Whose selling Nyko Intercooler TS(tempsmart), the new 1

navigator
post Dec 31 2008, 09:07 PM

375 posts

Yeah, I'm looking for something similar too.

I know Tech2 selling some china made intercoolers. maybe if he's willing to mod it to ue external power..... brows.gif icon_idea.gif
navigator
post Jan 1 2009, 06:26 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(siayy @ Jan 1 2009, 12:58 AM)
tech2 takda jual ini barang......sigh~~ sad.gif
Bleh dikatakan take de siape kat MY jual brg nih.

We're bolehland rakyat~! guys~! show sumthin~! icon_idea.gif
navigator
post Jan 1 2009, 09:56 PM

375 posts

I tried to ask once...but the postage fee is 3 times of the thing itself....

Just brough 2 stupid CPU fan an a cheap IPod charger....Wanna complete it and dangle to my 360 tomorrow brows.gif
navigator
post Jan 2 2009, 02:04 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(kane_WWE_07 @ Jan 1 2009, 11:10 PM)
Is Djinn selling?can any1 ask him to sell if he is nt.
I don think he will sell anything that is not proven to work.... whistling.gif

Don't you see you already have a way to MAKE MONEY?! icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by navigator: Jan 2 2009, 02:06 PM
navigator
post Jan 3 2009, 07:25 AM

375 posts

Since no one selling, i decided to make it my own:-

So far it work well, the air gushed out is warm and the disc is luke warm after 2 hrs of test run.

in case you didn't see it, the side gap is covered with cello tape.

This post has been edited by navigator: Jan 3 2009, 07:36 AM
navigator
post Jan 11 2009, 07:04 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jan 10 2009, 08:40 AM)
Great job there ! And you inspired me to do the same... only to fall flat on the... items...

I search high and low for unused fans, and I could only find my old AMD processor fan. Then I tried searching for the power source... and could not find any... Anyways, I was thinking of getting those 'PC modders fan' - you know, the large ones that light up when they work... hmm...
I'm using fan from Lowyat plaza. RM8 per piece icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(mddl_fngz @ Jan 10 2009, 02:32 PM)
nice work navigator,what's the size of those fans?60mm?are they loud?and what is that white adapter you using to power those fans?
yeah, they are 60mm. they are louder than standard but TV sound will easily overrun it. That white adapter is RM15 iPod charger. brows.gif

QUOTE(pakcikkantin @ Jan 10 2009, 10:29 PM)
Does this really works...
It's primary function is to calm my pathetic 3RRoD phobia. doh.gif

The air gush out can be felt by hand, the vent at the back no longer warm and the hot spot (There's a marking already on the hot spot) is no longer hot. It works for heat dissipation, I dunno if it works for 3RRoD. rolleyes.gif
navigator
post Jan 12 2009, 01:21 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jan 11 2009, 09:29 AM)
Behold, The Defaultko Intercooler with Manual Temperature Control !
Purpose: Reduces 'hardware failure phobia'...

One BIG tips for you.

The 3rd fan beside the console should be located at the vent holes infront of the HDD enclosure. after measuring the wind speed by using a small cloth, the vent has the strongest wind entrance.

Blowing that sopt directly and the air will not even reach the heat point..... sweat.gif

Added on January 12, 2009, 2:55 pm
QUOTE(S4PH @ Jan 11 2009, 09:44 AM)
cool mod there,how many hours of gaming u can tahan,i fitted a similar fan like ur's but super duper fast n noisy,still my 360 3rod very frustrated,the 360 lacks air circulation meaning incoming air.
You see, before the dreaded 3RRoD strike my 1st console, it never even crash a single time..... doh.gif

This post has been edited by navigator: Jan 12 2009, 02:59 PM
navigator
post Jan 13 2009, 10:40 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jan 12 2009, 11:41 PM)
Lol... the air from the cooler is is not 'directly hitting it', it is blowing outwards (like the back of the console unit fans)... when the air blows that way, the temp where there is warmth becomes less warm = air leaving an area (where heat builds up) -> area cools down quicker. The warmth keeps coming in this case from the GPU.

You only cool the external shell and not the board itself.....I wonder the heat variance will cause faster 3RRoD problem if the heat variance internal & external too high...

Yes, most of the cool air entered through that part. It might be super ugly but if it helps...who care???? sweat.gif

and Tech2 told us that Jasper set still have 10~15% 3RRoD cases in short period of time. doh.gif
navigator
post Jan 13 2009, 01:30 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(chocobee_2707 @ Jan 13 2009, 11:45 AM)
why dont directly use usb power from the xbox itself?
No,

I do not want to use ANY power from the system.

The more you take power from the console, the havier the load for the fragile little power brick that is one of the reason for 3RRoD.
navigator
post Jan 13 2009, 11:40 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Jan 13 2009, 02:27 PM)
which part would that be ?
you din follow the thread properly....i mean the vent infront of HDD enclosure

Added on January 13, 2009, 11:41 pm
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jan 13 2009, 03:15 PM)
Not in a million years I would waste my time again 'tweaking the design' I don't even know would work. Adding the fan at the top will not automatically get rid of RRoD. I understand the so-called 'air flow' but who cares. Yes, who cares. Unless someone comes over and does it for me, fine.

Not too sure why I should be concerned at all.... I'm not...  sweat.gif I just did it in my free time.
sweat.gif

This post has been edited by navigator: Jan 13 2009, 11:41 PM
navigator
post Jan 14 2009, 04:03 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Jan 14 2009, 12:24 AM)
i read that part however after looking at my xbox properly, the small holes there wouldnt even get much air ventilation for my xbox ..

the design is so flawed that a company billionaire like MS cant even fix, what do u think u can do ? =.=
QUOTE(rhoyo @ Jan 14 2009, 01:33 PM)
better u guys buy and use the evercool xfan  biggrin.gif
evercool xfan is a toy... the airflow is not even strong enough compared to DIY fan. sweat.gif

You all can do a radical mod for this--Internal watercooler and someone in xboxexpert.com did it. Look at the customised waterjacket~! shocking.gif

http://www.thexboxexpert.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=32

Alternatively, google search link
http://www.google.com/search?q=xboxexpert+...al+watercooling

This post has been edited by navigator: Jan 14 2009, 04:09 PM
navigator
post Feb 21 2009, 05:00 AM

375 posts

GOOD~! I'll go & have a look for it.
navigator
post Feb 23 2009, 02:18 PM

375 posts

wah~! btw....how strong is the air flow?

RM140 I can get a game already....

i tot wanna get it @ RM70 or less...

however, this is Intercooler TS or EX?

My urge & adranaline rush to get one is over....

bacause I've known the ultimate root cause of 3RRoD which is related to heat but it has no way to cure except re-engineer the GPU chip. doh.gif

Anyone who want to know what happened to our GPU may search google for nVidia G70 GPU failure. The problem is the same scenario to our xbox360 GPU failure.... nVidia repeated the failure that happened since year 2005 to M$. doh.gif

Someone told me that a batch of PS3 Malaysia /w 65nm chips somehow suffer the similar problem by a symptom of "failed to start after certain time interval", anyone to clarify this? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by navigator: Feb 23 2009, 02:26 PM
navigator
post Feb 26 2009, 10:05 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Feb 25 2009, 09:47 PM)
... I actually pondered the idea of ordering one from Amazon... but I don't know, all the trouble for something that may not work...
I tried that and they refused to ship to Malai-Siah doh.gif
navigator
post Feb 27 2009, 12:48 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Hisyam91 @ Feb 26 2009, 02:00 PM)

This intercooler?
QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Feb 26 2009, 02:07 PM)
yup...but any1 tried the jasper compatible 1?
no, the one selling in GH is Intercooler TS, compatible to all xbo360 as it's using independant power source.

navigator
post Feb 27 2009, 10:07 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(gunblade @ Feb 27 2009, 06:11 PM)
woahh... for real? anyone can clarify about this?

oh, one more thing, is there any electrical/electronics wizard out there who can really explain on how does a fan sharing the same power with the console can damage the console? The explanations that I've received thus far are all assumptions..

Maybe the console is kinda faulty from the beginning and M$ is just using that intercooler as a scape-goat for such issue, right? (of course, this is also just an assumption)
This is real on a "controlled environment", not in you house....so the result might be different, just like you'll never get the quoted fuel consumption on your car if you drive to work in rush hour everyday. icon_idea.gif

Fan sharing the same power itself will not damage the console. The thing that damaged the console on the old Intercooler EX is the inferior quality of the connector. causing the connector to be melted onto the console & damage the console's one & only only power interface not to mention your console scream for more juice by showing 3RRoD when the power is not stable due to intercooler's problem.

But do remind that intercooler sold in GH is the one using external power. The Intercooler TS.

Example of the damage of old intercooler is like this :-

If you're microsoft engineer, will you approve RMA for this thing? My guess is a good no. doh.gif

Please do you further research on Google and also Wikipedia.

This post has been edited by navigator: Feb 27 2009, 10:14 PM
navigator
post Feb 28 2009, 05:57 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(Mr Ez @ Feb 27 2009, 10:31 PM)
Heh, if you're smart enough, you should just keep quiet about using the 3rd party cooler when doing RMA.

I used to work in technical support, sometimes customer call saying their product doesn't work due to thunderstorm, I said nope, warranty not valid for that kind of incident.
On the other hand if they keep quiet about the thunderstorm incident, I'll just process RMA for them.
...I tot anyone know that...

But how'd you explain the scorching on the power socket? doh.gif
navigator
post Mar 1 2009, 04:36 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(gunblade @ Mar 1 2009, 09:25 AM)
yeah, i've done some readings on various sites, most of 'em told me about what you are telling me, which I agree...

but what I'm wondering is that is it true that the fan would "steal" some power from the source, hence making the console's motherboard lack the power to start it?
The reason for 3RRoD & unable to start is unstable current output after the power is passed on from that intercooler.
navigator
post Mar 1 2009, 06:08 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Mar 1 2009, 05:33 PM)
got temperature display?
No unfortunately
navigator
post Apr 17 2009, 08:26 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Apr 16 2009, 09:31 PM)
So now not only issue with the console, but issue withe gadget that was suppose to decrease the chances of the console getting the issue ?

Seriously just make your own cooler... like... me. Early pages in this thread.  tongue.gif
I stripped my self made cooler after I realized it does not help the root cause of it. LOL whistling.gif

0.0229sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:54 AM