Resignation Handbook, Revamp in progress 240614

fuzzy
post May 31 2016, 02:15 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 31 2016, 01:59 PM)
I'd wish they put me on garden leave rather than sitting here and answer phones laugh.gif

Farewells already arranged, sent out goodbyes and handed over the work to the new guy already.
lepak and surf LYN lo, what else hahaha..
MiztaLegendary
post Jun 2 2016, 01:12 PM

84 posts

Hi All,

Will there be any consequences at the company in singapore if got blacklisted by the company in malaysia?
TSaurora97
post Jun 2 2016, 01:25 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(MiztaLegendary @ Jun 2 2016, 01:12 PM)
Hi All,

Will there be any consequences at the company in singapore if got blacklisted by the company in malaysia?
answer is don't know. though chances r slim because of personal data protection laws.

for avoidance of any doubt however, don't get blacklisted in the first place.

This post has been edited by aurora97: Jun 2 2016, 01:40 PM
popeye3rd
post Jul 5 2016, 09:34 AM

361 posts

want to ask..if my notice period is 2 month and new employer willing to buy out, does it mean i can write in letter 'resigning with 24 hrs notice'?
TSaurora97
post Jul 13 2016, 11:54 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(popeye3rd @ Jul 5 2016, 09:34 AM)
want to ask..if my notice period is 2 month and new employer willing to buy out, does it mean i can write in letter 'resigning with 24 hrs notice'?
Look into you employment contract and see what it say. There is sometimes a provision that say “salary in lieu of notice”. If that is the case, if you can afford (i.e. your new employer) to buy you out for everyday of your notice…

It is feasible to serve a 24 hours notice.

keeganwoon90
post Jul 18 2016, 10:21 AM

163 posts

my last day on 29th!!!! i got not much mood to work to be honest =(
TurnDownForWhat
post Jul 21 2016, 02:50 PM

99 posts

Just submitted the resignation letter and supervisor like don't want to talk with me. Another 1 week to go.. What to do in this awkward situation and no much workload. God damn..
lowlowc
post Jul 28 2016, 08:18 PM

918 posts

Add one more situation of mine. I've seen someone posted something similar to mine but his is without the salary issue.

I joined in mid Dec 2015 and was supposed to be confirmed by mid mid June 2016. In Apr, I tendered my resignation because I do not like the job, the travelling is far, my salary is lesser and I have another option to consider.

However, my boss was very adamant that I should stay and persuaded me, offered me a lot of things ; lesser work, more guidance, said I can go back early to avoid traffic. I rejected all because I know she's just saying that to save herself from doing the work. In the end, up to the GM also had a talk with me and offer me increment. So I stayed for the sake of the money, but later told me the company policy is increment is only for promotion or confirmation. Even the HR confirm with me that upon confirmation which WILL be in June, my new salary will be effective for July's pay. No official letter but with email communications to say effective 1st July.

By July I was already asking about my confirmation letter and they said pending at the CEO. So today is pay day and I am still getting old salary. I sent an email to HR and CC my boss asking why is the increment not taking effect, they replied because the CEO signed late and HR could not make it into this month payroll. In the email again, they said I will get the new salary and pay back July's salary difference.

I am no longer trusting them and I am planning to tender my resignation. Problem is am I considered as a confirmed staff or not? I had worked past the 6 months probation but I did not receive confirmation letter or sign on anything. Confirmed staff is 3 month notice while probation staff is 1 month.

I am handling a project now, and if 3 months notice, they can go back on their words not to give me my new salary yet I have to work for them 3 months. By then I will have finish their project already.

If one month will be great as they are the one not delivering what they promised.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jul 28 2016, 08:21 PM
TSaurora97
post Jul 29 2016, 08:47 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jul 28 2016, 08:18 PM)
Add one more situation of mine. I've seen someone posted something similar to mine but his is without the salary issue.

I joined in mid Dec 2015 and was supposed to be confirmed by mid mid June 2016. In Apr, I tendered my resignation because I do not like the job, the travelling is far, my salary is lesser and I have another option to consider.

However, my boss was very adamant that I should stay and persuaded me, offered me a lot of things ; lesser work, more guidance, said I can go back early to avoid traffic. I rejected all because I know she's just saying that to save herself from doing the work. In the end, up to the GM also had a talk with me and offer me increment. So I stayed for the sake of the money, but later told me the company policy is increment is only for promotion or confirmation. Even the HR confirm with me that upon confirmation which WILL be in June, my new salary will be effective for July's pay. No official letter but with email communications to say effective 1st July.

By July I was already asking about my confirmation letter and they said pending at the CEO. So today is pay day and I am still getting old salary. I sent an email to HR and CC my boss asking why is the increment not taking effect, they replied because the CEO signed late and HR could not make it into this month payroll. In the email again, they said I will get the new salary and pay back July's salary difference.

I am no longer trusting them and I am planning to tender my resignation. Problem is am I considered as a confirmed staff or not? I had worked past the 6 months probation but I did not receive confirmation letter or sign on anything. Confirmed staff is 3 month notice while probation staff is 1 month.

I am handling a project now, and if 3 months notice, they can go back on their words not to give me my new salary yet I have to work for them 3 months. By then I will have finish their project already.

If one month will be great as they are the one not delivering what they promised.
Problem is am I considered as a confirmed staff or not? I had worked past the 6 months probation but I did not receive confirmation letter or sign on anything

You answered yourself. You are not a confirmed staff.

lowlowc
post Jul 30 2016, 02:37 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Jul 29 2016, 08:47 PM)
You answered yourself. You are not a confirmed staff.
Thanks aurora97. 1 month notice it is then.
marsha1l
post Aug 14 2016, 02:15 PM

water-cooling PC enthusiast
1,041 posts

Hi all,

Contract mention that within 1 year after confirmation as permanent staff i resign, i need to pay rmxx as penalty.

let say 5 Oct is my 1 year period as permanent staff, if i submit resignation letter by this month, with 2 month notice, resign by 10th oct, am i breaching the contract?
fuzzy
post Aug 17 2016, 11:44 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Aug 14 2016, 02:15 PM)
Hi all,

Contract mention that within 1 year after confirmation as permanent staff i resign, i need to pay rmxx as penalty.

let say 5 Oct is my 1 year period as permanent staff, if i submit resignation letter  by this month, with 2 month notice, resign by 10th oct, am i breaching the contract?
Look at how the contract is worded. From what you write, it says if you resign within a year not if you cease employment, so no, if u resign in Aug it will be considered as breaching of the contract.
marsha1l
post Aug 18 2016, 07:03 AM

water-cooling PC enthusiast
1,041 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Aug 17 2016, 11:44 PM)
Look at how the contract is worded. From what you write, it says if you resign within a year not if you cease employment, so no, if u resign in Aug it will be considered as breaching of the contract.
it is similar as this : "in the event you resign or employment is terminated for misconduct/performance issues within the first
year of employment"

somewhere along those line. Notice for termination is 2 month. So resign later than 5th october. I suppose they dont take the date i tender my resignation notice as resign date ? confused.gif
ITzai
post Aug 18 2016, 11:11 AM

107 posts

5 more weeks to my last day of service.
Feel like time passing very slow... argh...
fuzzy
post Aug 18 2016, 07:19 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Aug 18 2016, 07:03 AM)
it is similar as this : "in the event you resign or employment is terminated for misconduct/performance issues within the first
year of employment"

somewhere along those line. Notice for termination is 2 month. So resign later than 5th october. I suppose they dont take the date i tender my resignation notice as resign date ?  confused.gif
I'll say they will take the date of your resignation being effective (date you put in letter) as the resign date, not your last physical day.

The moment you put in letter and it is accepted, you are considered resignee. So in this case, im pretty sure they have the right to ask for that compensation.
ITzai
post Sep 23 2016, 10:07 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(ITzai @ Aug 18 2016, 11:11 AM)
5 more weeks to my last day of service.
Feel like time passing very slow... argh...
Time flies.. today is my last day already... Duno how to describe my feeling now.. with this song playing in the background..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0YRICEt7XiY
VFL
post Sep 25 2016, 05:10 PM

47 posts

Hi guys.Need your help
1) New employer promised to buy me out with the email confirmation where is no offer letter ready.Can I treat the email as official evidence to resign?
2) I ask to get the offer letter before resign but the new employer said it is not ready now. They need time for processing, like background screening etc..Will there be a possibility like this?What can I ask HR so that new employer can give me the offer letter?
maxsteel2001us
post Sep 26 2016, 12:22 AM

851 posts

in resignation, the worse is, not the time, but the contract that mention companies you can't join are abundant.

some ppl mention that the contract is void as it is deem unfair and against labour law.....

while some said, once you sign it, it is legally bound as you agree b4 u sign it....

if don't sign it means not resigning? that contract is really a joke...as it mention u can't work for ur clients, competitors, even clients where u do not work with but the project that the company has with them....

my colleague mention that, if like that, no need to work in that field in Malaysia.

half_lif3
post Sep 26 2016, 03:01 PM

498 posts

My situation here,

My offer letter do mention that 3 months of probation period and resign during probation will need 1 month notice. and after confirmation then i will need to serve 3 months notice.

Problem now I'm in my 4th month and I'm not given any formal or verbal notice that I'm a confirm staff. So I should be serving 1 month notice right?
chiahau
post Sep 26 2016, 03:23 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(VFL @ Sep 25 2016, 05:10 PM)
Hi guys.Need your help
1) New employer promised to buy me out with the email confirmation where is no offer letter ready.Can I treat the email as official evidence to resign?
2) I ask to get the offer letter before resign but the new employer said it is not ready now. They need time for processing, like background screening etc..Will there be a possibility like this?What can I ask HR so that new employer can give me the offer letter?
1. By email still not yet official. Don't tender till you receive the letter.

2. Just wait. It's normal to conduct those things. Usually 1 or 2 weeks.

QUOTE(maxsteel2001us @ Sep 26 2016, 12:22 AM)
in resignation, the worse is, not the time, but the contract that mention companies you can't join are abundant.

some ppl mention that the contract is void as it is deem unfair and against labour law.....

while some said, once you sign it, it is legally bound as you agree b4 u sign it....

if don't sign it means not resigning? that contract is really a joke...as it mention u can't work for ur clients, competitors, even clients where u do not work with but the project that the company has with them....

my colleague mention that, if like that, no need to work in that field in Malaysia.
Usually there's a period for non compete. 6 months or 1 year. Check out your employment contract for that.

Company also must protect themselves from employees who might use their former positions for unfair advantage.

73 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:03 AM