Resignation Handbook, Revamp in progress 240614

cute_boboi
post Jun 26 2012, 12:08 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(magnifizio @ Jun 25 2012, 09:30 PM)
I have been in Company D for 1.5years.
On 18th of May, I accepted a job offer from Company G.
On 18th of May, I informally informed my manager that I accepted a new job offer and will leave the company in 2 month time ( 2 month notice as stipulated in contract).

I handed in my resignation letter 2 weeks later on 4th of June officially.
The reason why I only handed 2 weeks later was out of good faith to my manager as he was overseas for 2 weeks (1 week business trip + 1 week vacation).
It was also to allow him a full 2 months to find a replacement.

This didnt sit well with new Company G. But I was able to persuade them to wait an extra 2 weeks on top of 2 month notice.

Three weeks later (25th of June), many attempts to find a replacement failed miserably.
I sat in the interviews, i know.
25th of June, manager requested for me to perform duties out of my job scope that I have been reluctantly perform over the course of 1.5 years ( one of the main reason of my resignation).
Duties out of my job scope driving clients around KL and outstation.
Hence, on the 25th of June (after receiving my June salary), i informed that I wish to leave the company this 26th June after deducting my annual leave.
So instead of 2 month notice, i served one month notice.
Manager reluctantly accepted.

Contract stipulates that 2 month notice is required.
Contract isnt really a contract, its more of an employment & service regulation.
But does not mention anything about compensation to company if employee decides to leave early.
Contract also stipulates that non attendance for 2 consecutive days without reason is subject to dismissal.

Have i been wrong?
It depends, if the company find a lawyer firm, and ask them to issue you letter to claim for the 1 month non-served period. It also depends how many AL days you have, since your official resignation notice period start from 4th June - 26th June. Not even one month (but not yet count AL).

QUOTE(fenixtx @ Jun 26 2012, 11:56 AM)

I just received my June salary + 2nd half payment of the bonus today (26th June 2012).

Is it right for me to tender my resignation letter today?
Since the bonus is already paid out. Can they do anything?
Yes, tender today. Money already in your account, they can't do anything.

cute_boboi
post Jul 6 2012, 05:18 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Jul 6 2012, 04:47 PM)
need some help here,

My last day is on 8th of June 2012,
entitlement annual leave balance till 8 Jun 2012 is 5.5days

i use my annual leave and left on 1st of June, because 3rd of June is sunday.

now, they pay me until 1st of June instead of 8 June. is there such a thing?

*EDIT

how can i make a complain to this company and make them in trouble if they don pay me???any website?
Dude, doh.gif

1) Did you put in your 5.5 days leave application for 2-8 June ?
2) Even if you put in, it is subject to management approval. Apply leave does not mean you can be away, it is still subject to approval.
3) If the company reject your AL application, you still have to work until 8-June. Later the company will pay you back the AL.

Assuming the above, the company can put you as AWOL, e.g. did not report to work for 3 consecutive days.

Even after you throw in your resignation, work is work, and employee have to be professional until the last day, no matter how bad is the employer.

cute_boboi
post Jul 6 2012, 05:47 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Jul 6 2012, 05:36 PM)
yes i told my boss and applied leave for 5.5 days and my boss agreed on that. and our leave is approved by my manager. and it is company culture that we can apply leave a day b4. and we all did tat every time.. unless they purposely dn wan to pay me, else i cant think of any reason that they r not paying me lo~
When you are an employee, normally Malaysian style, everything can. Verbal, etc.

The moment you throw in the towel, the barrier start to build up. This is natural in every organisation.

Verbal, kam-ching ... all tak boleh pakai already doh.gif Must follow back rules.

Apply leave must fill up paper form and get boss signature.
Or send email and wait for reply.
Or fill up web/online leave application and wait.
Must have approval in either way.

It's very obvious the company want to 'play' you on that AL part. As I stated above, do you have any concrete proof that you applied for leave if you want to bring to court ?
On the other side, the company got proof that you did not turn up to work between 2-8 June.

cute_boboi
post Jul 12 2012, 11:31 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Ya Rerd @ Jul 12 2012, 03:25 AM)
Hi there,

Hope your guys can help me out here.

I've handed in my resignation on 28 June and I'm currently serving my 2 months notice period.

During this period, am I still considered "under employment"?

My contract stipulates that I am eligible for bonuses if the payment of the bonus is done when I am still under employment. The bonus payment and increment will happen on July.

Do I get the bonus and my yearly salary increment?
Yes, you are still under employment until the last day of the notice period. Not the last working day.
e.g. Assume no other scenario, your last employment day is 28-Aug. Although after deduct AL, your last working day maybe 10-Aug.

Generally, most companies do not pay non-contractual bonus/increment once a person resigns. A simple notice from company can alter the review to no-increment and no-bonus due to whatever reason they pluck from sky.

In your case, I assume it is non-contractual. You MAY be eligible for it, but not contractual.

However, if a staff is good enough, and the management appreciates it, sometimes he/she will get the bonus.

cute_boboi
post Jul 17 2012, 11:59 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ Jul 17 2012, 09:04 AM)
Guys,
i got one question here. My project has ended in April and received the retrenchment letter from the company but at the same time i have been transferred to HQ and take different JD. The HR did issue me the transfer letter but i didn't sign it. so it's has been 3 months i am in HQ and if i decided to leave, can i just give 24 hrs? since i didn't sign the transfer letter but only got the retrenchment letter?
Look into your contract if it mention anything about lapse. Some may written follow the last contract or whatever.

If not mentioned, take a look at the retrenchment. They give you notice or not needed ?

Else, you can always go and negotiate with HR for early release. Bear in mind, salary also cut-short as per early release.

QUOTE(Holyboyz @ Jul 17 2012, 09:42 AM)
Should i just tender with my HoD or HR and HoD?

Should it be a proper letter or an email will suffice in a formal format.

Another thing if i do tender via a letter do i just pass it to HR and walk away or stand there??

This is very awkward. Whom do i explain my self to my HoD? or my HR?
Submit to both HR & HoD. Letter address to HoD. At the bottom of the letter after your signature, just put:
cc. HR

Same if you submit through email, cc HR.

Don't worry, it is always awkward, unless your resignation is known well before hand. Normally take some time (minutes/hours/days) for it to get into reality, before you are called for discussion/exit interview.

cute_boboi
post Aug 23 2012, 11:58 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ronaldoo @ Aug 22 2012, 09:42 AM)
My immediate supervisor told me I'm in radar due to performance. At the same time i m also looking for job and answer from other co.
Should I tell him my current situation that I hav intention to leave ?

Need advice urgently
Until you get an offer in hand, keep it quiet and humble.

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Aug 22 2012, 09:44 AM)
I tried to resign last week

i succeeded after a gruelling 12-hour (over a few sessions over 2 days) of consultation with my boss
doh.gif What's there to gruel about ? Basically there is no need for resignation acceptance from boss. You resign, period. You start serving notice period.

What follows will be the exit interview, where they may try to sweet talk / convince you to stay or extend longer. You have the choice to make decision on this, not the boss.

cute_boboi
post Aug 24 2012, 03:22 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ronaldoo @ Aug 23 2012, 08:04 PM)
He is close to me, and I wanted to voice out to him personally at least giving him time to find replacement..
Any other advice
My answer is still no. No matter how close, the moment a person resigns, you will see the true colours. Ask many here, I'm sure they see it as well.

Unless, of course, you are higher up in the management, where the industry is niche and small, and you don't want to provoke anyone.

What I suggest you to do is, let's say you need 1 month notice period.
Tell the new company you need 1.5-2 months before can join, as you want to finish up a project there (even if there is no project). By explaining to new company you want to finish up and handover properly, if the new company read between the lines, it shows you are a responsible person who will not leave immediately if you going to join other newer companies in future. +1 brownie point.

Wait until you get and sign offer letter. Make sure you don't turn back and continue working in current company, no matter what. Even if your current boss offer you even higher or better. Remember, always move forward, don't turn back.

Then for your current co (after u sign OL), you can start tell boss verbally, you planning to leave already. Within 1-3 weeks (depending on how much time you budgeted), you can start submit official resignation letter.
If the boss is good, you still can be friends after you leave, as you said.
If you see the true colours, you will appreciate the steps I put in here for you to cover your backside.

If you manage to leave early, just take the few weeks as rest period. Go holiday, hometown, sleep, whatever to recharge before join new company.

cute_boboi
post Aug 27 2012, 02:47 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ruzainiazfar @ Aug 24 2012, 04:35 PM)
I have a question here.. iam resigning from my current company. i give 3 month notice. then i ask for early resignation. which is 2 month. after few conv with my boss, they ask for me to pay the remainng days.
I have ro sign an agreement to pay..bla.. bla.. bla.. if i dont pay company will hold my EA form. what is th important of this? Srry.. noob here..

So, by law how to calculate how much i have to pay?
Monthly salary/(working day)? Salary. Should include my fixed allowance? Public holiday shoud include or not in the calculation.
Since you need to sign the agreement, the amount to pay back should be stated there. For 1 month, it is very easy, just take your one month basic salary.
However, some companies try to be funny and use other ways to calculate, hence there is no definitive answer here.

EA Form is mainly for income tax purpose.

Just ask your HR/Finance/boss what is the amount and how they calculate, and ask them include in the agreement.

cute_boboi
post Aug 30 2012, 05:24 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(xiaojie @ Aug 30 2012, 03:16 PM)
hi guys, would appreciate if anyone can help me on this.

lets say i am going to tender the resignation letter on monday and serve for 1 week notice, my last day will be coming sunday or monday?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Submit on Monday morning, it'll be Sunday (assume you working on Sat/Sun).
Otherwise, Fri is last day if Mon-Fri job.

cute_boboi
post Aug 31 2012, 10:11 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Aug 31 2012, 01:01 PM)
Hey guys,

i got a minor issue. I have been offered by a company to begin a new job on the 2nd week of September. I have a 3 months notice period to serve in my old company and the new company will buy out my notice period. This means, I will only have less than 5 days to perform a handover if I were to tender my resignation on Monday. Can the old company take any action towards me?

For further information, I am actually in a managerial role, and there is no way i can complete projects in hand as it will drag for months. The best i can do is handover all outstanding items in the next 3-4 days.

Appreciate any kind advises on how I should approach the sounds from my bosses when I tender on Monday with just a very short period of notice. Should I tell them the truth about why I am resigning, or should I just mention personal family problems etc etc.
1) seriously, you are in trouble. Especially you are in managerial role.

2) I'm sure you aware, your industry can be very small and everyone knows each another.

3) even if u jump to other industry, still the world can be small. My point is, your name will be tarnished among the word-of-mouth for quite some time.

4) it's too late, but even with buyout, IMHO you still need minimum 1 month to do handover.

5) old company can't take action, provided the new company payback in full.

6) never lie. Refer above points. Gossips go around, and if u lie, your already tarnish credibility, I think it'll bring your reputation down to lowest level.

7) of course there are some exceptions, e.g. U are top salesman can bring in 1000% sales continuously, your skillset is highly sought after and very rare...
cute_boboi
post Oct 30 2012, 06:26 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(PhilHellmuth @ Oct 30 2012, 09:27 AM)
a quick question here guys:-

whats the standard procedure for a resignation,

1)Get the offer letter from the new company,
2)resign with my current company,
3)sign the offer letter and hand to the new company
4)serve 1 month notice in the current company

What if i only sign and submit the offer letter on my 1st day working in the new company? Is the job secured then? Or i need to submit to the new company pre hand before that ?
1)Get the offer letter from the new company,
3)2)sign the offer letter and hand to the new company. Keep a copy yourself.
2)3)resign with my current company,
4)serve 1 month notice as per existing employment-contract in the current company

The signed offer letter is important, to prove a contract is enforced, i.e. offer + acceptance.
An offer without an acceptance is not a contract, and the new company can say you did not sign it and the offer is withdrawn.

cute_boboi
post Jan 31 2013, 02:19 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(FullPanda @ Jan 17 2013, 05:41 PM)
I wanna get some advise here,

I work for my company more than 5 years. Recently i just pass my resignation letter to my HR dept, notice is 2 months earlier.. on 01/01/2013, i pass my letter and my resignation date is 01/03/2013... what my question is, i want to clear all me annual leave before leave my company.. i still have about 16 days annual leave... i plan to clear it off (plus my 2 off days per week) so i cant stop working before CNY. But the HR mention that they have RIGHT to not approved my annual days..

It is truth? or i have my rights to clear off all my leave?
Annual Leave (no matter you resigned or not) is subject to management approval. Therefore, the company has the right to request you to work until the last working day.
Whatever annual leave balance, will be paid pro-rated back to you.

QUOTE(clyeoh_1 @ Jan 31 2013, 01:44 PM)
hello everyone here, i need some advise here. Last year i have been apply for a job and sighed the letter of appointment. But then i reject it by giving a call to the boss and e-mail. when i sighed the LOA, the company didn't give me a copy, said only give after working. So after that i reject it, kena marah.... ok that it , my mistake in first place. But now they send a lawyer letter of demand to claim $ for failed report to work. In the LOA, it stated need to give 2 months notice or 6 months compensade. But now i haven't work yet! How can i give 2 months notice, sign on 1 jan, start work on 15. It it means tat i need to send a resignation letter before i went to work, then work for 1 and half month to complete the 2 months notice. Ssssssso confuse. i ask so many friends and relative, none of them heard about this matter, anyone here can consult?
First mistake: Whenever you sign an offer letter, you must get a copy of it. Ask them before you sign on the dotted line. If they say need to chop & sign or whatever, just ask them photocopy to you, as you need to get in black and white the basics stuff, such as basic salary, allowances, working hours, MC, AL, termination notice, etc.

Now, they have the offer letter (most likely amended), and you need to give 2 months notice, even during probation. Not much choice you have, except to pay it.

Officially, even before you start work, you need to submit a letter of resignation, if you have signed the offer letter/contract. Then follow up if they need you to come in to serve the notice (2 months). Most of the time, they will not bother to feed you without work for two months and ask you to leave.

Since you did not do the above, they will find loop holes and a lawyer to issue a demand.

0.0524sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:39 PM