29 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Facial Skin Care, discussions, recommendations and reviews

jonny4
post Sep 20 2010, 10:33 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(jieguoleh90 @ Sep 20 2010, 09:13 AM)
recently theres alot of pimple on my face..so i bought a NuTeen cleanser and acne away gel..after applying the acne gel..the pimple is gone but it leave a obvious red mark at there..any idea to make it gone?or i should continue applying the acne gel on the red mark at my face ..or should i change product?any recommend?i have oily face..im new to this..sry
What is the active ingredient in the Acne Away gel ?

Minor pimple marks will fade away naturally but it takes a long time. Try using a stable vitamin c serum in the day and apply a good sunscreen on top. In the night use a retinol product. The combo of these 2 things will help to fade your acne scars gradually over a period of a few months.
jonny4
post Sep 21 2010, 12:36 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Sep 19 2010, 11:18 PM)
so could u recommend me a face wash that does the above ?

its wash face then moisturiser right ?
Unfortunately face washes don't help much in controlling oil. In fact many of those face washes that promise to control oil instead are really harsh n dries out the face and as a result more oil is produced. I've tried loads of oil control foams, gels and washes over the years.

As for treating acne, the face wash is on the face for probably at most a minute and then it's washed off. They can put 100 premium ingredients and it do much good LOL. Concentrate on specific acne gels n creams to treat the pimples.

Better 4 u to look at oil control moisturizers or mattifying sunscreens to reduce oil/shine.

Added on September 22, 2010, 4:16 pm
QUOTE(abcdegf @ Sep 19 2010, 11:21 PM)
is niacinamide any good? any side effects? im currently using an AHA mouisturizer.
It's supposedly very beneficial to skin at certain amounts and even helps with acne. Some ppl on other blogs and forums consider it to be some kind of miracle for skin. I did use the Olay Regenerist Serum for a few months and did notice some improvement to my skin but I stopped using it because I couldn't take the fragrance in the serum. I don't think there are any particular side effects if correct concentration is used. But skin is subjective so always patch test first.

Make sure u use sunscreen if u r using an AHA product. AHA is a chemical exfoliator and makes the skin more receptive to sun damage.

Added on September 22, 2010, 4:23 pm
QUOTE(jieguoleh90 @ Sep 20 2010, 07:59 PM)
ingredients : Delonized Water..Glycerin...Mineral oil...Sodium Acrylate..Sodium acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer...Isohexadecane...Polysorbate 80...Thanakha (Limonia Acidissima) Extract...Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Extract...Lythrum Salicarla Extract Prunella Vulgaris Leaf Extract...Oldenlandia Diffusa extract Licorice (Glycyrrhiza Glara) Extract...Biotin...Phenoxyethanol...Triclosan...Salicylic Acid...Vinegar...Allantoin...Fragrance...Triethanolamine...Methyparaben...Propylparaben...Menthol...Methylisothiazolinone..

Type this according to the ingredients at the acne gel box..sorry if it look confusing rclxub.gif
should i continue applying this product to my red mark spot and those new pimple tat keep coming out icon_question.gif
Looks like a good combo of ingredients but the inclusion of mineral oil is strange. Mineral oil is known to clog pores n acne. It's 3rd on the ingredient list too which means there is quite a high concentration of mineral oil in the product. That probably explains why u getting new pimples. Other ingredients are natural but of unknown concentrations so they might or might not be of benefit to soothe/treat acne. Salicylic acid is good for treating acne n clogged pores but once again the concentration is unknown...i reckon it's probably 0.5%.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Sep 22 2010, 04:23 PM
jonny4
post Sep 22 2010, 08:44 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ Sep 22 2010, 08:36 PM)
hi guys, anyone can recommend me a product which can help to reduce pore size?
i found that my pores are big, especially nose area, big pore and oily...
Products that contain a lot of sillica powder and silicones can help reduce pore size but its only a temporary measure. There isn't much u can do to reduce the pore size permanently. I normally use Biore sunscreen/Shiseido Men Anti Shine Refresher to hide pores in the day. U can try buying those oil absorbing blotters (Gatsby). Once the excess oil is absorbed the pores will look less obvious n smaller.
jonny4
post Sep 23 2010, 08:44 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ Sep 23 2010, 12:21 AM)
hmm....
i used to tried nivea and loreal paris men oil control cleanser and moisturiser, mud mask, oil purifier product, all seems not effective to me... cry.gif
forehead and nose are most oily...i use gastby oil clear sheet too....
Most of the men face products at pharmacies are quite crap tbh. Harsh ingredients and empty promises mostly.

I have spent hundreds of $$$ on oil control products and the best one I have used is Biore UV Perfect Face Milk SPF50 sunscreen. It controls oil n shine like no other. It's quite cheap too.
jonny4
post Sep 23 2010, 12:45 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(rekaito90 @ Sep 23 2010, 12:13 PM)
I want to buang bulu roma from face?how? use Veet facial wax can meh?
Why don't u test n let us know..
jonny4
post Sep 23 2010, 04:25 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ Sep 23 2010, 03:23 PM)
http://www.kao.com/my/biore/bio_perfect_facemilk_00.html
you mean this product?
then ant recommended cleanser product?
thanks notworthy.gif
Yup that's the product. But u will need to use some kind of cleansing oil to properly remove the sunscreen or risk getting pimples n clogged pores.

Any cleanser will do I guess as long as it is suitable 4 ur skin type. Currently I am using Laneige Homme cleansers.
jonny4
post Sep 23 2010, 07:15 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(t4l0n @ Sep 23 2010, 06:31 PM)
I think sometimes using normal water is the best ^^
Those blessed with normal skin free of acne will benefit from just using water. Unfortunately not many of us are so lucky.
jonny4
post Sep 23 2010, 10:48 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Sep 23 2010, 09:10 PM)
How do u find the Laneige Homme cleansers compared to Shiseido?
About the same I guess but the Laneige one produces thicker foam. I'm using both the regular and sebum free scrub foam night n day respectively. I tried some of the ones available in pharmacies (Gatsby n Garnier) but they were too strong and had too much menthol. Sebum free scrub has micro beads that dissolve after a while so its perfect for acne prone skin. Regular Laneige Homme cleanisng foam is RM 60 (180ml) and RM65 (180ml) for the scrub foam. Bigger quantity n cheaper price compared to the RM95 Shiseido Men cleanser biggrin.gif . That was the main reason I bought Laneige.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Sep 23 2010, 10:49 PM
jonny4
post Sep 25 2010, 06:11 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Sep 25 2010, 02:38 PM)
Tempting.... going to give it a try  tongue.gif

Btw, i went to the pharmacy yesterday and they recommended this brand called exfoliac. It seems we don't have to use a cleansing oil to remove the sunscreen.
U can get a trial set for almost the whole range from a LYN seller named Wizard Scorpion. I paid RM60 for trial size cleanser (30ml), toner (30ml), moisturizing emulsion (30ml), sleeping mask (30ml) and essence (5ml). U can also buy the trial size products individually.

I have not heard of exfoliac before but from the description it looks like a chemical exfoliator. It will deep cleanse skin but it won't remove sunscreen properly. The Biore Perfect Face Milk is extremely hard to remove. We do have cleansing oils available and quite a few brands. At pharmacies u can get Biore, Shiseido Aqualabel, Kate, DHC and etc. Usually the pharmacies at shopping malls will carry more types of cleansing oils. But I have seen the Biore cleansing oil in almost every Guardian, Watsons and Caring.

Nothing beats a cleansing oil in removing sunscreen. I didn't want to use cleanisng oils initially and relied on a cleanser n scrub. After a week I started to break out badly due to the silica and silicones in the Biore sunscreen.
jonny4
post Sep 27 2010, 08:01 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(titan @ Sep 27 2010, 12:37 AM)
am tempted to try this but i have a few questions in mind:

1. do i use the suncreen after toner + moisturizer OR after toner minus the moisturizer? found my answer.. moisturizer is a must..

2. any side effects if it is only removed after a long day at work? or can i wash it with water if my face gets too oily after lunch?

3. is any nivea for men facial wash any good to remove the suncreen? am using nivea for men facial wash/toner/moisturizer.

thank you!
1. cleanse - tone - moisturize - sunscreen.

2. sunscreen itself clogs pores because it tends to form a layer on the skin to protect it from sun damage. The higher the SPF the more pore clogging it gets. Sunscreens are usually waterproof so even if u wash off at lunch time there, it will still stay on. As long as u remove it properly everyday its no prob removing it only at night.

3. Depends on the sunscreen u use. If its a low SPF type (<30) then a facial wash will do the job. But if its one of those SPF50+ milk type japanese sunscreens then u got to use a cleansing oil to ensure the sunscreen is fully removed. A regular face wash just won't fully remove the sunscreen. Use a cleansing oil first then follow up with your regular facial wash.

Added on September 27, 2010, 9:17 am
QUOTE(mr11 @ Sep 27 2010, 04:30 AM)
which facial foam the best?
They are all about the same. But I prefer the higher end ones because they aren't so drying and irritating. Currently using Laneige Homme Fresh Cleansing Foam.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Sep 27 2010, 09:17 AM
jonny4
post Oct 2 2010, 06:00 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Oct 2 2010, 04:51 PM)
I have oily face.Will the biore sunscreen cause breakouts?And which cleansing oil do you guys recommend?Thanks!
It will if u don't remove it properly at the end of the day with cleansing oil. If u on a budget try Biore Cleansing Oil (RM24, 150ml) and can get at almost every pharmacy big or small. Another one is ZA Cleansing Oil (RM25, 100ml)...also very widely available. For mid range cleansing oils u can try Shiseido Aqualabel Deep Cleansing Oil (RM39, 150ml) which is available only at Watsons. Currently I am using Kanebo Freshel Cleansing Oil (RM44, 180ml) and it's the best I have tried so far but it's only available locally at SASA and not all outlets have it.
jonny4
post Oct 2 2010, 11:11 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Oct 2 2010, 07:49 PM)
Thanks for the advice and recommendations.Really appreciate it.Is it necessary to use moisturizer since I have oily face?
U got to test n see how it goes. normally i use a hydrating alcohol free toner in the morning n a really light moisturizer...it works for me. However if u gonna use the Biore sunscreen then i really suggest u use a light moisturizer as the Biore can be really drying.

At night I use a heavier moisturizer as I sleep with the air cond on.
jonny4
post Oct 3 2010, 08:34 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(sickboy @ Oct 3 2010, 01:42 AM)
I'm looking for a light moisturizer as well as the Aqualabel i'm currently using is considered a heavy of type and i only want to use it at night. It's too oily for me tho.

Toner wise, i'm considering between Oslee and Laneige
U can try the Laneige Homme Sebum Free Multi Fluid...they call it a toner+moisturizer in one. It's my daytime moisturizer and it's quite good to use. Clinelle makes a decent toner called the Purifying Toner...decent ingredients that put the higher end toners to shame biggrin.gif retails for RM34 ,200ml

Added on October 3, 2010, 8:39 am
QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Oct 3 2010, 07:46 AM)
Ok noted.Currently am using neutrogena oil free moisturizer.And any idea on how to get rid of blackheads?MY nose is filled with them. cry.gif Thanks alot notworthy.gif
Depends on how stubborn your blackheads are. A product that has decent amounts of salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid) will help loosen the blackheads and make them easier to get rid of. After that u can start maintaining by using a clay mask regularly to prevent blackheads. However if u got the really stubborn type of blackheads then best to head to a beauty center and get them to remove it.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 3 2010, 08:39 AM
jonny4
post Oct 3 2010, 01:04 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Oct 3 2010, 12:08 PM)
Oh and do I need to reapply sunscreen throughout the day?
If u are outdoors a lot then u will need to reapply but the frequency all depends on the SPF of the sunscreen. Google it as there is a way to calculate how long a certain level of SPF can last in the sun. I'm mostly indoors so I don't reapply.
jonny4
post Oct 3 2010, 02:13 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Oct 3 2010, 02:02 PM)
love the biore suncreen.Control my face oil pretty well =)
Yeah the shine control is really good. But was too drying for after 2 months of daily use. Some more the matte powdery look was a bit uncomfortable. A few girls even asked me if I using some kind of BB Cream/foundation. malu wei ! haha. That's why now I am using Sunplay Skin Aqua Moisture Milk SPF50. Shine/oil control not as good as Biore but keeps me relatively shine free with a healthy glow without the powdery zombie look of Biore.

How long u been using Biore sunscreen ? the white one right ?

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 3 2010, 02:15 PM
jonny4
post Oct 3 2010, 04:14 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Oct 3 2010, 03:55 PM)
Yes,I'm using the white one and I just bought it yesterday.But when you say it gives you the powdery look,I begin to worry.lol.
It might work for u hehe. I read tons of reviews about the Biore sunscreen before buying it. Almost everyone agreed it was cheap and perfect for oily skin. I'm caught in 2 minds because I want a matte finish but at the same time I don't want to look too polished cause it ain't natural especially for a regular guy like myself to look like that. If it gets too powdery use a heavier moisturizer under it.
jonny4
post Oct 3 2010, 10:50 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(dmz_eleven @ Oct 3 2010, 10:18 PM)
hi guys, i m not sure if this is the right place, but is there any product that can make face skin look/appear young?
depends on your age. If u r below 30 use a sunscreen to prevent premature aging. den at night u can use something like Olay Regenerist (serum or cream).

If u r over 30, u can try using retinoids to reduce fine lines. Avene Diacneal although touted as an acne cream does a really god job in getting rid of wrinkles. However use of retinoids will cause breakouts (in varying degrees) initially as the skin is renewed and the dirt from your pores rises to the surface. It will take a few months to see the result. No pain no gain haha.

Another option is using a vitamin c serum to stimulate the skin to produce more collagen. this will make the skin suppler and looking younger. only drawback is that vitamin c serum r very expensive...good ones can cost RM150 or more for 30ml.

Sunscreen is still the most important thing when it comes to anti aging. spending loads on cash on creams n serums is useless if the skin is not protected fr the sun in the daytime.
jonny4
post Oct 4 2010, 09:07 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(dmz_eleven @ Oct 4 2010, 08:52 PM)
thx for the input. funny that i dont spend much outdoor, work in office till sunset but after 1 year of work i look 3-4 years older... perhaps stress? i think i will get the olay regenerist, googled it and looks pretty good
Men punya skin tends to age drastically compared to women. Get the serum as it is lighter. There is a new one called the olay micro sculpting serum which is supposedly really good.
jonny4
post Oct 5 2010, 04:47 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(rockets @ Oct 5 2010, 04:24 PM)
the micro sculpting serum is not available in malaysia i think last i heard from my gf.
It's out already at the bigger Guardian and Watsons outlets. Retails for RM130 (50ml).
jonny4
post Oct 5 2010, 10:31 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 5 2010, 08:35 PM)
jonny4, care to share how you know so much about all this? biggrin.gif
Blogs, forums and websites man hehe. usually the ones dedicated to women's skin care...they give the best reviews and honest opinions with pictures. Some eye candy also as some of them are hot tongue.gif

one of the best skin care blogs for men here

I also experiment a lot with products to see what works. But I don't do it totally blind la...I rely on those sources above for some info, tips and reviews.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 5 2010, 10:33 PM

29 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0485sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:29 AM