbourhood and has other Petronas stations around.
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 17 2009, 09:08 PM

1,368 posts

sure petronas better than Shell?
Since i got my persona, i started using Petronas, as before this i was driving Kelisa and indeed petronas was the best for my kelisa then when i compared all the fuel.
but after pumping like 3 times 2 times full tank of petronas, it doesn't seem to give me the mileage Shell is giving, albeit not too huge of a difference.
In terms of power, hrm.. not sure, can't feel much diff between shell and petronas so far in my persona. maybe i can try pump again a few times of petronas. should also try mixing shell and petronas like Hypro described haha.

how bout other petrols? BHP, caltex, Mobil
Hypro said BHP gives most distance to him, how bout other persona owners?
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 23 2009, 02:50 AM

1,368 posts

today, 23rd, my car is exactly 1 month old and the mileage now is around 2600km.

so far, my worst complain for the car is the radio reception. playing cd/mp3 cd is nice though. can shuffle the songs somemore, which is good for a cd filled with mp3s nod.gif
second will be the FC. changing from kelisa manual to this definitely was a big change wink.gif
last time kelisa, @rm1.8 per liter, pump rm55 can cover 550km, now persona, pump rm65 can cover around 420km only.
any suggestion on where i can change the catalytic converter? i heard changing to a good 1 can improve FC and power.
pickup is quite sluggish, but it's ok since i care more about high speed and not pickup.
hate the plastic used for the interior. easy to get scratch. is there something i can apply to make the scratches less visible?
still not used to the high butt that makes it hard to see behind when reversing.
air cond belt is loud

what i really like about the car is the stability at high speed in straight line. been starting to want drive at 140kph more often. always tempted to step on more tongue.gif . so far, tested driving till 180kph once before.
cornering also feel more confident.
also like the huge boot space. can swallow my grandma's wheel chair nicely.
leather interior is nice too. many colleagues sat in my car also compliment it.
NVH is quite good. drive 120kph still not noisy.
cruise control works superbly. using it everyday icon_rolleyes.gif

just hoping the FC will improve as my mileage increases over time.

This post has been edited by dARKaNGEl: Jul 23 2009, 02:53 AM
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 23 2009, 11:12 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(hammercar @ Jul 23 2009, 09:25 AM)
dont remove the cat, save the environment...most significant mod is an LCP...
ok... not sure how much can the catalytic converter save the environment but what's the price of an LCP?

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 23 2009, 09:35 AM)
May i ask, yours is Manual or Auto? You are getting roughly 11.x km/l, which is a normal figure for Persona AT.

I'm looking to change to an auto car, maybe next year. Persona seems like best bang for buck.
Yes, it's an Auto and the average FC i'm getting now is indeed around 11km/l.

QUOTE(JC999 @ Jul 23 2009, 10:04 AM)
darkangel, 1st month car and your are getting very good FC

do you do a lot of highway driving since you say always tekan 140kmph
Yes. everyday drive close to 100km. using LDP and ELITE+North South Highway mostly. Despite driving on highway most of the time, the FC is still like that sad.gif

QUOTE(zairee2580 @ Jul 23 2009, 10:56 AM)
LCP = Light crank pulley, make your meter happy trigger... Easy to rev & faster to slow down. less momentum thou..
will installing it void the warranty of my car? where is this LCP installed? u say that it makes the meter happy trigger, easy to rev & faster to slow down, but how does it actually do all that?
Thanks in advance for your explanation notworthy.gif

QUOTE(muryadi67 @ Jul 23 2009, 11:01 AM)
May I answer the question...

DarkAngel's Persona must be an Auto because it has cruise-control...
Thanks for helping to answer it. Yep, mine is Persona SE with auto cruise thumbup.gif

dARKaNGEl
post Jul 24 2009, 09:16 AM

1,368 posts

Guys, anyone know how much does OZ Racing 15" rims roughly cost and where to get in KL/Selangor?

I was looking through the site, and these looks nice to me. What do you all think if it's fitted to Persona SE? Will look good?

Michelangelo 8

Michelangelo 10

Power

35th anniversary

Superturismo GT
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 24 2009, 09:36 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Jul 24 2009, 09:20 AM)
at least 1.5k per set~
ok. do you know which shop got sell? want to go have a look.
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 24 2009, 11:18 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Jul 24 2009, 09:37 AM)
go klang lo~
sunway also got~
thanks.
i was searching the internet and found this

http://kereta.info/sport-rim-malaysia-revi...-sunway-rawang/

talking bout where to get cheap sport rims and which give high trade in value.
maybe i can check out the rawang shop
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 27 2009, 02:10 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(hammercar @ Jul 26 2009, 11:02 PM)
LCP is Lighten crank pulley. If you are from Penang we can arrange TT. I will show you, i installed liao. Got signifcant improve in pick up....can help to save fuel too, IF and only IF you drive normally.
how much does it cost?
and how much fuel does it save for u after using it? i know it's subjective but just want to know the difference u're experiencing according to your driving style
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 27 2009, 11:49 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(zarreta @ Jul 27 2009, 10:46 AM)
i'm going to COE, subang jaya next week to do my 3rd service
here are some issues that will be highlighted that day..

1. the famous cluncking sound
2. 'nyek..nyek' sound when driving through bumper (not from the back foldable seats as i'd put tapes at the locks..sound like coming from absorber)
3. fuel meter indicator..not accurate
4. volume control at steering..sudah gila..
5. damn radio receiver
6. adjust breaks
please share later on how they will rectify your radio receiver problem.
Mine too has the problem. During my 1st service, I complain and they ask me to leave my car 2 days for them to check doh.gif
I just went out looking for the Bosch Autofun antenna, where it's an indoor antenna mounted on your back windscreen. Eunos selling rm150 without installation, another shop in Uptown area selling rm160 with installation while another rm140 with installation but no stock at the moment.
Then the last shop i ask, the person ask me spend the money on an indoor antenna. He said an external antenna is always better than internal and moreover it may not be my antenna problem. It might be my HU or wiring problem. When asked, he said they roughly need 45 mins to check it out the problem and service fee is about rm15 for them to minum tea/coffee.
Should i go for it?
dARKaNGEl
post Jul 28 2009, 10:12 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(seongmeng @ Jul 28 2009, 01:31 PM)
hi, My persona SE rim (front and rear) got lot of brake dust, my brake dust generated quite a lot in just 2 weeks time, is it normal??
Normal, mine also especially if you break frequent

QUOTE(tkyong1 @ Jul 28 2009, 08:25 PM)
Dear all,

Does anyone have a photo of the "drive shaft damper"?

I really need to make sure before sending my persona se to SC. I do not want to go there and find out that my car alredy came with it.

My problem is pedal vibration during 90 - 100km while driving at 2600 - 2800 rpm.

A real life photo is very much appreciated.

having same vibration problem also. go first service, they say checked and no problem....

QUOTE(cheeann @ Jul 28 2009, 08:51 PM)
have u try balancing yet? ?    unsure.gif
not matter of balancing. i also went to do balancing, but the vibration persists although slightly less now

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0535sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:24 AM