Bodybuilding 20-Rep Squat Routine, DO YOU DARE ENOUGH TO TRY IT??

-Dan
post Apr 30 2009, 05:58 PM

4,382 posts

Gonna try this tomorrow for my leg day. xD
-Dan
post Apr 30 2009, 08:34 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Apr 30 2009, 06:27 PM)
Do read the article before trying. It's not something like "Hey I wanna go in and try it". There should at least be some mental prep before getting under there.

Also, have someone count for you.
I've read them both, and I understand it's not simple. I believe I can get myself through the mental stage of it.

And I'm usually the only one in the gym, so nobody'll be counting for me. =/
-Dan
post Apr 30 2009, 09:23 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Apr 30 2009, 09:04 PM)
Good luck let us know how it goes.
Thanks. I'm expecting an exhausting day. thumbup.gif
-Dan
post May 1 2009, 07:50 PM

4,382 posts

I did the 20-rep squats today. Used 55kg for the first set, only to realize I still had energy after 20 reps, so I upped to weight to 65kg. The difference 10kg can make is amazing. After 10 reps, your body signals it's getting tired. After 15, it's starting to scream for mercy, and by the last 2 reps, you're on the verge of collapsing. Was on the floor for 10 minutes before I could get up and walk around again.

I know the weight is peanuts for a load of you people here, but I'm definitely happy I finished the 20 reps. smile.gif
-Dan
post May 1 2009, 08:26 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(John91 @ May 1 2009, 08:16 PM)
Woah nice one, that makes it 20 x 2. Try your max one set next time. Maybe 70kg?  rclxms.gif
Maybe, just maybe. xD That'll be next week's attempt. I'll be feeling today's workout in the morning. sweat.gif
-Dan
post May 1 2009, 11:00 PM

4,382 posts

I love squatting, and not being able to feel my legs for the next few days. rclxms.gif
-Dan
post May 1 2009, 11:03 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ May 1 2009, 11:00 PM)
john91 is right.
ya u can live without squatting, but if u wanna go further, then i guess u should... not saying u MUST, but rather should.
its up to u... ur body, ur decision. =.=

zeist, u r no good in squats?
hmm... then are u the type of guy that goes gym just to do ur chest and biceps?

Added on May 1, 2009, 11:02 pm

haha dan... u just did ur 20 reppers... guess u will feel that soreness for few days or maybe a week.
kaka... next time try 10x10 at 70kg. =.=
see whether u love it or not.
kaka... i was just testing out last 3 days, and damn... it took me 40mins to complete 10x10 at 65kg.
nearly cried at the end... haha
I'll definitely try 10x10 out sometime. thumbup.gif Though, I think I'd really have to get someone to keep track of the sets for me. blush.gif
-Dan
post May 1 2009, 11:42 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ May 1 2009, 11:09 PM)
haha... take a paper and pen if u want... =.=
or use something to count.
maybe after each set, take a small plate and put beside u. haha...
if u see 10 plates, meaning, 10 set completed. =.=
Not a bad idea. laugh.gif
-Dan
post May 2 2009, 11:34 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ May 2 2009, 01:40 AM)
How the heck can you use a pen and paper or move a plate with the bar on your shoulders?

I thought you don't rack the bar until 20 reps is over?
Sets, mate. Not reps. smile.gif

Added on May 2, 2009, 8:25 pmReally feeling yesterday's squats. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by -Dan: May 2 2009, 08:25 PM
-Dan
post May 14 2009, 08:29 PM

4,382 posts

Don't like doing squats with dumbbells. =/ I'd much rather do lunges if I only had dumbbells. The stretching feeling sure is something. brows.gif
-Dan
post May 28 2009, 08:34 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ May 28 2009, 07:43 PM)
done it dis morning...damn you guys are nuts...i do warmup 1x10,then 1x10 and 1x20...after i did the 20s my traps hurt and i felt like blood is rushing up my head...nearly faint,sits on the bench for as long as i remembered and i dun dare to do another sets + skip my leg press...damn ....
Great feeling! thumbup.gif

All I could manage after the 20-reppers the last time was a couple of sets of very light calve presses using the leg press machine. sweat.gif

0.0151sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:07 AM