TSprasys
post Jan 1 2009, 09:48 PM, updated 17y ago

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Hello Guys and gurls

Yeah this would be my first post here in this section. I don't usually hang out in this section but I've couple of questions for you guys. I am thinking of getting a 2nd hand xbox 360 from my friend. Its a modded version , it has like a headset , wireless controller ,wired and a 20GB hard disk. Now he said that that I can't update the console nor play games online via xbox live !. Now I've a couple of questions in store for you guys (Yes I've done my home work first) :-

1) Can I play retail games that I buy from stores and use it with the modded console ? (From what I've heard is that its a hit or miss. Sometimes Microsoft may black list you as your console original software or hardware revision has been modified. Some people say that they can play online games no problem on a modded console by tweaking couple of things)- I am not sure what but thats what I got from Google) . I am not talkong about playing pirated games online as I do know that it lacks of certain things and Microsoft would automatically ban the it

2) Can I update to the new dashboard with a modded console ? . People say that it gives the Ring of Death when you update it in a modded console. Some say that they can't use all the functions such as avatars (the new 3d ones) and such

3) Can I use it to buy free games or unlock levels with a modded console. I do have a gamercard but then people said despite the fact that you use original DVD game , you're unable to get bonus levels or such as you're using a modded console

If modded consoles give so much of problem , then I would save up and grab a retail console if that is the case. I would just like to clarify on these stuff first

Thanks a lot
navigator
post Jan 1 2009, 09:57 PM

375 posts

Dude...Modded stuff is not allwoed here.

Just go out and buy a new Jasper based 360. ease your headache......If you do not plan to play ANY *ahem* game
SUSwilsonjay
post Jan 1 2009, 10:04 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Jan 1 2009, 09:57 PM)

Just go out and buy a new Jasper based 360. ease your headache......If you do not plan to play ANY *ahem* game
what u mean modded stuff is not allowed here? he is the mod... whistling.gif
defaultname365
post Jan 1 2009, 10:13 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jan 1 2009, 09:48 PM)
Hello Guys and gurls

Yeah this would be my first post here in this section. I don't usually hang out in this section but I've couple of questions for you guys. I am thinking of getting a 2nd hand xbox 360 from my friend. Its a modded version , it has like a headset , wireless controller ,wired and a 20GB hard disk. Now he said that that I can't update the console nor play games online via xbox live !. Now I've a couple of questions in store for you guys (Yes I've done my home work first) :-
1) Can I play retail games that I buy from stores and use it with the modded console ? (From what I've heard is that its a hit or miss. Sometimes Microsoft may black list you as your console original software or hardware revision has been modified. Some people say that they can play online games no problem on a modded console by tweaking couple of things)-  I am not sure what but thats what I got from Google) . I am not talkong about playing pirated games online as I do know that it lacks of certain things and Microsoft would automatically ban the it

2) Can I update to the new dashboard with a modded console ?  . People say that it gives the Ring of Death when you update it in a modded console. Some say that they can't use all the functions such as avatars (the new 3d ones) and such

3) Can I use it to buy free games or unlock levels with a modded console. I do have a gamercard but then people said despite the fact that you use original DVD game , you're unable to get bonus levels or such as you're using a modded console
If modded consoles give so much of problem , then I would save up and grab a retail console if that is the case. I would just like to clarify on these stuff first

Thanks a lot
1. If playing offline, then you're safe. However, when you're online and Microsoft tracks you, you will be blacklisted.

2. I believe so, but again, Microsoft might track you and blacklist you. As for the general hardware failure, it is an issue of internal design - it is a big mess but let's just say NXE is not a cause for the general hardware failure. Some might argue, but let them be.

3. Grabbing a genuine/valid/real Xbox 360 is the way to go. However, if at all you get the general hardware failure, you might have to send it to Singapore to claim warranty. If under warranty, repair is FREE. Transport of the unit to Singapore is NOT.
Or... void your warranty and get it fixed by a specialist, in which there are plenty in here.

Lol... its just a question of "what if"... we're not gonna force him to go down that alley, its up to every gamer out there as well...

Jcsy
post Jan 1 2009, 10:24 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

i have read cases where even if never connected to live, modded console is still modded

MS knows so well somehow and they blacklist u.. the moment u connect, bam ur banned

seriously, i have read 45 pages of how MS has banned people and alot ppl do funny things to evade it , still gets banned... there is no escape as long as u are modded... they are THAT GOOD

yes you can fully do everything with a modded console.u can update and there is no shit like RROD when u update... a modded console acts as if an unmodded console, a 100% .. u can play live with others as well

games , everything will be unlocked as if an unmodded console too smile.gif any game... u will get patches.. u will get 2 download trailers and demos

i have done alot homework too
shakiraa
post Jan 1 2009, 10:41 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Jan 1 2009, 10:24 PM)
.u can update and there is no shit like RROD when u update... a modded console acts as if an unmodded console, a 100% .. u can play live with others as well

games , everything will be unlocked as if an unmodded console too smile.gif any game... u will get patches..  u will get 2 download trailers and demos

i have done alot homework too
Hi bro, some side questions, if i download patches from internet, how do i download using the console? how do i start, copy into USB drive transfer to console. then..?

thanks.
Jcsy
post Jan 1 2009, 11:00 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

yes, directly from console. b4 playing a game, if there is a patch for that game, u will be asked to patch

of course, u need internet connection and xbox live (silver or gold) membership 2 download smile.gif

after download, it will extract itself and u can then play smile.gif

of course, the game will work wihtout the patch as well and u can choose not 2 patch by not connecting 2 live biggrin.gif
TSprasys
post Jan 1 2009, 11:01 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

I know the rules. If I do have the spare money , I would have just got the original untouched version , its kinda tempting to get a console for like RM 500 (at that price , as opposed to the new one). Its a What-if. I am not going to use it to play pirated games , I wanted to get some titles such as Halo 2 and 3 and play it on the 360 with friends and such.

Thanks again. Its a no-go. Oh yeah I know M$ is good a tracking down modded consoles

Anyway its a no-go then , I am better off saving up for a untouched console tongue.gif

technophile
post Jan 1 2009, 11:06 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jan 1 2009, 11:01 PM)
I know the rules. If I do have the spare money , I would have just got the original untouched version , its kinda tempting to get a console for like RM 500 (at that price , as opposed to the new one). Its a What-if. I am not going to use it to play pirated games , I wanted to get some titles such as Halo 2 and 3 and play it on the 360 with friends and such.
Thanks again. Its a no-go. Oh yeah I know M$ is good a tracking down modded consoles

Anyway its a no-go then , I am better off saving up for a untouched console tongue.gif
yup!
thumbs up for you!
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
cahayamalamku
post Jan 2 2009, 01:33 AM

171 posts

wow! only for rm500.00? sweat.gif
dark lenanza
post Jan 2 2009, 01:51 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

3rod = myth

solution...
i know who play modded till now
never had prob while update dashboard
cahayamalamku
post Jan 2 2009, 01:56 AM

171 posts

is it playing online game using modded console with original game?
Jcsy
post Jan 2 2009, 02:19 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

modded console can play online, whether it is original or pirated smile.gif

modded console can do everything.. just like an unmodded... mix and match smile.gif

but u risk being banned anyhow u want 2 escape

i have read of cases where a guy bought a modded console, played 10 original games, 0 pirated games, and still banned... he played offline and online and even, without connecting to the network biggrin.gif
cannavaro
post Jan 2 2009, 04:41 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Jan 2 2009, 01:51 AM)
3rod = myth

solution...
Quite a few of them actually. I guess they are lucky enough to escape from Microsoft till now, or should I say... they know how to not get banned despite playing pirated games on live since as long as I can remember.

However I'm certain that they will be banned in the future. It's only a question of how many months, or years it will take. laugh.gif

Jcsy
post Jan 2 2009, 09:05 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jan 2 2009, 04:41 AM)
Quite a few of them actually. I guess they are lucky enough to escape from Microsoft till now, or should I say... they know how to not get banned despite playing pirated games on live since as long as I can remember.

However I'm certain that they will be banned in the future. It's only a question of how many months, or years it will take. laugh.gif
yes i agree with u

its just a matter of time.. some people who buy a 2nd hand console (seller said its NOT modded) turn out 2 be banned after a few months down the road...

the seller himself didnt even know it was modded as it came from the shop... he was playing al original games

the slightest modification to xbox, MS knows already.. most people have tried MS but MS claims that u modded ur console and never makes mistakes banning people... well of course unless 0.01% chance u get lucky after talking on the customer service for 5 hours smile.gif
cahayamalamku
post Jan 2 2009, 11:00 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Jan 2 2009, 02:19 AM)
i have read of cases where a guy bought a modded console, played 10 original games, 0 pirated games, and still banned... he played offline and online and even, without connecting to the network biggrin.gif
oh thanks for giving the clearly picture here. so there's no good point lah buying that rm500 console if want to play online even though using original game because the possibility of getting banned is highly still there. banned means the console become a brick? or MS add some scripts so that the console will get 3rrod earlier? or just can't get use live?

as i could remember the jasper arcade version is now less than rm1k right? that should be the best selection. however it looks like ps3 now has more better exclusive games (gametrailers game of the year 2008).

my friend want to get one between xbox 360 or ps3 but still can't decide for about 2 months already. finally yesterday he chose sony ericsson p1 rclxub.gif
Jcsy
post Jan 2 2009, 01:16 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

just cant use the live

there are no scripts to get RROD by MS. MS is trying to prevent this that costs them millions a year as compared to Sony PS3

jasper is NOT less than 1k though... its still 1k above... arcade has no hard disk , so its a bit difficult smile.gif

PS3 exclusive games? well, it depends on yourself.. if u see ps3 having more of your genre, get the PS3 smile.gif
shakiraa
post Jan 2 2009, 11:29 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Jan 1 2009, 11:00 PM)
yes, directly from console. b4 playing a game, if there is a patch for that game, u will be asked to patch

of course, u need internet connection and xbox live (silver or gold) membership 2 download smile.gif

after download, it will extract itself and u can then play smile.gif

of course, the game will work wihtout the patch as well and u can choose not 2 patch by not connecting 2 live biggrin.gif
oh ic, thanks bro, that means i cant get patches without connecting to XBOX live, was thinking maybe i can download from internet then transfer it to XBOX from PC smile.gif
bryan8511
post Jan 3 2009, 12:52 AM

55 posts

Tumpang ur thread..jasper build in 256 ram if i 1 day play around 3-4 hours izzit ok?
cannavaro
post Jan 3 2009, 01:38 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

10 hours also no problem.
S4PH
post Jan 3 2009, 02:12 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

my jasper so cold,never expected ms to fix the heat issue so well,its cooler than my ps3
navigator
post Jan 3 2009, 07:17 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jan 3 2009, 02:12 AM)
my jasper so cold,never expected ms to fix the heat issue so well,its cooler than my ps3
Well, is the disc warm or cold when removed after long hours of play?

I mean for jasper.

From what I know...PS3 is quite hot when full blast....from what I observed after a 2 hrs session it's actually warmer than a Falcon sweat.gif
dark lenanza
post Jan 3 2009, 07:20 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

in the future...
rolleyes.gif

Added on January 3, 2009, 7:21 am
QUOTE(Jcsy @ Jan 2 2009, 02:19 AM)
modded console can play online, whether it is original or pirated smile.gif

modded console can do everything.. just like an unmodded... mix and match smile.gif

but u risk being banned anyhow u want 2 escape

different is
stealth mode
extreme or iextereme

This post has been edited by dark lenanza: Jan 3 2009, 07:21 AM
xxboxx
post Jan 3 2009, 10:08 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

ahaha.. i thought we can't talk anything about piracy in here? even when it's "what if" scenario?

bryan8511
post Jan 3 2009, 12:49 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jan 3 2009, 01:38 AM)
10 hours also no problem.
But running d games on d drive too long will it spoil fast as 256 cannot install game oni can save game rite..coorect me if im wrong...thx
S4PH
post Jan 3 2009, 12:54 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Jan 3 2009, 07:17 AM)
Well, is the disc warm or cold when removed after long hours of play?

I mean for jasper.

From what I know...PS3 is quite hot when full blast....from what I observed after a 2 hrs session it's actually warmer than a Falcon sweat.gif
Yesterday my jasper was on from 10.00am to 11.00pm most of my games are installed and i found that the disc is not warm its cold,of course i use ac to blow towards my jasper,hehehehe rclxm9.gif
Jcsy
post Jan 3 2009, 01:32 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

the xbox doesnt read the disc anymore once u have installed it on your game onto the hard disk

however, the gpu is still hot processing the graphics

the disc is hot due to spin rates, which also cause heat... of course, installing it is much better to avoid unncessary heat

my set is a falcon and its just the back air pumped out which is hot
cannavaro
post Jan 3 2009, 01:39 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(bryan8511 @ Jan 3 2009, 12:49 PM)
But running d games on d drive too long will it spoil fast as 256 cannot install game oni can save game rite..coorect me if im wrong...thx
Theoretically speaking yes it may shorten the lifespan. No big deal really, it's the universal rule of wear and tear.
Yeah it's EXTREMELY obvious that you cannot install a 360 game on the onboard memory. No biggie. Just grab a 20GB HDD, it's pretty cheap. I remember seeing someone selling it for RM150 somewhere in here.

navigator
post Jan 3 2009, 01:40 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jan 3 2009, 12:54 PM)
Yesterday my jasper was on from 10.00am to 11.00pm most of my games are installed and i found that the disc is not warm its cold,of course i use ac  to blow towards my jasper,hehehehe  rclxm9.gif
Uh, thanks to the 20GB and advice when running HALO3, I did not install any game to the HDD yet....

Wanna look for a farking cheep xbox HDD....some one said JB got very cheep 120GB HDD for sale....
bryan8511
post Jan 3 2009, 02:35 PM

55 posts

One more noob ques..d HDD izzit is d HDD v use on our laptop?2.5"?
TQ in advance
Thrust
post Jan 3 2009, 02:38 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

I think 20GB is not enough ler sad.gif I can't even install Lost Odyssey into a 20GB HDD. I haven't even mentioned Tales Of Vesperia, Last Remnant and other JRPG. Should have gotten a 60GB HDD at least.

A good reference site on game installation size....

http://www.talkxbox.com/article2870.html

This post has been edited by Thrust: Jan 3 2009, 02:41 PM
navigator
post Jan 3 2009, 03:24 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(bryan8511 @ Jan 3 2009, 02:35 PM)
One more noob ques..d HDD izzit is d HDD v use on our laptop?2.5"?
TQ in advance
Hardware, yes.
Logically , no.

You need to modify the file system and some sectors in the HDD to really use it.

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 3 2009, 02:38 PM)
I think 20GB is not enough ler sad.gif I can't even install Lost Odyssey into a 20GB HDD. I haven't even mentioned Tales Of Vesperia, Last Remnant and other JRPG. Should have gotten a 60GB HDD at least.

A good reference site on game installation size....

http://www.talkxbox.com/article2870.html
I don even think of trying it after seeing certain advice from gaming compan such as Bungie of not install the game to HDD...
S4PH
post Jan 3 2009, 03:29 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

120gb HDD very xpensive la,wana mod to bigger drive can risk banning the console.

This post has been edited by S4PH: Jan 3 2009, 03:29 PM
navigator
post Jan 3 2009, 03:40 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jan 3 2009, 03:29 PM)
120gb HDD very xpensive la,wana mod to bigger drive can risk banning the console.
someone said selling ori 120GB HDD for RM2xx......i think it's cheep....
gajah91
post Jan 3 2009, 04:55 PM

416 posts

can i know, xbox 360 got wifi? or have to buy extra accessories?
Thrust
post Jan 3 2009, 05:07 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

It looks like we can install Disc by Disc (No need to install all at once) which is a good option for 20GB owners.
S4PH
post Jan 3 2009, 05:22 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(gajah91 @ Jan 3 2009, 04:55 PM)
can i know, xbox 360 got wifi? or have to buy extra accessories?
YES 360 have wifi but u need to buy a wifi adapter as its sold separately
gajah91
post Jan 3 2009, 05:31 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jan 3 2009, 05:22 PM)
YES 360 have wifi but u need to buy a wifi adapter as its sold separately
usually how much it cost?
SUSwilsonjay
post Jan 3 2009, 05:32 PM

1,605 posts

hm...when installing the games into the hard drive...theyll install in completely or just some parts? example Gears of war lets say 10gb...theyll install full 10gb or just like half of it?

1 more thing how much is 20gb hdd now?

This post has been edited by wilsonjay: Jan 3 2009, 05:42 PM
Thrust
post Jan 3 2009, 06:07 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

gears of war 2 installation only take up 6.7GB.
SUSwilsonjay
post Jan 3 2009, 06:14 PM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 3 2009, 06:07 PM)
gears of war 2 installation only take up 6.7GB.
wow...thats means 20gb only can install around 3-4 games only=.=
Thrust
post Jan 3 2009, 06:21 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Sad to say, maximum 2 games only.. out of 20GB, you can have access to only 12.X GB... the rest are taken up by duno what crap of files...
SUSwilsonjay
post Jan 3 2009, 06:26 PM

1,605 posts

lol...then 20gb is like nothing!!! shakehead.gif ...60gb so exp=.= how much?
navigator
post Jan 3 2009, 07:43 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(gajah91 @ Jan 3 2009, 05:31 PM)
RM2xx....come with 3 months Gold subscription.

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Jan 3 2009, 06:26 PM)
lol...then 20gb is like nothing!!! shakehead.gif ...60gb so exp=.= how much?
anyone in JB can try your luck at holiday plaza, RM29x for 120GB Original HDD.

This post has been edited by navigator: Jan 3 2009, 07:47 PM
cannavaro
post Jan 3 2009, 07:52 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(gajah91 @ Jan 3 2009, 05:31 PM)
Around RM280. Bloody expensive for a wifi dongle that can't even support WPA2.
There's a cheaper, non official alternative though. You can either connect your console to a laptop and share its internet connection, or connect it to another wireless router.
gajah91
post Jan 3 2009, 07:55 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jan 3 2009, 07:52 PM)
Around RM280. Bloody expensive for a wifi dongle that can't even support WPA2.
There's a cheaper, non official alternative though. You can either connect your console to a laptop and share its internet connection, or connect it to another wireless router.
connect console to laptop?
how?
can it connect at hotel's wifi?which needed to log in...

navigator
post Jan 3 2009, 08:06 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(gajah91 @ Jan 3 2009, 07:55 PM)
connect console to laptop?
how?
can it connect at hotel's wifi?which needed to log in...
Just plug them together using ethernet.

I still prefer the official wireless adaptor as it's neat and c/w subscription card.

alternatively someone managed to plug the xbox to a modified wireless router as an alternative way to connect to wifi.

It should work with any wifi given that if the network administrator allows it.
gajah91
post Jan 3 2009, 09:15 PM

416 posts

can i know how to play online through streamyx...?
with line..
Mr Ez
post Jan 3 2009, 09:30 PM

Super Cool
700 posts

^Ethernet cable + Streamyx account + USD 50 Gold Subscription
navigator
post Jan 3 2009, 11:34 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Mr Ez @ Jan 3 2009, 09:30 PM)
For gold subscription, I usually recommened this site as it offer cheapest available price: http://www.microsoftpointsxbox.com/
jinaun
post Jan 4 2009, 12:29 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

the country restriction of MS points is frustrating..

my account is UK based, and kinda difficult to get prepaid code for it..

can i create a US account and transfer my UK account ( downloades/purchased games, game records, ms points, gold subscription,etc etc ) to a US account?
Jcsy
post Jan 4 2009, 01:52 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

use the link above

http://www.microsoftpointsxbox.com/

cheapest and best way 2 get it

of course u need a credit card

ive tried and works smile.gif
steventanz
post Jan 4 2009, 03:34 AM

247 posts

how much is 60gb and 120gb selling in KL? planning to get one..but wonder where to get at the cheapest price
Jcsy
post Jan 4 2009, 04:05 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

no point getting 120gb smile.gif

in KL cheapest is usually forumers shops

tech2,nelson,djinn,bernardmoh

common shops smile.gif
jinaun
post Jan 4 2009, 08:00 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Jan 4 2009, 01:52 AM)
use the link above

http://www.microsoftpointsxbox.com/

cheapest and best way 2 get it

of course u need a credit card

ive tried and works smile.gif
the url onli have USA and Canadian MS points... there is no MS points for UK..

According to xbox.com, the 1600 and 4000 points purchased from the U.S. can only be applied to accounts registered to the U.S.

The USA points is compatible with USA Xbox 360s only and USA Xbox Live Accounts on non USA based Xbox 360s. The Canadian points is compatible with Canadian Xbox 360s only and Canadian Xbox Live Accounts on non Canadian based Xbox 360s.

This post has been edited by jinaun: Jan 4 2009, 08:01 AM
navigator
post Jan 4 2009, 08:49 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Jan 4 2009, 08:00 AM)
We buy only gold subscription from that site. points basically the price for asian M$ point is fixed so you may just get it from your NXE dashboard.
gajah91
post Jan 4 2009, 09:40 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(Mr Ez @ Jan 3 2009, 09:30 PM)
QUOTE(navigator @ Jan 3 2009, 11:34 PM)
For gold subscription, I usually recommened this site as it offer cheapest available price: http://www.microsoftpointsxbox.com/
can i play online without gold subscription?
pakcikkantin
post Jan 4 2009, 12:07 PM

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Jan 3 2009, 06:14 PM)
wow...thats means 20gb only can install around 3-4 games only=.=
Not really, plus System, plus Save games for 20Gb , only enough for 2 games. Others saved for system and saved games

Planning to buy 120Hdd , but don't know the price yet
Jcsy
post Jan 4 2009, 12:42 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

QUOTE(gajah91 @ Jan 4 2009, 09:40 AM)
can i play online without gold subscription?
nope

unless u get GOLD account...

u get free GOLD 1 month with certain xbox sets wink.gif

u can create 3 gamertags to play a maximum of 3 free months biggrin.gif

bem69
post Jan 4 2009, 01:01 PM

K-Bem
2,660 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Jan 4 2009, 08:00 AM)
UK points is much easier to obtain compared to Australian, why don't you try and check ebay for UK points? Or you could do it my style, and just buy points on a separate Singapore account and buy stuff there. You should be able to use the stuff on your UK account.

This post has been edited by bem69: Jan 4 2009, 01:02 PM
pickhui
post Jan 4 2009, 01:10 PM

How i can know my account is from what country?
gajah91
post Jan 4 2009, 01:13 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Jan 4 2009, 12:42 PM)
nope

unless u get GOLD account...

u get free GOLD 1 month with certain xbox sets wink.gif

u can create 3 gamertags to play a maximum of 3 free months biggrin.gif
xbox arcade set got?
usually how much it costs for GOLd account?
MmxZero
post Jan 4 2009, 01:13 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jan 1 2009, 09:48 PM)
Hello Guys and gurls

1) Can I play retail games that I buy from stores and use it with the modded console ? (From what I've heard is that its a hit or miss. Sometimes Microsoft may black list you as your console original software or hardware revision has been modified. Some people say that they can play online games no problem on a modded console by tweaking couple of things)-  I am not sure what but thats what I got from Google) . I am not talkong about playing pirated games online as I do know that it lacks of certain things and Microsoft would automatically ban the it

2) Can I update to the new dashboard with a modded console ?  . People say that it gives the Ring of Death when you update it in a modded console. Some say that they can't use all the functions such as avatars (the new 3d ones) and such

Thanks a lot
1. Yes. MS only ban you from going online. Other then that, you can play games single player.

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Jan 2 2009, 01:51 AM)
3rod = myth

solution...
Hmm, I know a few guys still going strong on it whistling.gif

Your right. LOL.

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Jan 4 2009, 04:05 AM)
no point getting 120gb smile.gif

in KL cheapest is usually forumers shops

tech2,nelson,djinn,bernardmoh

common shops smile.gif
I taught cheapest is DIY ? laugh.gif

QUOTE(pickhui @ Jan 4 2009, 01:10 PM)
How i can know my account is from what country?
Check your field address.

pickhui
post Jan 4 2009, 06:18 PM

What is the path to check my address? in NXE or Xbox live website?

Btw, can i use US address meanwhile my IP is from Malaysia?
Jcsy
post Jan 4 2009, 08:29 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

QUOTE(MmxZero @ Jan 4 2009, 01:13 PM)

I taught cheapest is DIY ?  laugh.gif

wahaha those are READY MADE MODELS from shops

forumers who are selling 120gb and 60gb ma tongue.gif

if people ask where 2 get cheapest xbox, ill say 160gb own made hard disk tongue.gif

lol notworthy.gif

nonamekid
post Jan 4 2009, 09:07 PM

432 posts

ohh means that microsoft find out your console is modded, dey will banned all your online activities and you are onli able to play single player games?
S4PH
post Jan 4 2009, 09:19 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

when u mod the console u will will certainly get banned which id say its a waste to get a modded console,lotsa people dont know what they are missing at xbox live.
bluey88
post Jan 4 2009, 09:49 PM

58 posts

Will i get sound problem from HDMI output if i upgraded my jasper to new NXE dashboard?
yhsiau
post Jan 4 2009, 09:54 PM

792 posts

Xbox360 HDMI interface doesnt support build in sound channels... u need seperate audio cable in order to have sound. Btw, HDMI cable for xb360 sold seperately unless your go buy the Elite ver(120gb HD).
Jcsy
post Jan 4 2009, 10:02 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

umm.. HDMI supports both audio and video

why you say that the interface doesnt support built in sound channels ?

5.1 ? 7.1 ?

im sure my 2.1 works and many dvd & bluray players too as well are using HDMI for both video & audio

and yes, modded console will be banned 1 day.. eventually
nonamekid
post Jan 4 2009, 10:18 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Jan 4 2009, 10:02 PM)
umm.. HDMI supports both audio and video

why you say that the interface doesnt support built in sound channels ?

5.1 ? 7.1 ?

im sure my 2.1 works and many dvd & bluray players too as well are using HDMI for both video & audio

and yes, modded console will be banned 1 day.. eventually
wat you mean by banned one day?
bluey88
post Jan 4 2009, 11:56 PM

58 posts

The jasper HDMI supports sound but due to this articles

http://www.xbox360fanboy.com/2008/12/02/ms...king-towards-a/

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/nxe-caus...with-hdmi-sound

i dont want to risk killing the sound output of HDMI by upgarding to NXE.

Anyone can verify if this is true?

Jcsy
post Jan 5 2009, 12:27 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

means 1 day will come, when u get banned for good smile.gif
navigator
post Jan 5 2009, 06:48 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(bluey88 @ Jan 4 2009, 11:56 PM)

It's true, but I'm not affected for now. thumbup.gif
Jcsy
post Jan 5 2009, 09:26 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

MS will also, eventually fix this so why worry biggrin.gif
cannavaro
post Jan 5 2009, 10:56 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Some people have been 'waiting' to get banned for around 2 years or so, if you get my drift. laugh.gif
bryan8511
post Jan 5 2009, 11:13 AM

55 posts

Which 1 shud i choose guyz as jasper build in memory oni 256 do u think enuf?as i already ask if jasper add another HDD..d 60GB hdd cost me RM300...quite big amount if add together wif d console....
MmxZero
post Jan 5 2009, 11:24 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jan 5 2009, 10:56 AM)
Some people have been 'waiting' to get banned for around 2 years or so, if you get my drift. laugh.gif
nod.gif

QUOTE(bryan8511 @ Jan 5 2009, 11:13 AM)
Which 1 shud i choose guyz as jasper build in memory oni 256 do u think enuf?as i already ask if jasper add another HDD..d 60GB hdd cost me RM300...quite big amount if add together wif d console....
Trust me, you really do need the HDD. 256 Doesn't give you enough space.
pakcikkantin
post Jan 5 2009, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(MmxZero @ Jan 5 2009, 11:24 AM)
nod.gif
Trust me, you really do need the HDD. 256 Doesn't give you enough space.
Agree on that, I used to install games to HDD, fast and easy loading, like the Fallout games.

I also buy games from the arcade ... even 1 day to finish downloading.. and movies.

One more thing, i can also play my Divx movies
S4PH
post Jan 5 2009, 12:17 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(bluey88 @ Jan 4 2009, 11:56 PM)

i have no audio prob with my jasper using hdmi cable,btw im using nxe,nxe very important 2 install game
navigator
post Jan 5 2009, 01:14 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(bryan8511 @ Jan 5 2009, 11:13 AM)
.....Too expensive.....

JB Holiday Plaza someone claimed to get 120GB below RM300...and they're genuine.... hmm.gif
chickenducksoup
post Jan 5 2009, 02:29 PM

I'm so GAY
1,298 posts

can play .mkv 720p movie?
jinaun
post Jan 5 2009, 02:34 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Jan 5 2009, 01:14 PM)
.....Too expensive.....

JB Holiday Plaza someone claimed to get 120GB below RM300...and they're genuine.... hmm.gif
maybe the 120GB is genuine hdd, but are they from genuine channel or parallel import or water goods?
navigator
post Jan 5 2009, 02:37 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Jan 5 2009, 02:34 PM)
maybe the 120GB is genuine hdd, but are they from genuine channel or parallel import or water goods?
If the shop provide warranty, why care? at least i got less headache. icon_idea.gif

Added on January 5, 2009, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(chickenducksoup @ Jan 5 2009, 02:29 PM)
can play .mkv 720p movie?
DOnt think so

This post has been edited by navigator: Jan 5 2009, 02:37 PM
bluey88
post Jan 6 2009, 06:50 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jan 5 2009, 12:17 PM)
i have no audio prob with my jasper using hdmi cable,btw im using nxe,nxe very important 2 install game
good to know that not everyone get audio problem with hdmi when using nxe. Maybe i will try later when i can find a 2nd hand hd
chickenducksoup
post Jan 6 2009, 09:54 AM

I'm so GAY
1,298 posts

i using HDMI with my dell lcd also dun have audio problem
jinaun
post Jan 6 2009, 11:42 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Jan 5 2009, 02:37 PM)
If the shop provide warranty, why care? at least i got less headache. icon_idea.gif
well.. if its water goods.. possibly could get banned by MS rite?
S4PH
post Jan 7 2009, 01:03 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Jan 6 2009, 11:42 PM)
well.. if its water goods.. possibly could get banned by MS rite?
is there a way to spot a non genuine HDD and a genuine HDD? Thinking about upgrading from my 20gb but i dowan to risk banning my console.
MmxZero
post Jan 7 2009, 11:11 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jan 7 2009, 01:03 AM)
is there a way to spot a non genuine HDD and a genuine HDD? Thinking about upgrading from my 20gb but i dowan to risk banning my console.
upgrading hdd also can get ban? Lol
pakcikkantin
post Jan 7 2009, 04:05 PM

QUOTE(MmxZero @ Jan 7 2009, 11:11 AM)
I think there should be no issue on HDD ori or not ORI, cause it is just a storage

You can refer to this article

http://www.pcworld.com/article/150970/upgr..._the_cheap.html
jinaun
post Jan 7 2009, 04:22 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jan 7 2009, 01:03 AM)
how would one differentiate an unauthorised/stolen/water genuine hdd and authorized retail channel genuine hdd?
bryan8511
post Jan 8 2009, 12:02 AM

55 posts

Wonder when jasper will release a version bundle wif hdd..or it won't release tiz kinda package?
SUSwilsonjay
post Jan 8 2009, 12:07 AM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(bryan8511 @ Jan 8 2009, 12:02 AM)
Wonder when jasper will release a version bundle wif hdd..or it won't release tiz kinda package?
lol...thats the xbox pro la...very rare for now...but i tried to search in ebay...they have it there..but dunno fake or real la sweat.gif ....maybe will release in a few months time?

This post has been edited by wilsonjay: Jan 8 2009, 12:09 AM
bryan8511
post Jan 8 2009, 12:15 AM

55 posts

AI...stil hv 2 wait few month...
S4PH
post Jan 8 2009, 01:35 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(pakcikkantin @ Jan 7 2009, 04:05 PM)
I think there should be no issue on HDD ori or not ORI, cause it is just a storage

You can refer to this article

http://www.pcworld.com/article/150970/upgr..._the_cheap.html
bcos if either modded hard drive and non genuine HDD got different bios and ms could detect hardware changes in ur console and could risk banning.I guess only la i could be wrong.

Added on January 8, 2009, 1:39 am
QUOTE(MmxZero @ Jan 7 2009, 11:11 AM)
mod dvd drive to play ahem2 also can get ban,what is the diference in hard drive.

Added on January 8, 2009, 10:40 amany 1 here know where can i buy xbox live gold subscription card?

This post has been edited by S4PH: Jan 8 2009, 10:40 AM
iv'N
post Jan 8 2009, 12:41 PM

657 posts

anyone offering services for this mod? smile.gif
Kite
post Jan 8 2009, 01:30 PM

Dark Tipper
4,289 posts