29 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Facial Skin Care, discussions, recommendations and reviews

jonny4
post Aug 4 2012, 11:18 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(sacremento @ Aug 4 2012, 10:28 AM)
tried a bunch. nivea, loreal, biore...

some of these products worked well at 1st and after some time, my face started to have irritation especially at the side of the mouth like a reddish spot. so i stop using cleansers and only scrub my face then the irritation stops. Anyway these products could only stop the oil problem for about 4 hrs max. Is it because of the pores that are too big?

currently using loreal men expert.
sounds like your skin is oily n sensitive at d same time.

u def need to use a cleanser because your skin is oily. but after u cleanse try using some kind of hydrating lotion like hada labo super hyaluronic acid moisturizing lotion.

as 4 d oily skin there's nothing much u can do. its genetic. all u can do is manage d oil by using oil blotting sheets
jonny4
post Aug 4 2012, 01:12 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(sacremento @ Aug 4 2012, 11:52 AM)
can i get the lotion at any local pharmacies?

i have to be careful in choosing a cleanser. My irritation always occur after the usage of a cleanser after a few days. The worst one was brylcream face wash and nivea for men - oil control.

Myb i should see a skin specialist?
yup can get at any local pharmacy. but i think only Watsons and Guardian carry the brand.

u shud stay away from those oil control facial washes. especially those pharmacy brands. very harsh and drying. actually its almost a lie that face wash can control oil. u can try the hada labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizing Face Wash its mild but cleanses the face well enough.

if u wanna try Hada Labo try to keep a look out for starter packs or value sets. i have seen those b4.

full size face wash costs RM30+ for 125ml and the lotion around RM45-50 for 150ml.
jonny4
post Aug 4 2012, 06:43 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(twho @ Aug 4 2012, 03:54 PM)
Hi guys,

I have sensitive skin and am prone to pimple. Big round large ones that take alot of time to heal.

currently using olay oil control cleanser > Loreal pore matifying toner and then the olay balancing gel moisturiser.

The pimple will normally pop up once or twice a month.
For now, i'm running out of the loreal toner and i think they no longer produce it.
Can the hada labo lotion fit in what i currently use to replace the toner?
the hada labo lotion is very different fr the loreal toner u r using.

the hada labo lotion even tho sounds like a toner it doesn't provide any kind of mattifying, pore reduction or cleansing function. instead it hydrates the skin, contains no alcohol and is applied by patting with hands n not with a cotton pad. asian lotions r like this.

maybe 4 a month or so just don't use any kind of toner. IMO western type toners r a waste of money. just cleanse n den use your moisturizer. see if got improvement. u may wanna use some kind of topical acne med too.
jonny4
post Aug 5 2012, 09:52 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(twho @ Aug 4 2012, 10:45 PM)
Do you think it's right for me to cleanse, then use the hada labo lotion before i use my moisturiser?
Am using Dalacin T for my acne. Read mixed review bout it, especially long term. What do you think?

u could try the combo 1st. i read some reviews and some ppl get sufficient hydration n moisture fr using the hada labo lotion alone without moisturizer. u could use just the lotion in d daytime coz its light. and lotion + moisturizer at night. its all about matching the products to ur skin.

i have not used dalacin t b4. i only use benzoyl peroxide.

QUOTE(sacremento @ Aug 5 2012, 01:28 AM)
anyway can u suggest to me a good diet for skin care? things to eat and not to?
i've read that zinc supplements are good for acne prone skin.

i just take vitamin c daily.

milk n sugary foods cause breakouts in some ppl.
jonny4
post Aug 6 2012, 04:01 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Dar1en @ Aug 6 2012, 01:19 PM)
what do you guys think about patrick bateman's morning routine?

Quote:
In the morning if my face is a little puffy, I'll put on an ice pack while doing my stomach crunches. I can do a thousand now.

After I remove the ice pack, I use a Deep Pore Cleanser Lotion. In the shower I use a water activated gel cleanser, then a honey almond body scrub, and on the face an exfoliating gel scrub.

(Out of the shower)

Then I apply an herb mint facial mask which I leave on for ten minutes while I prepare the rest of my routine. I always use an aftershave lotion with little or alcohol, because alcohol dries your face out, and makes you look older.

Then moisturiser, then an anti-ageing eye balm, followed by a final moisturising protective lotion.

sounds pretty intense.
not intense.

i do most of the steps. except d ice pack. body scrub n mask also not daily. n i like to use an aftershave with alcohol.
jonny4
post Aug 6 2012, 04:19 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Dar1en @ Aug 6 2012, 04:05 PM)
doesn't his routine make the face really dry? feels like too many products will ruin the skin.
not dry at all.

u gotta get d right products to suit ur skin type. d aftershave i use for ex contains good ingredients so i dun have to worry about it drying my face.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Aug 6 2012, 04:23 PM
jonny4
post Aug 7 2012, 12:24 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(MC2 @ Aug 7 2012, 12:13 PM)
I have a very oily t-zone especially forehead and nose. It gets oily like within 30mins after I wash my face, and my cheek will get slightly oily after 2-3hours of face wash. I do feel a little bit of tightness after face wash. I also have visible pores on my cheek and nose.  Am I having an oily skin or oily-normal combination or oily-dry combination skin type?

I have tried lab series multi-action face wash + water lotion + instant moisture gel, after finished the whole range my face is still oily as before, then I bought bioterm t-pur intense range, again it does not helps my oily t-zone, then I bought clinique dry combination facial wash for men after i finished the bioterm t-pur cleanser. Now I have finished the bioterm t-pur range and skin is still the same. I am now using laneige homme sebum free scrub foam, it cleanse very well, but I do feel a little bit of tightness after wash. Now I am looking for toner and moisturiser. I am looking at laneige homme sebum free multi fluid, this caught my attention as it a combination of toner and moisturiser, helps to save some money. What do you recommend? thanks
no matter wat products u use u cant change ur skin type. u can only manage. skin type changes with age. i ws in d same situation as u...i also tried lab series, clinique, biotherm t pur n laneige homme. like u also none worked for me.

use oil blotting sheets to control d oil. cheapest most effective way. but dun blot too often. u can use tissue also to absorb d oil.

i just threw out my bottle of Laneige Homme Sebum Free Multi Fluid. didn't do much. fragrance too strong like all Laneige products. its basically a lightweight moisturizer with powders to give a matte finish. but the matte effect doesn't last long. kind of drying also for my oily skin.

try a hydrating toner. if ur skin aint dry the hydrating toner could work as both toner n moisturizer. malaysia too hot n humid to use moisturizer. the layer the moisturizer creates tend to get sticky n shiny afta a few hrs once the oil n moiturizer mix. dats y i stopped using moisturizer in d daytime. nowadays i just use a hydrating toner.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Aug 7 2012, 12:25 PM
jonny4
post Aug 7 2012, 01:25 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(MC2 @ Aug 7 2012, 01:13 PM)
Thanks for the quick reply Jonny! Yea actually I also feel that the moisturiser kind off aids the oil production on my face. It only gives the matte look for a while and then it becomes oily again.

Have you heard about Murad? There is a deal in groupon http://goo.gl/HS84l, it's cheap and I am thinking to try it out. Like all other facial products, it claims to solve blemish bla bla bla..What do you think?

Anyway, what is the hydrating toner you using now? Mind to share? Thanks again!
i always wanted to try Murad but too expensive haha. prob good for minor acne probs. but if u got moderate or severe acne i dun think Murad will be much use. but same time depends on the individual la.

Right now its Shiseido Men Hydrating Lotion. i was swapping between that n d Shiseido Men Toning Lotion these past weeks. even tho my skin is oily n weather is hot n humid d Hydrating Lotion seems to work better. it lightly hydrates n moisturizes but doesn't really leave a film on the skin. similar to water lotion but a bit more hydrating. when i apply it i can feel it on my skin not like water lotion which feels like applying overprice water LOL.

but d Shiseido Men Hydrating Lotion aint perfect. there is a slight stickiness if too much is applied. its RM130 for 150ml.
jonny4
post Aug 13 2012, 03:22 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Imdarren @ Jul 26 2012, 12:36 PM)
Anyone care to recommend a moisturiser for my super dry skin? I'm currently using Biotherm Homme face wash, but my face still feels really dry. Plus, the dry winds in Melbourne ain't doing me any good
if u willing to spend try the Shiseido Men Total Revitalizer. its expensive. RM270 for 50ml.

I been using a sample of it for the past 5 days and it really made a diff to the drier parts of my face. just a small amount really made a big difference. skin is less dry n seems brighter too.

QUOTE(jasmineh2y @ Aug 9 2012, 01:43 AM)
I just bought the whole set of BeautyTalk skin care products.
still waiting to see the result. Anyone try it before?
u shud ask in d women's section. i have not heard of d brand b4.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Aug 13 2012, 03:23 PM
jonny4
post Aug 24 2012, 10:45 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Aug 19 2012, 10:38 AM)
http://www.prokerala.com/health/beauty/skin-type-test.php

Hey guys from this website, I found out that my skin type is dry(don't know if its reli accurate though)

Statement from the website:
"Skin will feel flaky, dry, and tight.
Pores are almost unnoticeable.
After you wash your skin, you can feel it begging for moisture.
People with dry skin often deal with more surface wrinkles and fine lines then those with combination to oily skin due to dehydration.
Dry skin can easily develop a sallow tone, wrinkles, and fine pores, and it is very prone to aging and irritating.
Wash your face once or twice a day with a mild, anti-dehydrating cleanser.Dry your skin by dabbing it gently.Ently apply an emollient, hydrating skin care product to ease feelings of tightness and protect the skin against external attack.Avoid the overheated, confined atmosphere of apartments."

May I know what does the bolded means?
And which product should I get for the bolded ones?
What is the difference between cheap and expensive products on these?
means a cleansers that is mild on skin n doesn't foam up much when mixed with water. best to stay away from foaming type of cleansers that is usually for oily skin.

cheapest is Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturising Facial Wash. it foams up just a little and is alright for dry skin.

my skin is oily so i usually no exp with products for dry skin. but the Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid line shud be alright for u.

QUOTE(oOoproz @ Aug 24 2012, 02:00 PM)
Guys, why is the pimple always pop out especially around my mouth?? I really need help here... Is there any solution for it?? Thanks =)
i usually kena after shaving. so nowadays on the days i shave i use those wet wipes to clean my mouth after meals. works for me.
jonny4
post Aug 26 2012, 07:45 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(saru04 @ Aug 25 2012, 08:20 PM)
Hey, anyone can recommend a good face wash brand whihc is suitable for oily skin?

Looking for brands with price around Biotherm.
Shiseido Men Cleansing Foam. it isn't for oily skin but it cleanses really well without drying out skin. its RM95 for 125ml. can also be used as a shaving foam. a tube usually lasts me around 4-5 months.
jonny4
post Aug 26 2012, 10:34 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(saru04 @ Aug 26 2012, 09:08 PM)
thats sounds good.

is there any other to recommend?
none coz its one of the best i have ever used. been using it close to 3 yrs. tried other brands in between but always end up going back to Shiseido Men
jonny4
post Aug 30 2012, 12:46 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ Aug 29 2012, 10:26 PM)
is Garnier cool face wash good ? o.o
contains a hell lot of menthol. so 4 d 1st few times u use it will be very cooling. some ppl cant take it. but after a while u will get used to it n d cooling sensations loses its effect a bit.

other than that its just like any other cleanser for oily skin.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Aug 30 2012, 12:51 PM
jonny4
post Oct 26 2012, 10:40 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(MaggieQ @ Oct 11 2012, 09:15 PM)
i need some recommendations from here.
- My face consider more to normal face however, it start to have OIL around the afternoon.
- I have some acne (red spot), and few small pimples popping out.

currently using oklay total, however after done the washing. My face feel dry and (a bit tight)
-would like to know what is the difference between shiseido cleansing and shiseido DEEP CLEANSING SCRUB.
- is   shiseido cleansing price still at RM95?

Any recommendations on the product (which can get it from JUSCO & PARKSON and etc places)? for good facial wash & reduce acne (red spot)/ scar.
thanks in advance.
like the name implies, the Deep Cleansing Scrub has 3 different size scrub particles to exfoliate the skin. also the DSC contains menthol. in terms fragrance and etc the Cleansing Foam and DCS are similar.

Yes the Cleansing Foam still retails for RM95.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 26 2012, 10:41 AM
jonny4
post Oct 27 2012, 08:42 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(twho @ Oct 27 2012, 05:11 PM)
Hi guys,
Is it advisable to mix and match the facial items used?

For axample, if i'm using Hada Lobo Super hyaluronic acid mousturizing lotion,
can i use the HL Arbutin whitening face watch and the HL Arbutin whitening milk? or should i use the
same super hyaluronic range?
Both seem to have hyaluronic acid on them as well.

IMHO it should not be a prob. plus both r from the same brand.

But there r some that argue that a certain product's benefit is enhanced when the full range is used.

My opinion is that face washes n lotions do not really contain much of the active ingredient anyway. serums and moisturizers r the ones that have the highest concentration of the active ingredient.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 27 2012, 08:47 PM
jonny4
post Nov 27 2012, 08:14 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(lahm @ Nov 17 2012, 07:47 PM)
jonny4, may i know what products you using now? cleanser,toner,moisturizer,mask?

i'm using the T-Pur series from Biotherm for now and thinking to switch to Shiseido for men.
I just noticed your post.

Im keeping it simple nowadays. I'm still using Shiseido Men though

Cleanser - Shiseido Men Cleansing Foam

Toner - Shiseido Men Toning Lotion. Only in daytime. my skin is oily enough so i skip moisturizer in the daytime.

Moisturizer - Shsieido Men Moisturizing Emulsion. only at night.

Mask - i dun use one anymore. TBH im just too lazy to use one haha.

Biotherm Homme has a much wider range compared to Shsieido Men. I tried the older T Pur range and the moisturizing green color range b4. But the fragrance in their products is just too damm strong for me. after a while it got nauseating. then i switched back to Shiseido MEn.

Added on November 27, 2012, 8:19 pm
QUOTE(edriem @ Nov 20 2012, 11:22 PM)
Hi wanna ask. I've been very busy with my final year project and now undergoing final exams for 2 weeks. so thats why my acne are growing like there's no tomorrow, FML.

are there any ways to control them? i've been using facial mask at night to reduce the tendencies they grow at other part. ATM, only on my cheeks.
Use a benzoyl peroxide cream/gel like Panoxyl, Oxy or Benzac. careful coz these gel/creams cause redness and dryness. but its pretty effective.

for something natural u can try tea tree oil. the pure ones. Thursday Plantation makes a good strong one. but the smell is really overpowering. prob overpowers the strongest cologne. but fades after 30mins or so. plus tea tree oil is good for treating minor cuts, insect bites and etc.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Nov 27 2012, 08:19 PM
jonny4
post Dec 22 2012, 10:10 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Dec 22 2012, 05:36 PM)
Hi Johnny can tell me where can I buy sk II For men? Where is the shop?
sk II counter la mana lagi. there is one counter in almost every dept store nowadays
jonny4
post Jan 15 2013, 12:20 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(unpronunceable @ Jan 14 2013, 11:21 PM)
guys where can i find Panoxyl in malaysia?
pretty hard to find nowadays. i think they stop bringing in d. but i could be wrong. u can try Benzac AC instead.u can get it at most Caring pharmacies. very similar to panoxyl but less harsh. the one thing is dislike bout Panoxyl is extreme redness n dryness.

but Benzac is expensive. 15ml tube costs RM10. dunno y they dowan brinng in bigger tubes.

also u can try searching for sellers in LYN. i remember got a few sellin Panoxyl last time.
jonny4
post Jan 15 2013, 12:22 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(OptimusMaximus @ Jan 11 2013, 01:01 PM)
Any of u guys here use over-the-counter face products? I only use one product, Nivea For Men Deep Clean Refreshing Facial Foam,for my face. That's it,I don't use moisturizer,or toner, I just use this product. I'm thinking if this is good enough,so far my skin feels ok,although sometimes after washing,some parts of my face like forehead and cheeks might be itchy,and if I scratch it,it would become red.Goes away after a while.
happens to me too. i'll apply some hydrating toner n that stops the redness n itchiness.
jonny4
post Jan 15 2013, 10:15 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(OptimusMaximus @ Jan 15 2013, 04:52 PM)
No long term effects of this redness and itchiness right? Mine goes away after a while if I don't touch it anymore,or when my face isn't so dry already.
im prone to breakouts so the redness n itchiness will eventually lead to a pimple or 2.

29 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0518sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:22 AM