Headphones HEADPHONES/ EARPHONES Recomendation Corner V3, The Recommendations Continues.....

xk2
post Apr 25 2009, 01:35 PM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Apr 25 2009, 12:24 PM)
any recommendation below RM200? How about phillips SHP8900 and SHL9600?
Also interested in SHP8900 , anyone using ? can give some comment ? hmm.gif
xk2
post Apr 25 2009, 01:51 PM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Apr 25 2009, 01:40 PM)
Pretty cold sounding pair of cans. Decent soundstage, abit to the bright side, mids are a little bit distant. Pretty decent cans for roughly RM200. Main competitors would be the DT231 and the M30. biggrin.gif
Then is it recomended ? considered it's price and performance ratio biggrin.gif
xk2
post Apr 25 2009, 01:59 PM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

Thx Enigmatic biggrin.gif i personally usually listen to some ape format SACD, DSD hifi album , not like those techno or watever noisy music biggrin.gif So i think i will consider this headphone la smile.gif Thx very much
xk2
post Apr 30 2009, 12:15 AM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

Received my SHP8900 from Davis few days ago , now still in burn in process, any suggestion wat amp headphone amp should i pair with this ? since this is a bright sound headphone , i actually prefer warmer sound , any recomendation to make it slighly warmer ?

i tried plug it to Asus xonar u1 sc , the result is ''ULTRA SHARP'' , will suffer if listen long time , cannot . Now using onboard realtek.
xk2
post Apr 30 2009, 12:38 AM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Apr 30 2009, 12:19 AM)
Hurm.. personally I am using the iBasso D2 Boa which gives the SHP8900 a little bit more warmth.
And yea, the SHP8900 can be abit bright (sharp) at times. Not as bright as the SHP9000 could get though. Crap.. Forgot to tell you that I am actually into, lean, slightly bright and cold cans. Might be unbearable for most people.

Give it around 200 hours, the brightness should tone down a little. smile.gif

If you really can't take it the easiest and cheapest way is to EQ it. laugh.gif
Still trying to burn in it kao kao biggrin.gif thinking tube amp now biggrin.gif wonder how much for cheap cheap one hmm.gif

Added on April 30, 2009, 12:39 am
QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Apr 30 2009, 12:25 AM)
budget ?

if you want warm then i suggest you go get a tube amp which will definitely give you warm sound, this is from my pass experience of owning a tube preamp speaker

Little Dot or DarkVoice amp are one of famous 1 in this forum, although i nvr try it before
budget ar? if less than or around RM300 got ? laugh.gif poor leh

This post has been edited by xk2: Apr 30 2009, 12:39 AM
xk2
post Apr 30 2009, 01:10 AM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

QUOTE(Dybre @ Apr 30 2009, 12:46 AM)
if 300, i would suggest you to look for used zero dac. or otherwise higher ur budget a lil bit more and get the cheapest tube amp from darvoice sold in garage sales. the darkvoice figaro. it's quite good i read from the review.  smile.gif
Thx bro , currently searching for cheap amp biggrin.gif
xk2
post Apr 30 2009, 10:51 AM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 30 2009, 01:22 AM)
E3 or E5 will be more economical and portable. It's warm too.
tested E5 with creative IEM EP630 before hmm.gif , is on the bright side oso , the EP630 perform warmer without the amp on my N82, jus a very basic normal amp that increase volume only, i looking for something bigger biggrin.gif
xk2
post May 18 2009, 05:45 PM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

Letting go my shp8900 , interested can pm me biggrin.gif

0.0364sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:15 PM