Perfumes for Guys V1

neekun
post Mar 22 2009, 05:25 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(f1iptex @ Dec 29 2008, 09:04 PM)
im glad theres a thread for perfumes! as i am an avid perfume collector!
anyone of u tried versace eau fraiche? u guys should definitely look into it! this is my secret weapon lol! whenever i hug a girl or at a party, they complement me and ask what im wearing...
prada amber deserves a mention too... as for gucci by gucci(the latest), the woody smell hits your nose very "HARD" when u spray it on early stages but it "fades" after 3-5 hours, and it doesnt last long..

armani(acqua,attitude,code).. burberry is getting too common these days.. get something else guys!!

just my 2 cents!
nod.gif Yup, Versace Men Eau Fraiche is nice...top notes like fresh green grass and a hint of lime, it's refreshing to use during hot weather!

neekun
post May 2 2009, 10:55 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

I tested D&G The One for men a few weeks back and been thinking about it. Usually I am not a fan of woody oriental scent, but this is an exception for me.

The scent is warm and woody but modern.....definitely not those typical men cologne with overpowering musky/woody smell where it makes me pengsan ;-p

So after a few weeks of consideration and a few rounds of testing on my skin, I bought it. It's a lasting scent where a spray or two is enough and can last for whole day.

More info from http://sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id...tegoryId=C17900

neekun
post May 30 2009, 08:07 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(John89 @ May 16 2009, 01:10 PM)
Bvlgari Aqva Pour Homme

Dolce & Gabbana The One

Burberry The Beat

Dunhill London

Can someone give their opinions for the fragrances above?

I know you guys will probably ask me to go and try it out myself, because different people have different taste.

I'm currently using Acqua Di Gio by Giorgio Armani and Calvin Klein Euphoria and I love them. But I don't like Jean Paul Gaultier Le Male.
If u like Acqua Di Gio, you should like Bvlgari Aqva..both are aquatic scent.
neekun
post Nov 1 2009, 09:54 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

I am totally addicted into Hermes Un Jardin Sur Le Nil ( http://www.nstperfume.com/2005/02/22/herme...agrance-review/ ) for the past few months. The scent is really green and light but lasting for office wear.

Got myself a sample of Prada Amber Pour Homme some time ago from PRADA KLCC. The smell is kinda soapy but overall I like it. This shall be on my list for upcoming Christmas 2009 tongue.gif
neekun
post Jan 18 2010, 07:50 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

Finally got my Hermes Un Jardin après la Mousson few weeks back, its the kind of scent I like. Currently I am addicted to both Un Jardin après la Mousson and Un Jardin sur le Nil :-)

I am trying to find Hermes Hermessence Osmanthe Yunnan ..so far no luck in departmental stores. Maybe should pay Hermes boutique a visit and see if there is any tester.
neekun
post Jan 19 2010, 07:19 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Jan 18 2010, 08:21 PM)
Hugo Boss never makes anything unique...they are just looking for a quick buck by releasing perfumes that are generic and smells like every other clone in the market...and for that price I can get many other perfumes that have some character.

Dunhill Light ? Does it have a more specific name ?

Added on January 18, 2010, 8:30 pm
Hermes makes good frags but are expensive. I've got a few samples of Mousson but I never liked it because it smells too fruity and aquatic for my taste. I don't feel it justifies the RM300+ price tag. But my gf likes it though. Nil to me smells like a watered down version of the famous Terre d'Hermes haha. I hope u don't take offence as I am no means criticizing your purchases or taste..just my 2 cents. If I had an infinite amount of money I would buy every frag released by Hermes  smile.gif

I visite the Hermes KLCC boutique a month ago and I think i saw a few from the Hermessence line but I can't remember which ones. I tried Rose Ikebana and yes it nice but once again doesn't justify the price at all. Too light for something at that price.

My favourites from Hermes are Rocabar, Terre d'Hermes, Bel Ami, Hiris and Concentrée D'Orange Verte/Eau D'Orange Verte. What are your favs fr Hermes ?
I love Concentrée D'Orange Verte too. I got 2 samples of it. Thinking to get it when I finished the sample.

Hehe...no worries smile.gif Most importantly is I bought it because I love it, price higher a bit ok la, once in a while only buy (excuse to myself haha).
neekun
post Mar 18 2010, 07:59 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Mar 16 2010, 10:21 PM)
I quite like Bulgari Pour Homme Extreme. I used to wear it quite often. The longevity and sillage is above average.
Yes, that's one of my favourite too. Bought it during my HK trip last year, its a 30ml bottle around RM120.

Added on March 18, 2010, 8:01 pm
QUOTE(DailyPerfume @ Mar 18 2010, 01:06 PM)
Hi hammond tan,

The link of the perfume seller, he's selling reject perfumes actually. That's why the price is really cheap. As for reject perfumes, there's a slight different between original. The colour of the perfume sometimes may be different from the original units and also knockoff. I'm previous reject perfume user too, bought one bottle of hugo XY last year and the colour is greenish. LOL

No offence but buying original perfume is better although the price is more expensive by rm30 or more. Hehe

Perfume also got reject ka? I wonder how the manufacturer determine a bottle of scent is acceptable or reject haha.

This post has been edited by neekun: Mar 18 2010, 08:01 PM
neekun
post May 5 2010, 09:07 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

Space, u tried Hermes Osmanthe Yunnan under Hermessence collection? I tested at Hermes KLCC a month ago and the smell still lingers in my mind smile.gif

Only if the price is not that high ..I would have bought it.
neekun
post May 6 2010, 08:06 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(Space @ May 6 2010, 05:01 AM)
Really thanks for the valuable tips, Jonny, it's been a long time ago that I last visited a Guerlain counter, still remember a few year ago I went crazy and brought a lot of cash there and found there's no SA and choice's very limited. Since then I never visit one again sad.gif  About the TM cologne, maybe I'll buy it from strawberrynet in case I can't find it here, I think it's still in production coz I saw them at their website, I do heard ppl store up a lot of them, some even have more than 2 liters.
Haven't try b4 due to the same reason you have laugh.gif  I am kinda scare to try expensive perfume, guess my parents won't like my expensive habit.
I am quite a fan of Jean Claude Ellena, so I guess I have to brave up and go testing it. Maybe next month I'll go visit pavilion and sekali gus try out Hermes, Different Company and L'artisan, and Annick Goutal too, heard that Eau de Sud and Eau de Hadrien being reformulated, and I never smell it b4 shocking.gif
Hmmm I never tried any of Annick Goutal before..maybe I should go try try one of these days. For Hermessence series, you gotta go to KLCC Hermes boutique as it is only available there. For me I dont like the sales girl who served me the other day, she looks so sian, when ask she just give a brief answer with the look of "this guy sure not gonna buy" on her face.

If i ever go there and make a purchase, she will get it from me hahaha!

neekun
post Jul 11 2010, 09:07 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

Back from shopping trip in BKK. It was a great trip cause I managed to buy all the fragrances that I wanted at the airport and was given lots of free travel sizes rclxms.gif

First row from left: Prada Infusion De Vetiver, Hermes Hermessence Travel Collection (4 x 15ml of Osmanthe Yunnan), Dolce and Gabbana The One.

Second row from left: Hermes Concentré d'orange verte, Hermes Eau de pamplemousse rose (2 x 15ml free travel size), Hermes Un Jardin Après La Mousson (1 x 15ml free travel size), Hermes Un Jardin Sur Le Nil (1 x 15ml free travel size), Hermes Hermessence Brin De Réglisse (1 x 4ml free tester), Hermes Hermessence Rose Ikebana (1 x 4ml free tester), last one is a wallet smile.gif

Prada Infusion De Vetiver for Men is not on my wish list and it was kind of an ad hoc purchase haha! I love the scent where for me it's like fresh, watery, and slightly citrusy smell.

Hermessence collection was on my wish list for so long and the price is MR850 for 100ml sold exclusively in Hermes KLCC blink.gif With the travel sets, it comes in 4 x 15ml where I can mix and match from any of the Hermeseence series. However, I took all 4 Osmanthe Yunnan. The smell is light floral with hints of fruits and tea. The Hermessence series is marketed as unisex fragrance. The scent is perfect for office wear. As for hanging around under the hot sun, I guess it would not last. Need to try it first and shall post update in here.

Dolce Gabbana The One for Men is a sweet and spicy scent..sexy! Perfect for evening wear. Sometimes I used during daytime at work, just a max spray of 2 is more than enough to last until the end of the day.

Hermes Concentré d'orange verte for Men was on my wish list since I was given a test tube last year. For me the smell is orange wrapped in spice, giving the refreshingly warm feeling when I am wearing it. Its a feel good scent for me tongue.gif

Hermes Eau de pamplemousse rose (unisex scent) is a very fresh green scent with hints of roses. Perfect if you like light and fresh scent which does not irritate those around you with noticeable smell smile.gif

Both Un Jardin Sur Le Nil and Apres La Mousson was given to compliment my current 100ml and 50ml collection of both fragrances respectively. Its a great travel companion! These 2 scents are my favourite of all time!

Hermes Hermessence Brin De Réglisse is based on lavender. Smells very relaxing when wearing this, most probably gonna use this at night for good sleep muahahaha!

Hermes Hermessence Rose Ikebana is another great scent from Hermessence series. It's an airy scent of rose which for me its gonna be another feel good scent. Too bad the travel size 15ml out of stock else I will be getting one as part of my Hermessence Travel Collection.

neekun
post May 17 2011, 11:48 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

Been addicted to Jo Malone lately, my favourite is Pomegranate Noir mix with English Pear and Freesia.

Pom Noir is a warm scent where hints of fruits and woods while English Pear and Freesia is a very light an airy scent.

My first JM purchase was at SG Takashimaya last year..since then I was hook and I have ten 30ml JM scents just for mix and match ;-p

If you guys happen to be in Sg or BKK, go give it a try.

0.0470sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:23 PM