What are you wearing today? (pictures only)

stylophile
post Mar 1 2011, 06:03 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Feb 27 2011, 03:45 PM)

Uniqlo navy T-shirt
Uniqlo S001 selvedge
Uniqlo socks
Bally suede loafers
excuse my ignorance, and this is an honest question, but is that socks & loafers combo a bit too dressy for jeans?
stylophile
post Mar 12 2011, 06:57 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Mar 12 2011, 03:02 PM)
Not particularly proud of my outfit today...
and rightly so

stylophile
post Jun 14 2011, 10:03 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jun 14 2011, 06:11 PM)
hi LiLFreaK

no, most women in the states do not spend this type of money on material goods.  in fact, I have never met a girl with a Hermes Kelly or Birkin bag.  It is considered extremely high fashion, and many girls do not even know what this is. 

Malaysian and Singaporean women will spend a higher percentage of their salary for recognition by brands, looks, etc.  They are more fashion forward than the typical American girl. 

average salary in the U.S. is about RM100-120k/year.  because the cost of living is higher, this does not leave much left for luxury goods and other expensive items.  i think, in comparison, Singaporeans are doing much better than this.

A white collar investment banker from a metro area will earn substantially more, about RM 240-300k/year in their first year, but this is considered extremely competitive and there are only a small number of spots available.  It most certainly requires education from a well known (and very expensive) school and very high scores/marks.

Added on June 14, 2011, 6:16 pmanyways, to compensate for OT, here's today's look:

this is a no shame, full face photo, so pls excuse me.  now you all know what i look like, and can flag me down on Jln Bukit Bintang, or Lebuh Farquhar/Upper Penang Road.
what watch is that? looks expensive. i am in the market for a gold leather strap watch. due to budget and time constraints, the only thing on my list for now is omega deville. that watch sure looks interesting though.
stylophile
post Jun 14 2011, 11:23 PM

201 posts

^you interested?
stylophile
post Jun 15 2011, 10:05 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jun 15 2011, 05:13 PM)
It's a Maurice Lacroix Masterpiece Calendrier Retrograde.  It normally comes with a black croc strap but I switched it to the brown one.  I thought it was more appropriate with the white face.

I think price is still around RM18k which is very reasonable for the complexity of the movement and the "pocketwatch" handwound style.  The movement is made by Unitas, and it is a heavy modified ebauche with the added seconds subdial, power reserve indicator and complex retrograde date movement.  Attention to detail is very high and for a company that *only* produces 90,000 watches per year - still pretty respectable.

Here's a few pics back when it had the black strap.

omega deville is a very nice watch and more expensive that this ML.  I prefer the Omega Seamaster Planet Ocean - they've got a brilliant orange leather or rubber strap that would match perfectly with my tie. =)
the deville i am looking at retails for about rm20k. the maurice lacroix masterpiece in gold is at least 50% more.

if in a few years time when my son starts school i find out that he is some sort of genius who is probably going to get a full scholarship for uni, THEN, i will get a lange.

otherwise, i will keep saving for the deville.
stylophile
post Jun 16 2011, 09:31 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(Loej @ Jun 16 2011, 09:09 AM)
wow, you sound old.
no offense though.
anyways, thats a fine watch. im using a chopard.
and im wondering how much its worth, cause it was a gift. would be great help if you could like give me a range. cause im not sure of the model either.
sorry, quite kampung here. i dont really appreciate the value in these things, dont know why.
yes i am rather old. 29 to be exact.

i don't want to sound older, but when i was your age, i had a seiko.
stylophile
post Jun 18 2011, 03:41 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(Cheenoo @ Jun 17 2011, 11:44 PM)
screw watches with five digit figures, more about the cousin-who-had-a-crush-on-you!

On topic: I'm happy with my Orient, I too have no intention to be in the competition, but I like the extra value it adds to my look as a whole. Although most of the time I'm wearing a geeky Timex.
yes please, more on the cousin part. how many dates did the watch buy him/her?

on topic : only ever bought myself 1 tag. received a tag and omega as gifts. 1 from a friend/customer and another from the father of a girl who had a crush on me on our wedding day.
stylophile
post Jul 5 2011, 04:05 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jul 4 2011, 02:26 PM)

Just got back from a splendid event.
you have fat knuckles.

what other watches do you have?
stylophile
post Jul 12 2011, 09:36 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 12 2011, 07:13 PM)
Not too long ago...

From left: customer (employee), customer (employee), customer (employee), CEO of the group (from Europe), star salesman (from SGP), customer (owner), factory worker
uniqlo pants?

your blazer's shoulders look lumpy.

loving the owner's shirt.
stylophile
post Jul 14 2011, 11:22 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 13 2011, 08:04 PM)
Stylophile, let me introduce you to Zuperpent. He was quite the celebrity on this forum a few years back when I found him neatly folded, new but unloved for RM7 at a secret shop. It is constructed like no other pants on this forum. From Japan. Linen blend.

all my suits are fine.

the owner's shirt is an abomination upon the earth. he wore a much better shirt during the day event.

Added on July 14, 2011, 1:00 amSome random facts:

I was the only Malaysian at the table.

The CEO wore an Aigner tie. He came dressed in a bespoke mid grey odd jacket with dark wool pants. After a while he took it off and draped it over his chair. This was the signal the others were waiting for and they all took off their jackets after that. Except me. (Mine is linen and half-lined so it is no discomfort. Not to mention the linen blend trousers.)

The customers were dressed more formally in the day. About half were suited, all from Commonwealth countries.

The CEO was suited in the day, then did this odd jacket ensemble at night. Both jackets were (very good) bespoke. Despite the international travel not a single wrinkle. He wore black tasseled loafers.

No one else wore his suit as well as the CEO (if you exclude me). The others look terrible in their suits, even senior vice presidents.

All the Singaporeans wore bespoke shirts. One has questionable taste in fabric and cut. Shirt was too shiny, and cut too close to the body. Generally the Singaporean shirts were cut all a bit too close to the body. Except for the star salesman, his shirt fit was excellent (looser) given his body (rotund). Business shirts should be looser. Star salesman has a pen pocket within his breast pocket for his Mont Blanc. But questionable taste in pattern.
ok there seems to be some sort of mix up.

you didn't include the fella who is 2nd from the left in the photo in your roll call.

honest mistake, as 2nd from right qualified as factory worker.

now that that's been settled, i meant that i am loving the star salesman's shirt. your preferred purveyor of shirting has one like that but in a nicer blue.

are you sure your shoulder is fine? i keep seeing a lump. your jacket might have cancer.
stylophile
post Jul 20 2011, 10:20 PM

201 posts

JLC? i didnt see a jlc - what jlc do you have?
stylophile
post Sep 14 2011, 10:12 AM

201 posts

must be the red hair
stylophile
post Oct 6 2011, 12:07 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Oct 5 2011, 11:45 PM)
my first week of internship. unluckily on the second day, the HR unit post out a notice regarding tie, as for now, tie is not compulsory unless for important occasion or meeting. sigh. i'm gonna be the only guy in the dept wearing tie i guess.

sorry for the out of focus. my phone sucks big time.

belt buckle and tie aren't working for me.

strategically placed faucet is though.
stylophile
post Nov 3 2011, 10:12 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(evilnickwong @ Nov 3 2011, 10:01 AM)
I've read about the whole matching pants thing, however, I was really bored of wearing black/grey socks everyday. Hence, the last time I went to Uniqlo, I got those blue ones above along with some red and orange ones too. tongue.gif

I personally like these bright colors with my brown shoes.
i too tend to wear funky socks, and i have a few colourful pairs from uniqlo as well.

however, your combo of black pants (they look black from the photo), blue socks and brown shoes doesn't appeal to me. not knocking you or anything. just that i would't do it.

i was about to google babychai's post but then i saw that fusionex already caught him. i would only match my socks with my pants for an important work meeting or a formal function.

0.0450sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:11 AM