Need to book a shelter at KL then ...
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 17 2009, 07:57 PM

179 posts

someone please tells me how to arrange this:

#
# RM10 in the form of Money Order or Postal Order payable to Malaysian Maritime Academy Sdn. Bhd. Cash is not accepted.

ALAM wants a check that worth RM 10 ? hmm.gif

SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 17 2009, 08:20 PM

179 posts

Anyone from Penang(or around penang?)?
please accompany me biggrin.gif

I got to go for the interview by bus... My parents will be working that days ...
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 17 2009, 11:59 PM

179 posts

let's revise add math ...prepare for the written test now. biggrin.gif
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 18 2009, 02:38 PM

179 posts

I'm just noticed that there is different interview date even though it's same place ..

mine is on 07 May ...and blitz's is on 30 April...

meaning I'm 2nd choice for ALAM ? sad.gif cry.gif

I didnt get A in english and add math though... sad.gif
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 18 2009, 07:12 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(bigguy @ Apr 18 2009, 03:19 PM)
huh?? i got b on my BI but a on m3 and +m3 but still dont get any reply .... you are more lucky to even get an invitation to the interview.HIgh five to you too silverchain
you live in east malaysia ...The date would be different/later a little bit one lah...no worries ...

no point guessing if I'm 2nd choice of ALAM's intake... I will try to do my BEST ... smile.gif ...

nobody same date as me and comes from penang ?? ...I think I need to go down to KL by myself alone sad.gif
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 19 2009, 05:33 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(benblitz @ Apr 18 2009, 10:10 PM)
why are the date differs?
btw, my result :

bm    a2
bi      a1
mt     a1
@mt   a2
phy    b3

one question, general science is as in chem/bio? i put a2 in the app form
coz i got a2 for chem and bio.

edit : did u guys notice, the format for dob is dd/mm/yyyy in the app form, so i put 08/11/1991.

to my surprise, after i went thru back my app form, i realized my dob was changed to 11 August 1991

anyone?  rclxub.gif
that's why lah...

my bm 5C, bi 3B, @math 4B cry.gif , Mmath 1A, phy 1A..
I also applied for marine eng ...
dont know it's bad/good for me to have 2nd/3rd batch interview ...if the 200 slots are fully filled by 1st batch interviewing then I ... doh.gif cry.gif
the email ALAM replied me didn't contain my dob...only name and address ...and some weird code DME xxx/Dxxxx; x= numbers
Which state you live ? near KL ?

who knows how much candidates are chosen for the interview?

This post has been edited by sacai_nownet: Apr 19 2009, 05:37 AM
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 19 2009, 06:17 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(h3lmi @ Apr 19 2009, 01:01 PM)
hi. i'm new here. just registered today. i've received email about ALAM interview about two days ago. i'm applying for DME (marine engineering).
if i'm not mistaken, you can refer to destroyer's post at page 5

what is your interview date then ?

the entry test I think is a very short test...since the duration of the test is very short to cover 3 subjects (1.5hour only)
btw, I think revise like paper 1 examination is more than enough

7K people I think is the sum of candidates who applied, dint included those who didnt go for the interviewing.

442,936 people sat for spm, after (subtracted girl candidates, JPA scholarship holders, matris students, art streamed students or candidates who didnt take physics etc) the number really roughly 10K I think.

but only 200 seats are available, of course BOTTLENECK

ciao~ smile.gif
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 20 2009, 11:45 AM

179 posts

LOL.

http://forum.flydamnit.com/random-chat/alam-the-nerve-center-for-maritime-excellence/15/?wap2

ALAM...
Please becareful of a lecturer name Mr.Shamsul Rizal...
He changed from MMU to ALAM few months ago...
He threaten a student in MMU to pay him RM1000 or else he will not let the student pass english final examination.
The student report this matter to MMU President, after that president request this lecturer to resign byself.

SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 20 2009, 10:23 PM

179 posts

suppose to be typo, I think it was written for candidates outside KL, like me(from penang)....
the date of mine is : 07May ,
stage 2 interview is:08 may .

since you are from KL, they might have mistakenly added " following day" for u ..no worries biggrin.gif

mind telling me yours spm result ? hmm.gif

SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 20 2009, 11:00 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Apr 20 2009, 10:50 PM)
i got alam interview email. my date is 29 april. can anyone elaborate which subjects and questions will ask on the examination?
phy, math , a math, english

according to destoyer ..

but I think it supposes to have chemistry as well.

psychometric test = test your personality etc I think ...may be a test to determine whether u r gay biggrin.gif

mind to tell where u come from ?? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by sacai_nownet: Apr 20 2009, 11:01 PM
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 21 2009, 03:22 PM

179 posts

ALAM's staff just called me,

he told me to print out the email sent by ALAM themselves, and bring the copy in the interview day

This post has been edited by sacai_nownet: Apr 21 2009, 03:48 PM
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 22 2009, 08:46 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Apr 22 2009, 06:32 PM)
lol, kk thnx
im from johore. dunnow whether want to go or not, coz heard that work there 5 months, off 2 months, then continue work 5 months, no girls summore, will consider again.
thats why u need to have willingness to travel far away from family and friends..

I m quite agreed wih thermo_reseat said...

seasickness is another mental challenge ...

This post has been edited by sacai_nownet: Apr 22 2009, 08:47 PM
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 22 2009, 10:43 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Need2Know @ Apr 22 2009, 09:28 PM)
awwww....... hmmmm...........
i've got the email from ALAM, but after readin sacai_nownet's post... i'm beginning to have second thoughts... can someone tell me a few things. Is it our choice to decide where we work onshore or offsore?? and... how long will the contract be?? will they be negotiating with applicants on the interview day regarding the contract?? and.... is it TAT boring to be working on the ship on open sea?? oh and one more thing.... where does the ships normally goes??? ^^

Added on April 22, 2009, 9:34 pmoh and is there a need to print out the email that ALAM sent??
whats the point asking how long is the bonding ?

it's your career ... after the bonding ended, the most u gonna work for another company for greater paid, and doing same tasks.

if you compare seaman's job with on-land's job, the on-land job's sure will be more relaxing despite on-land's job might have greater challenges to face , on on-land's job u will to enjoy yourself at night/weekends etc ..chatting/yamcha with buddies..family ..having sex talk to your girlfriends...shopping etc
how u gonna do those above while u on ship?, doh.gif doh.gif
even u your shift is finished, u still need to stay on ship .. u biggrin.gif sweat.gif

actually I was hoping to pursue in engineering related white-collar's job, but I failed to get into Matrikulasi and my family has no money to put me into IPTS, instead my family needs my help, my parents are old and their saving is not enough for retiring ....so thats why I hope I can get this scholarship and start working as soon as possible to help them.
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 22 2009, 11:48 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(ReWeR @ Apr 22 2009, 11:22 PM)
forgot to add conclusion:
There's bad small company and bad big company, there's also good small company and good big company. It doesn't matter it's small or big, most important it is good, but everyone define for 'good' is different.

for me, a good company should have these:
a) ur direct supervisor/boss can listen to ur constructive suggestion and do changes. No NATO (no action, talk only).
b) workload is reasonable in the sense in it doesn't collapse u.
c) u can mix ok ok with the colleagues. at least they dun alienate u. give urself 3 months to see how well u can work with them.
d) not extremely tiresome to travel to work ... believe me ... even if it is a good job, sooner or later u can't bear the tiresome of travel n quit.
e) ur company should respect employee's nature, if it is a single mother tat need to go on time, a good company should some where flexible a bit for the employee.
ReWeR's advises on finding job ..
If we have accepted the scholarship, the conditions stated above likely won't be fulfilled.

quit is not our option if we have taken the scholarship. changing to other company is also impossible until the bonding ends.

if u have started to regret now, I think you will most probably be more regretted in coming years ...
for me, the only thing that pushing me to go ahead is the salary and my family's financial situation.

I didnt mean to discourage, but rather being realistic.
my aunt is offering to help me if I'm lacked of money to further my studies, and started to tell me about the same things I have told u all ..

my aunt is not ultra-rich, so I rejected her help ...coz I'm dont think I deserve it..she has sons whom still studying too...

This post has been edited by sacai_nownet: Apr 22 2009, 11:59 PM
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 24 2009, 03:04 AM

179 posts

do anyone know how many interviewers will be interviewing us ?

how many sets of CERT/testimonies photostated copy we need to prepare ?
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 24 2009, 11:48 PM

179 posts

just want to share the news here..
found it while I google about ALAM.

http://poobalan.com/blog/indian/2009/03/26...-cadet-in-alam/

Mohan is best cadet in ALAM

Posted by poobalan at 11:16 pm under Indian | | View blog reactions
Nuffnang Ads

This is the kind of news our youths should be exposed too. But its hidden in the inner pages of the newspapers. What we get on front pages are all violence - hired killers by wife, robbers chopping off hands, mat rempit bashing people, etc.

By the way, those interested can apply for the cadet training. More info at:

http://poobalan.com/blog/education-help/application but deadline is 3rd April 2009

From the Star:

MALACCA: It was a proud moment for E. Mohan when he received the Best Overall Cadet award during the 100th convocation of Malaysian Maritime Academy (Alam) in Kuala Sungai Baru recently.

The 22-year-old from Port Dickson, Negri Sembilan was among the 135 cadets who would be remembered as the 100th batch of cadets to graduate from Alam since its establishment in 1977.

“This is the happiest day in my life and my hard work throughout the three years paid off.
That’s our boy: Mohan’s father, N. Elanghovan, 51, giving a peck on his cheek during the convocation while his mother, P. Padmah, 46, proudly looks on.

“I owe it to my ever-supportive parents and younger sister,” said the eldest of two siblings when met at his graduation ceremony recently.

Mohan scored a CGPA of 3.65 in his Diploma in Marine Engineering besides performing well in his co-curricular activities, which included representing Alam in a college badminton tournament and being the assistant cadet captain in camping activities.

The tall lad said he is a little sad at the prospect of not being able to see his family once he starts sailing.

“However, I hope that sailing would lead to greater achievement for me which would make my family even more proud,” he said, adding that he intends to become a chief executive officer of a shipping company one day.

Alam’s chairman, Amir Hamzah Azizan, who is also MISC Berhads chief executive officer, was present to hand the cadets their scrolls.

In his speech, he encouraged the cadets to remain competitive and provide excellent service wherever they were stationed.

“As front liners on board ship, one bears the responsibility of carrying out duties professionally by ensuring reliable and on-time services, maintaining standards and upholding the company’s brand name,” he said.

He added that seamen need to be far-sighted, resilient and dynamic to adapt to the ever-changing shipping industry.

The Ministry of Transport set up the Maritime Training Centre (MTC) in 1977 and was upgraded to an academy in 1981.

SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 25 2009, 10:44 PM

179 posts

why no more updates??
I'm worried about the interview's tests...

I called ALAM and asked about the psychometric test, but they also dont know whats that ... sweat.gif

destoyer, can u tell us more specially which/what chapters of phy/math/a.math will be more likely to be asked ?
man, I dont think i can cover all topics in time ... sad.gif
regretted didnt prepare earlier
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 27 2009, 02:48 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(drake88 @ Apr 27 2009, 01:49 PM)
u r chinese? chances is very slim .. good luck.
for your information , my batch AET only recruit 2 malaysian chinese .. Yes, i mean the WHOLE BATCH only 2 AET m'sia cina
only 1% ??? sweat.gif
why is that? it's because less chinese applied or they(AET/MISC) dont like chinese ?

zzzz....
SUSsacai_nownet
post Apr 27 2009, 08:23 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Jaroque @ Apr 27 2009, 08:11 PM)
yeah i worry about the written test the most..please share k
you guys written test is on 30 April, so how to share?

maybe you guys can share with me lah(mine is on 07May ) ..LOL

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0499sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:16 AM