What to do when ur car breakdown on the road?, Especially when in outstation..
TSXenarz
Dec 31 2008, 12:25 PM, updated 17y ago

Recently thinking of this problem.. Afraid of happen to myself.. What to do when ur car breakdown on the road when u r in outstation / a place that u dont familiar / not your own place...? Especially when u dont familiar with the mechanic there / dont have any friend or relative nearby... Hope to get advise / good way from u guys sifu here to overcome this matter... As this always happen which we cant predict it actually... Thanks very much...
clsiluf
Dec 31 2008, 12:37 PM
then you need susbribe to those car towing service already ... else a lot gangster tow truck will come to you ...
btw, if your car break down in those paid highway like PLUS, they have patrol car to help you 1 ... they did know some basic for car troubleshooting ...
just my advise ...
profcomo
Dec 31 2008, 12:38 PM
call the insurance company
luriazidnaffa
Dec 31 2008, 12:48 PM
call the insurance company hotline. or, if at plus, call plus hotline. the most important thing is, dont listen to all the tow truck that is available. and, if u had none of the above choice, if you agree to the tow truck driver, then u must insist that they tow your truck to your car service centre... eg: your car is proton, then sent it to proton service centre.
that is my opinion... correct me if i'm wrong.
TSXenarz
Dec 31 2008, 12:49 PM

QUOTE(clsiluf @ Dec 31 2008, 12:37 PM) then you need susbribe to those car towing service already ... else a lot gangster tow truck will come to you ... btw, if your car break down in those paid highway like PLUS, they have patrol car to help you 1 ... they did know some basic for car troubleshooting ... just my advise ... How to subscribe to car tow service? Need to pay?
TSXenarz
Dec 31 2008, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(luriazidnaffa @ Dec 31 2008, 12:48 PM) call the insurance company hotline. or, if at plus, call plus hotline. the most important thing is, dont listen to all the tow truck that is available. and, if u had none of the above choice, if you agree to the tow truck driver, then u must insist that they tow your truck to your car service centre... eg: your car is proton, then sent it to proton service centre. that is my opinion... correct me if i'm wrong. Thx for the advise.. Insurance will do car servicing for us? Anytime just call the hotline will do? They r everywhere in malaysia?
Dec 31 2008, 12:52 PM

call AAM
dr3w
Dec 31 2008, 01:10 PM

call the insurance company. call your parents or nearest relatives
the_catacombs
Dec 31 2008, 01:43 PM
fix ur own
jssim
Dec 31 2008, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 31 2008, 01:43 PM) i do think this is the best way....if the driver like u~~~ but some how that is a lot of driver who juz know how to drive but dun know how to repair the car even it juz a small matter like tyre change~~~
luriazidnaffa
Dec 31 2008, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(Xenarz @ Dec 31 2008, 12:51 PM) Thx for the advise.. Insurance will do car servicing for us? Anytime just call the hotline will do? They r everywhere in malaysia? the insurance company wont do car servicing... but they can advice you because sometime the insurance company it self got towing agent or sort of like that. the reapir will me done by the workshop that of your choice. n then they will claim it from your insurance company...
the_catacombs
Dec 31 2008, 02:15 PM
if u breakdown in middle of nowhere and u dont know anyone there, jz prepare more cash....  best to know approx how much is certain repairs cost so u can nego with them....
bobbychin
Dec 31 2008, 02:31 PM
they sure slaughter you kaw kaw....the tow car ppl. but what to do ... you got no choice ma.
WinGzz
Dec 31 2008, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(jssim @ Dec 31 2008, 01:46 PM) i do think this is the best way....if the driver like u~~~ but some how that is a lot of driver who juz know how to drive but dun know how to repair the car even it juz a small matter like tyre change~~~  Truth truth..i also duno how to change tyre actualy..
xaw5126
Dec 31 2008, 03:40 PM
Sign up with Automobile Association of Malaysia and let them handle it. even better if your insurance says they don't provide breakdown service. usually, the AAM guys are better trained
patrickyeo21
Dec 31 2008, 11:55 PM
AAM also have ... LonPac also have .. I think if for Perodua, they do cover as well right ?
Nidz
Jan 1 2009, 12:12 AM
worst case scenario, always have the tow truck to tow ur car to ur regular workshop, no matter how much they cost. because we'll nvr know wut will happen if u let ur car to be sent to a 'stranger' workshop...
it happened to my friend where the workshop said that the coolant from radiator already leaks to the engine n the engine need to be overhauled... the truth is, the problem were on the radiator and water pump....
thank god he called his father n his father asked him to get the tow truck to send the car to their regular workshop... even the tow truck charge rm300 from seremban to setapak, he saved alot coz the engine nvr need an overhaul....
andrekua
Jan 1 2009, 12:48 AM
Thats why TV also get advertised, whenever need to go outstation, check your car first.
1. Battery 2. Spark plugs 3. Engine oil enough or not. 4. Tools to change tyres and spare tyre in good condition 5. Bring along 1~2 bottles of mineral water along just incase of overheating. 6. Brakes
If you are a frequent outstation travellers, you will service your car regularly which wouldnt cause any problem at all. Those who didnt, check the service status lor especially brakes, battery, spare tyres, engine oil/transmission oil level and radiator water level. If these are okay, shouldnt cause many problem.
Just dont panic.
SUSsoyaben86
Jan 1 2009, 02:20 AM
for me i will 1st make sure my phone batt is full and also the line coverage is good..
then call aam or family member see they have any idea wat happend or not..then only ask advice from my foreman if is a small problem..should ask him to guide me how to fix it..if big problem..will then only call AAM..and for me..AAM is still the best..for me..so far they tow my car a few time..is free and also they reach the place around the time they told u on the phone..
momocha123
Jan 1 2009, 07:15 PM
then if i'm not the member of aam, will they come n service? and how much it charge if non-member?