Linksys WAG54G2, Warning! Not recommended!

TSAmaru
post Jan 1 2009, 03:19 PM, updated 17y ago

1,050 posts

Broadband provider
ISP/package: Streamyx/88
Have you called your ISP's helpline?: Yes.

Personal equipment
Modem: WAG54G2
Router: WAG54G2 (same as modem because it's an all-in-one solution)
Firewall used: None.

Problem details
First occurence of problem:
Problem frequency: Often.
Problem description:
Maybe it's just me, but be careful before buying this device - WAG54G2. (do not confuse with WAG54G)

I had a lot of problems with my old Linksys AM300, a pretty shitty modem. See this topic. mad.gif

So I bought WAG54G2, a new Linksys all-in-one modem/wireless router a few weeks ago from Lowyat. I read about it in this The Star article.

The good thing is that the design is very sleek. icon_rolleyes.gif

But I have faced frequent disconnections. Sometimes can't connect at all. shakehead.gif I have yet to find the root cause.

Current Solution
I have replaced the modem with D-Link DSL-520B. I'm using it in bridged mode wth my old D-Link wireless router: DI-524

Conclusion
Don't buy old products (Linksys AM300) that have lots of reported problems.
Don't buy new products (Linksys WAG54G2) until they've been successfully tested in the market.
Avoid all-in-one solutions. Best to buy a Streamyx Certified Modem, like the DSL-520B.

This post has been edited by Amaru: Jan 1 2009, 03:30 PM
lucifah
post Jan 1 2009, 03:27 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

try attaching a case fan on it so the modem/router can be cooler. frequent disconnection is usualy caused by overheating

i'm using my wag54g (not the wag54g2) for a very long time and it never fails me. a 90mm fan attached to it solves the overheating issue. it's switched on 24/7/365

This post has been edited by lucifah: Jan 1 2009, 03:28 PM
TSAmaru
post Jan 1 2009, 03:28 PM

1,050 posts

@lucifah
Edit: The old wag54g is good. But this new one (G2) seems to have problems.

This post has been edited by Amaru: Jan 1 2009, 03:30 PM
kons
post Jan 1 2009, 04:50 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

Thanks for the info.

We bought a WRV series wireless router as well and since it is business series, we thought it will be more stable than normal but we were wrong.
With just around 8 users connecting to it everyday for business use, the wireless would hang and we have to recycle the power to solve the issue.
Xybirium
post Jan 2 2009, 01:46 PM

1,991 posts

I had the Linksys WAG54Gv3 and it was working perfectly until it go struck by lightning.

I can't seem to find that particular model anymore in Kuching.
evilhomura89
post Jan 3 2009, 01:31 AM

5,886 posts

wag54g is phased out in m'sia d right?
couldn't find it anymore....
now only got wag200g and wag54g2 which is same like TS one
obloni
post Jan 22 2009, 03:29 PM

i just bought the wag54g2 modem as well, and i had the same problems (couldn't connect to the internet).

what i did do, was call the cisco support staff, and together we tried to figure out the right settings for the modem.

i managed to get a connection with the settings:-

encapsulation: PPPoA
DSL modulation: T1.413

will let u guys know if the connection turns out to be stable or not.

hope this helps

my isp is streamyx/88

This post has been edited by obloni: Jan 22 2009, 03:29 PM
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 23 2009, 09:16 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

well.. i m another new user of Linksys pissed off by linksys...
my connection is totally a piece of sh!t after changing from DLink....
most funny thing... after the router turn on for 15 min i try to login router Interactive Web the 192.168.1.1 thing , IE giv me the ERROR SERVER NO FOUND.... wondering y CISCO nowaday producing rubbish...
dragonkiat
post Mar 6 2009, 06:42 PM

240 posts

Anybody still have problem with the latest Linksys WAG54G2 ?
WiredBrain
post Mar 7 2009, 11:35 AM

132 posts

Problems:

1. Occasional disconnection
2. Loss of light on 'Internet' status when it's still connected

The main concern is of course, the disconnection, but most probably will be fixed in the next firmware update. Anyway, I bought it because I wanted to put it in a place where there's not enough spcae [height] for an antenna. tongue.gif
Gahleon
post Mar 7 2009, 08:22 PM

230 posts

Good i was planning to get this at future but now im stick to my old WAG54G hope it doesn't spoil by accident.

kira-kun
post Mar 8 2009, 02:43 AM

161 posts

well i thought of getting this cause my router and modem seems to be fading away...
still problems with this?
Gahleon
post Mar 9 2009, 07:56 PM

230 posts

Ya wonder if there is new firmware which fix the problem...
My WAG54G starting to have abit problem now or maybe just tmnut problem.
s6x
post Mar 9 2009, 10:56 PM

115 posts

cisco broke linksys.everything after the cisco era is pretty much cr@p...especially the RVs and WRVs...
tarpaucase
post Mar 24 2009, 11:14 AM

3,469 posts

Wow. Wish I had stumbled onto this thread before I bought mine.

Same problem establishing pppoe connectivity. Change modem to other brand, no problem at all. and its brand new!~

This router/modem combo sucks ass.. stay away!
jyth_82
post Apr 17 2009, 01:17 AM

Mr.
1,431 posts

i'm facing this poblem.... just bought a WAG54G2, i first try at my friends house -> the DSl light is OK but cannot login to streamyx...

SO, i tried back at home now AND The DSL light is not on, i tried on my existing modem , it is ok and able to connect fine. Mine doesn't have the DSL signal at all. Am wondering should i claim for warranty or is there some problem?

Has anyone face the same thing?
blacktubi
post Apr 17 2009, 09:45 AM

-
8,406 posts

i am WAG200G owner having no poblem at all
fast booting and no poblem at local area gaming

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Apr 17 2009, 09:45 AM
roy_pck
post Apr 17 2009, 09:52 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!
552 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Apr 17 2009, 09:45 AM)
i am WAG200G owner having no poblem at all
fast booting and no poblem at local area gaming
same here. WAG200G owner. no major problem but it will hang after long hour P2P. upgraded to latest firmware but it wouldn't help cry.gif
duneyip2
post May 1 2009, 11:20 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(jyth_82 @ Apr 17 2009, 02:17 AM)
i'm facing this poblem.... just bought a WAG54G2, i first try at my friends house -> the DSl light is OK but cannot login to streamyx...

SO, i tried back at home now AND The DSL light is not on, i tried on my existing modem , it is ok and able to connect fine. Mine doesn't have the DSL signal at all. Am wondering should i claim for warranty or is there some problem?

Has anyone face the same thing?
Problem SOLVED. U have to go into the modem setting to configure the modem. Set the DSL modulation to T1.413 and its all done. Cheerzzzzz

This post has been edited by duneyip2: May 1 2009, 01:23 PM
blacktubi
post May 1 2009, 11:42 AM

-
8,406 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Apr 17 2009, 09:52 AM)
same here. WAG200G owner. no major problem but it will hang after long hour P2P. upgraded to latest firmware but it wouldn't help cry.gif
i did not face this poblem. but when p2p, the internet light blink very fast. Did your modem generate a lot of heat?
Izwan898
post May 1 2009, 03:57 PM

MrNastey
937 posts

OMG, I juz bought this WAG54G2 and the wireless connection is not stable...it's fast but not stable...need to hard reboot the modem if the wireless connection is lost... sad.gif
Evogenix
post May 2 2009, 12:12 PM

I Missed LYN Grey Skin T_T
1,809 posts

Using WAG54G2 for a week.
My connection seem to be quite stable once connected.
But, if I start/reboot my laptop, sometime it will just "connected" to the wireless home network, but "limited access" where I cannot access to internet at all.

Not sure what is the problem here. Went to Linksys's website found that my firmware already the latest. Anyone got solution for this issue???

Evogenix
Izwan898
post May 2 2009, 11:49 PM

MrNastey
937 posts

QUOTE(Evogenix @ May 2 2009, 12:12 PM)
Using WAG54G2 for a week.
My connection seem to be quite stable once connected.
But, if I start/reboot my laptop, sometime it will just "connected" to the wireless home network, but "limited access" where I cannot access to internet at all.

Not sure what is the problem here. Went to Linksys's website found that my firmware already the latest. Anyone got solution for this issue???

Evogenix
Actually I'm having the same problem with u bro...anyone got the solution? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
zephyrous
post May 4 2009, 02:27 PM

83 posts

Wanted to buy Linksys WAG54G2 or WRT54G2 at ALL IT Ikano but the salesman mentioned that there is a problem with the firmware if you are using streamyx. The modem keeps disconnecting like what the TS is experiencing and a few ppl have already returned their set. Could this problem be solved with a third party firmware like DD-WRT or Tomato?
rawrico
post May 8 2009, 04:13 PM

I would like to inform you all that,
THIS WAG54G2 got a serious firmware problem

first of all,if any one know how to configure and set the UNIX/Linux system,please enable the the LOG and see(Administrator->Reporting->log*enable)

For those Know how to log in to the router web base(webui,192.168.1.1)

CAN'T Logon to internet(server error or what)
Solution is,please log in to web base,and enable the mac cloning,put any mac address to it even your computer's mac is also ok...

Router will DC/Hang every few minutes/hour and need to reset...
Solution is,if you are using this router,please reduce the p2p connection of your every computer...
and please don't use X*nL*i with it,X*nL*i is leecher, it will take up all of the connection that router have, so there is some issue like can't go web browsing
some more, this X*nL*i are no moral p2p software to me...(this is due to some places that can download this software,had already configure the setting become leecher. i'm using Deluge on Linux base,so far not much problem

in case you are not this router's user,or you laready change the hardware,please consider as this solution that "Amaru" thought
Avoid all-in-one solutions. Best to buy a Streamyx Certified Modem, like the DSL-520B.

This is a good solution for P2P,because you just need to change ONE of the MODEM or ROUTER,you know,when one of it bbq by lighting,youjust only need to change one of it,if use all-in-one,you can't logon to internet once its bbq, in addition, please try to look for those 3rd party firmware can be flashed version
The most easy and value,
BUFFALO WHR-HP-G54(i heard this one is already 3rd party firmware flashed)
LINKSYS WRT54GL(Until now still can flash,flash in on your risk,risk for void warranty)
D-LINK DIR-300(Cheapest,but worst wireless performance,some more are really difficult to flash)
ASUS WL-520GC(Need to check is the hardware version can be flash,not sure,also very cheap)

There is stupid like to use this way,RIGER or BILLION modem from Streamyx as PPPOE,and attached to switch...
that will cause many unstable internet for thier own network,BUT incase just only WEB Surfing and e-mail,it is good enough,but many of them use this CHEAP SKIN solution for unstable p2p as well,in the end they blame TM Modem are not good and this or that...

IN THE END,
THIS WAG54G2 got problem about firmware,
there is no new firmware yet,some more,firmware too buggy,you can use it as bridge modem,not pppoe/pppoa
This model CAN NOT FLASH to 3rd party firmware

Added on May 8, 2009, 4:23 pmaddition,please notice that,each time it can't log in to internet once reboot/switch on router...
you need to do that cloning settings again

PS:I edit again cause of misunderstood of the quoted words,but solution are same

This post has been edited by rawrico: May 8 2009, 06:55 PM
roy_pck
post May 8 2009, 04:33 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!
552 posts

IMO all-in-one is never good for P2P. I had WAG200G previously and it hangs after long hour P2P. so now i set it to bridge mode and connect to my newly-bought WRT54GL (flashed with Tomato). Everything is working fine. smile.gif

in short, avoid all-in-one by all means.
gundamseedw
post May 13 2009, 04:16 PM

279 posts

erm... for the P2P hang or whatsover problem, i think it's due to the max half-open connection. I had a dlink DSL-2540T which is also having P2P issue but once i increase the no. of connection (i think it's this 1 SEND "echo 9999 > ip_conntrack_max\m) using telnet then the P2P problem is solved.
djhenry91
post May 14 2009, 03:41 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

thx ur info..
so tht no more new product prob//
yeehs18
post May 14 2009, 04:40 PM

258 posts

This product is only capable to use P2P software of XunLei and Deluge. Other like uTorrent and Azureus will hang/crash within few minute and you have to restart it again.
ooiwbng
post Jun 5 2009, 03:56 PM

Tech Frix
1,206 posts

hw do u change the modulation?? coz i've tried finding in every tab in the web manager but i cant find it
Suk
post Jun 5 2009, 05:13 PM

2,330 posts

My frd is using this modem..... the modem is very very hot and now my frd alwasys DC.
imenimen
post Jun 7 2009, 06:41 AM

I have 2 of this modem wag54g2 at different location. no problem at all.
citydusk
post Jun 11 2009, 02:06 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(imenimen @ Jun 7 2009, 06:41 AM)
I have 2 of this modem wag54g2 at different location. no problem at all.
Arr.... I bought this modem last Friday and boy I am getting all these issues where it disconnected after 1 or 2 hours. Boy I wish I have read this article before I get it blink.gif

Anyway, will try to change modulation to T1.413 and see later today.

pengiranijam
post Jun 11 2009, 02:28 PM

1,568 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Apr 17 2009, 09:52 AM)
Been using WAG200G a year, never off.

I use it already past 1 year still no problem. What is your current firmware...?

WAG54G2 and WAG54GP2, both device what different? Have same problem...?
ChingChong
post Jun 18 2009, 01:39 AM

120 posts

same victim here
Waiting for firmware update if there is any

mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

This post has been edited by ChingChong: Jun 18 2009, 01:41 AM
cic.lemur
post Jun 18 2009, 01:02 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ May 8 2009, 04:33 PM)
IMO all-in-one is never good for P2P. I had WAG200G previously and it hangs after long hour P2P. so now i set it to bridge mode and connect to my newly-bought WRT54GL (flashed with Tomato). Everything is working fine. smile.gif

in short, avoid all-in-one by all means.
I can confirm that Aztech Wireless G and Aztech Wireless N (both all-in-one: wireless router + modem + switch 4 ports) preforms very well for P2P, even when I leave it on for days. I've yet to encounter any hangs or resets or disconnects even when P2P many files and set the download speed to max in utorrent.

I can also confirm that Belkin Wireless N+ (all in one) is totally suck altho it cost RM500+, it resets itself during moderate P2P, and during heavy torrent it'll reset itself every half an hour.

Initially I got the Aztech Wireless G, then I upgraded to Belkin Wireless N+, it sucked, so I changed to Aztech Wireless N but lost some money in the process. Which is why I'm very vmad.gif with Belkin

This post has been edited by cic.lemur: Jun 18 2009, 01:03 PM
ChingChong
post Jun 18 2009, 11:35 PM

120 posts

TOrrenting makes other connection slow..even when ur using very slow at torrent..
Hejime
post Jun 30 2009, 12:01 PM

262 posts

wow... just when i was already eyeing on WAG54G2

and looking around in the net for reviews

i'm lucky that i've not bought it yet

This post has been edited by Hejime: Jun 30 2009, 12:01 PM
rattan
post Jul 2 2009, 06:37 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

are u guys using Firmware Version:V1.00.16 for your WAG54G2 ?
I bought it brand new yesterday, tried connecting to streamyx cannot get connection.

The moment i upgraded the firmware to Firmware Version:V1.00.16 its immediately made a connection...

phew...
bossnass15
post Jul 8 2009, 02:45 AM

Veni, Vidi, Vici
1,188 posts

anyone found the solution for frequent wireless dc yet?
fansoption
post Jul 8 2009, 09:54 AM

3,065 posts

My one work fine, but just dunno why when my ps3 connect to wifi , my wifi signal about 5min or 10min will lose just dunno why got this happen and then i use my ipod touch detect again then signal also lose, i need switch off my ps3 wifi connection then my linksys wag54g2 working back wifi
ChingChong
post Jul 12 2009, 07:45 AM

120 posts

Get the new firmware..
Works like a charm
V1.00.17

---------------------------

scratch that..
still useless after 1 day turned on

This post has been edited by ChingChong: Jul 12 2009, 01:47 PM
MX510
post Jul 12 2009, 09:54 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Before u bought anything pls google and check the hardware revision don't assumed everything is good as it's brand :-)

Example Linksys WRT54G they are so many versions of it and the most fakap version is ver 7. Due to so many popular mod for the router they decided to change the hardware inside it in newer version and until now only GL can support 3rd party firmware. Most new release have RAM limitations and fakap features.

For the modem i don't prefer all in one. I have been using AM300 for almost 7 years running 24/7 and no issues at all with my 1.5 Mbps and now 4 Mbps .

bossnass15
post Jul 12 2009, 06:11 PM

Veni, Vidi, Vici
1,188 posts

a week in usage and so far no problems at all (at least all the problems mentioned here)..keeping my fingers crossed.
bahathir
post Jul 18 2009, 10:12 AM

1,200 posts

I also have no problem with the product. I just updated the firmware to 10.00.17, Annexe A, and works like a charm.

BTW, I hang/clip (vertically) the product to the back of my loud speakers smile.gif. Very stealth, and it still gets hot, but seem to be less hot than when I put it horizontally.\\

But, last 2 months, I got bad international connectons, after 2 days. traceroute showed, there were lots of packets lost within international gateways. But, local sites connections were superb, no lost at all. Also, there were problems with DNS, and now everything just running perfectly,

This post has been edited by bahathir: Jul 18 2009, 10:20 AM
valve
post Jul 18 2009, 12:50 PM

238 posts

i also have the same product and so far it works perfectly for already 4 days. bought it on 15/7 & no problem at all. i wonder why this happened as i only use old firmware 100.10 actually. modulation currenltly set to multimode and also encapsulation set to PPPoE. what's the problem actually ? btw, want to ask ? what is the button at front panel which shows 2aero like "kitar semula" ? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by valve: Jul 18 2009, 12:51 PM
vchenv
post Jul 18 2009, 04:15 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(valve @ Jul 18 2009, 12:50 PM)
i also have the same product and so far it works perfectly for already 4 days. bought it on 15/7 & no problem at all. i wonder why this happened as i only use old firmware 100.10 actually. modulation currenltly set to multimode and also encapsulation set to PPPoE. what's the problem actually ? btw, want to ask ? what is the button at front panel which shows 2aero like "kitar semula" ?  biggrin.gif
Me too, had been using WAG54G2 for 3 days, updated to latest firmware and so far no problem for both wired and wireless connection. The 'recycle' button is actually Wifi protected setup, but i used manual configuration for setting secured wireless connections i.e.: WPA2 with MAC Address filtering.

This post has been edited by vchenv: Jul 18 2009, 04:16 PM
valve
post Jul 18 2009, 06:52 PM

238 posts

oic. i also did the same thing. configured manually for wi-fi protected. anyway, should I update the firmware to the latest as i do not have any problem at all at this time ? let it or update ?
vchenv
post Jul 18 2009, 07:52 PM

121 posts

If i am not mistaken, the latest firmware should make the modem more stable. Initially, i used also the 1.00.10 but updated it after reading Linksys WAG54G forum as recommended by the technical specialist.
calvin9881
post Jul 19 2009, 12:23 AM

where can i get the latest firmware? i went to the linksysbycisco site but there's no latest firmware there.
valve
post Jul 19 2009, 11:33 AM

238 posts

here !
btw, it is risk to update to the latest firmware ? if it will make my router more stable, i will do so.

This post has been edited by valve: Jul 19 2009, 11:34 AM
vchenv
post Jul 19 2009, 12:40 PM

121 posts

For me, so far no problem after updated. Most important is to ensure no interruption during updating.
themole
post Jul 21 2009, 11:31 AM

Disaster for me after bought this modem..After updated to 1.0.0.17 firmware the modem shutdown automatically. After that there is no ADSL signal. Have to call TM to reset the port. Now install back 1.0.016 but havn't try again. Using old router now...ZZZ

This post has been edited by themole: Jul 21 2009, 01:45 PM
fansoption
post Jul 21 2009, 05:45 PM

3,065 posts

i go the linksys website i only can see 1.0.0.16 firmware , but how come your guy can find 1.0.0.17?
vchenv
post Jul 21 2009, 10:10 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(themole @ Jul 21 2009, 11:31 AM)
Disaster for me after bought this modem..After updated to 1.0.0.17 firmware the modem shutdown automatically. After that there is no ADSL signal. Have to call TM to reset the port. Now install back 1.0.016 but havn't try again. Using old router now...ZZZ
Perhaps products defect? Today, in Serdang, there's streamyx disruption. No ASDL light but after a few hours, it was back to normal.

QUOTE(fansoption @ Jul 21 2009, 05:45 PM)
i go the linksys website i only can see 1.0.0.16 firmware , but how come your guy can find 1.0.0.17?
Its here:

http://www.linksysbycisco.com/ANZ/en/suppo...AG54G2/download

06/05/2009
Ver.1.00.17 (Annex A)
Download 4.00 MB
(Firmware)
themole
post Jul 22 2009, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(vchenv @ Jul 22 2009, 01:10 AM)
Perhaps products defect? Today, in Serdang, there's streamyx disruption. No ASDL light but after a few hours, it was back to normal.
Its here:

http://www.linksysbycisco.com/ANZ/en/suppo...AG54G2/download

06/05/2009
Ver.1.00.17 (Annex A)
Download 4.00 MB
(Firmware)
Yesterday i tried to connect, it successful. All back to normal..I have a question here. Is that this model has RAM/NVRAM inside?cos everytime i reboot i can c d time is 01/01/1970. rclxub.gif

My advise..better download firmware from malaysia website...1.0.0.17 might not work against streamyx..(my opinion la...correct me if im wrong.)
bossnass15
post Jul 23 2009, 02:34 AM

Veni, Vidi, Vici
1,188 posts

3 weeks 24/7 on, no problems at all with 1 pc cable connected, 1 pc wireless, 1 laptop wifi..
edan1979
post Jul 24 2009, 10:40 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

it sucks... i end up using my old dlink... doh.gif its ok at first...
linuxluver
post Jul 25 2009, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(Amaru @ Jan 1 2009, 08:19 PM)
Problem description:
Maybe it's just me, but be careful before buying this device - WAG54G2. (do not confuse with WAG54G)
I had the same problem. My Apple iPod Touch could not connect to my new Linksys wireless WAG54G2 modem / router.

My other devices worked fine (PC with DLINK DWA-110 USB Wi-fi and HTC Magic phone - with Android OS).

Trying to get the iPod Touch to connect, on the router I tried all the security protocols and changing passcodes. Nothing worked.

THEN, I changed the WAG54G2 router from the default wifi channel of 11 to 9....and the problem was gone. Immediately.

It looks like the channel 11 on the Linksys WAG54G2 and the channel 11 on my Apple iPod Touch do not align closely enough to get connected.

This may also be true for other devices. Try another channel.

This post has been edited by linuxluver: Jul 25 2009, 03:30 PM
poyol
post Aug 12 2009, 11:43 AM

481 posts

Any updates on this? I thought of getting this particular model for my PC + PS3.. but after reading this thread I'm having doubts..
fansoption
post Aug 21 2009, 12:09 AM

3,065 posts

How should i know (Annex A) or (Annex B)
kokolala
post Aug 21 2009, 09:48 AM

Annex A is ADSL over POTS whereas Annex B is ADSL over ISDN. For us we use Annex A
fansoption
post Aug 21 2009, 10:55 AM

3,065 posts

Is that update to new firmware will better then 1.00.10?
hunterseek
post Sep 4 2009, 02:18 PM

46 posts

i also have a problem with wag54g2
after upgrade 1.0.0.17, the modem perform very well
but after several hour, my user complain that he cannot see CCTV online, means that maybe the port forwarding i set inside the modem router is malfunctioning, so i go to login the web based modem router setup page, but after login, it redirect to
http://websearch.linksys.com/error_redirec...b=192.168.0.90/

somebody has any idea on how to fix this?
Capi
post Sep 19 2009, 03:24 PM

17 posts

my roouter+modem cant even turn on. wasted my time to go to sri computers again. T_T
MonkeYsua
post Sep 20 2009, 05:16 AM

402 posts

which firmware version is the most stable ?
i just bough today ?
seem like a lot bad review sad.gif

This post has been edited by MonkeYsua: Sep 20 2009, 05:17 AM
studwo
post Sep 21 2009, 12:16 PM

1,129 posts

using dlink dsl 2640 t ... for years.. countless teras of bandwidth pass by this modem + router. no prob .. and can tahan lighting .. sumore . .
miriel10
post Sep 22 2009, 05:25 PM

376 posts

can anyone help me on how to configure opendns with this server? tried the static dns settings but when connected, it still uses streamyx dns. thanx in advance
Rushy
post Oct 2 2009, 02:50 PM

227 posts

may i know if this piece of device is stable now wif the new firmware?
valve
post Dec 2 2009, 10:16 PM

238 posts

so far no problem. have been using for almost 5 month with firmware 1.00.16. just updated to 1.00.17 two weeks ago. working fine. no problem with 1 pc wired connection, 2 laptop wifi, 1 handphone wifi, 24/7 from 15/7 until now cool2.gif

This post has been edited by valve: Dec 2 2009, 10:16 PM
eleshoe
post Jan 11 2010, 10:07 AM

20 posts

i have WAG54G2 too, bought it from 07/2009 PC Fair. Used it for about 5 months then one day it suddenly cannot connect to the internet, took it back to the shop and they replace a new unit for me, first i was happy coz it's a new unit.

Took it back home and configure all the settings, username and password, damn, not working, not connecting to the internet, DSL light keep blinking cry.gif

Talked with linksys support for about 1 hour for all the possible configurations, still not working. Called streamyx to reset my password (who knows i might forgot the password and keyed in the wrong one), still no luck. cry.gif
bossnass15
post Jan 28 2010, 07:47 PM

Veni, Vidi, Vici
1,188 posts

guys, how long does it take for the modem to connect to the internet for you? mine seems to take forever T_T..but once connected it remains stable.
donnie.dgr
post Jan 31 2010, 01:38 AM

43 posts

humm....seems that higher price donnt mean high quality
kakeru_chan
post Jan 31 2010, 10:13 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(hunterseek @ Sep 4 2009, 02:18 PM)
i also have a problem with wag54g2
after upgrade 1.0.0.17, the modem perform very well
but after several hour, my user complain that he cannot see CCTV  online, means that maybe the port forwarding i set inside the modem router is malfunctioning, so i go to login the web based modem router setup page, but after login, it redirect to
http://websearch.linksys.com/error_redirec...b=192.168.0.90/

somebody has any idea on how to fix this?
i've this exact problem happening at my workplace, using the latest firmware. cannot access the gateway web interface too. what i do is i turn it off and on again. but the problem is the next day it happened again...so have to do the same routine everyday. a lot of hassle to turn it off and on always... mad.gif
SUSlogit85
post Jan 31 2010, 11:07 AM

1,814 posts

what router modem for best why i need good router because need sharing internet look like 4port and wifi etc like this
i dont want lot probelm router i also use p2p torrent download long 24/7/365 like this i wont turn off for router modem
linksys WAG54G2 very bad so i want stable router to long on 24/7 like this what brand for best
utopian86
post Jan 31 2010, 03:51 PM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Jan 31 2010, 12:07 PM)
what router modem for best why i need good router because need sharing internet look like 4port and wifi etc like this
i dont want lot probelm router i also use p2p torrent download long 24/7/365 like this i wont turn off for router modem
linksys WAG54G2 very bad so i want stable router to long on 24/7 like this what brand for best
How about WRT54G?
nders
post Jan 31 2010, 09:57 PM

Age of lost direction
1,070 posts

QUOTE(utopian86 @ Jan 31 2010, 03:51 PM)
How about WRT54G?
one of the best gateways ever produced. just look for its reviews over newegg and amazon and u will notice how crazy lot of raving reviews this series have.
SUSlogit85
post Jan 31 2010, 10:54 PM

1,814 posts

QUOTE(nders @ Jan 31 2010, 09:57 PM)
one of the best gateways ever produced. just look for its reviews over newegg and amazon and u will notice how crazy lot of raving reviews this series have.
WRT54G is best ???
i dont want waste router bad many people lot problem router to p2p torrent download long will hand and disconnect like this i can buy high end router for stable like wont hand and wont disconnect like this
vectorian
post Feb 22 2010, 03:19 PM

377 posts

For those of you kind owners out there... have these issues with the all-in-one Linksys WAG54G2 been fixed?
valve
post Apr 16 2010, 06:30 PM

238 posts

seriously, my WAG54G2 really working very very superb from 15/7/09 till now. no problem. SERIOUSLY. NEVER TURNED IT OFF SINCE BUYING. NEVER DISCONNECTED, QUICK ACCESS WITH JUST TURNING ON THE PC ( CONNECTED WIRE & ALSO WIFI ). CURRENTLY USING FIRMWARE 1.00.17
rafieq
post Apr 16 2010, 06:59 PM

81 posts

I'm using this modem too..never had an issue with this thing..currently using 1.00.19 FW.
valve
post Apr 16 2010, 07:45 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(rafieq @ Apr 16 2010, 06:59 PM)
I'm using this modem too..never had an issue with this thing..currently using 1.00.19 FW.
yes me too. just updating a few minutes ago to the latest firmware. no problem at all. thumbup.gif
KAHAK
post Apr 16 2010, 07:50 PM

181 posts

any one know how to enter ZyXEL router....
rafieq
post Apr 16 2010, 08:31 PM

81 posts

there are two things that i realized has been fixed in latest firmware at least from my modem.

1. G.Lite modulation can be used again without error which FW 1.00.17 can't.
2. Manual configured DNS now can be seen at status.
warlove3
post Apr 16 2010, 08:51 PM

537 posts

if u have any problems with Linksys product, please contact them via their live support center, after that bring your product to where u bought and RMA with the RMA id given by Linksys...i've encountered same thing with u but it was the WRT54GLv1.1, straight they replace new unit for me XD
cgha
post Apr 18 2010, 05:36 PM

99 posts

I'm using this moden nearly 1 year +.What should I say?..It's very very good modem.I used for torrenting 24/7/365 without turning it off, connection never fail and I'm satisfied with it.
Currently just update to new firmware from 1.00.10 to 1.00.17 and yesterday to 1.00.19.BUT why my setup page still shows Firmware Version:V1.00.17 (should be 1.00.19).
dexjac
post May 9 2010, 09:37 PM

24 posts

can anyone share the their most stable connection settings?
PPPOE or PPPOA?
LLC or VC?
What DSL Modulation u use?

THANKS for the feedback!
fishtail
post Feb 6 2011, 05:33 PM

80 posts

anyone have a stable connection setting to share.

cox even i am in FW 1.00.19

the modem is still disconnect after several time.

==
valve
post Feb 15 2011, 04:05 PM

238 posts

So far, I used 1.00.19 firmware, LC Multiplexing, Multimode for DSL Modulation, PPPOE and got NO PROBLEM AT ALL.

This post has been edited by valve: Feb 15 2011, 04:07 PM
Andrew Lim
post Mar 26 2011, 02:29 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

The 1.00.19 firmware fixes a lot of issues that existed when I first bought the modem. Now if I connect via ethernet cable the performance is very good. But I still feel the WiFi/Wireless performance is bad.
AlanSiew
post Jul 28 2011, 03:45 PM

807 posts

How about WRT54G2 or WAG120N?icon_question.gif Cause my current router is WRT54G2, and i think my modem Aztech DSL305E going spoil soon,so think to buy Linksys brand modem+router; or any pro can recommend me the modem for BT+online gaming usage?icon_question.gif

0.0461sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:49 AM