torrenting on vista, same as xp?

TSZeneticX
post Dec 30 2008, 07:20 PM, updated 17y ago

stars for what
12,413 posts

after switching to vista,now i plan to set up all my torrenting settings to my good ol days on xp.but i am wondering are all those guides about opening half open limits,port forwarding etc applicable to vista as well?
J-Slade
post Dec 30 2008, 07:23 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

It applies but it is not as simple as it used to be. Vista has its own security features to revert back unknown system drivers.
TSZeneticX
post Dec 30 2008, 07:27 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

so tht means i need to do those settings over and over again? shocking.gif
J-Slade
post Dec 30 2008, 07:30 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Actually what you need is to find the alternative hack to disable vista from replacing back the files. You should use Google... just find "TCPIP Vista" and you're on your way.
TSZeneticX
post Dec 30 2008, 07:33 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

thats for the half open limits right?what about port forwarding?the same as xp?
eXPeri3nc3
post Dec 30 2008, 07:35 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

Port forwarding is done in your router itself, not OS dependent.
astria
post Dec 30 2008, 09:26 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

i think it also depends on which version u use...

for Ultimate, dun need to do anything...

for Home Premium, some tweaking and hacking may be needed...

using Ultimate and i can max out my download speed..
xelnamikaze
post Dec 30 2008, 09:36 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 30 2008, 10:26 PM)
i think it also depends on which version u use...

for Ultimate, dun need to do anything...

for Home Premium, some tweaking and hacking may be needed...

using Ultimate and i can max out my download speed..
can do like that on vUltimate ah?
geeeez.. i didn't know that !
-Torrz
post Dec 31 2008, 12:19 PM

◕‿◕
2,095 posts

Home Premium you have to meddle with the TCPIP. So can say near same as XP.
TSZeneticX
post Jan 1 2009, 04:20 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

ok i have done some googling bout the TCPIP for vista over the past few days but i got many comments on those site/blogs bout ppl failing to boot their vista/errors/BSOD etc after applying the hack/patch.any1 here hu have done the patch successfully pm me with a tutorial?
simplyelly
post Jan 15 2009, 05:20 PM

77 posts

i'm using ultimate version and so far its totally the same...
GrandElf
post Jan 15 2009, 05:37 PM

HyunA
1,154 posts

but for me my torrent always keep on hanging......i also dunno y tis happen....been uninstall n install back also the same problem occur...... sweat.gif sweat.gif
simplyelly
post Jan 15 2009, 05:54 PM

77 posts

what type of vista u use?
EroS
post Jan 17 2009, 03:19 PM

2,904 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jan 1 2009, 04:20 PM)
ok i have done some googling bout the TCPIP for vista over the past few days but i got many comments on those site/blogs bout ppl failing to boot their vista/errors/BSOD etc after applying the hack/patch.any1 here hu have done the patch successfully pm me with a tutorial?
yeah. im using home premiun. played wit da tcp/ip configuration. straight BSOD. need 2 repairs 2 get da window working again. doh.gif
Aoshi_88
post Jan 17 2009, 05:34 PM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

Why tweak? I'm running Vista Home Premium and i torrent heavily and i still manage to max out my speeds depending on the seeder/peer ratio. Tweaking the Half-Open Connections will only leave you more vulnerable. There's a reason why Microsoft limited it to 8 you know.

0.0154sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:49 PM