73 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Resignation Handbook, Revamp in progress 240614

NickyHeat
post Dec 21 2017, 11:49 PM

56 posts

Hi guys, just wanted to ask. I was supposed to give out a month notice but I can only give my current company 2 weeks of notice. If I agree to pay the payment in lieu would they ask for the payment on the spot or how?
sweet_pez
post Dec 26 2017, 04:04 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(wannoradzahari @ Dec 19 2017, 11:41 AM)
I just wonder, is it possible for me to instigate the company to fire me?

My resignation notice is 2 months, and I can't work here any longer. Even a day also cannot tahan and and will be a great pain in the ass. If possible i want to quit on the spot. However, i don't have the money to pay for the penalty so looks like i am going to have to serve my 2 months notice anyway.

However, i just wonder, what if during the 2 months notice i just slack off? Can my employer force me to do work? What if i just come to the office and sit around and not do work? In short, can I instigate my own termination?

Now I know that this would be burning bridges and would harm my future employments but I am quitting to start my own thing and i am leaving the industry all together. Basically i am switching career.

By the way, as according to my company's handbook, it says there if an employee did not turn up to work for 48 hours straight without any solid reason, the punishment would be instant dismissal.
So can I just use this to quit? What if I just tender in my resignation and say that I am going to serve the 2 months notice. Then the next day i just do not show up to work for 48 hours straight and prompts the company to sack me. Is this possible?
How is your relationship with your current company/ employer(s)? You can ask for early release. Smart employers will let you leave earlier eg. serve 1 month instead of 2 months so that they didn't have to pay for the other month when you slack. Secondly, they'll release you earlier so as not to influence other current employees working there (such as demotivating them or asking them to leave with you etc).

But end of the day, the company reserve to not allow the early release.

They can't force you to do work, but remember that so long you're under the company's paycheck, you're supposed to be responsible for your work. But I'm just curious why to the point of wanting instant dismissal?

QUOTE(NickyHeat @ Dec 21 2017, 11:49 PM)
Hi guys, just wanted to ask. I was supposed to give out a month notice but I can only give my current company 2 weeks of notice. If I agree to pay the payment in lieu would they ask for the payment on the spot or how?
Again, why can you only serve 2 weeks' notice?
If you don't mind paying for the other 2 weeks' exit, talk to your HR. Some demand you pay before your last day, some give you time till end of the month. It depends.

And guys, stop disregarding company's policy of notice period. It's not easy to hire someone, they'll need time to look for a new staff to do your job. So till then, do be responsible and not make a bad name for yourself.

chinti
post Dec 28 2017, 09:40 AM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,653 posts

quick question, do i need envelope for resignation letter?
sweet_pez
post Dec 28 2017, 09:43 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Dec 28 2017, 09:40 AM)
quick question, do i need envelope for resignation letter?
Not necessary. If you're handing it in person to your superior, usually there's no need for an envelope. Just fold it nicely.
Personally I only use envelope when I'm putting it on my superior's table (in his/ her absence).
chinti
post Dec 28 2017, 09:45 AM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,653 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Dec 28 2017, 09:43 AM)
Not necessary. If you're handing it in person to your superior, usually there's no need for an envelope. Just fold it nicely.
Personally I only use envelope when I'm putting it on my superior's table (in his/ her absence).
okie, handling it tmr. feel so weird, today company lunch esok throw letter sweat.gif
sweet_pez
post Dec 28 2017, 09:51 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Dec 28 2017, 09:45 AM)
okie, handling it tmr. feel so weird, today company lunch esok throw letter  sweat.gif
That's life laugh.gif you found better prospect, so it's time to move on.

You can read this too: http://www.businessinsider.com/resignation...ob-2014-3/?IR=T
ken_zie
post Jan 8 2018, 09:15 PM

830 posts

If my operation manager who I'm supposed to be reporting to is mostly not in the branch as she's currently overlooking 2 branches, how can I pass the letter to her? Is it okay to email her a copy? And do I need to give a copy to my branch manager too? What about HR as our head office is in KL while I'm in the Penang branch. I'm in the banking industry if you're wondering.
hanashi
post Jan 28 2018, 12:12 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Dec 28 2017, 09:43 AM)
If my reporting boss is based in Singapore (seldom come to KL), while I am based in KL, can I just email my resignation to him? Or does it really need to submit a hard copy?
sweet_pez
post Jan 28 2018, 02:53 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(hanashi @ Jan 28 2018, 12:12 PM)
If my reporting boss is based in Singapore (seldom come to KL), while I am based in KL, can I just email my resignation to him? Or does it really need to submit a hard copy?
What about your HR? In KL or Singapore.

Due to distance, you dont have much choice. Courier or mailing the hard copy is a bit... you know. So my suggestion to email him the PDF copy of your resignation. If yr HR is based in KL, submit a hard copy to them. Otherwise email yr resignation to boss and cc HR inside.
hanashi
post Jan 28 2018, 03:11 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 28 2018, 02:53 PM)
What about your HR? In KL or Singapore.

Due to distance, you dont have much choice. Courier or mailing the hard copy is a bit... you know. So my suggestion to email him the PDF copy of your resignation. If yr HR is based in KL, submit a hard copy to them. Otherwise email yr resignation to boss and cc HR inside.
Yeah...that's will be the best option. My HR is based in Singapore. We do not have office in Malaysia.
NeoMnemonic
post Mar 28 2018, 02:29 PM

760 posts

Question: If I had done my 6 months probation but I did not received any confirmation by verbal or written, what if I just keep quiet and drag further on, am I still under probation?

Reason: I want to keep the 1 week resign notice instead of 2 months.
alextan99
post Mar 29 2018, 04:34 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

QUOTE(NeoMnemonic @ Mar 28 2018, 02:29 PM)
Question: If I had done my 6 months probation but I did not received any confirmation by verbal or written, what if I just keep quiet and drag further on, am I still under probation?

yes unless you get any confirmation from them you are still under probation but then they need to let you know too if they would extend your probation period
otai_g
post Apr 3 2018, 09:08 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(Blacksheep3888 @ Nov 20 2017, 06:28 PM)
Dear all sifu sifu, wana ask something, i'm a fresh graduate and i got offer from company A and they wan me to sign the offer letter, but im still pending for another offer from company B. so right now, what if i sign the offer letter and company B offer me, can i ffk them? what are the consequence? as i havent start working in company A yet.
just forgot company B and work hard in company A. there are no guarantee company B will offer u job. be realistic bro.
otai_g
post Apr 3 2018, 09:10 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(NeoMnemonic @ Mar 28 2018, 02:29 PM)

good strategy. but maybe the company also decided not make your permanent there, thats y ur comformation are still pending.
quiksand
post Apr 18 2018, 09:10 PM

27 posts

Question: Assuming that I need to provide a 3 month notice period, but wish to only serve 1 month.

Do I need to state that I (or my new employer) will pay for the remaining month in the resignation letter or would it suffice just to tell that I will be serving 1 month?

otai_g
post Apr 19 2018, 08:56 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(quiksand @ Apr 18 2018, 09:10 PM)
Question: Assuming that I need to provide a 3 month notice period, but wish to only serve 1 month.

Do I need to state that I (or my new employer) will pay for the remaining month in the resignation letter or would it suffice just to tell that I will be serving 1 month?

1st, try to negotiate with bos before pay.

i have 2 times experienced work in company which notice period is 3 month.

1st company i resign and need to pay back them 2 month salary. but not 1 shoot la. pay month2.

2nd company bos give me just 2 weeks notice period instead of 3 month. but that company are plan to shutdown my department asap because no project. so better their clear staff early to cut cost.
quiksand
post Apr 19 2018, 08:34 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(otai_g @ Apr 19 2018, 08:56 AM)
1st, try to negotiate with bos before pay.

i have 2 times experienced work in company which notice period is 3 month.

1st company i resign and need to pay back them 2 month salary. but not 1 shoot la. pay month2.

2nd company bos give me just 2 weeks notice period instead of 3 month. but that company are plan to shutdown my department asap because no project. so better their clear staff early to cut cost.
Thanks bro. Will try the first method to negotiate. I heard some companies just put 3 months to deter employee from resigning but dont really care if they pay or not. Not sure how true is that.
Belphegor
post Apr 20 2018, 09:57 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(quiksand @ Apr 19 2018, 08:34 PM)
Thanks bro. Will try the first method to negotiate. I heard some companies just put 3 months to deter employee from resigning but dont really care if they pay or not. Not sure how true is that.
Don't risk it. They put so that they have the chance of suing you for breaching the contract. If you had to, either you talk to your immediate superior about releasing you early, pay the full amount of unserved notice, get your future company to payout (mind you, some companies do payout but have certain T&C for you to sign) or you serve the entire 3 month notice.

Leave with good terms; as you don't know when you needed their help in future.
quiksand
post Apr 20 2018, 10:12 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Apr 20 2018, 09:57 AM)
Don't risk it. They put so that they have the chance of suing you for breaching the contract. If you had to, either you talk to your immediate superior about releasing you early, pay the full amount of unserved notice, get your future company to payout (mind you, some companies do payout but have certain T&C for you to sign) or you serve the entire 3 month notice.

Leave with good terms; as you don't know when you needed their help in future.
Thanks for the advice. Very good point indeed.
wet1qao
post Apr 25 2018, 06:23 PM

Hi, i still have some annual leaves including bring forwarded annual leaves from last year, after i give resignation letter, by default HR will convert my unutilized annual leaves to money or automatic offset my notice if i did not tell them my choice? either offset or convert to money. The bring forwarded leave can be convert to money?

73 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0415sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:32 AM