Need help on upgrading window vista

TSdanielicious
post Jan 2 2009, 12:57 PM, updated 17y ago

31 posts

Hi, i'm currently using Window vista premium. Because last time i heard that service pack 1 is not stable, after installing the server pack 1 from auto update then the pc will hang, or blue screen. so i just disable the auto update till now.
but after i reading so many thread about service pack 1 seems like is much more stable now, so wondering should i enable the auto update and download the service pack 1? or any link to direct download the server pack 1 installer.
appreciate if any 1 can help me up on this. thanks
astria
post Jan 2 2009, 03:15 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

juz get it...

if it's not better MS wouldn't release it also...

btw, SP2 coming out soon...
xelnamikaze
post Jan 2 2009, 09:54 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 2 2009, 04:15 PM)
juz get it...

if it's not better MS wouldn't release it also...

btw, SP2 coming out soon...
i thought i saw it somewhere that it is already out .. or did i mistaken it for something else?
astria
post Jan 2 2009, 11:10 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

SP2 is still beta-ing...
TSdanielicious
post Jan 3 2009, 04:11 PM

31 posts

So should i just upgrade to service pack 1 first while waiting for service pack 2?
if yes then how can i download it?
mystical zero
post Jan 3 2009, 04:24 PM

876 posts

Yes. In fact, SP2 requires SP1.
Gavinziew
post Jan 3 2009, 04:29 PM

Validating
75 posts

QUOTE(mystical zero @ Jan 3 2009, 04:24 PM)
Yes. In fact, SP2 requires SP1.
dont auto update the sp1 just go microsoft website download the exe file

Added on January 3, 2009, 4:30 pmwell if u still can wait wait until window 7 is out . window 7 is most perfect OS microsoft ever done rclxms.gif and 50% faster then vista

This post has been edited by Gavinziew: Jan 3 2009, 04:30 PM
husaini_
post Jan 3 2009, 06:06 PM

21 posts

where can get the windos vista sp2 eng???
defaultname365
post Jan 3 2009, 06:33 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

QUOTE(Gavinziew @ Jan 3 2009, 04:29 PM)

Added on January 3, 2009, 4:30 pmwell if u still can wait wait until window 7 is out . window 7 is most perfect OS microsoft ever done  rclxms.gif and 50% faster then vista
Lol... I have been using Windows 7 (Build 7000) for 2 days already. Didn't even open Vista... (except maybe important to-do tasks)... Just comes to show how much I love Windows 7.

As for TS's issue : To Vista SP1 or not to, I don't know what you're waiting for, and listening to what others have to say isn't really going to help. Every PC user experiences pre-SP1 and post-SP1 difference - it may be good, it may be worse (although the former is the case for most). I'd say get it - and get SP1 RIGHT NOW ! It not only updates / sorts out various bugs in Vista, it is vital to the security and overall well-being of Vista itself.

QUOTE(danielicious @ Jan 2 2009, 12:57 PM)
Hi, i'm currently using Window vista premium. Because last time i heard that service pack 1 is not stable, after installing the server pack 1 from auto update then the pc will hang, or blue screen. so i just disable the auto update till now.
but after i reading so many thread about service pack 1 seems like is much more stable now, so wondering should i enable the auto update and download the service pack 1? or any link to direct download the server pack 1 installer.
If you're doubtful, check my thread : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=721808&hl=

And I thought all SP1 related questions should be in here ? : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/623655

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Jan 3 2009, 06:35 PM
Gavinziew
post Jan 4 2009, 01:14 AM

Validating
75 posts

QUOTE(husaini_ @ Jan 3 2009, 06:06 PM)
where can get the windos vista sp2 eng???
vista sp2 beta can be download soon on microsoft website
matmoto5125
post Jan 5 2009, 09:27 AM

Silent Reader
1,305 posts

install vista with SP1, then wait for SP2.. smile.gif
linkinstreet
post Jan 5 2009, 09:34 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

QUOTE(Gavinziew @ Jan 3 2009, 04:29 PM)
well if u still can wait wait until window 7 is out . window 7 is most perfect OS microsoft ever done  rclxms.gif and 50% faster then vista

Yeah, teh same thing ppl said when waiting for Vista. the thing is, you need a good hardware, and when Vista was released, many people thought it would run fine with their XP rig. Considering that most of the underlying windows 7 IS vista, you'd basically using a Steroid filled vista. And expect the final version to be filled with softwares and features that Microsoft says users "want".

FarCry3r
post Jan 5 2009, 09:55 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jan 5 2009, 09:34 AM)
Yeah, teh same thing ppl said when waiting for Vista. the thing is, you need a good hardware, and when Vista was released, many people thought it would run fine with their XP rig. Considering that most of the underlying windows 7 IS vista, you'd basically using a Steroid filled vista. And expect the final version to be filled with softwares and features that Microsoft says users "want".
At least Microsoft already removed Windows Mail from it rolleyes.gif
TSdanielicious
post Jan 5 2009, 10:13 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jan 3 2009, 06:33 PM)
Lol... I have been using Windows 7 (Build 7000) for 2 days already. Didn't even open Vista... (except maybe important to-do tasks)... Just comes to show how much I love Windows 7.

As for TS's issue : To Vista SP1 or not to, I don't know what you're waiting for, and listening to what others have to say isn't really going to help. Every PC user experiences pre-SP1 and post-SP1 difference - it may be good, it may be worse (although the former is the case for most). I'd say get it - and get SP1 RIGHT NOW ! It not only updates / sorts out various bugs in Vista, it is vital to the security and overall well-being of Vista itself.
If you're doubtful, check my thread : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=721808&hl=

And I thought all SP1 related questions should be in here ? : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/623655
Thanks alot guys, i'm gonna download SP1 from ur thread. hopefully after installing will make my Vista works better..
cheers icon_rolleyes.gif
TechnoDude94
post Jan 5 2009, 12:07 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 5 2009, 09:55 AM)
At least Microsoft already removed Windows Mail from it rolleyes.gif
Actually, Windows Mail is quite vital towards certain users (for I don't know what reason tongue.gif) but I think most of us prefer Office Outlook. flex.gif
FarCry3r
post Jan 5 2009, 12:20 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Jan 5 2009, 12:07 PM)
Actually, Windows Mail is quite vital towards certain users (for I don't know what reason tongue.gif) but I think most of us prefer Office Outlook. flex.gif
It's a lifesaver if users like me who just want it to work right out of the box. Not all of us can pay for the Microsoft Office Outlook mind you...
TechnoDude94
post Jan 6 2009, 08:04 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 5 2009, 12:20 PM)
It's a lifesaver if users like me who just want it to work right out of the box. Not all of us can pay for the Microsoft Office Outlook mind you...
Yeap, I'm ashamed to say that I'm running on *ahem* version of Outlook. icon_rolleyes.gif
steve88
post Jan 6 2009, 08:37 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(danielicious @ Jan 2 2009, 12:57 PM)
use xp better than vista lah..much more faster and reliable
TSdanielicious
post Jan 7 2009, 12:13 PM

31 posts

Guys i'm trying to install the Vista service pack 1 yesterday, but it seems got problem, installing failed due to internal error..any 1 know wat problem is it?
-Torrz
post Jan 7 2009, 08:58 PM

◕‿◕
2,095 posts

lol thats why I never update my Vista to SP1

0.0170sec    1.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:39 AM