29 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Facial Skin Care, discussions, recommendations and reviews

jonny4
post Nov 28 2010, 04:11 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Nov 28 2010, 01:19 PM)
How far apart are the prices for Laneige and Biotherm Homme?

Plan to try one of this once my Shiseido completes biggrin.gif
On average Biotherm Homme is RM30-40 more expensive than Laneige Homme. Quantity wise Laneige Homme has the advantage as their products are 30-50ml more than Biotherm Homme. This was one of the main reasons why I switched to Laneige Homme. But after 4-5 months of use I didn't see much difference so I switched back to Biotherm Homme. I am more than satisfied with the Biotherm Homme products I am using.
jonny4
post Nov 28 2010, 09:24 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Nov 28 2010, 09:16 PM)
I've been using the Biotherm Homme Facial Exfoliator for a couple of months now. Mild enough for my skin so it's all good.

I'm not totally convinced about their moisturizer though. I'm currently using their T-Pur Intense Extra-Matifying Moisturizing Fresh Gel. Very expensive. It is even more expensive than the Shiseido Men Moisturizing Emulsion.
I find the moisturizer price to be cheaper compared to other oil control moisturizers fr Lab Series and Clinique. While the others usually come in 50ml, Biotherm's comes in 75ml.
jonny4
post Nov 29 2010, 11:00 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Nov 29 2010, 09:40 PM)
Wow face care products are pretty expensive huh
definitely...its a billion dollar business

cheap or expensive doesn't matter as long as it works
jonny4
post Nov 30 2010, 12:02 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Nov 29 2010, 11:50 PM)
How much do u spend a month?
Not much coz the products i use can last quite long as I use only a little bit. But if im trying out a new range of products the bill can go up to RM300-RM400.
jonny4
post Dec 6 2010, 08:09 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Dec 6 2010, 06:16 PM)
Im goin NS next month.huhuhu...T.T I doubt my sunplay sunscreen is strong enough.Any recommendation on other good sunscreen which is water/sweat proof and offer high protection for long hours?
Sunplay is good enough...as long as its indicated SPF50+, sweat and water resistant it should be fine.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Dec 6 2010, 08:56 PM
jonny4
post Dec 7 2010, 01:22 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(space1x @ Dec 6 2010, 11:04 PM)
hello guys... i am in a desperate situation here...

im 17 this year , i know puberty and all that shit , but recently my pimple problems are getting worst and worst and it kinda effects my self-esteem ...

i went for treatment , 2k++ , suffered , face became better a little , but after i finished the sessions , the pimples are back.. sad.gif

i tried quite a few product , one , is the Nimue products , from the facial treatment... didnt really work very well...

then , i tried oxy , simple , and even without any product , plain water..

yet i am still getting breakouts here and there

and since i was , and still an itchy hand , i keep pinching my pimples... im still trying my best to stop pinching them... thats why i have many many scars on my face..

so now i have these problems : scars , oily face , pimple breakouts

any solution for miserable me? thanks :\
***and unfortunately , i kena NS also.. so i need to know what product to use ASAP so that i can bring it there tongue.gif
1st thing to do is STOP pinching/squeezing the pimples. I made the mistake when I was your age and it just made things worse...now I got to live with the scarring.

Looks like u tried a lot of things...be patient and give the pimple medication 2-3 months to work...there is no miracle medicine for acne that works overnight or within a week. Try using something with benzoyl peroxide...2.5% first and move up to 5% if it isn't effective. Don't use 10%. try following jinyee's regime. Her Acne thread is on the LYN women's board.

Lastly just be patient...u r just 17 and its very normal to get pimples. I had very oily skin when I was your age and 10 yrs later my skin has matured a bit and less oily..I still get pimples but with proper care and a good face care regime, mine is under control.
jonny4
post Dec 9 2010, 02:13 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Dec 7 2010, 09:07 PM)
Anyone tried Sothys?
too expensive...i'm scared to even think about trying LOL.

However I think they have trial sets for RM120-160.

Added on December 9, 2010, 2:15 pm
QUOTE(jamescooper @ Dec 9 2010, 01:51 PM)
Hmm...i was wondering, is it necessary for us to use all 3 ( cleanser, toner and moisturiser)? I know cleanser is a must, how about the rest??
The important steps are cleansing and moisturizing. Toner is really optional. But if u decide to use a toner, moisturizer is a must. If ur skin is very oily u could skip moisturizer in the day and only use it at night.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Dec 9 2010, 02:15 PM
jonny4
post Dec 10 2010, 08:53 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Dec 10 2010, 01:14 AM)
I was looking at their site yesterday and the prices seemed to be around Shiseido/Biotherm.

Sothys
Look properly again...even the cleansers start at RM140 and the other product prices start at RM200. Higher price range than Shiseido/Biotherm.
jonny4
post Dec 10 2010, 04:19 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(swen1015 @ Dec 10 2010, 03:37 PM)
my skin type is sensitive, oily and dry ... may i know which brand of skin produtcs suitable to me??? i tried Simple before, but i feel it's not suitable me bcoz after i washed, my face become reddish ... Recently my face has a lot of pimples and blackhead too ... and the pores are big T.T
Avene has a sensitive skin line. U could give that a try as they have trial kits available. Stay away fr products that contain alcohol, strong fragrance and mineral oil.
jonny4
post Dec 11 2010, 11:13 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(OnOne @ Dec 11 2010, 10:59 PM)
hye guys need ur advice, i wash my face using clean and clear almost everyday 4 time perday but still have new pimple growing..

how to stop the pimple growing???do i need to do facial??what product is the best to stop pimple?

ahhhhhh really frustrating!!!
Facial wash can only do so much in preventing pimples. U need to stop washing ur face so many times a day. limit to 2 times a day. get yourself an anti acne cream like Benzac or OXY...as long as it contains 2.5% to 5% benzoyl peroxide...start with 2.5% first. if u find ur face getting oily get a pack of oil blotting paper/sheet (Gatsby or Clean n Clear).
jonny4
post Dec 11 2010, 11:36 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(OnOne @ Dec 11 2010, 11:25 PM)
thanks bro for the advice, do u know what make the pimple grow?? really frustrating when u wash ur face than couple days later a pimple pop up for no reason...any idea?
stress, hormones, clogged pores, genetics, bad diet...got quite a few causes. there is no proper cure for acne/pimples. as long as u have a good face care regime u can lessen the outbreaks. just washing isn't going to be enough. try using a light oil free moisturizer. washing ur face so many times n not using a moisturizer could be one of the causes of pimples too.
jonny4
post Dec 11 2010, 11:44 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(OnOne @ Dec 11 2010, 11:40 PM)
many thanks bro..^^
welcome

hope i was able to help u in fighting off the pimples LOL.
jonny4
post Dec 12 2010, 02:02 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Dec 12 2010, 12:15 PM)
I was thinking of trying their facial there but now i'm worried they will try to influence me to buy their products.  hmm.gif
Haha they will definitely try to "persuade" u. leave all credit cards at home just to be safe.
jonny4
post Dec 13 2010, 10:46 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Schampoo @ Dec 13 2010, 10:42 AM)
hi, my face always oily like less than 2hour after wash..
Can recommend me any product to prevent this?
its normal...try getting one of those oil blotting sheets (Gatsby and Clean and Clear). cheap n effective. just dun use too many times a day.
jonny4
post Dec 17 2010, 08:58 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ Dec 17 2010, 01:18 AM)
hi guys, any facial product can help to remove scar?
Avene Diacneal. for further info pls search this thread.
jonny4
post Dec 19 2010, 08:56 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Ivangile @ Dec 19 2010, 12:07 AM)
after wearing sunblock/sunscreen, i need to wash with make-up remover?
Depends on the type of sunscreen. Usually the Japanese brands (Sunplay, Biore, Shiseido and etc) are hard to very remove so a cleansing oil is needed. Whenever a sunscreen is waterproof and/or sweat proof, its best to use a cleansing oil to remove it. Makeup removers will not remove sunscreen properly, so just stick to cleansing oil.

A good affordable brand of cleansing oil is by Kanebo Freshel C. It's RM40 for 180ml, available at SASA only. Shiseido Aqualabel makes a good one too and it's RM40 for 150ml, available at most big Watsons.
jonny4
post Dec 19 2010, 02:00 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Dec 19 2010, 01:15 PM)
I went to Shiseido counter yesterday and just realized that there is a new toning lotion. The salesman also told me that during the day the hydrating lotion is enough and during the night it can be combined with the moisturizer. Wondering whether it is true  hmm.gif

Biotherm had tons of varieties! I could not make up my mind yet tongue.gif
I tried using the hydrating lotion alone during the day and I would say it's alright. My skin is oily so it wasn't a big prob. But when I started using Biore sunscreen my skin got really dry as the Hydrating Lotion was clearly not enough.

Too many varieties at Biotherm Homme. I've tried the T Pur Intense, Aquapower and High Recharge ranges. My fav is the Aquapower followed by T Pur. High Recharge is a little too heavy for daytime use but the moisturizer is packed with good ingredients. The High Recharge cleanser and toner are a waste of money.
jonny4
post Dec 19 2010, 02:51 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Ivangile @ Dec 19 2010, 02:35 PM)
Opps, then i bought the wrong thing. Can i use the makeup remover as a regular facewash? It's hada labo SHA makeup remover.
It's not advisable to use makeup remover as face wash.

Most makeup removers can't match the cleaning power of a good cleansing oil.
jonny4
post Dec 24 2010, 09:43 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(JiJai @ Dec 24 2010, 03:09 AM)
can anyone tell me which is the best product for 2.5% benzoyl peroxide ? the one that we put after cleanser and toner.
Benzac would be the best and cheapest choice. it doesn't flake as much as the famous Panoxyl.
jonny4
post Dec 24 2010, 05:29 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(JiJai @ Dec 24 2010, 04:01 PM)
does it irritates sensitive skin? my skin is one of those that can get sensitive at times, and I noticed that different brands, albeit containing the same 2.5% benzoyl peroxide in them, there is a difference on how they fare with my skin.
Benzac is probably the least irritating and drying of those available at pharmacies. Benzoyl peroxide no matter the concentration or additional ingredients will cause some irritation initially.

you can try other alternatives like tea tree oil. it's effectiveness is almost equal to BP but with less side effects. But only if the concentration of tea tree oil is 20% or more.

29 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0505sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:15 AM