Life Sciences [List] Private Medical Universities in Malaysia, *MD / MBBS / MBBChBAO (Update-17/11/14)*

onelove89
post Sep 6 2010, 08:47 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 6 2010, 07:24 PM)
because the facilities there are quite bad if u had read some articles...

dun even have proper lighting or water in some areas.. =/
When you think of it, why do we have crappy facilities? Why are there places with no electricity / water? why, are our roads 10x more bumpier than those in w.msia? funding issue? fund distribution? I'm not here to brag about some inequalities that we face, but yes. there are some remote places with poor lighting and water supply.

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Sep 6 2010, 07:24 PM)
...and another thing, some of the 'no-brainers' even asked me how ulat sagu taste like? and do the people still wear cawat or not? i mean... wtf?

Still... I will be laughing my As*-off if these no-brainers are sent to rural Sabah/Sarawak later to compensate for the 'maldistribution'~  laugh.gif
well, seriously, what's so bad to be sent to rural areas of sabah/swak? I mean, initially you bragged about your passion on saving lives. and now they become so stereotypical about where they are working. Do you get paid less? heck no, you'll get paid more in those places. Do you get lesser training? I doubt so. In rural aus, where one is in charge of the whole hospital, you'll be doing almost everything, by yourself. But correct me if I'm wrong. I'm just tying in the rural practice here and back in Malaysia. But similar situation in OZ like limeuu said. Everyone's reluctant to go to rural areas.
onelove89
post Sep 7 2010, 09:46 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(kane_WWE_07 @ Sep 6 2010, 11:26 PM)
Dont expect to get clean water in rural areas in East Msia compared to urban areas. Expect to drink water from rusty tank, rain water and river water. This is not a joke. I came from there and that is how they live. You can be 3 hours away from the nearest town.
can I know where do you live? as in which area/city

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 7 2010, 09:18 AM)
true..

the money IS there...come on la..sarawak and sabah has soooo much natural resources..poor? i don't think so.
the resources are harvested. and the money is there, held by government. We have the resources. We harvest the resources. we don't HOLD the money that we got from the resources. In the end, what can we do?

btw, has segi started their MBBS course yet?
onelove89
post Oct 17 2010, 10:13 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(BrachialPlexus @ Oct 17 2010, 10:01 PM)
You know the healthcare system is screwed up when....

1. The entry requirement for certain medical schools is CCC in A-levels,TER80 in SAM/AusMat and equivalent.

2. The majority of these schools have no additional screening processes, ie; interviews, standardized tests, etc.

3. When medical schools blatantly advertise in newspapers to attract students, with some offering 'guaranted places' and 'iPhones' as incentives.

4. When most of these schools are understaffed and have little resources.

5. When most of the students in the newer schools are of poor quality. (a generalization, yes... but you can't deny the truth in this statement)

6. When money is essentially the most important entry criteria into these schools.

7. When 90% of the good doctors-to-be want to opt out of the Malaysian health system.

Joy oh joy.
When #1-6 is happening, and it is, it's proving your point of how screwed up the system is. That's why #7 is in progress. =)

*I like your forum ID =D brachial plexus =P med,lat,post cord lalalala~*
onelove89
post Oct 21 2010, 07:23 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Oct 21 2010, 06:23 PM)
if your friend is desperate in doing so, he can consider US. US allows u to start residency (postgrad) without any prior work experience. technically residency in spore is also possible but Kasturba/Manipal is not recognised there.

Hope it helps.  biggrin.gif
yeah heard my lecturer saying that they're aiming to make everyone specialize in a particular area. So in future, GP's might be broken down again into sub areas like family practitioners. Still, I reckon it'll be good if primary care ie gps are around. somehow, making everyone specialize makes it sound like it's fully secondary health care. ><
onelove89
post Dec 13 2010, 01:38 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 13 2010, 01:26 PM)
Done~
I'm not surprised if in the future some of these local medical ipts or medical programs in ipts dies out / close program...
Some of these ipts including the one i'm currently studying in, rely heavily on govt. funded students...

With the news that have been going on about 'too many housemen' in Malaysia, it is a possibility that the govt. may reduce the number of scholarships for medical programs and channel the fund for some other courses...

So, if one were to consider spending RM500K to study medicine, one might as well go and study in some other more reputable foreign universities abroad instead of our local IPTS.
then again qualifying for reputable foreign unis might be a prob for some, so they settle for local. my course costs about rm585k in total, so it's not far fro the 500k that was mentioned. I think most of the new ipts med course only cost about 300k-ish?
onelove89
post Dec 19 2010, 04:18 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(BrachialPlexus @ Dec 19 2010, 02:27 AM)
I'm conflicted; on one hand, i'm glad that Taylor's is trying hard to make medical education affordable to the masses but on the other, AAB/TER92 is HARDLY 'good', and even less so in the medical line.
I reckon TER92 is a bit too low. Reminds me, I saw once, somewhere, saying:" min requirement- TER: as high as possible."

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 19 2010, 03:33 PM)
Hmm... if they used 'John Hopkins University or Johns Hopkins Medicine International' as the name of the institution, it would be better...
The name 'Perdana' University itself is somewhat a repellent  to potential graduate-students wishing to join a GEMP (Graduate Entry Medical Program)...
Anyway.. this will be our 18th Medical IPTS in Malaysia.... and will be added to the list....
well at least this is our first graduate entry med =) we should be um, proud of it? in a way? =/
onelove89
post Dec 22 2010, 09:00 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Dec 22 2010, 02:00 PM)
Of course la.. I was putting that to rebut BBC  sweat.gif

New requirements for 2012 :

1) Excellent results (not specified anywhere..)
2) ISAT
3) Interview
4) IELTS 7.0
it's good that they require AAA, but TER of 85 is way off. =/ they should jack it up to like at least 93-95ish? normally they won't state the minimum marks for ISAT, unless leaked, like in UWA they require a minimum of 80 for you to be even considered eligible of entering med. Otherwise, they'll just say: do your best =). Surprisingly I found the interview in Monash msia rather enjoyable =/ Structured but not that stressful =) as said in the last post, commendations and references are really useless. I think it's true, it tells who you were, doesnt necessarily tells who you are now. IELTS 7.0 is standard =)
onelove89
post Dec 23 2010, 12:05 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 23 2010, 11:42 AM)
i think the mmc should ban all foundation pathways into medicine.......all potential medical students should have a proper mainstream generic pre-u qualification..........

some of the 'foundations' are a joke.......especially those russian ones.......might just as well take people straight from spm, instead of the sham 'foundation'............
I know that some unis don't allow students from their own foundation course to go into medicine after they've finished it, eg: UTAS and UCSI. any insights of the 'foundations' offered by russia? like how are the units like and stuff =P
onelove89
post Dec 23 2010, 05:22 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 23 2010, 02:41 PM)
Why ah? I am also curious. Fees also competitive. You think Mahsa, Masterskill and Segi better?
Nah, I reckon they've shortage of lecturers too, and will try to import lecturers from other countries. Ppl tend to think that UCSI has a long establishment compared to the new IPTS, and they'll go 'this uni should be better', and there we have it. Still, RM600 for application fee is just way too much, just my opinion.

QUOTE(mivec3gs @ Dec 23 2010, 05:10 PM)
i guess u r right though... student who doing locally wont lose to the overseas..  laugh.gif

but, we guess there is different in quality as the students gain the diff experience/explosure during the clinical years?
Well, I reckon the quality of the students depend partially on the uni, but also on the students themselves. So if they were to work hard, then surely they'll get much more out of it.

just wondering for those seniors, clinical outweighs preclinical? or are they equally important in terms of being a doctor in the future.
onelove89
post Jan 2 2011, 05:30 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(mr_dunkin @ Jan 2 2011, 02:55 PM)
it is very sad but it is true.i'm cucms student and it is my batch.now there are 236 students and all of sudden they said mmc only want 150 students.so 86 students need to be expelled.which is 1/3 OF THE STUDENTS. shocking.gif the worst part they told us the students on friday and want to expel these students on monday.the name of students who will stay and expelled will be known tomorrow,monday.and seriously i'm very2 scared if my name is in the 86 students. cry.gif but these 86 students will be transferred to other uni like segi,msu,acms,ucsi, and taylor.
I'm sorry to hear that. Well, it's a private uni, they play god. One day saying hey it's a fine population, and the next day did a massacre. which year (sorry just realized a typo) are you currently in btw?

This post has been edited by onelove89: Jan 2 2011, 07:56 PM
onelove89
post Jan 2 2011, 07:58 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(BrachialPlexus @ Jan 2 2011, 06:05 PM)
That is disgusting. How can any institution do something like that? If they can't accomodate so many students, they should have never admitted them in the first place. What a disgrace.
Overestimated their own stomach, and now they're puking. >_< I'm really sorry to hear about your situation mr dunkin, pls do update us on the situation. and yes, they should de-register cucms cos this is just unethical.
onelove89
post Jan 4 2011, 10:10 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 3 2011, 09:36 PM)
CUCMS management is being greedy is it?  laugh.gif
THis might invoke lawsuits from parents...

we'll see....  brows.gif
It's all about the dough babeh =P I reckon the lecturer:student ratio must be way off cos the students are now 2x the limit. There's a limit for a reason, and that is there's a shortage of lecturers. hmm, come to think of it, I knew a lot of lecturers transferring to cucms due to the cookie dough as well. Then again, my class has 120 students or less now (after sem 1 and sem 2 cut offs), and we have like HEAPS of lecturers/tutors/lab assistants. And that's a good thing IMHO.
onelove89
post Jan 4 2011, 01:37 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

In bolehland, so long you have the cookie dough, they can turn it into a cupcake even. =) what to do? the quality is definitely degrading, compared to a few decades ago when UM was well known throughout the world.
onelove89
post Mar 6 2011, 08:36 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(tqeh @ Mar 6 2011, 08:15 PM)
that makes more sense. I feel heartbroken when there're still new medschools out there.

Frustrated, very.
frustrating indeed hey =( Msia should make a promo video on their medical education, with a slogan 'everyone can be a doctor'. but seriously, this is worrying.
onelove89
post Apr 10 2011, 09:07 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

very very interesting..... wonder who are willing to churn out that amount of money just to do med =/ I mean, they mind as well do the 5 year course, which is like 3x cheaper.
onelove89
post Jul 10 2011, 12:34 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

With those results, try applying straight? If not, I do second the idea to take IMU PMS program. Taylors medicine program just got up and running recently, so we know nothing much about it atm.
onelove89
post Sep 18 2011, 04:41 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(yingxian91 @ Sep 18 2011, 02:43 PM)
Hi there,

I would like to inquire a simple question, a silly question maybe, I'm now studying BPharm currently, if in the future, I am interested to take medic course, do I need to study 5 years like all the undergraduates as well? Is there any deduction on the duration of study? Or any examination I can take to prove my capability to become a potential doctor?

Please enlighten me. Thank you.
hi there, except for Perdana, yes, you have to go through the 5 years because it is an undergraduate program. You can opt for postgrad med (the only postgrad med in msia is in Perdana, which costs RM1M) in other countries like UK, US and AUS. They require you to take an exam called GAMSAT. Also, grades aren't just the only thing you look at to judge whether one is going to be a good doctor or not. If you're bored, and a lil loaded, go take ISAT =) It's an entry exam to undergrad med in aus.
onelove89
post Jan 1 2012, 09:21 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

wow, tawau is really a small place >< no info on their fees yet? They only require ATAR of 80 and BBB to enter.
onelove89
post Jan 1 2012, 10:23 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 1 2012, 09:49 PM)
that is only because that's the minimum required by mmc....

they will be hard pressed to find students, and would prefer if the cut off is lower....more chances of finding well off parents with mediocre offsprings they envision becoming rich doctors...after all, mahsa had a head start with taking in ccc's....before mmc come and spoil the game....
I'm sure they will make it a bit more lax even though it's stated BBB. =) what happened to CUCMS btw? is it still alive? (sorry if that sounded a bit harsh) I'm pretty sure the issue has been resolved with um, connections and greens, but any updates on that matter?

This post has been edited by onelove89: Jan 1 2012, 11:16 PM
onelove89
post Jan 1 2012, 11:17 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

sorry, I meant CUCMS. =) amended my previous post.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0415sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:40 PM