HELP!, videos corrupted by an unknown virus?
TSsen1868
Dec 24 2008, 11:34 AM, updated 17y ago
somebody pls pls pls pls help me!! my collections of movies had been corrupted by i don't what, or how.. all i know now all my videos can't be opened. only files with .avi and .mpg extension were infected. plus, the size of the files turned from for example, 700mb to only 67kb. all of them! is this some sort of virus infection? i've tried searching for solutions over the internet, but to no avail pls somebody... This post has been edited by sen1868: Dec 24 2008, 11:37 AM
convivencia
Dec 24 2008, 12:38 PM
Uh ... do you store your video files in your HD or in DVDs?
If they are inside DVD, try play them on other PC and see if can or not.
If the vid files are in your HD and you can't play them, it could be the player and not the files.
TSsen1868
Dec 24 2008, 01:23 PM
i stored them in hd. i think it's not because of player, because somehow something changed the properties of my videos, making them unreadable.
convivencia
Dec 24 2008, 03:02 PM
Have you tried playing them on other PCs?
If other PC also can't play them, there is a possibility that the DVD disc is damaged.
Many DVDR discs are junks.
TechnoDude94
Dec 24 2008, 04:59 PM
Please run a free online anti-virus scan that supports free virus removal.
convivencia
Dec 24 2008, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(sen1868 @ Dec 24 2008, 01:23 PM) i stored them in hd. i think it's not because of player, because somehow something changed the properties of my videos, making them unreadable. One more thing --- virus almost always attack files that are not in the multi-megabyte range. Most video files are in the multi-megabyte range. That is why I figure it could be the player that has been infected, if there's any virus in it.
virusspreader
Dec 27 2008, 01:39 PM
i don't think that there's a possibility that the virus choose to attack files with multi-megabyte?? Maybe it's the problem wif the hd setting??
convivencia
Dec 27 2008, 01:43 PM
If TS can copy the multi-megabyte vid files from one directory to another, then the HD shouldn't be the problem.
TS mentioned that the vid has difficulties being played. I figure it might be the player software that has problem. If there's a virus, then it's the players that got the virus.
But I am not sure if there's a virus at all.
I think somehow the settings of the players have kinda senget already.
TechnoDude94
Dec 27 2008, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(convivencia @ Dec 27 2008, 01:43 PM) If TS can copy the multi-megabyte vid files from one directory to another, then the HD shouldn't be the problem. TS mentioned that the vid has difficulties being played. I figure it might be the player software that has problem. If there's a virus, then it's the players that got the virus. But I am not sure if there's a virus at all. I think somehow the settings of the players have kinda senget already. Bro, can't quite agree with you. I think it's got nothing to do with his localized media players. It should (almost definitely 100%) be a virus because how'd the file size become so small?  Just my 2 cents.
convivencia
Dec 27 2008, 03:49 PM
Ooooh... Never heard of virus reducing the size of avi files.  But then, perhaps I'm just being too damn slow.