Facial Skin Care, discussions, recommendations and reviews

frega
post Oct 8 2010, 02:14 AM

396 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Sep 20 2010, 10:33 AM)
What is the active ingredient in the Acne Away gel ?

Minor pimple marks will fade away naturally but it takes a long time. Try using a stable vitamin c serum in the day and apply a good sunscreen on top. In the night use a retinol product. The combo of these 2 things will help to fade your acne scars gradually over a period of a few months.
regarding removing acne marks, how do you feel about loreal men expert's new product "pure & matte anti-mark"? i just started using this.

it has "melanin-vanish" which is found i think in loreal's white perfect line or something, salycic acid, etc (i threw away the box). it also touts a "smoothing, matte" effect, maybe ingredients found in women's make up primer, dioc-something. the matte thing works somewhat on my oily nose, but not too impressed.

Been reading scform for reducing acne scars.
AHA products/Pure BHA(salicylic acid) products/ Exfoliator, sigh, where to find? Only thing easy to get is Olay regenerist serum.

---

also problem, with red (big noticeable patch), flaky skin around nose and side of mouth, any suggestions?

btw i'm using cetaphil for cleansing. used to use panoxyl 2.5% BP to threat/prevent acne and blackheads but can no longer find it. cursessss!

This post has been edited by frega: Oct 8 2010, 06:38 AM
frega
post Oct 8 2010, 12:23 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Oct 8 2010, 09:59 AM)
I actually bought the roll on a few weeks back and looking at the ingredients I think it only works for minor scarring. The texture is really sticky and never seems to dry. But it seems to be quite good in fighting acne rather than vanishing scars.  I don't think I'll be buying this again.Vitamin C and retinoids still work best for scars.

Its a pain finding potent and affordable BHA/AHA products in msia. Neutrogena has a good range but they don't sell it here...maybe in the future. Probably the most accessible and affordable AHA/BHA products is from Avene. Cleanance K has both AHA n BHA and is a nightly treatment against whitehead/blacheads...should also work for minimal scarring. Costs around RM50-60. Cleanance K is effective but the texture, finish and smell is horrible.

As for the flaky skin just use a heavier moisturizer and it should solve the prob.

I just saw a few tubes of panoxyl  2.5% at Guardian 1U new wing a month ago. I contacted the distributor once coz I couldn't find 2.5% anywhere n they told me they are still importing it but I need to ask the pharmacist to do a special order sometimes.
so safe bet is to use cleanse(Cetaphil) -> serum(Olay Regenerist) -> AHA/retinoid(Diacneal) -> moisturizer?

diacneal gotta order from US online.. hmmmmm... I bought the moisturizing gel (Loreal Anti-mark), not the roll-on stick. So gotta switch to another moisturizer now since AHA + retinoid + BHA (salicylic acid from the Loreal) might be wayyy to strong.
frega
post Oct 8 2010, 10:14 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Oct 8 2010, 05:02 PM)
Retinoid (Diacneal) works best applied to clean skin so don't apply any moisturizer/serum before Diacneal. Apply Diacneal, wait 30mins to an hour den apply your moisturizer. Don't think u need to apply both serum and moisturizer. U could probably use the serum in the day and moisturizer at night.

Diacneal can get locally la at some Guardian, Watsons and Caring. It's RM60-70 depending on sales. But if u can get it cheaper from US then get it online. Do read reviews of Diacneal first as it aint a miracle cure. Its a long hard road when using retinoids...ur face will get worse b4 it gets better. If your acne is mild there is no need to use strong products like Diacneal.

Most of the time the salicylic acid in these products are very mild. If u use Diacneal u don't need any other AHA product as it contains both lactic and glycolic acid and at good amounts. If u do get Diacneal then there is no need to use Cleanance K.
I thought I'd use Diacneal to diminish acne scar? Is that not a good idea, since Diacneal has AHA & retinoid. And I do have blackheads and acne when I don't get much sleep, which is usually all the time. At least 1 at all times, worst is 3-5 pimples.

I have no idea what the alternative is, for an easily obtained affordable AHA + retinoid or AHA + BHA or equivalent combo product. You said Cleanacne K is only for "minimal scaring", mine arent minimal.

This post has been edited by frega: Oct 8 2010, 10:57 PM
frega
post Oct 8 2010, 11:48 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Oct 8 2010, 11:09 PM)
If that's the case then Diacneal would be a good option for you. Coz some ppl freak out at 1 or 2 pimples and start going out to buy all the harsh and expensive acne products...they end up making things worse. But in your situation I guess Diacneal would be beneficial. Diacneal is much more effective then Cleanance K. Just keep in mind that for the first few weeks u will get more breakouts as the acne deep in the skin is drawn out. If u have been a AHA/BHA product consistently for a few months then the breakouts won't be too bad. I used Diacneal previously as a spot treatment and I din really see a big difference. Now I use it all over my face at night n after 1 week I can see the effect. However it really dried my skin out...but not as bad as benzoyl peroxide. Also Diacneal is strictly for night use...retinoids break down by sunlight and in some cases become toxic when exposes to the sun.

The most important thing when using a retinoid like Diacneal is applying sunscreen daily no matter if u r in the sun or not. I made the big mistake of skipping sunscreen the 1st round I was on Diacneal and my acne scars became darker.
sunscreen no matter what? why tho? sunlight even thru windows and curtains will affect the retinoid?

even tho i'm never outdoors, or when its at night, since you say strictly for night use.
frega
post Oct 9 2010, 12:52 AM

396 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Oct 9 2010, 12:14 AM)
Retinoids and AHA work by peeling off layers of skin basically. As the skin becomes thinner it loses protection against UVA n UVB rays. Making the skin highly susceptible to sun damge. http://www.skinacea.com/retinoids/useright.htm

It's not an absolute rule to wear sunscreen and use retinoids only at night. You could try skipping sunscreen and use retinoids day n night. Just don't let me say "I told u so" a few months down the road biggrin.gif
I mean it didnt make sense when you said use sunscreen no matter what (even at night). also i was asking if indirect sunlight would affect retinoid (thru windows+curtains / general daylight shining indoors).

This post has been edited by frega: Oct 9 2010, 01:00 AM
frega
post Oct 10 2010, 08:16 AM

396 posts

Which particular pharmacies can i find Avene Diacneal? 2 Watsons and 2 Guardian near my place dont have them.
frega
post Oct 23 2010, 03:48 PM

396 posts

Quick review on Loreal Men Expert Pure & Matte Anti-mark moisturizing cream.
After 2 weeks of use, terrible. Caused many breakouts. Breakouts stopped soon after I stopped using it.

Now a question about Niacinamide/Niacin to repair skin. What are other products I can use that contains Niacinamide, besides Olay Regenerist Micro-sculpting series (that's the same as 3 point series right? as mentioned by scform)? NIA24 available in Malaysia?

Even if Olay Regenerist is more of "treatment", can I use the cream version (for oily/combo skin) as a moisturizer? Or just stick with Serum? This is after Diacneal of course.

This post has been edited by frega: Oct 23 2010, 04:06 PM
frega
post Oct 24 2010, 04:20 AM

396 posts

QUOTE(rvn_rvn @ Oct 24 2010, 01:19 AM)
bro ive never had any problems using this product.. is it due to your skin type or something? im quite surprised frankly...
Loreal Pure & Matte Anti-mark is quite new though.

I don't know if its due to my skin type, but products react differently for everyone. So I'm just saying, for acne prone skin, I had breakouts. Unless its coincidental that I had a LOT of pimples at the time I've been using it.

Usually I would have 1-2 pimple + 1 healing. In the 2 weeks I've been using it, following the 1 week that I stopped, I would have like 5-6 pimples (this includes existing ones & the "up and coming" ones) + 2-3 on the mend.

That or maybe my skin is having a reaction from using chemicals on my skin again. For quite a long time, I've only used Cetaphil cleanser (super gentle) with no other products. Cos I couldnt find Panoxyl anymore.

Added on October 24, 2010, 10:02 am
QUOTE(jonny4 @ Oct 11 2010, 09:22 PM)
I recommend u try Sunplay Skin Aqua Moisture Milk SPF50. Quite cheap (RM30, 40ml). It's really light and alcohol free. Doesn't make ur face oily but at the same time doesn't really control shine much...very natural.
Is there a PPD rating on Sunplay sunscreen on the bottle? SCforM doesn't list the PPD rating on Japanese Sunscreens.

Only listed drugstore sunscreen with high PPD is Neutrogena Ultra Sheer and Avene's.

This post has been edited by frega: Oct 24 2010, 10:42 AM
frega
post Oct 26 2010, 12:12 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(rastablank @ Oct 26 2010, 03:31 AM)
I'm currently using Sunplay UV Moisture Milk SPF50 for my daily sunscreen, should I pair it with moisturizer since I have oily face? Any decent product recommendation for the moisturizer?
depends on what you want to get out of your moisturizer. you want something basic / something that has treatment for acne scars / repair sun-damage, etc.
frega
post Oct 27 2010, 11:38 AM

396 posts

i dont feel comfortable with PA+++ (PPD 8-10) =/ at least 20 for tropical weather maybe.
frega
post Oct 30 2010, 04:59 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Oct 30 2010, 12:28 PM)
so those oil wiping blue papers are to clean ur face from oil, means help preventing pimple/acne?
prevent clogged pores from sebum(oil), which may lead to acne/blackheads. it can help but not 100% full proof. you need benzoyl peroxide 2.5% to prevent acne. look for the ACNE thread on the girl's cosmetic section for full regimen.
frega
post Oct 31 2010, 08:08 AM

396 posts

the best concentration for benzoyl peroxide is 2.5%, anything more doesn't really help. 5% 10% will dry out and damage your skin. The trick is to do it everyday without fail. Its really acne PREVENTION. This is how Proactive works, but at 1/2 the cost.

stick to 2.5% applied twice a day. also get the derma approved Cetaphil cleanser.

Morning
1. Cetaphil cleanser
2. Apply generous BP 2.5%
3. Moisturizer(optional, if dry skin / aircon all day, skip if oily skin)
4. Sunscreen (USE it!!! so your acne scars dont darken). SPF 50+, if can afford go for high PPD 20+ (euro brands, vichy/avene) for better UVA protection

Night
1. Cetaphil cleanser
2. Apply generous 2.5% BP
3. Moisturizer / Serum to repair and heal acne scars, fix skin tone

This post has been edited by frega: Oct 31 2010, 08:17 AM
frega
post Oct 31 2010, 03:25 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Oct 31 2010, 09:50 AM)
wow that's alot of things...
What is Cetaphil cleanser for? is it same with other facial cleanser?
Scars will really darken if I don't use sunscreen?
"Moisturizer / Serum to repair and heal acne scars, fix skin tone" ~ example of product in the market please?
Cetaphil cleanser is a super mild gentle cleanser. Go to any dermatologist for acne, they'll ask you to use this. Some cleansers might be too harsh / drying etc, that it might cause more sebum, make acne worse. Any gentle cleanser will do really (eg Neutrogena Mild Cleanser), but Cetaphil is doctor approved and cheapest RM45 for a giant bottle.

Yes scars will really darken under the sun (same goes for dark eye circles).

For fixing skintone, Vitamin C Serum from Kiehl's / Vichy. Or, go for Olay Regenerist serum/cream for more affordable option. Another step is add to this is products with AHA to peel away old scarred skin.

go read scformen.com for more options and in-depth steps.
frega
post Oct 31 2010, 07:21 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Oct 31 2010, 06:26 PM)
Hi guys my face has a few pimples and the problem is,after washing my face,in a few hours,oil will start to come out,I know this is normal,but I dun really like it,cos it feels greasy,plus I wear spectacles,so it doesn't feel nice..

What product should I use if I want to combat acne and oil at the same time?I dun really have serious acne,my acne is just becos of puberty I think  laugh.gif

Now I'm currently using Nivea For Men Oil Control,it's quite good but the thing is,it just helps for the oil,it doesn't prevent pimples  smile.gif
read the thread... it was just posted above you.
frega
post Oct 31 2010, 09:50 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Oct 31 2010, 09:01 PM)
Uh,do u mean that guy who says that he's outdoors the whole time in college?Not the same case as me  laugh.gif

But I am also looking for a good face wash,now I'm using Nivea For Men Oil Control Face Wash,but it only helps to control oil,doesn't help in preventing pimples..I am wondering if T3 is good,but the guy a few posts above says that it contains too little tea tree oil to even be considered useful?

And I only want to use those brands that you can get in pharmacy like Guardian,Watsons etc. as they are pretty cheap compared to high-ends one  smile.gif
its the same products, no matter if you're outdoors or not. unless you're in a vampire and cant let any sunlight hit you, you need sunscreen. you can take out the serum/moisturizer part if you cant afford, but its recommended since benzoyl peroxide will dry out your skin. just use a cheaper basic one, like from Neutrogena.
frega
post Nov 2 2010, 09:46 AM

396 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Nov 1 2010, 12:35 PM)
Ok,what product do you yourself recommend to help in acne and oil prevention?And what is the best moisturizer?Must we get the same moisturizer frm the same brand as the cleanser?
scroll up and read, same EXACT products, for the 2nd time.

i have nothing for oil prevention. some sunscreens (biore) will help matte-tify your face (aka no make it look shiny). no you dont have to use the same brand.
frega
post Nov 16 2010, 08:39 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(rizq @ Nov 16 2010, 07:05 AM)
im 18. is it ok for me to use niacinamide related products like the NIA24 Skin Strengthening Complex?
if you have acne scars, yes.

also Olay's White Radiance line (only available in asia) has higher niacinamide content than Regenerist line I believe.
frega
post Apr 15 2012, 07:58 PM

396 posts

Anyone seen Avene Ysetheal anywhere in KL? Watson near my place didn't seem to have it. But they have other stuff tho.
frega
post Apr 15 2012, 08:20 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Apr 15 2012, 08:02 PM)
Watson mid valley.
Thanks. I should try Watson at bigger department stores like 1U.

Another question, what to do with peeling raw red skin around the nose. Cetaphil Ultra Hydrating Lotion for very dry skin isn't working even applied daily.

And another. Recommendation for sunscreen that is easy to wash off. Using Biore Face Milk, but Cetaphil is resistant I think. Can feel it still on my skin after cleansing most of the time. Found: Avene Optimale Hydrance SPF25 any good?

This post has been edited by frega: Apr 15 2012, 11:42 PM

0.0535sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:51 AM